All

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 76 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"They were extremely friendly!! We loved everything about Secrets Royal!!" – rickncin
72 out of 89 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from swim up suite outside area beach Sunrise on beach Beautiful sunrise and beach! Our

All Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 76 reviews. Sort by
September 1, 2012
Great Honeymoon!!

We spent our Honeymoon at Secrets, Punta Cana from Aug 21-26, 2012. It was nice to have Olympus Travel to shuttle us from the airport to the resort pre-arranged. We were greated with a refreshing towel and welcome beverage! The resort was just as we had imagined and just as portrayed in the photographs online. We had a bit of a snag with our first room #5380 as the air conditioning did not function properly. Later our first day we were moved to room #5239 and it was much better! I will say that the rooms have a bit of a musty smell and the sheets always feel damp. I think this is from the high humidity levels there and possible the system used for cooling. The room was beautiful and we especially liked the walk-in shower! The jacuzzi tub on the balcony was also a lot of fun! The service was wonderful and the food very good. Our favorite evening out was spent at Ocean's. The service was top notch here and the atmosphere was very romantic. We also dined at the Bluewater Grill at the Now (sister property). The food was good, but the service was not on the same level as Secret's restaurants. We enjoyed the Rivera. Jencen was our favorite waiter! The beach grill had the best hamburgers ever!! One day we rented a cabana with full service. That was well worth it and we totally enjoyed our day. Entertainment and things to do were plentiful. Despite the threat of Tropical Storm Isaac a bit of wind and some rain, we had a blast. This was a great value for the money spent and we left with the desire to return. One note of advice...do not allow yourself to be lured by the men on the beach who want to show you gifts that you can buy. They walk you down the beach to an indoor market that looks quite scary. The building is run down and you wonder if you go in, will you ever be seen again. There are a number of shops in there and the prices are all inflated. Instead, take the free shuttle to the shopping mall that is close to the resort. There are two gift stores there that have a lot of the same things (higher quality) for less money. We were really impressed by how eager everyone was to serve us at Secrets and the friendlyness of the people. It made us feel so welcome!


75 of 79 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Charlottesville, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 12, 2013
Super Nice Resort

Secrets Royal Beach in Punta Cana is a beautiful resort with one of the best rooms I have stayed in so far!! The shower was amazing! The swim-up suite was a very good option, as the chairs by the pool and swim-up bar seemed to be "saved" all the time. So we always had poolside chairs by our rooms. A little spendier than other places I have stayed. The waiters did make their way around to the swim-up suites as well as around the pool. The one problem was with the availability of certain bottled cerveza. The only beer on tap was the local Presidente. So, the bottled beer was very limited. And apparently everyone liked the bottled beer alot better than the local beer on tap, because they were always out of the good beer. If you are a beer drinker, that is a problem. We tried to get a 12 pack of a dominican bottled beer that we liked better than the presidente beer and they said we could, but when they came to deliver, it was the presidente beer in cans. That was the only problem with the all-inclusive that we experienced. The restaurants were excellent. We never had to wait in line to eat and never had a bad meal. There was a beach grill that we did not find out about right away. It was located way on the south end of the Secrets beach in front of the main restaurant. It served delicious grilled meats for a quick bite on the beach. When you just get there, people will grab you and try to seem helpful. Don't fall for the sales pitch and just tell them no right away. It gets a little bothersome with them trying to get you to purchase a membership to their unlimited travel club. If we had that little tip ahead of time, would have been appreciated. We had several hours of our vacation wasted with people pressuring us to go to meetings and such. Also, there was a definite language barrier. Know some spanish if at all possible!! Overall, Secrets is a fabulous resort and I would return!

Beautiful sunrise and beach! Our
22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2012

Just returned from a belated honeymoon at the Secrets Royal Beach resort. Everything was exactly as shown in the photos on the website. Just beautiful. Everything was clean, and the service and staff were great. There was always an activity or show available if you were interested in that, but we were perfectly content to just lounge by the pool for the week. The food was quite good for a resort buffet and although we had access to both the restuarants on our property and the adjoining Now Larimar property, we found that the variety of the nightly buffet offered most of what you could get in the restaurants anyway. We aslo used the spa services while there which was also very nice. My one complaint is that upon arrival, you are immediately asked to sit with a member of the hotel sales group to get information, at which time they ask you to meet them them the next morning so they can have you sit for a 90 minute sales pitch about buying into their Unlimited Club. You feel bad for the sales people because it's how they make their living, but it just wasn't how we wanted to spend our time and I'm not sure it was the way you want to be welcomed to a resort after you had spent the day traveling. I would definitely visit this resort again without question.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Worcester, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2011
Nice but not the best for the money

We enjoyed our trip considering we went during the rainy season, which we did not know when booking. The hotel is very nice and so are those representatives that worked at the front desk. We upgraded to the swim-up suite when we got there because it was alot cheaper than doing it when you book your trip. The rooms are wonderful, very clean and colorful. And they restock your mini bar every morning and turn down your sheets for you at nite.There is basically only one restuarant besides the buffet that is located on your hotel property...the other nice restuarants are located on their sister hotel's property, which isn't far...walking distance. SPICE was by far our favorite Resturant... it is just like Japanese Steakhouse but better! Casino is located in the same area...we had alot of fun there. They also have bowling, movie theatre and lots of entertainment nitely! The pools and beach were the best part...you not only get your property pools are bars but also the sister hotel's pools and bars...Drinks were amazing by the way! Bad Parts: Some of the buffet food was okay but for the most part we did not enjoy it and too many flies! We even got pushed outside when we got to the breakfast buffet just before they closed it...they wouldn't even let us sit down inside because they were ready to start moving everything for lunch. The rooms were nice but we did have a problem with our sheets and pillows smelling like mildew from being washed and set out. And Service was okay but half the people just acted like they hated there jobs. And the food on the room service menu was not that great. We have traveled to three different places in the Carribbean this year and we have also stayed at the Secrets Silversand in Rivera Maya, which was amazing!!! This hotel is very nice but was not as nice as the one we stayed at in Rivera Maya...


28 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 20, 2011
awesome

My expectations were beyond met!! This resort was wonderful from day one to the last day.the staff was helpful and gracious not to mention, really fun. I can't wait to go back... I highly recomend this hotel and this web-site..


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 5, 2012
Awesome!!

Just went to Secrets on 01/21/12 to 01/28/12. Had an awesome time. Food was so-so but the rest of the resort made up for this. Everyone was super friendly and willing to go the extra step for you. I highly recommond Secrets Royal Beach for some fun and relaxation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2012
Excelente!

We had an amazing time here! Everything was beautiful and the service was perfect! Can't wait to go back! The entertainment staff was our favorite...Jualito, Mickey Mouse, Winnie, Cynthia, Akon...SO MUCH FUN!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2015
Things to consider

We thought the resort was okay. Not fantastic. I found it annoying that every person working at the concierge desk didn’t speak English. Whenever we called down to ask for something, they didn’t speak English and couldn’t understand what we were talking about. Every room is equipped with a private Jacuzzi on the balcony. Nice, except our jets didn’t work and they wanted to room us rooms (to a terrible view) b/c they couldn’t fix the jets. So we didn’t get to enjoy the luxury of it. If you want to go to the Japanese steakhouse, make a reservation a couple days in advance. Don’t go to the Riviera (Seafood Restaurant) the food was not good at all. The food on the beach during the lunch hour is delicious. Room service was okay. We thought the best restaurant was actually the Italian place, Portifino. None of the food was fantastic. Breakfast was probably the best meal everyday. Make sure you make it over to the Now side of the resort for the Carnival restaurant lunch. It is much better than the lunch restaurant on the Secrets side. Men should bring long pants, some pant require them. The service people at the pool bar were fantastic. You don’t have to go to the 9:30am meeting the morning after you arrive. We just went the day before and checked in to the take the shuttle. It is totally worth it, and safe, to take a cab to the airport. It was $28, we have a private ride, and we got to leave later than the shuttle. I would suggest taking a cab to/from the airport. The booking company will make sure every seat on the van is full before you can leave the airport and head to the resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washignton, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2011
Excellent Trip

My husband and I had a lovely time. We received a cool towel and champagne upon check-in. The staff are very friendly and are willing to accomodate every request. We loved the fact that food and drinks are included (also includes a minibar in your room that is restocked everyday and 24 room service), along with many activities. The pools are very clean and the lazy river is extremely relaxing. You may want to bring your own raft, they are a first come, first serve. However, you can purchase rafts in the gift shop if you can't get your hands on one. Since you can also eat at the restaurants at the Now Larmiar which is literally right next door, we also used their pools. The Hibachi at Spice is fun and the food at The Bluewater Grill was good also. The breakfast buffet is great, we ate there everyday. No matter the meal, the buffets always have tons of fruit and bread. The buffets have theme nights which helps to change things up a bit if you choose not to eat at the a la carte restaurants. We traveled in November so it was a bit humid and it did rain everyday, but it didn't ruin our fun. The rain for the most part was short and was conveniently when we were done with the pool/beach and were going back to the room to get ready for dinner. The beach had a bunch of seaweed, not sure if it was due to the time of year we visited or what, but the water is warm and we had a great time.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Albany, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2013
Pretty good...

Resort stays are all about relativity. Relative to my day-to-day life, this was a fantastic resort, but compared to other resorts, I'm not so sure. My girlfriend and I are low-maintenance travelers, so my experience should be geared towards folks like us. Specifically, I don't do "excursions," I don't deal with upsells; I'm there to lay on the beach, drink a bunch, relax a whole bunch and have a whole lot of fun. With that said, here's how I saw the Secrets Punta Cana: - Service seemed a little grumpy most of the time. Very few waiters and room-service personnel spoke English. - Upon arrival to Secrets, we were ambushed by hotel staff. They wanted us to attend meetings, sign paperwork saying we would attend, and generally just trying to impede on our vacation so that we would spend more money. - The first night, we ordered a bottle of rum to the room, in addition to room service. When room service arrived, the order was wrong and the rum was not there. I asked the waiter for the rum, he came back and told me I needed to give him $15 for the bottle. I said no, he left it anyway. Found out later that the bottle of rum was part of all inclusive. This means of course that the waiter was trying to rip me off. Not necessarily the fault of Secrets, but still unpleasant. - Secrets was gorgeous. The swim-out room was amazing, and the room was beautiful. Everything about the looks of the place was top of the line. - The beach was very nice, the water a little murky, wind was constant and seaweed was thick in the water. Not really complaints, the water temp was wonderful, and the beach was very roomy, lots of good spots (we're early risers, ymmv). - The swim-up room pool was fantastic, and honestly one of the best parts of the trip. - Pool side and beach side service were slooooow... Going to the bar was much faster, but the bartenders generally seemed grumpy and put out. - The room was amazing. Soft beds, nice Air Conditioner. The fridge only had four beers, no liquor, lots of soft drinks, spectacular coffee. - El Presidente (the local beer), will get you faster service, more friendly service, and greater quantities. If you can handle Miller Lite, El Presidente should be fine for you. - Room service (aside from language issues), was very good. Good selection, and good food, very quick. - The ala carte restaurants did not require reservations, which was very nice, and the food in the two we tried (between the neighboring resort to which we had access and Secrets), the French Restaurant (it's name escapes me) and the seafood restaurant were both very good. The lunch time grill was also pretty good (standard fare; burgers, hot dogs, chicken, steak). The buffet, which is the quick and easy route, which we tried for breakfast, lunch and dinner was very mediocre. Selection was limited, and quality was not great. - Night time entertainment was frequent and nice, and quite busy. Fun atmosphere to have a few drinks in an watch the show. They actually brought a circus in (a cirque du soleil type of thing) that was genuinely entertaining. - This was an adults only resort, which honestly made the place feel a bit more stodgy and snobby that what I would normally like. The neighboring resort seemed more lively. - The morning activities (from about 0900 - 1400) are fine if you're into that kind of thing. I am decidedly not, so I found their constant recruitment efforts slightly annoying. Ultimately, Secrets was very nice, but the upselling (which was just awful), slightly grumpy service and lackluster buffet (where I normally go for a quick bite) made the whole experience less fun than it could have been. I found the upselling particularly insulting, as Secrets Resorts generally have a premium price tag. I have visited other resorts for cheaper, with comparable amenities and more friendly service.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Omaha, NE
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year