All

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 142 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"Staff is extremely friendly. Upgrading to swim out room was well worth the money. Secrets didn't have much to do after the sun went down but overall was fantastic! Would definitely go again!" – LaurynS
125 out of 162 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
outside area Our Happy Honeymooners! New room Original room Beautiful sunrise and beach! View from swim up suite beach Sunrise on beach

All Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 142 reviews. Sort by
September 1, 2012
Great Honeymoon!!

We spent our Honeymoon at Secrets, Punta Cana from Aug 21-26, 2012. It was nice to have Olympus Travel to shuttle us from the airport to the resort pre-arranged. We were greated with a refreshing towel and welcome beverage! The resort was just as we had imagined and just as portrayed in the photographs online. We had a bit of a snag with our first room #5380 as the air conditioning did not function properly. Later our first day we were moved to room #5239 and it was much better! I will say that the rooms have a bit of a musty smell and the sheets always feel damp. I think this is from the high humidity levels there and possible the system used for cooling. The room was beautiful and we especially liked the walk-in shower! The jacuzzi tub on the balcony was also a lot of fun! The service was wonderful and the food very good. Our favorite evening out was spent at Ocean's. The service was top notch here and the atmosphere was very romantic. We also dined at the Bluewater Grill at the Now (sister property). The food was good, but the service was not on the same level as Secret's restaurants. We enjoyed the Rivera. Jencen was our favorite waiter! The beach grill had the best hamburgers ever!! One day we rented a cabana with full service. That was well worth it and we totally enjoyed our day. Entertainment and things to do were plentiful. Despite the threat of Tropical Storm Isaac a bit of wind and some rain, we had a blast. This was a great value for the money spent and we left with the desire to return. One note of advice...do not allow yourself to be lured by the men on the beach who want to show you gifts that you can buy. They walk you down the beach to an indoor market that looks quite scary. The building is run down and you wonder if you go in, will you ever be seen again. There are a number of shops in there and the prices are all inflated. Instead, take the free shuttle to the shopping mall that is close to the resort. There are two gift stores there that have a lot of the same things (higher quality) for less money. We were really impressed by how eager everyone was to serve us at Secrets and the friendlyness of the people. It made us feel so welcome!


77 of 81 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Charlottesville, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 12, 2013
Super Nice Resort

Secrets Royal Beach in Punta Cana is a beautiful resort with one of the best rooms I have stayed in so far!! The shower was amazing! The swim-up suite was a very good option, as the chairs by the pool and swim-up bar seemed to be "saved" all the time. So we always had poolside chairs by our rooms. A little spendier than other places I have stayed. The waiters did make their way around to the swim-up suites as well as around the pool. The one problem was with the availability of certain bottled cerveza. The only beer on tap was the local Presidente. So, the bottled beer was very limited. And apparently everyone liked the bottled beer alot better than the local beer on tap, because they were always out of the good beer. If you are a beer drinker, that is a problem. We tried to get a 12 pack of a dominican bottled beer that we liked better than the presidente beer and they said we could, but when they came to deliver, it was the presidente beer in cans. That was the only problem with the all-inclusive that we experienced. The restaurants were excellent. We never had to wait in line to eat and never had a bad meal. There was a beach grill that we did not find out about right away. It was located way on the south end of the Secrets beach in front of the main restaurant. It served delicious grilled meats for a quick bite on the beach. When you just get there, people will grab you and try to seem helpful. Don't fall for the sales pitch and just tell them no right away. It gets a little bothersome with them trying to get you to purchase a membership to their unlimited travel club. If we had that little tip ahead of time, would have been appreciated. We had several hours of our vacation wasted with people pressuring us to go to meetings and such. Also, there was a definite language barrier. Know some spanish if at all possible!! Overall, Secrets is a fabulous resort and I would return!

Beautiful sunrise and beach! Our
22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2015
Secrets Punta Cana

We stayed at the Secrets resort from 9-4-15 to 9-12-15. The resort is very clean. The grounds are well maintained as well as the rooms. We have stayed at a few different Secrets resorts, and this resort exceeded our expectations. The pool was spacious and covered most of the grounds. It was well maintained and never crowded. The beach was stunning and very large compared to most beach fronts available in the Caribbean. The sand was incredible. They offered plenty of beach chairs both in the shade as well as the sun. The resort had a nice variety of restaurants with the option of dining next door at the sister resort. The resort offered everything from Mexican to Italian to hibachi and a buffet. The staff were extremely friendly and quick to help you with anything you may need. They also had wait staff for the pool and beach area to refresh your drinks as often as you desired. The resort also had live entertainment every night. The entertainment team was great. If you like to stay busy, they had activities throughout the day. Everything from morning beach yoga, water balloon fights in the pool, any sort of sports activity, cocktail lessons, Spanish lessons, water aerobics, and live circus shows in the evening. I would recommend the resort to anyone. The only "negative" thing that I can say is, if you do not get the VIP package, then free WiFi is not available to you. The charge was $67 for the week. It didn't matter to us, but a few people were complaining about it. Also the resort was set further away from the ocean than other secrets resorts that we have stayed at. I don't think the ocean view room would be worth the money at this resort. It works out because they have a much larger beach area, but could be disappointing to someone paying extra for an ocean view room.

Secrets Punta Cana
37 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Hartford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2011
Nice but not the best for the money

We enjoyed our trip considering we went during the rainy season, which we did not know when booking. The hotel is very nice and so are those representatives that worked at the front desk. We upgraded to the swim-up suite when we got there because it was alot cheaper than doing it when you book your trip. The rooms are wonderful, very clean and colorful. And they restock your mini bar every morning and turn down your sheets for you at nite.There is basically only one restuarant besides the buffet that is located on your hotel property...the other nice restuarants are located on their sister hotel's property, which isn't far...walking distance. SPICE was by far our favorite Resturant... it is just like Japanese Steakhouse but better! Casino is located in the same area...we had alot of fun there. They also have bowling, movie theatre and lots of entertainment nitely! The pools and beach were the best part...you not only get your property pools are bars but also the sister hotel's pools and bars...Drinks were amazing by the way! Bad Parts: Some of the buffet food was okay but for the most part we did not enjoy it and too many flies! We even got pushed outside when we got to the breakfast buffet just before they closed it...they wouldn't even let us sit down inside because they were ready to start moving everything for lunch. The rooms were nice but we did have a problem with our sheets and pillows smelling like mildew from being washed and set out. And Service was okay but half the people just acted like they hated there jobs. And the food on the room service menu was not that great. We have traveled to three different places in the Carribbean this year and we have also stayed at the Secrets Silversand in Rivera Maya, which was amazing!!! This hotel is very nice but was not as nice as the one we stayed at in Rivera Maya...


28 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 1, 2015
HEAVEN ON EARTH

The resort is AWESOME. Everything is perfect, it's like they thought ahead about everything!!!! 1) STAFF INTEGRITY: My husband lost his wedding bend and my iphone. Both were found and returned to us. 2) POOLS: The pools and the pool bar are awesome. I don't usually love pools, but this one is awesome.\ 3) STAFF: it's WITHOUT ANY DOUBT WHAT MAKES THIS PLACE SPECIAL!!!!!!!!!!! They're always singing or dancing, happy to serve you, not even 3 seconds to get a drink. So friendly and nice!!!!!! 4) FOOD: The buffet is ok, fancy but not super tasty. The restaurant SEASIDE GRILL is so romantic and also tasty. Portofino is also ok. Try to avoid the buffet for dinner and choose a restaurant instead. 5) SEA and BEACH; The beach was stunning. Unfortunately the sea was full of seaweed, but this is not controllable. 6) ROOM : The tropical suite (the cheapest) is amazing and has a tub on the balcony. 7) Entertainment: AMAZING! We had so much fun!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2012

Just returned from a belated honeymoon at the Secrets Royal Beach resort. Everything was exactly as shown in the photos on the website. Just beautiful. Everything was clean, and the service and staff were great. There was always an activity or show available if you were interested in that, but we were perfectly content to just lounge by the pool for the week. The food was quite good for a resort buffet and although we had access to both the restuarants on our property and the adjoining Now Larimar property, we found that the variety of the nightly buffet offered most of what you could get in the restaurants anyway. We aslo used the spa services while there which was also very nice. My one complaint is that upon arrival, you are immediately asked to sit with a member of the hotel sales group to get information, at which time they ask you to meet them them the next morning so they can have you sit for a 90 minute sales pitch about buying into their Unlimited Club. You feel bad for the sales people because it's how they make their living, but it just wasn't how we wanted to spend our time and I'm not sure it was the way you want to be welcomed to a resort after you had spent the day traveling. I would definitely visit this resort again without question.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2011
awesome

My expectations were beyond met!! This resort was wonderful from day one to the last day.the staff was helpful and gracious not to mention, really fun. I can't wait to go back... I highly recomend this hotel and this web-site..


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2016
Carribean Vacation 2016

My boyfriend and I traveled to Punta Cana and stayed at Secrets at the end of May. We booked through the Deal of Fortune and we couldn't have been more happy with the Secrets hotel. The pro's for the hotel: beach and pools were very well maintained and beautiful. The rooms were great as well. We stayed in the cheapest suite (junior suite with tropical view) but it definitely didn't feel that way. The room was huge, very well kept. One of the major pro's was the housekeeping. They always kept are room very clean and made sure everything was stocked. We got a turn down service for our bed every night with chocolates on our pillow. This is the perfect little added touch. We enjoyed top shelf liquor and bartending and waiter staff was excellent in getting us drinks quickly. There was a lot of variety with the food as well. We tried the Oceana-seafood restaurant (although I am not a seafood eater), I had an excellent filet mignon. The buffet was also very good (breakfast was the best I feel like). Our favorite though was probably the Seaside Grill. They have awesome steak and chicken. We ate here quite a few times because we loved it so much. The staff in the hotel was great from the housekeeping to the front desk people to the bar and restaurant staff. They always made us feel like we were at home and were always interested in making us happy. We celebrated a friends birthday while we were down there and the staff specially made a cake and brought it out for all of us to enjoy. This was not something that we asked for, just something they did on their own accord. It was great! We became very close with some of the entertainers, specifically Eddy. He was always trying to get us involved in activities around the resort. We played pool and beach volleyball with him and he made things very fun. The hotel did a good job with the entertainment. We loved the foam parties in the pool! We went to the beach and tried to rent a kayak from the water sports hut that was included in our stay at Secrets. The hut opened at nine and we went around 10. The guy that was working it was sleeping when we walked up. He didn't seem willing to help us at first and said we needed to come back at 10:30 because he wasn't ready..they were supposed to open at 9 so not sure why they weren't ready. They were not very friendly or helpful when we did rent the kayak and paddleboard (getting all the equipment ourselves). They seemed disinterested in helping us. This was a little disappointing as everyone else at the resort was great. We had very few other con's about this place other than the beer was warm. I am not a beer drinker so I didn't mind but my boyfriend did. The beer at the pool and beach was warm because they didn't put the keg in ice. It was left on the ground or to just sit in the Dominican sun. By mid-day it was warm and hard to drink. I know Europeans don't mind the warm beer but being American we would have liked to have had cold beer. We also ordered room service once (just an nacho appetizer) and it never showed up. It wasn't a big deal because we were going to dinner anyways but thought I'd mention it. We had a great vacation and would definitely return to this resort. We recommend to our friends as well.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2015
My Experience

Pros: The resort itself was beautiful. The room was awesome! The checkin people were extremely nice Amstar were very detailed with booking excursions Cons: 1) Food was very plain even though the presentation was beautiful 2) Alot of the workers around the resort were not friendly.They were in bad moods all the time. (It may be their culture but not sure) 3) Housekeeping does not knock on the door before they enter the room. Once it is open they then knock. I noticed this alot while walking to my room and once while in my room. 4) They made tipping a known thing. For every thing someone did for you, they wait to see if you are going to tip them. (not that I wasn't but at least not make it that obvious) 5) Was taken to a spot for shopping and went to a place that only had 4 shops and was forced to stay there for 2hrs. Myself and other tourist were very displeased about it and again the people there had attitudes. Overall I had a pretty good experience, but I won't be back to Punta Cana because of some of the experiences me and my group had.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 5, 2012
Awesome!!

Just went to Secrets on 01/21/12 to 01/28/12. Had an awesome time. Food was so-so but the rest of the resort made up for this. Everyone was super friendly and willing to go the extra step for you. I highly recommond Secrets Royal Beach for some fun and relaxation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year