All

Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 136 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"If you are there to relax skip any and all presentation or special offers." – PickyJH
130 out of 154 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Secrets playa mujeres View from my room Priceless experience Extremely Blessed! Secrets Playa Mujeres at night View from our balcony Resort from room balcony Good friends Night view of courtyard Genius!!!!!

All Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 136 reviews. Sort by
February 23, 2016
Up and Coming

Let me start by saying we have vacationed at Secrets Maroma, Silversands, Hautulco, and Capri. Each Resort has its advantages and drawbacks, but there is more upside and very little to complain about with Playa Mujeres. A lot has been written about this resort so I will try to explain some things that may be helpful. First, we used USA Transfers private shuttle instead of the group shuttles because USA Transfers private shuttle is personal, fast and no excursions sales pitches. The resort is about 45 min from the airport. First thing about Playa Mujeres is that it is a decent size resort spread out over a large area. You enter at one part that contains the Lobby, Theater, Spa, Gym, and some Resturants. Between this area and the Beach/Rooms is a Nature Preserve, so to get from the one end to the other there is a golf cart shuttle service. If the carts are not waiting there, you press a doorbell and within a minute, your shuttle is there. To us, this was a joy to use and a lot of fun if you had a lot to drink. The beach area contains all the pools and the breakfast/ lunch resturant, shops, bars, and activities. Check in in the open-air lobby was fast and we were wisked off to our rooms. We had an ocean view room on the fourth floor of bldg 2. The room was outstanding, we got to see the sun rise every day over the beautiful ocean, the only down fall was “yes” we could see and hear the construction (only if you were outside), but it did not bother us and we enjoyed seeing them build the resort nextdoor. The rooms were new and very clean. An upgrade for us was the do not disturb light which you can control right by the bed. The room also had two jetted tubs inside as well as outside. The house cleaning staff did a great job keeping the room perfect, and well stocked. Beach: This resort next to Maroma had the best ocean area. You could go out very far and still be on soft sand and not rocks. To get to the beach you had to walk through another nature perserve of about 50 yards. The beach area itself is long but there were no palapas instead they had umbrellas, which do not work like a permanent palapa. There is a Tiki bar right on the beach with swings all around, which was a nice idea. Pools: The pools were free-formed and large; you could always find a nook to hang out around. The pool closest to the beach seemed to be the only pool heated. They have four hot tubs all at different temperatures in the pool area, which helped on chilly days. This pool was by far the best pool of all the resorts we visited. Restaurants: We visited The Italian, French, Japanese, and the Mexican restaurant for diner and found them to be up to the Secrets standards. Breakfast was enjoyed at the Market Cafe buffet located in the Pool/Room area, and this was large and again up to the Secrets standards. Service: the resort is large and at the time of our stay was full of people for a corporate event so the service was stressed, but they kept up and gave us everything we desired (thank you Jorge, and Leo). The beach and pool service was friendly but at times slow again probably due to the resort being full. Overall, Playa Mujeres was a good resort and we are planning to return mostly because of the service we received and the beach. I would definitely be looking for a time when it is not very full by staying away from the corporate month of Feburary. I would be glad to answer any question you might have about the resort.


54 of 54 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Secrets Playa Mujeres

We stayed at Secrets Playa Mujeres for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The staff was great and extremely attentive. From check-in to check-out we had great service the entire week. The food and drinks were great. We enjoyed the Mexican and Oceana restaurants the best. The entertainment staff was great as well. They were engaging and encouraging guests to participate in activities. The shows that were arranged in the evenings were fun and we would recommend checking a few of them out during your stay. We highly recommend you book a transportation company with your trip. It was so convenient to get off the plane and have a car waiting to take you to the resort. The only thing we would say was a slight disappointment was the romantic dinner for two. It is an extra that you can add for additional cost and since it was our honeymoon we chose to do that. It is sold and advertised as a romantic dinner for two on the beach. It was really a romantic dinner for two adjacent to the pool with a view of the beach. It was nice and the food was exceptional, but it wasn't what we believed we were paying for. The resort website says "sneak away for a romantic meal on the beach." Most of your dinners and the atmosphere at the restaurants are romantic enough. Its not worth paying the added cost for the dinner for two, especially if you're going to be sat next to the pool and not on the actual beach.

Secrets Playa Mujeres Secrets Playa Mujeres
20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2016
Sorry Secrets

I really wanted Secrets Playa Mujeres to be as great as the Secrets I stayed at in Cabo but sadly it just wasn't. The property is beautiful (sans the construction next door) but the lack of great customer service and all the rules they have just allow me to give it a mediocre rating. Pros: Property, gym, spa, beach Cons: No eating at the pool, too many rules (this is Mexico, right?), so-so dining, Spa is expensive for Mexico (more than US). Do your research and find another resort where they focus on the client's satisfaction and not their own set of rules.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2015
Nice Experience

I stayed at Secrets Playa Mujeres for five nights and six days with six friends. Overall, the resort is beautiful. The resort is immaculate and the staff is incredibly helpful overall and very attentive.There were plenty of chairs available at the pools and the beach and there never seemed to be a day that we couldn't find seating together. There is good service at the pools and the beach by the waitstaff. They have an entertainment staff that is very active and they try to get guests involved in activities, however, if you don't want to participate they leave you alone. The entertainment staff was always happy and cheerful. The actual rooms are beautiful with great air conditioning. They are very clean and well kept although housekeeping sometimes doesn't arrive until late afternoon. We were in a junior suite which was very large with a balcony and a nice view of the ocean. We only used room service to order drinks and you can only order beer or wine via room service - not mixed drinks and you can only order four drinks at a time. We did have some issues with timely delivery and waited 40 minutes for delivery but they returned with a full bottle of wine for us for the inconvenience. On the Saturday and Sunday evenings of our trip we encountered some issues with dining. On Saturday we ate at the Italian/Mediterranean restaurant. We got there around 8 and waited about 75 minutes for a table. Once seated, the wait staff was friendly and attentive but the time between courses was painfully slow meaning it took about 2 hours to get through the meal. We ordered dessert and finally left our table after waiting over 20 minutes for it to be delivered. The portion size was also somewhat small. The food was good but the dinner was ruined by the wait and extremely slow service. On Sunday, we waited well over an hour again for a table at the Patio which served Mexican food. I did complain to the Captain that the wait was extremely long and when they did seat us, he had a variety of appetizers already waiting on the table. He was incredibly apologetic and attentive. The food at Oceana was very good and the staff (Hugo) were excellent. However, the restaurant is on the beach and not air conditioned so it is warm and there are mosquitoes but they have bug spray available. I think the long waits could be avoided if they allowed reservations for larger groups. The Market Place offers breakfast and lunch every day with abundant, delicious options and efficient service. We did use the spa services. The spa is beautiful and relaxing but services seemed to be a bit on the expensive side. The check in process is long. You need to check in and meet with a concierge (Oliver, who was excellent). They ask you to come back the next day in person to see what promotions are available and they try to get you to go on a tour of the Presidential Suite or similar to earn the promotion which could be a free massage, etc. However, it is a 90 minute presentation so we didn't do it. We did not do any excursions except rent wave runners. The resort is about 30 min from Cancun proper which I believe is a 20 - 30 cab ride each way. We did not see a reason to leave the resort. The night club is adequate - a crowd every night but not overly crowded. Overall, we had a great time and all of us thought the resort was beautiful and the staff wonderful. We would have had a perfect trip if not for the restaurant experiences.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Upstate New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 2, 2016
Absolutely a wonderful vacation

This resorts was just what we were looking for. Accommodations were very nice. Nice sitting area in the room, whirlpool tub on the balcony, Beds were very comfortable. Service was outstanding. All were so helpful and friendly, lots of activities if you wanted to join it. All restaurants were very good. My least favorite was Oceania which was echoed by everyone in our group. Top shelf liquor, great drinks, We did not golf, but I spoke to many who said the course was fantastic. The staff at the spa was fantastic. Jessica gave me one of the best massages I ever had. Don't be afraid of the comment on construction noise. Although it was there during the day, it did not present a problem. Actually, my husband enjoyed having a beverage on the patio in the late afternoon watching the work progress. They thought of everything. I would definitely go to this resort again.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2016
Great value and excellent resort

I believe this is one of the best overall resorts I have visited. The pool and grounds are fantastic. The food overall was good and the service was always pleasant and helpful. The bed in the room was great, I believe it was a memory foam mattress. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked very well considering the humidity. Much better than any other tropical resort I can recall. I gave the room a lower comfort rating because we were located in building 2 which has construction going on next door. It is not a problem if you wake up before 7:30 normally, as that is about the time it begins. It was really not a big problem for us since we left the room early and did not come back until later. If you are sensitive to that or want to spend significant time on the balcony during the day it would be a deal breaker for sure. Cheap Caribbean really needs to make this clear when they sell a room for that building at this resort. We did the deal of fortune and no where in the booking process does it tell you that is a possibility. You have to go look at the particular resort and go to the very bottom of the page to find a blurb. This resort is spread out and you have to take golf carts to the front lobby, some of the restaurants, and gift shops. I have been to some resorts where this is quite an issue, but here the carts run frequently and was never a concern. Plenty of nice chairs by the pool and the beach. Many activities going on throughout the day if you are inclined. Would highly recommend this resort if you can handle the room location or know for sure that you are not in building 2. Again for us it was not a problem, but just a warning to others. Would definitely go back to this one, which I cannot say for many others I have been.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 7, 2017
Would go back!

LOVED LOVED LOVED every moment. My boyfriend and I stayed Dec 26-Dec 30, 2016 in a swim-out suite as preferred members. I didn't really think it was worth being a preferred member except for the Swim out room was AMAZING and it wasn't crowded so there was never neighbors outside with us. Water felt good but a tiny on the cold side. And as preferred members we were able to get a bed on THE BEACH! It was the BEST! Food was great and a little bit of everything. My boyfriend didn't have a collar shift so we couldn't get into the French or Italian restaurant. But we had so much to choose from. Beautiful pools, beaches and views from our room. Everyone was sooo nice, made me not wanna leave. People learned our names and love for strawberry margaritas. I could go on and on about great things. WELL WORTH IT!!!

Would go back! Would go back!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: VA BEACH, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2016
Highly recommended

Me and my lovely bride came to this resort for our honeymoon. From the momment we stepped off the plane in cancun we felt comfortable and relaxed. The driver was very friendly and professional. The check in process was a breeze and our room was amazing. Room service was quick and very convenient. Every employee was very friendly and you could tell they loved there job. Everything, from the room to the property to the beach was beautiful and well kept. We will definitely be revisiting this resort!

Highly recommended
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2015
Best Purchase ever Until

The Resort Playa Mujeres was outstanding! The staff were the most pleasant and friendly people you ever want to meet. The food was fantastic the booze flowed freely. I can't express the feeling I got when I would take in the views of the Gulf. Even at night the pools are lite to a soft soothing glow. We did have one issue and it is still not resolved to my satisfaction, at the resort we purchase the CATmania tour from Amstar. Eight of us were picked up in a van and taken to the marina got on a beautiful boat went snorkeling, drinking, eating, generally having a blast. Took in ISLA Mujeres, I wish I had a whole day there, and returned to the dock in great spirits. All eight of us got in the van to return and right outside the marina these red cabs surrounded our van and held us hostage for forty minutes until the police arrived carrying automatic weapons. They wrote our driver a ticket. Later we found out from another person at the resort that the government there has a ordinance that a non-taxi van can only carry one family group at a time, hence the ticket. Don't you think the operators of amstar should have known. No one from the resort or Amstar would tell us anything or even apologize for what had happened to us, Please go to the resort just don't leave it.


32 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dania Beach, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 4, 2016
Don't Wait

My husband and I have stayed at many resorts in Mexico including the Secrets brand and this resort does not miss a trick. The service we experienced was exceptional and the BEST entertainment team ever, When we arrived we were greeted with a cool towel and champagne!!! Escorted to our room which for us was exactly what we were looking for...ocean view and private!!! We enjoyed our private moments and the room service is on time and doesn't disappoint. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is set on one of the beautiful beaches I have ever experienced in the Gulf of Mexico, If I have to choose what could be improved it would be the restaurants,,,we were disappointed with the French and the Sushi but everyone has a bad night once in awhile and we were subject to that, We enjoyed the spa...all though we have experienced better when we stayed at Secrets Silver Sands as well as other resorts in Mexico. The staff is not as attentive and the service could stay improvement, Overall....we would return to this beautiful resort!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year