All

Secrets St. James Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 380 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"This is my third time here and always have a great time. Staff is wonderful and fun to be around. Resort is awesome as sell." – Bryan5736
396 out of 443 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach at sunset Derwayne, Leo and Marlando view from our 5th floor room The beautiful beach! Boat to snorkle Our room view Remembering Paradise Beach at sunset! Beach and ocean Room view July 2013 View from balcony View from my suite View from room. View from our room Room in Preferred Area Our Balcony View Preferred Club Pool Yes Beautiful beach great entertainment On the beach at Secrets St James View from room BALCONY VIEW The view from our room poolside view WE LOVE THIS PLACE View from a beach chair Amazing Blue Water! Sunset off our balcony parrot available for pictures Beautiful sunsets every day. What we got to wake up to every morning View from room st james beach Perfect view from our room peacock roaming Poolside No worries! View from our room Evening Stroll Even on a cloudy day, the sunset was gorgeous. Just another sunset, nbd. Me and my daughter best beach & sun view from our balcony Beautiful resort Preferred Club Beach first steak in 20 years Hotel just add rum View from Room (the beach is visible, just beyond palms) 4yr anniversary View Sunset from my balcony Beautiful sunsets! Sunset from the beach THIS IS THE LIFE!!!! View from our room!

All Secrets St. James Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 380 reviews. Sort by
May 11, 2012
Amazing Vacation, Beautiful HUmble People.

OK SO I NEVER POST REVIEWS BUT WE JUST RETURNED LAST NIGHT FROM THE RESORT...WE WERE THERE FOR 5 DAYS celebrating my husband 40th birthday..so where and how do I start..from the time you walk on the property you're treated like KING and Queen (whatever applies) of the Town...They never undermine the fact that you are one of thousands at the resort. Your greeted with a smile and very firm handshake.. before you get a chance to sit down and check in your asked if you like a drink.watersports included with the price you pay for the resort..kayaking, sailing, speed boat, glass bottom boat Ride..The food in some restaurants were much better than other..Seaside grill by the pool on St James side was GREAT!!! for dinner as well as the mexican EL Tapito (?) best meal was the pork chop tender and very tasty...for breakfast at the world cafe the server Oraldo (the singing guy) and kerri Ann serenaded my husband and I with a duet for his 40th bday service was EXceptional.. I mean I can go on and on EVERYTHING was top of the line.. entertainment, grounds keeping, lighting at night, room service was even SUPERB


148 of 154 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: aTLANTA, gA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 23, 2016
Disappointing service - not as promised.

My wife and I went to Jamaica from May 9 – May 16, to celebrate our 37th anniversary and a birthday. We have been to Jamaica over 30 times and visited many of its resorts. I have reviewed several of them on TripAdvisor. This time, we decided we did not want a 2-hour bus ride from the airport to an Ocho Rios venue, so we decided on a hotel in Montego Bay. We took our chances as to which specific hotel, however, and booked through Cheap Caribbean using a promo that Cheap Caribbean calls “Montego Bay Deal of Fortune”. It promised deluxe Ocean View Rooms and all-inclusive service at one of three hotels: The Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, Secrets Wild Orchid, or Secrets St. James. We researched them all and decided that they were all good properties with good reviews, and so we booked it with a request for a room on the second floor, near dining. It was exciting as we waited to be notified (a week before departure) of our destination. I did some more research as we waited, and I was surprised to find that the Secrets Resorts properties are owned by the same company (AMResorts) that owns Cheap Caribbean. Therefore, we were not surprised when we were notified that we had been assigned to Secrets St. James – the less expensive side of the Secrets Montego Bay complex (the two hotels – Secrets Wild Orchid and Secrets St. James - are side by side and totally integrated, using the same restaurants, beaches, pools, and public space. All of the restaurants are on the Wild Orchid side.) This is a case of buyer beware. If you book through Cheap Caribbean’s “Deal of Fortune,” you will likely get assigned to Secrets St. James. We had an easy 10-minute ride from the airport to the Secrets Complex. This is a very large resort. Since both resorts are together, it has over 700 rooms. The grounds are expansive, but that’s a lot of people hitting the buffet line for breakfast at the same time. On arriving, we were assigned to a garden view room on the first floor. I told the hotel rep that that was not what we had paid for, and he said he could upgrade us to VIP Premiere status for $700, which would include an Ocean View room and use of the best beaches and pools, which are reserved for the VIP Premiere members. Eventually, making no headway to get what Cheap Caribbean promised (an Ocean View room), I found that the agent was not averse to bargaining, and after mentioning our Anniversary and birthday we settled for $350 for a VIP Premiere upgrade. Our new room, number 3408, was on the 4th floor (elevator accessible) and had a great view. This turned out to be a good move, as we noticed that the first floor room we were originally assigned to opened to a very public walkway in front, and the patio area in the back was on a main path to the pool. Check-in was easy. We arrived at the resort at 2:10 and were in our room by 3:00. (Later we learned that Preferred beaches are also available to non-Preferred guests, as well.) All in all a disappointing stay and disappointing service from Cheap Caribbean / AMResorts.


39 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: The Beach
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 4, 2016
Pleasantly Surprised

After reading way too many positive and negative reviews about the resort I was unsure what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised. The resort is beautiful. Clean and modern. The staff was friendly and quick to accommodate any request. Some people complained in their review that the staff seemed fake. Honestly, although at times that may be true, who cares. Fact is they are working and customer service has its moments.... My personal experience with all the staff I encountered was great. They were always friendly, energetic and smiling. My room was spacious and always clean. The fridge was not cold but there's an ice machine around the corner. The food I got from room service was not very good but not the case in the restaurants. I went to all but the Mexican and had delicious meals very time. Is it 5 star cuisine? No. But it was good enough and the service was great. I only waited for a table once and when you have a drink in hand and good company and an ocean view it really isn't the end of the world. Skip the wine though, Its terrible!! I can see how based on expectations not everyone would have the same experience. But if you go on vacation just looking at the negatives then the problem is you, not the resort . As for the people who complained about tips. I saw very generous tippers and those who did not tip at all , what I didn't see was the staff asking for tips or giving poor service to those who did not. I wont go into every little detail but I spent 6 nights at the resort and did not want to leave. A great big kiss and Thank you to everyone that helped make my vacation everything I needed and more. Cant wait to return to Jamaica and I'd definitely return to Secrets.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Jamaica Get away

Resort was very nice. Was not happy with the pressure to view the presentation to join the Secrets Vacation club. If they want to take you off to the Bar to discuss your stay, "just say no". Also when this says tips included, be leary. Everyone expected a tip. While they wouldn't say it, they would stand around next to you, looking at you until they got something. Case in point,,,luggage delivery to the room. After the person brought the bags to the room, he just stood around in the room looking at us. Once he got a tip, he gladly exited.Room was nice yet a lot of moldy looking stuff around the back side of the shower glass Maid service was very good. We ordered room service late almost every night and on 2 occasions we had to call to track down the delivery. One time it was 1 hour late. Pools and bars were very nice. Lots of resort entertainment going on in these areas to keep everyone engaged. If you get a package with $$$resort credits, these are for specific things like 2 $40 certificates towards spa treatments. They cant be combined so wife could only use 1 at a time.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Noth carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
The Perfect Getaway

This is the first vacation that I'd ever just taken with a friend. We planned it, we paid for it, we roomed together. It was the best money we'd ever spent. The rooms are beautiful, and the suite that I had had a beautiful ocean view. The beds are almost obnoxiously comfortable-we ended up taking so many naps just because we made the mistake of sitting on the beds before we did anything, haha! Though we went as friends, the rooms are really made for couples, so there was a loverly jacuzzi, soft robes, a rain shower with a detachable showerhead... all of the perfect *ahem* twosome accomodations. Either way, they were welcome luxuries just the same. Housekeeping and room service are quick and thorough- but you *MUST* have your privacy light on if you don't want to be disturbed. They don't really wait long to come in after knocking, lol. The grounds are absolutely stunning. The beach is immaculate and practically rock free. Go walking at night along the beach- the tropical fish really come out at night! Though you will find your fishy friends in the daytime too, the night is when it really all comes to life. The pools are heated and come with floats you can be nice and lazy on. There are servers who will take your drink orders from the poolside or beachside and then bring them to you. Oh, the drinks! Free-flowing! You've never seen more easily accessible liquor. PACE YOURSELF! The staff are amazing! They are so sweet and crave legitimate conversation, not just tips. And if they love you, you get the inside scoop- best deals for excursions, best food, best spots in Montego Bay off the beaten path, hot island gossip, etc. I definitely recommend spending nights at the piano bar- Rayon and the boys are sweethearts. And if you want to go offsite, your best bet are the red vests that hang about the resort gatways. There is a very, very good chance they will come out a better deal than the resort-organized excursions. The food was delicious. I know that there have been complaints, but look at it this way: the food is just Jamaican versions of the original cuisines. They don't have imported or transplant chefs, lol. They're all Jamaican. For that, the food is excellent, and better if you get seafood or a typical jamaican dish. Otherwise, it's just ok. So yeah, that was my experience. If I had any complaints, they would be the privacy issue, and perhaps the lack of non-couple oriented activities. But both can be fixed by careful use of the privacy light and careful budgting of your excursion money for off-site activities respectively. But honestly, all of the pros outweigh the very few cons. You will have the time of your life here. I promise. :D


26 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2012
Amazing

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 10 days and cannot imagine being in a nicer place. The grounds were immaculate, the staff was excellent, and the food was outstanding. Even though we were there for 10 days, we never felt bored. With the entertainment staff, the watersports, the games, and the casino, there was always something to do. The pools and the beach were beautiful. We decided to upgrade to the preferred club so we could get a nicer room. The regular junior suites were beautiful but since it was our honeymoon, we splurged a bit and upgraded. We had a butler who made all of our dinner reservations and always had our Jacuzzi tubs filled when we came in from dinner. I surprised my wife with the beach side dinner they offer. I'd suggest that everyone take advantage of that. We were so relaxed that we never even felt the need to go to the spa. The adult drinks are plentiful and I found that the more I tipped, the stronger my drinks were. I would come back the this resort in a heatbeat. I would recommend this place for any couple honeymooning or just looking for a romantic getaway. It's a fantastic experience for a fantastic value.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 17, 2014
Great Place, Be cautios

This resort is really nice, clean, and fun. My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and had a blast. They have nightly shows/events that are entertaining. My only issue was at checkout. We had to catch a shuttle to the airport and inorder to get on this, we had to have a checkout card. When I went to get this, the front desk staff said I had to pay my outstanding charges, which I of course was willing. However, the amount they told me was comletely off. They charged me for use of a ipod (which I did not) and told me a massage coupon my wife and I got for viewing the time share tour was not applied. They refunded me the ipod charge, but could not find the coupon we gave them. Then they told me it was only a $60 coupon when in actuality it was a $100. As I tried to explain and them trying to get the spa manager to agree, my shuttle left with my luggage on it to the airport. Needless to say, we had a flight to catch and I paid the amount, but now I have to contend the issue with my credit card company and the resort. Enjoy the resort, but be cautios of the coupons and things you buy there. Keep all the receipts.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bay Area, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2013
Our Anniversary Trip

We stayed at Secrets St. James Montego Bay 15-19 Aug 2013. Not sure if it was because they were really busy but we didn't receive a welcome drink/towel that other guests have mentioned. The resort overall was better than expected. Our favorite restaraunts were the World Cafe/Blue Mountain (especially lobster night on Tue/Sat) and the French restaraunt (try the lamb) which were excellent. We spent most of our time on the beach each day. The Jerk chicken cart was really good; I made return trips to this cart. The fruit cart and coconut carts were also a nice treat. They appeared along the beach/pool walkway each day around 12-12:30 pm and stayed for 2-3 hours. The coconut cart seemed to be the 1st to give out so I would recommend going to that one first. I've read comments on Trip Advisor that the beach was small. However, we thought it was perfect. The only thing we didn't like about the beach was the loungers. They didn't have any type of cushions on them like the ones around the pool. With only a towel between your body and the wicker, you end up with bruises on your skin. Our last day on the beach, I borrowed two cushions from the pool loungers and hid them under our towels; that was wonderful! If you don't book Preferred Club (which we didn't), be prepared to pay for WiFi. This costs us an additional $80 for 5 days. It's nice to have the option if you want to send pics/messages to friends. While we were there, we wanted to do a little shopping in Montego Bay. We opted for the $60 cab ride instead of the 3-hour group trip. To our surprise, the driver escorted us wherever we wanted to go and actually waited for us at each stop (no time limit). We went to Hip Strip to some of the duty-free shops. Our last stop was at the craft market. If you go to the craft market, be prepared for some VERY aggressive vendors. If you have ever gone shopping at the Mexican or Korean markets, they have nothing on the Jamaican markets as far as aggressiveness goes! Most of the vendors have some of the same items so you can bargain quite a bit with them. All said, it was a great experience. On our way back, he drove us through the heart of the town (a huge eye-opener). It was recommended that we NOT go there to shop. We will definitely go back to Secrets but we'll try the Preferred Club next time. No matter which open you choose, all rooms come with an ocean view. We had a fantastic view from our balcony.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2011
Great price and great place!

The wife and I decided with some friends to go on a vacation together. We had to figure out where to go. They were set on Sandals. They looked good but price wise we were looking to save a little. Then we were on Cheapcaribbean and seen Secrets St. James. The price was right and the airfare and flight times were perfect. We all got to the resort and were more than impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The entertainment team was awesome. They were always fun to watch and talk to and the waiters and bartenders were also always friendly and very nice. The food was very good. The buffet gets a little old in the morning for breakfast but they do switch it up a little. The booze was good. They didn't have a lot of normal stuff like kalua and the higher end vodkas. But the hotel bar had most of that. Drinks were good though. The beaches were better than expected. St. James and the wild orchid are all the same resort so when you walk the beach on the back side of the hotels you can go to any beach of three they have. The pool was not heated at all at st. james. That was my only dissapointment. Was chilly jumping in there. Overall I would recommend this resort. It was clean, very big and lots to do. Weather was nice. Went for Thanksgiving through December 2nd. Hope this helps! I never write reviews but this place was impressive. Side note the friends that came with were total Sandals resort people. They are hooked on Secrets Resorts now after our stay.


18 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maple Grove MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2012
Kawan Clinton

Traveled there september 2011. Really one of the best all inclusive vacations ever. Friendly staff, food was great. Plenty to do on the beach. DO NOT MISS THE JERK CART ON THE BEACH. Also icey cart and fresh coconut drinks (how tropical). My trip was six nights of bliss with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. Give the spa a try not cheap but really worth it. Most resorts you will have one or two down points. I have not one complaint. I do think the preferred is worth the additional money.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year