All

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 66 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"They were extremely friendly!! We loved everything about Secrets Royal!!" – rickncin
67 out of 79 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our outside area Sunrise on beach beach View from swim up suite Beautiful sunrise and beach!

All Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 66 reviews. Sort by
August 12, 2014
Nice But Not Worth The Money

My husband and I traveled here with another couple. We were really looking forward to our first time at an adult's only all-inclusive. We paid extra for a preferred room but there was nothing special about it. It faced the family-friendly sister resort next door so even though we came for an adult-only experience we heard children playing all day and all night. That was anything but romantic as promised. The property was well-maintained but the rooms had a terrible odor. They leave incense in the rooms but it doesn't really do the trick. The preferred suites come with private check-in, bar and butler service for booking things like reservations. That was nice but the rooms were very generic for the additional cost and compared to other suites or luxury rooms at all-inclusive we've stayed at in the past. The pools and pool bars were very clean and very nice but the staff wasn't very friendly as you'd expect hem to be for an all inclusive. The pool activities were a lot of fun but the food and drinks were pretty disappointing throughout the resort. Lots of options, none of them tasty. We ended up going to the other sister property for most of our meals. Also the casino was a real disappointment and the staff overall was super pushy about vacation club sales pitches and tips, which is never comforting when you're trying to get away and relax, We really expected more overall value for our money. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're looking for value and variety.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Bloomfield, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 26, 2014
Excellent Service, Decent Food

The workers at the resort are top notch. They always greet you and are courteous. (although some lack good English) They are the reason I rated this so high. The food was decent. Dining options are good but the buffets could use a little higher quality food. It seemed like the better food choices had longer lines. I liked how you didnt have to wear a wristband or show ID once u checked in. The liquor was fine, but they were of a lower tier bar. I would've preferred better liquor options... Overall, a good trip- the resort was welll maintained and beautiful


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Great!!!!!!!!!

Hotel was great food was awesome so much variety and tasted very good. i would recommend long paints for guys if you want to go to fancy places but there was so many places to go eat sometimes you don't get to see them all. Rooms were spotless and very clean. also roomy and maid staff had towels and restocked bars in rooms everyday. Pools and beaches were the best i have ever seen staff around the whole resort were friendly and helpful. Some of my favorite people were Santos in the preferred bar tender and juan carlos in the pool bar as well! cant wait to go back. best experience and nothing but great stuff around there! only problem we had was didn't stay Long enough


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2014
Dominican Republic,Time of our lives!

Our trip to the Secrets Resort in Dominican Republic was great! From the moment of check-in, the experience was wonderful. We were welcomed with champagne and the words, "Welcome Home"! The lobby was beautifully decorated and smelled great. Our suite was clean, cool and smelled wonderful. The bed was comfortable, however the pillows could have been a little more firm. You may want to bring your own if you like a firm pillow. Beware, the toilet paper roll is very annoying and tricky to use. Room service was available 24 hours a day and they were courteous and prompt. We were spoiled our entire visit. The staff was extremely giving and ready to serve. You may want to learn some basic Spanish, because some of the staff do not speak English very well. If you can speak "some" Spanish it will make communicating a little easier. The accents are very thick. The beach was beautiful, but a bit rocky therefore you may want to wear swim shoes. Do not exchange your American money for Pesos, because it's not necessary and you will be shorting yourself. You can pay for your souvenirs and tip with American money. There are plenty of restaurants to chose from. Everything from French to Mexican. There are two all you can eat buffets. One is on the adult only side of the resort and the other is on the family side. Food is available all day. Between meals at the restaurants there is food available at the "Barefoot Grill". This was good because when we arrived no restaurants were serving meals. The resort serves premium alcoholic beverages and keeps them coming if that is what you desire. They do not water them down! There are shows every night and plenty of activities to keep you busy during the day. Our first parasailing experience was a great one. The beach from up above is breath taking and beautiful! However, if you need a break from life, you can get a massage like we did, relax in the pool or at the beach and do nothing. The spa was a peaceful place; kind of like the Garden of Eden. Pretty flowers, trees and soft music help to set the tone. The grounds of the resort was always beautifully kept. If you do not want to be around children, stay on the adult only side. The people there are fun and really know how to party. The resort and staff get a five star rating from us and it's the best vacation we've ever had! We can not say enough kinds words to describe our experience. Four days was not quite enough, although we were worn out at the end. We truly had the time of our lives.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2014
Over all a good experience

The resort was very nice. We were pleased with condition of the resort and it's fine staffing. The only reason I would not go back is the seaweed in the water. There is lots of it and it is annoying. I am not sure if that is a seasonal thing or not.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Shelburne Ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Underwhelmed

I vacationed at Secrets Punta Cana during the week of April 26-May 2, 2014. Upon my arrival I was not impressed with the immediate attention provided to my wife and I, along with two other couples traveling with us. The glass of champagne and damp hand towel seemed to be and after thought, after waiting between 10 - 15 minutes. During the check in process I was told we had to check in at the Preferred Club. Upon arriving to this location, immediately I noted the small space provided to assist 10-12 couples. While the employees there provided the best service based on their circumstances, again I was disappointed. Eventually, after waiting 10- 15 minutes we received our room key card and to our dismay the door to the shower did not close in one room and bathroom door in another room was scraping along the floor. We made several attempts to correct this with the gentleman who checked us in but with no success. I eventually escalated this to the manager in the main hotel where she mentioned that most guess overlook these kinds of things. In order for me to receive another room due to the lack of functionality it took 2 hours and 30 minutes of my time. So overall this resort along with the workmanship of the rooms did not meet my expectations.


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Excellent Service!

Resort is very nice, dining options are good, however, food is just average. What makes this resort really nice are the people who work there. They are extremely friendly and the service they provide is excellent. We were in the preferred adults only section, but our room overlooked the pool that families with children used. Not a big deal for us but may be for others.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 9, 2014
great getaway!

We booked last minute and loved our 5 day trip. Everything was very clean and the staff was very accommodating! Restaurants were great next door at the Now resort. Had a few marginal dinners but most were good. Make sure you make reservations to Spice......best meal! Best rooms were poolside along the lazy river. Guaranteed to get a seat by the pool that way. People put towels by chairs at 6am and didn't show up until after 3. Not sure I would upgrade to preferred club. Pool was a retirement zone over there, very quiet, everyone sleeping all day! They stopped providing sunscreen in the rooms. Wish we knew because every other Dreams and Secrets provided it, so we did not bring our own. Drinks were cold and nonstop, entire facility was spotless, food was good, staff was friendly, beach was beautiful and weather was perfect every day! Great vacation. I would go back and recommend to friends.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lake Orion, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 5, 2014
Awesome resort and service

Surely one of the most beautiful places in the world! The resort was magnificent, beautiful, clean and very friendly. The weather and experience could not of been better. I highly recommend this resort.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

I cannot say enough about this resort. The service was impeccable. We never had to wait or want for anything. The beach was stunning, and the pool was relaxing. The nightly entertainment was awesome too! My only two complaints -- there were lots of food choices; however, some were a bit out there for our taste. Being from Louisiana, it's hard to compete with what we're used to when dining out! Also, when people moved chairs or anything in their rooms / balconies -- it was incredibly loud. So loud that we were woken up a few times. Overall though, our stay was "EXCELLENTE," as the Secrets staff would say!


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, LA
Age: 25-34