All

Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 234 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.8
4.6 out of 5
"Everything is 5 stars in this hotel, room is unbelievable beautiful, food espectacular, luxury amenities! My only con will be, no beach where You can swin." – Jnfa89
245 out of 270 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool side daily Sunset at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Unmatched Peace Midnight simi private pool Swim out suite Racer ATV poolside morning view at Oceana Hotel at sunset Main entrance Lounging poolside

All Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 234 reviews. Sort by
January 10, 2017
Absolutely Beautiful Resort!

My wife and I spent 6 days here over the New Year's holiday and loved every single minute of our stay! From the second we stepped on property, until the very end as we checked out, the service we received was first class. You can tell they spend a great deal of time with training and staff development because you truly get the feeling that every staff member cares about your stay. We bought this trip through the Cheap Caribbean Deal of Fortune. In this deal, you have 3 options of where you may end up staying, but you won't know which one until 7 days prior to leaving. Cheap Caribbean was great about calling to follow up with our booking and to make sure we had all the information we needed. Their customer service was excellent throughout the entire process!!! We also booked our airport transportation through Cheap Caribbean (they use Amstar) and everything was taken care of for us. We got the private transport so we didn't have to wait for the shuttle. It was a bit more expensive, but I think it was worth it. When we arrived, we were met with a glass of champagne and a cold towel right as we were getting out of our vehicle. The baggage handlers take your luggage and they show you to the main lobby. The check in process is very welcoming and you sit at a desk with someone to go over all the deails of your stay. We liked the one on one service. We noticed later during our stay that if all the reps were busy, someone would walk you over to the bar across the hall to wait. So much better than waiting in a line like most other places do it! After you get checked in, you will be escorted over to a second representative at a desk outside the main lobby. That person will talk with you about some discounts you can get at the resort, but that will also lead into an invitation to come to breakfast with them the next morning. That breakfast will be about 90 minutes and they will discuss options for their partnership program with all the other Secrets Resorts. We declined (and they weren't pushy so it wasn't a big deal), but from talking with other people at the resort who did go, apparently this deal is quite expensive. I guess it's worth it if you travel a lot, but you can make that decision for yourself. After a quick 5 minutes at that desk, we got a ride on a golf cart to our room. We were in building 2 which turned out to be a perfect location. Not too far to walk, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Since our room was in between the two buildings in front of us, we were fortunate to have a beautiful ocean view as well. The room itself was very nice and spacious. Furniture was upgraded quality and the bed was VERY comfortable.The shower has a glass wall looking into the main room, but there was a sliding door that could be closed for privacy if you wanted. The balcony doors are double sliders so they open up pretty much the width of the room. The main pool is HUGE and gorgeous. There are multiple levels with infinity edges leading to the next level. There is seating on all levels as well so you have plenty of different environments to choose from. You probably want to get there early to claim a chair in the most popular spots though. We never had a problem finding a chair throughout the day, but the spots on the top level and right around the edge near the swim up bar were taken by 8:30 or 9:00am each day. There are palm trees growing out of the middle of it with seating ledges all the way around them. The swim up bar was fully stocked and the tiki style roof hung over just enough so you could get out of the sun if you wanted. Ishmael was the bartender pretty much every day we were there and he was awesome. He was always smiling and making jokes no matter how busy he got. There is also a much quieter pool near Oceana restaurant if you want to have some peace and quiet. The Oceana bar is open to service this pool. There is a hot tub in both pool areas. The Baracuda bar is a tiki style bar (with swings for seats) down near the beach. You can't swim in the ocean due to the heavy undertow, but we still went out there and put our feet in it. You can see how strong the undertow is as the waves receded back in so I'm sure I wouldn't want to test it. Finally, the main lobby bar had a more upscale, jazzy feel to it. It was a great place to go at night if you wanted to just kick back and listen to some live music (sax, piano, acoustic guitar, etc). We tested all 4 bars and I will tell you that the drinks are NOT watered down at all. We've been to many all-inclusives that were stingy with their drinks and Secrets was extremely generous in their pours. If you wanted a full glass of something, they'd give it to you. If you want your drink a little stronger, they'll pour it however you like it. Alcohol quality was pretty good too (Crown, Johnny Red, Johnny Black, Don Julio, Tito's, Grey Goose, etc). The food was also excellent. Our favorite restaurant was Portofino. The Italian food was very well prepared and flavorful. Oceana was our second favorite and the Seaside Grill was excellent for lunch. Do not miss the chicken quesadillas at the Barefoot Grill (snacks by the main pool). The grounds are beautiful and we always saw gardeners tending to the flower beds each day. They were adamant about the appearance of the grounds each day. We were very impressed at the amount of effort they put into pleasing the guests. This truly was one of our favorite trips that we have taken and I strongly suggest Secrets Puerto to anyone looking to visit Los Cabos. It is a bit far away from Cabo San Lucas, but we took an excursion that took us to San Jose and Cabo San Lucas in one day and that was enough for us to see the area. The Dolphin Encounters excursion (the swim plus) was a highlight of the trip as well (separate review coming for that). If you are thinking of coming to Los Cabos...make sure you come to Secrets!


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lubbock, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 21, 2016
Other than the beginning, a fantastic experience

Wow! This was a wonderful all-inclusive resort. The grounds are meticulously kept and everything is squeaky clean. The room was wonderful. Entertainment was above average. Facilities are awesome. the location is spectacular. The only bad part of the experience was when we first got here they tried to get us to spend an hour and a half the next morning listening to a timeshare type offer for their preferred Club. Typical hard sell. I said no thanks. He persisted. I said no thanks again. Then his manager showed up to take his turn at me. I felt like i was in a car dealership. Not a good way to start off the vacation. If i could avoid that experience i would definitely come back.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2014
You can't beat this!

My girlfriend and I spent 7 days at Secrets Los Puertos. We had a beautiful room with a swimout pool which was amazing. The facilities and rooms are pristine and luxurious. The food was exceptional for an all inclusive. The only time we ate athe a buffet was during breakfast (by choice). The service was far better than anything you will get in the USA. All of the criticism that this resort received for poor service when they opened should be ignored by anyone considering a trip here. I was overwhelmingly impressed by the service the entire time.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 11, 2015
Best trip ever

The pictures of the website do not do this place justice. ..the service was impeccable. ..this resort has everything you need. If you are looking for a party Resort then this is not for you, but if you are looking for a relaxing vacation, a few drinks and excellent service without crowds waking you up at two in the morning, you will love this place. The wonder bar staff at manatees take great care of you as well as every server at all the restaurants. Kudos to Cho Cho for wonderful service by the pool. Rooms are very modern and the bed will make you sleep like a baby. Room service is available at all hours and if you dont want to answer the door there is a box where it can be left for you. The maid staff comes by twice daily, once for cleaning and the second time for a turn down and check if you need anything. ..like more ice. It is about a 30 minute ride to Los Cabos but you can get a taxi for around 60 usd, and the ride is very scenic. They offer a pub crawl for 25 a person into town for about a 5 hour bar hopping experience but we found the pubs a little expensive. There is a lot of walking as this is a large resort, but you only need to dial 0 and request a golf cart ride to any location. We were asked many times by the staff that drives around continually on them did we need aride. The breakfast buffet is truly amazing every morning. We hope to return next year


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 7, 2014
Disappointed

Beach-sticks & rocks. Two 4' drops to ocean. Severe undertows, cannot go in water Service-horrible. two hr wait for fine dining, same for room service and housekeeping Room: no hooks for towels/robes, otherwise comfortable Pool-not enough chairs for guests & was on 55% full, otherwise nice Restaurants-good choices. Had "sour" cream for coffee, almost got sick. Food was average Resort-a lot of "trip" hazards. Different layout. Not the prettiest I have been to, kind of plain.


53 of 68 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Palos Heights,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 22, 2014
Excellent All Inclusive

My wife and I stayed at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos for our honeymoon and we both agree that it was the perfect place for us! We had an ocean front preferred junior suite, which was more than enough room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very nice with the large rainfall shower and separate tub! The view from the room was great as well, plus the balcony had a great jaccuzi too! Service was excellent and everyone went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and taken care off. The restaurants were great as well, and well beyond what we expected for a all inclusive resort. Make sure you try the lamb at Portofino! With everything right in the resort we had little incentive to leave. The beach was great, though too rough for swimming. If we did feel like jumping into water we would go to the pool. The main pool is great, but if you want to have a quieter experience try the secondary pool next to oceania restraunt. Amazing views! All in all, this was a great resort. Cheap carribean did a great job making sure everything was set up for us. I would highly recommend it to any one looking to have a quieter more luxurious stay in Puerto Los Cabos!


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Anaheim, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 24, 2015
Great Ex;perience

Have traveled to Mexico 25-30 times in last 35 years and this was one of the most complete resort that we have stayed at! The food, including the pool food was outstanding. The better restuarants you will need to allow an hour in advance sometimes before they can seat you. The only place to take reservations seated us on time. All the liquor was top brand with many varieties, including the wine. The service, esp. at the pool bar was excellent. All the servers were most accommodating and friendly; doing everything possible to take care of us. We were here for 7 days. Even our room had great detail to the comfort, as well as the lighting, bath area, A/C, beds, and cleanness! The place is off the beaten path, so no neighboring resorts and no road noise at night. Even the rooms are designed so that walkways lead to the rooms and you avoid noise from mobile carts. The only negative bout this place was that they were pushy about wanting you to do a sales pitch to get discounts? We had upgrades with our room and had $400 toward massages, but they were useless; as the massages were still way overpriced from any other place that we have been in Mexico. If we could have gotten a massage at a fair price and lobster would have been offered at one of the diners; this place would have scored100+!!! We would go back and have already recommended it to other friends and relatives!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2015
See Cabo !! :-)

My wife and I arrived at Secrets Los Cabos 2 April 2015. We were very pleased with our stay, and have recommended Secrets to many other couples. It you really want to get away from it all... This is the place folks! We were treated very well... and that started the minute we arrived at Secrets Los Cabos! I really appreciate the cheapcaribbean.com representative that worked with me on this trip! I had many questions... The rep. was very helpful and patient. I waited a few weeks to ponder my trip and consider a review... When I think of our Cabo trip... I smile! It's so much fun to talk about the trip with my wife when we relax and spend time together. I was pleasantly surprised with Secrets and the area of Los Cabos. The Secrets staff was very professional. If you like the outdoors and being away from it all Secrets Los Cabos is the place! I recommend the following excursions: Baja ATV ride, Dolphins, and the El Arco glass bottom boat ride. We think the trip was a good value. Ready to Go back!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2016
Quiet Retreat

This is a very low key resort. Very pretty. It is adults only so it is low key, nothing going on at night, and some people prefer that. Large corporate retreats took over and were kind of what was focused on while lone couples like us were left in the dust. However, the kind servers tried to make up for the forgetfulness of the hostesses and managers. The beach is pretty but you cannot swim on this side of Los Cabos. Water is too rough. Enjoyed the top shelf liquor, but would rather have some night life in exchange.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2014
DISAPPOINTING HONEYMOON

Pool/Pool Staff/Pool Entertainment/Beach We spent our first few days in the main pool until we had such bad service and experience back to back we decided to try the infinity pool. The staff and guests are confused if you are allowed to eat along the poolside while still being in the pool. Some staff, along with all staff at Maroma, will let you and others ask you to get out. On Tuesday, we had just gotten back at 5pm from an all day excursion in Cabo San Lucas and we wanted to have a drink and some food at the main pool. We ordered from a waiter then we see the manager chew out our waiter from the Sea Side Grill for serving us so late and pool side. The waiter came over and asked us to get out eat which was the first time in my 4 days that we had been asked to get out of the pool and eat. Then the same manger continued to stare us down until we left watching us and making us feel extremely uncomfortable. After that we went over to the infinity pool until our visit was over where we had hit or miss service as well. The bar staff overall needs help. I myself have been in the service industry for 15 years and was surprised by the difference in quality between here and Maroma. We had servers that forgot drinks, got food orders completely wrong, or just simply did not come around but every 30 or 45 minutes. It all seemed like the attitude of a majority of the bar staff including the pool servers was they were bothered or put off by your request. They did not add to the fun of my trip like they had previously. I would say the quality of service by the pool and bar staff is one of the areas that needs the most help. We did not feel welcomed by most of the staff and this is the top reason we did not enjoy our stay. Rooms/Concierge/Honeymoon We were on our Honeymoon which is a once in a lifetime experience. They had forgotten several of the surprises like the banner on the door, rose pedals on the bed, and our announcement was not made until 2 days before we left. We did enjoy our breakfast provided by the concierge, however, without a table in the room we found it very hard to eat on the side of the bed. It was also hard to order any type of room service and eat in the room without a table in the room. We really missed the individual concierge service in each building. I feel that if one had been in our building they may not have missing all of our Honeymoon surprises. We were very hurt by the lack of attention that we received on such a special occasion and rude service. Honestly, there were times that I really wanted to pack up and leave. Other issues we had with room service was that we would put on the so not disturb button so they would put food in the Secret Box and they would knock on the door. Then we started requesting when we ordered for them to put it in the Secret Box and put on the do not disturb and still they would knock on the door and come in our room. On a couple of occasions we had our breakfast from the morning still in our Secret Box at 12am when we would order a drink or food later. The mini fridge barely keeps the drinks cool. Water and coffee was not automatically refilled we had to make special calls to room service to refill these items. Previously, we just told our personal Concierge at the beginning of the week that we would like it refilled every day and it was done by the time we got back in the room. The front desk also shut off our key the last day so we would come check out I would assume. However, it was almost 100 degrees by 12. We had just walked from our room building 3, all the way to the infinity pool to say bye to friends, to the main pool to say bye to friends, and back to our room to grab our bags to check out. Then we tried our key and they had shut it off. Since there is no Concierge in each building and no phone to use we could not call a golf cart to come get us. We had to walk all the way back where we had just come from in 100 degree heat to get a new key then all the way back to our room in building 3. Had we realized the service level difference we likely would have chosen to stay at Marquis for our Honeymoon and given this resort more time to work out the issues. Now we left disappointed and frustrated with our experience at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos and do not care to return. We wouldn’t want another Honeymoon couple to experience that lack of attention and customer service we did because I know that is not the traditional way that Secrets operates. We were with several other guests who had also stayed at other Secrets resorts and were not at all satisfied with their stay either. Our overall experience rating for this resort we would rate it 3 out of 10. I also sent this same review to the resort with no response. That about sums up the quality of service we received on our stay.


32 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: KANSAS CITY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year