All

Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 242 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"The vacation was great. The food was a bit bland, but everything else was fantastic!" – Yeeee
227 out of 272 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Construction outside of my balcony Resort from room balcony View from our balcony Pool Scammer Alert The beach Night view of courtyard Extremely Blessed! Paradise poolside Pool with Beach in background. On the beach Miami Vice's by the pool. Secrets Playa Mujeres at night On walkway to the beach View from my room There Beach view! Priceless experience Secrets playa mujeres Genius!!!!! Good friends

All Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 242 reviews. Sort by
February 23, 2016
Up and Coming

Let me start by saying we have vacationed at Secrets Maroma, Silversands, Hautulco, and Capri. Each Resort has its advantages and drawbacks, but there is more upside and very little to complain about with Playa Mujeres. A lot has been written about this resort so I will try to explain some things that may be helpful. First, we used USA Transfers private shuttle instead of the group shuttles because USA Transfers private shuttle is personal, fast and no excursions sales pitches. The resort is about 45 min from the airport. First thing about Playa Mujeres is that it is a decent size resort spread out over a large area. You enter at one part that contains the Lobby, Theater, Spa, Gym, and some Resturants. Between this area and the Beach/Rooms is a Nature Preserve, so to get from the one end to the other there is a golf cart shuttle service. If the carts are not waiting there, you press a doorbell and within a minute, your shuttle is there. To us, this was a joy to use and a lot of fun if you had a lot to drink. The beach area contains all the pools and the breakfast/ lunch resturant, shops, bars, and activities. Check in in the open-air lobby was fast and we were wisked off to our rooms. We had an ocean view room on the fourth floor of bldg 2. The room was outstanding, we got to see the sun rise every day over the beautiful ocean, the only down fall was “yes” we could see and hear the construction (only if you were outside), but it did not bother us and we enjoyed seeing them build the resort nextdoor. The rooms were new and very clean. An upgrade for us was the do not disturb light which you can control right by the bed. The room also had two jetted tubs inside as well as outside. The house cleaning staff did a great job keeping the room perfect, and well stocked. Beach: This resort next to Maroma had the best ocean area. You could go out very far and still be on soft sand and not rocks. To get to the beach you had to walk through another nature perserve of about 50 yards. The beach area itself is long but there were no palapas instead they had umbrellas, which do not work like a permanent palapa. There is a Tiki bar right on the beach with swings all around, which was a nice idea. Pools: The pools were free-formed and large; you could always find a nook to hang out around. The pool closest to the beach seemed to be the only pool heated. They have four hot tubs all at different temperatures in the pool area, which helped on chilly days. This pool was by far the best pool of all the resorts we visited. Restaurants: We visited The Italian, French, Japanese, and the Mexican restaurant for diner and found them to be up to the Secrets standards. Breakfast was enjoyed at the Market Cafe buffet located in the Pool/Room area, and this was large and again up to the Secrets standards. Service: the resort is large and at the time of our stay was full of people for a corporate event so the service was stressed, but they kept up and gave us everything we desired (thank you Jorge, and Leo). The beach and pool service was friendly but at times slow again probably due to the resort being full. Overall, Playa Mujeres was a good resort and we are planning to return mostly because of the service we received and the beach. I would definitely be looking for a time when it is not very full by staying away from the corporate month of Feburary. I would be glad to answer any question you might have about the resort.


56 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2016
Sorry Secrets

I really wanted Secrets Playa Mujeres to be as great as the Secrets I stayed at in Cabo but sadly it just wasn't. The property is beautiful (sans the construction next door) but the lack of great customer service and all the rules they have just allow me to give it a mediocre rating. Pros: Property, gym, spa, beach Cons: No eating at the pool, too many rules (this is Mexico, right?), so-so dining, Spa is expensive for Mexico (more than US). Do your research and find another resort where they focus on the client's satisfaction and not their own set of rules.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 7, 2017
Would go back!

LOVED LOVED LOVED every moment. My boyfriend and I stayed Dec 26-Dec 30, 2016 in a swim-out suite as preferred members. I didn't really think it was worth being a preferred member except for the Swim out room was AMAZING and it wasn't crowded so there was never neighbors outside with us. Water felt good but a tiny on the cold side. And as preferred members we were able to get a bed on THE BEACH! It was the BEST! Food was great and a little bit of everything. My boyfriend didn't have a collar shift so we couldn't get into the French or Italian restaurant. But we had so much to choose from. Beautiful pools, beaches and views from our room. Everyone was sooo nice, made me not wanna leave. People learned our names and love for strawberry margaritas. I could go on and on about great things. WELL WORTH IT!!!

Would go back! Would go back!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: VA BEACH, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2016
Absolutely a wonderful vacation

This resorts was just what we were looking for. Accommodations were very nice. Nice sitting area in the room, whirlpool tub on the balcony, Beds were very comfortable. Service was outstanding. All were so helpful and friendly, lots of activities if you wanted to join it. All restaurants were very good. My least favorite was Oceania which was echoed by everyone in our group. Top shelf liquor, great drinks, We did not golf, but I spoke to many who said the course was fantastic. The staff at the spa was fantastic. Jessica gave me one of the best massages I ever had. Don't be afraid of the comment on construction noise. Although it was there during the day, it did not present a problem. Actually, my husband enjoyed having a beverage on the patio in the late afternoon watching the work progress. They thought of everything. I would definitely go to this resort again.


18 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2016
Great value and excellent resort

I believe this is one of the best overall resorts I have visited. The pool and grounds are fantastic. The food overall was good and the service was always pleasant and helpful. The bed in the room was great, I believe it was a memory foam mattress. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked very well considering the humidity. Much better than any other tropical resort I can recall. I gave the room a lower comfort rating because we were located in building 2 which has construction going on next door. It is not a problem if you wake up before 7:30 normally, as that is about the time it begins. It was really not a big problem for us since we left the room early and did not come back until later. If you are sensitive to that or want to spend significant time on the balcony during the day it would be a deal breaker for sure. Cheap Caribbean really needs to make this clear when they sell a room for that building at this resort. We did the deal of fortune and no where in the booking process does it tell you that is a possibility. You have to go look at the particular resort and go to the very bottom of the page to find a blurb. This resort is spread out and you have to take golf carts to the front lobby, some of the restaurants, and gift shops. I have been to some resorts where this is quite an issue, but here the carts run frequently and was never a concern. Plenty of nice chairs by the pool and the beach. Many activities going on throughout the day if you are inclined. Would highly recommend this resort if you can handle the room location or know for sure that you are not in building 2. Again for us it was not a problem, but just a warning to others. Would definitely go back to this one, which I cannot say for many others I have been.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 9, 2016
Horrible Service and Horrible Food

I will first highlight some of the pros of the resort: clean rooms, spacious rooms, nice beach, nice pools (clean) Cons: Slow service at every turn - you will wait at least 15 min per drink at the bar, expect to spend at least 1.5 hours at each meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner) because the service is insanely slow. Furthermore in the event you want room service...order 2 hours in advance. I promise, you will not receive your meal/snack within the hour no matter how small of an order. The food is horrible too. I literally tried just about everything the resort had to offer and what you are left with is food that the employees are able to cook in mass quantities and serve all day long. Just one look at the meats used and you will wish you would have went to another resort. With the cost of the resort being as high as it is, you'd think you'd receive better quality food and service. This is not the case. I am a healthy eater, not picky, but a healthy eater and I would have rather spent the week eating McDonalds cheeseburgers than eating this resort food.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 19, 2016
Highly recommended

Me and my lovely bride came to this resort for our honeymoon. From the momment we stepped off the plane in cancun we felt comfortable and relaxed. The driver was very friendly and professional. The check in process was a breeze and our room was amazing. Room service was quick and very convenient. Every employee was very friendly and you could tell they loved there job. Everything, from the room to the property to the beach was beautiful and well kept. We will definitely be revisiting this resort!

Highly recommended
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2015
Best Purchase ever Until

The Resort Playa Mujeres was outstanding! The staff were the most pleasant and friendly people you ever want to meet. The food was fantastic the booze flowed freely. I can't express the feeling I got when I would take in the views of the Gulf. Even at night the pools are lite to a soft soothing glow. We did have one issue and it is still not resolved to my satisfaction, at the resort we purchase the CATmania tour from Amstar. Eight of us were picked up in a van and taken to the marina got on a beautiful boat went snorkeling, drinking, eating, generally having a blast. Took in ISLA Mujeres, I wish I had a whole day there, and returned to the dock in great spirits. All eight of us got in the van to return and right outside the marina these red cabs surrounded our van and held us hostage for forty minutes until the police arrived carrying automatic weapons. They wrote our driver a ticket. Later we found out from another person at the resort that the government there has a ordinance that a non-taxi van can only carry one family group at a time, hence the ticket. Don't you think the operators of amstar should have known. No one from the resort or Amstar would tell us anything or even apologize for what had happened to us, Please go to the resort just don't leave it.


35 of 48 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dania Beach, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 22, 2017
Absolutely amazing !!

This place is wonderful I actually traveled here alone for a solo vacation for four nights .. I met so many wonderful people!! friends that I'll have for a lifetime and I actually have a trip planned to go to Europe to visit some of the people that I met !! I recommend getting the VIP car service from Cancun shuttles .. I upgraded my room to a beach view which is the larger room with more premium minibar Service !! I was on this trip to celebrate the opening of my new salon and they really made it special (see picture below they hand laid dyed rice to make this Beautiful piece of art ) this resort was truly a five-star resort you feel completely off the beaten path and the food is spectacular !! Oh and the 24 hour room service is also sooo good !! This place is not only for singles it's for everyone !! I had several services at the spa and Fernando is amazing and so professional .. trust me go ahead and book it you won't regret it I already have plans on coming back before the end of this year !

Absolutely amazing !! Absolutely amazing !!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta Georgia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2017

the place was very nice and also the staff.. I did not like that you could not order food on beach or at pool... it was a little cool when we were there and the hot tops were not working properly.. also I sent a e mail to cheap Caribbean in that we had requested a beach front and paid for beach front ... we did not get... I took ill on arrival and was not able to ask to have room change... so I am asking cheapcaribbean to not be cheap and return to us a refund for the room rate we did not get


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: chester county pa
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations