All

Secrets St. James Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 404 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"Enjoyed our stay; pool music quite loud; food OK--not spectacular; rooms lovely; service great." – Anne77
424 out of 476 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The view from our room first steak in 20 years Even on a cloudy day, the sunset was gorgeous. What we got to wake up to every morning Me and my daughter Perfect peacock roaming st james beach great entertainment view from our balcony View from room View from Room (the beach is visible, just beyond palms) Poolside Oceanfront Room View 1st Floor View from our room! Room in Preferred Area Evening Stroll 4yr anniversary July 2013 No worries! Sunset from my balcony View best beach & sun Beautiful sunsets! Beautiful resort View from our room just add rum Preferred Club Beach View from balcony View from my suite Amazing Blue Water! View from room. Sunset off our balcony Room view THIS IS THE LIFE!!!! View from our room Our room view Just another sunset, nbd. Hotel Sunset from the beach view from our 5th floor room poolside view Remembering Paradise Beach and ocean Beach at sunset! parrot available for pictures Beautiful sunsets every day. beach at sunset View from room Our Balcony View Yes Beautiful beach WE LOVE THIS PLACE The beautiful beach! Preferred Club Pool view from our room Boat to snorkle On the beach at Secrets St James BALCONY VIEW Derwayne, Leo and Marlando View from a beach chair

All Secrets St. James Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 404 reviews. Sort by
May 11, 2012
Amazing Vacation, Beautiful HUmble People.

OK SO I NEVER POST REVIEWS BUT WE JUST RETURNED LAST NIGHT FROM THE RESORT...WE WERE THERE FOR 5 DAYS celebrating my husband 40th birthday..so where and how do I start..from the time you walk on the property you're treated like KING and Queen (whatever applies) of the Town...They never undermine the fact that you are one of thousands at the resort. Your greeted with a smile and very firm handshake.. before you get a chance to sit down and check in your asked if you like a drink.watersports included with the price you pay for the resort..kayaking, sailing, speed boat, glass bottom boat Ride..The food in some restaurants were much better than other..Seaside grill by the pool on St James side was GREAT!!! for dinner as well as the mexican EL Tapito (?) best meal was the pork chop tender and very tasty...for breakfast at the world cafe the server Oraldo (the singing guy) and kerri Ann serenaded my husband and I with a duet for his 40th bday service was EXceptional.. I mean I can go on and on EVERYTHING was top of the line.. entertainment, grounds keeping, lighting at night, room service was even SUPERB


150 of 158 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: aTLANTA, gA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Jamaica Get away

Resort was very nice. Was not happy with the pressure to view the presentation to join the Secrets Vacation club. If they want to take you off to the Bar to discuss your stay, "just say no". Also when this says tips included, be leary. Everyone expected a tip. While they wouldn't say it, they would stand around next to you, looking at you until they got something. Case in point,,,luggage delivery to the room. After the person brought the bags to the room, he just stood around in the room looking at us. Once he got a tip, he gladly exited.Room was nice yet a lot of moldy looking stuff around the back side of the shower glass Maid service was very good. We ordered room service late almost every night and on 2 occasions we had to call to track down the delivery. One time it was 1 hour late. Pools and bars were very nice. Lots of resort entertainment going on in these areas to keep everyone engaged. If you get a package with $$$resort credits, these are for specific things like 2 $40 certificates towards spa treatments. They cant be combined so wife could only use 1 at a time.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Noth carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 23, 2016
Disappointing service - not as promised.

My wife and I went to Jamaica from May 9 – May 16, to celebrate our 37th anniversary and a birthday. We have been to Jamaica over 30 times and visited many of its resorts. I have reviewed several of them on TripAdvisor. This time, we decided we did not want a 2-hour bus ride from the airport to an Ocho Rios venue, so we decided on a hotel in Montego Bay. We took our chances as to which specific hotel, however, and booked through Cheap Caribbean using a promo that Cheap Caribbean calls “Montego Bay Deal of Fortune”. It promised deluxe Ocean View Rooms and all-inclusive service at one of three hotels: The Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, Secrets Wild Orchid, or Secrets St. James. We researched them all and decided that they were all good properties with good reviews, and so we booked it with a request for a room on the second floor, near dining. It was exciting as we waited to be notified (a week before departure) of our destination. I did some more research as we waited, and I was surprised to find that the Secrets Resorts properties are owned by the same company (AMResorts) that owns Cheap Caribbean. Therefore, we were not surprised when we were notified that we had been assigned to Secrets St. James – the less expensive side of the Secrets Montego Bay complex (the two hotels – Secrets Wild Orchid and Secrets St. James - are side by side and totally integrated, using the same restaurants, beaches, pools, and public space. All of the restaurants are on the Wild Orchid side.) This is a case of buyer beware. If you book through Cheap Caribbean’s “Deal of Fortune,” you will likely get assigned to Secrets St. James. We had an easy 10-minute ride from the airport to the Secrets Complex. This is a very large resort. Since both resorts are together, it has over 700 rooms. The grounds are expansive, but that’s a lot of people hitting the buffet line for breakfast at the same time. On arriving, we were assigned to a garden view room on the first floor. I told the hotel rep that that was not what we had paid for, and he said he could upgrade us to VIP Premiere status for $700, which would include an Ocean View room and use of the best beaches and pools, which are reserved for the VIP Premiere members. Eventually, making no headway to get what Cheap Caribbean promised (an Ocean View room), I found that the agent was not averse to bargaining, and after mentioning our Anniversary and birthday we settled for $350 for a VIP Premiere upgrade. Our new room, number 3408, was on the 4th floor (elevator accessible) and had a great view. This turned out to be a good move, as we noticed that the first floor room we were originally assigned to opened to a very public walkway in front, and the patio area in the back was on a main path to the pool. Check-in was easy. We arrived at the resort at 2:10 and were in our room by 3:00. (Later we learned that Preferred beaches are also available to non-Preferred guests, as well.) All in all a disappointing stay and disappointing service from Cheap Caribbean / AMResorts.


43 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: The Beach
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2012
Amazing

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 10 days and cannot imagine being in a nicer place. The grounds were immaculate, the staff was excellent, and the food was outstanding. Even though we were there for 10 days, we never felt bored. With the entertainment staff, the watersports, the games, and the casino, there was always something to do. The pools and the beach were beautiful. We decided to upgrade to the preferred club so we could get a nicer room. The regular junior suites were beautiful but since it was our honeymoon, we splurged a bit and upgraded. We had a butler who made all of our dinner reservations and always had our Jacuzzi tubs filled when we came in from dinner. I surprised my wife with the beach side dinner they offer. I'd suggest that everyone take advantage of that. We were so relaxed that we never even felt the need to go to the spa. The adult drinks are plentiful and I found that the more I tipped, the stronger my drinks were. I would come back the this resort in a heatbeat. I would recommend this place for any couple honeymooning or just looking for a romantic getaway. It's a fantastic experience for a fantastic value.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2017
Perfect!

I traveled to Jamaica for the first time with my 3 siblings to celebrate their milestone birthdays (30th and 21st). I was very skeptical as this was my first time using CheapCaribbean. We arrived to the hotel 3hrs before check-in and was provided a room with no wait. Every staff that I came across was polite, friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and very up to date. After an 30 minutes of arriving, we took a few steps outside to the pool and bar. The bar offers ALL drink options. The beach was breathtaking and the water was warm and calm. Plenty of chairs and towels. The resort offers "Jerk chicken cart and fruit cart" that randomly walks around offering guest jerk chicken, coconut water straight out of the coconut and the sweetest mangos. My favorite was breakfast and lunch at the World Cafe (buffet style)! I was not to impressed with the dinner options as me and my family are BIG foodies. Small portions and I was not able to find what I wanted on the menu. The restaurants were beautiful and the servers were prompt and attentive! I love that the resort had endless options as it relates to food. So while you may not like one thing you could easily walk over and get seafood paella off the grill made by a chef right on the beach. The cleaners came every afternoon to clean our room and restock the fridge. We ordered room service a few times - and found the food was better later on in the day. I normally do not eat much meat but while at Secrets - I ate lots of it because it was well seasoned. Secrets is in walking distance of Wild Orchats and Breathless so we were able to visit all the pools and bars. The night scene was fun! The club was a great time and the Dj played all the latest music. I left the resort two times using a taxi service that works for the resort. I was safe but felt it was a bit pricey (35$ - airport, $30- downtown night clubs). I will definitely visit again through Cheap Carribbean. It rained a lot during our 5 days there but it did not put a damper of our fun. I was told by the staff there is normally more outdoor activities that were not available to us due to the rain ( outdoor movie, beach party, yoga on the beach). I can go on ALL DAY when I speak on the quality of service provided by the staff. I befriended so many staff there (Sunshine, Kamstar, Chase, Leo, Sassy) and they were engaging, made sure we were having a great time throughout the day and offered great knowledge on the island. I will say that both siblings the 30yr old and the 21yr old equally had the time of their lives.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark, New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 4, 2016
Pleasantly Surprised

After reading way too many positive and negative reviews about the resort I was unsure what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised. The resort is beautiful. Clean and modern. The staff was friendly and quick to accommodate any request. Some people complained in their review that the staff seemed fake. Honestly, although at times that may be true, who cares. Fact is they are working and customer service has its moments.... My personal experience with all the staff I encountered was great. They were always friendly, energetic and smiling. My room was spacious and always clean. The fridge was not cold but there's an ice machine around the corner. The food I got from room service was not very good but not the case in the restaurants. I went to all but the Mexican and had delicious meals very time. Is it 5 star cuisine? No. But it was good enough and the service was great. I only waited for a table once and when you have a drink in hand and good company and an ocean view it really isn't the end of the world. Skip the wine though, Its terrible!! I can see how based on expectations not everyone would have the same experience. But if you go on vacation just looking at the negatives then the problem is you, not the resort . As for the people who complained about tips. I saw very generous tippers and those who did not tip at all , what I didn't see was the staff asking for tips or giving poor service to those who did not. I wont go into every little detail but I spent 6 nights at the resort and did not want to leave. A great big kiss and Thank you to everyone that helped make my vacation everything I needed and more. Cant wait to return to Jamaica and I'd definitely return to Secrets.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 2, 2017
Awesome 2nd Honeymoon

The resort was fantastic, the staff were all very courteous and worked their butts off to make sure everyone was feeling IRIE!!! We had the room closest to the pool and the beach so relaxing wasn't that hard at all. We met a lot of the other guests and none of them had anything bad to say about the place. As far as excursions we did the big catamaran with snorkeling and a trip to Margaritaville (soooo much fun). We did the Hobie Cat ride from our beach with a guide (excellent). The best one of all had to be Dunns River Falls. Keep in mind that we're both in our early 50s and we made it to the top (with a little help) but still NO PROBLEM MON!!! Even the lazy pool days were so relaxing for us (she's a teacher and I manage a marina ) so doing nothing during the week like that was quite a treat (I did get one of our pool bartenders to do a Belly Flop with me, very cool!) As we got closer to our last day there, we were trying to figure out how and when we'd be coming back. We also want to bring some of our friends and family with us. We'll be sure to get back there as soon as we can.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Marblehead, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2012
Kawan Clinton

Traveled there september 2011. Really one of the best all inclusive vacations ever. Friendly staff, food was great. Plenty to do on the beach. DO NOT MISS THE JERK CART ON THE BEACH. Also icey cart and fresh coconut drinks (how tropical). My trip was six nights of bliss with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. Give the spa a try not cheap but really worth it. Most resorts you will have one or two down points. I have not one complaint. I do think the preferred is worth the additional money.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2013
The Perfect Getaway

This is the first vacation that I'd ever just taken with a friend. We planned it, we paid for it, we roomed together. It was the best money we'd ever spent. The rooms are beautiful, and the suite that I had had a beautiful ocean view. The beds are almost obnoxiously comfortable-we ended up taking so many naps just because we made the mistake of sitting on the beds before we did anything, haha! Though we went as friends, the rooms are really made for couples, so there was a loverly jacuzzi, soft robes, a rain shower with a detachable showerhead... all of the perfect *ahem* twosome accomodations. Either way, they were welcome luxuries just the same. Housekeeping and room service are quick and thorough- but you *MUST* have your privacy light on if you don't want to be disturbed. They don't really wait long to come in after knocking, lol. The grounds are absolutely stunning. The beach is immaculate and practically rock free. Go walking at night along the beach- the tropical fish really come out at night! Though you will find your fishy friends in the daytime too, the night is when it really all comes to life. The pools are heated and come with floats you can be nice and lazy on. There are servers who will take your drink orders from the poolside or beachside and then bring them to you. Oh, the drinks! Free-flowing! You've never seen more easily accessible liquor. PACE YOURSELF! The staff are amazing! They are so sweet and crave legitimate conversation, not just tips. And if they love you, you get the inside scoop- best deals for excursions, best food, best spots in Montego Bay off the beaten path, hot island gossip, etc. I definitely recommend spending nights at the piano bar- Rayon and the boys are sweethearts. And if you want to go offsite, your best bet are the red vests that hang about the resort gatways. There is a very, very good chance they will come out a better deal than the resort-organized excursions. The food was delicious. I know that there have been complaints, but look at it this way: the food is just Jamaican versions of the original cuisines. They don't have imported or transplant chefs, lol. They're all Jamaican. For that, the food is excellent, and better if you get seafood or a typical jamaican dish. Otherwise, it's just ok. So yeah, that was my experience. If I had any complaints, they would be the privacy issue, and perhaps the lack of non-couple oriented activities. But both can be fixed by careful use of the privacy light and careful budgting of your excursion money for off-site activities respectively. But honestly, all of the pros outweigh the very few cons. You will have the time of your life here. I promise. :D


30 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 30, 2011
Fantastic Vacation!!

We stayed for 5 days at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay and had one of the BEST vacations we've ever had! The resort was beautiful and clean, and the service was excellent. Everyone working at the resort was very friendly. Our room was cleaned and restocked frequently, which was nice. However, the room mini bar had a limit of 4 Red Stripe beers per day, which was a little disappointing but overall not a big deal because we spent very little time in our room. The pool bar was our favorite! The water temperature was warm, which I loved. There was always something going on as far as entertainment on the resort.. water aerobics, dance lessons, drum lessons, games, contests, shows, etc. We definitely got our money's worth for the all-inclusive package, and I will say that the drinks were delicious! A little on the sweet side, but still delicious. We had a little bit of a wait for the Mexican restaurant (El Patio), but the food was still very good. We always went to the World Cafe buffet for breakfast - soooo good. They have everything you can think of for breakfast, and it's all fresh. Our favorite dinner spot was Bordeux, a French cuisine restuarant. You have to make a reservation, and even with that we had about a 15 minute wait. The food, however, was excellent. We really had no complains about any of the food. The spa is gorgeous, but we were ushered through their hydrotherapy room before our massage. They instruct you on a specific sequence to follow through different showers and baths in the hydrotherapy room, which I thought was a bit uncomfortable and too rigid. I would have liked to just meandor around and try each thing at my own leisure. The workout room is a little small but it was fine for a morning jog on the treadmill. Aside from a few bug bites, we really had no major complaints. I really appreciated the way they treated their guests and the standards they keep for the resort. I would definitely come back to this resort and would love to go to another Secrets resort in the future!!


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year