All

Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 234 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.7 out of 5
"beware of the floors in the rooms, if they get wet! they are like ice.and. and they try to sell you a high pressure time share type sales pitch.not cool.say NO." – tom3568
261 out of 279 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
lunch on Maroma beach swim out pool View of pool and beach from pool chairs Our room view from our balcony The Secrets Maroma pool and swim-up bar One of many pools. You'll be amazed at how powdery the sand is. Maroma beach Romantic Dinner was awesome!! Beautiful! Lobby at Christmas #bestbirthday our brit friends!!!!!! view of pool from our beach chairs Our first day. Happy in Paradise at the Secrets Maroma! out to dinner Breakfast views Beautiful view Maroma Beach Beach is amazing! Wonderful beach! snorkel trip Beautiful Beach (sorry for the knees!) Swim up bar Heavenly Bliss. view of the turqouise water from the plan the lovely bed in our room

All Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 234 reviews. Sort by
August 7, 2013
The Best of Cancun!

We just returned from an AMAZING vacation at Secrets Maroma. This was the real deal for an all inclusive resort. Every amenity was perfect! We had a junior suite, preferred package. The resort was exactly as the pictures portrayed it to be and the service and food were outstanding. Adult all inclusive’s are so much calmer than the family resorts-we’ve done both. Secrets Maroma is really a first class place. Get the Preferred Package-it is worth every penny. (Do not confuse this with the VIP Vacation Club!) The pools and water features are all pristine and there are many cabanas and chairs available. The pool and beachside staff are attentive and the food trays keep coming. We had all kinds of delicious treats offered. The towels are oversized and soft. As far as details, this resort was over the top in every conceivable way. The food was 5* quality and our favorite was the Seaside Grill. The attentive staff and relaxed atmosphere had fabulous menu options. The skirt steak… we’ll really miss that! No need for reservations except at the Hibachi place. A few things to know- Do not approach random people pushing tours at the airport. They say their prices are better than at the hotel. Not true. We fell for that and the guy told us our shuttle had just left (like he knew) and said we had 25 minutes to hang out with him and book our tours. We made an excuse and checked outside for the shuttle and they were there waiting for us. Our cell phone wouldn’t pick up a signal (even with the international package), but with the Preferred Plan we had free calls to the US from our room and Wifi was also free and worked on our laptop. The spa tub on the balcony was pretty small and more of a soak area than a Jacuzzi. But, the double size gorgeous bathtub inside made up for that. The jacuzzi surrounding the pool are very privately postioned and oh so wonderful! In every room are a few mosquito packets. Keep them with you. The restaurants also have them on request. Although we did see iguanas and Coati, none came near us or were scary. Unless you are truly interested in being a frequent repeat Secrets visitor, skip the 90 minute talk they’ll try to get you to do about their “Vacation Club” (they should just come out and say it upfront). The only frowns we saw were on the faces of people waiting to go in for the table talk about that VIP club. Avoid it! They actually called our room to remind us to pick up our coupon book. We didn't use it at all. The spa is gorgeous and the hydrotherapy pool is included in the Preferred Package. The rest of the spa amenities are available but more than the coupon values you get with the Preferred Package. We booked our tour at the hotel through the desk at Olympus Tours and it was fantastic! We went to Tulum and Akumal to swim with the sea turtles. Our private tour guide was Tony Perez (not the ball player) and our driver was Lewis. The private tour was only a little more than the group tour and gave us great flexibility with time and stops. Ask to have lunch in a palm tree house on the beach. WOW! Tony will get you there. Planning to return AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!


35 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Woodstock, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 31, 2017
Stunning Disappointment

From the moment we arrived on Secrets Maroma property, we expected a AAA Five Diamond Experience. Sadly, what we experienced would not meet the qualifications of a Three Diamond property. Our first problem began at the gate – our name was not on the list. Only after our Amstar driver showed security his log with our names on it were we allowed to enter. When the bellhop asked for our name, he too became confused, as we were not on his list either. Hesitantly he led us to a desk where we were introduced to Yessica, the front desk manager. Yessica, after asking our name, looked up at us and informed us that we had cancelled our reservation. When we explained that we had not, she only replied that yes, we had. I then handed her all of my Cheap Caribbean confirmation paperwork, but that was no use. She was adamant that Secrets Maroma received an email cancelling our reservation 11 days prior to arrival. When pressed for a copy of the email, she could not provide one and simply said she did not know who the email was received from. Yessica never once offered to call Cheap Caribbean to try to figure out the problem. In fact, our daughter back in the States had to call as we could not dial out. Cheap Caribbean confirmed our reservation was still valid and there was no cancellation email sent. Secrets Maroma stood by the fact that Cheap Caribbean was to blame. Our only option (due to this being a Sunday and Secrets Reservations was closed until Monday) was to put down a credit card and pay for the room ourselves until Secrets Maroma could find out what had happened. Per the Five Diamond Expectations, Yessica never exhibited a sincere desire to help us do anything other than swipe our credit card for payment. It was agreed that we would meet Monday at 11am to discuss what had happened and to clear up this horrible experience. We were not given the “preferred club” offer, we were not told about any amenities at the resort, we were not given food/restaurant information. We were simply given our keys and sent to our room. Positive: our bellhop taking us to our room was absolutely fantastic. He was energetic and kind and obviously well trained. After the two hour fiasco at the front desk, he was a breath of fresh air. When we arrived at our room, unfortunately, it was not ready. Housekeeping was still inside cleaning, the back door was open, and the AC was off so the room was hot. Housekeeping worked quickly and efficiently to finish up, but we could tell our bellhop was uncomfortable as this is clearly NOT professional. We decided to go get some food and decompress from the stress, but once we got to the restaurant we were informed that our room number was not on the list, nor was our name. On top of our reservation being cancelled, we now had to argue with everyone that we do actually have a room! A Five Diamond resort is supposed to anticipate our needs. Yessica should have known to contact the restaurants. This should have been common sense. Per our conversation with Yessica we waited until 11:00 the next morning and went down to the lobby to see the email we were told was sent that cancelled our reservation. When Yessica came from the back she sat down and told us that it was all resolved and ok. Not clear on what that meant we asked to see the email that cancelled our reservation at which time she leaned forward looked around and whispered we cancelled your reservation by accident. She said she talked to the girl who cancelled it and she admitted to cancelling us by mistake. We then asked her to email us that exact information for our records so we could have ease of mind. The email we received from her (with no confidentiality notice at the bottom) stated: “As per our conversation I would like to confirm everything is ok with your reservation at Secrets Maroma Beach.” This was not exactly what I requested. At that point we requested to speak to the general manager. We were asked to stand to the side and wait. We waited a considerable amount of time before we were approached by a man who introduced himself as Ivan Santos and offered us a business card, which I then placed in my wallet. He seemed apologetic and kind and said they wanted to give us some sort of certificate which we were truly not interested in after having wasted the day before and more than half of our second day. I then said we just wanted to go to the beach because that’s what we had come for. He then said well let me get you a cabana for your stay on the beach which we appreciated. We were able to have it for half a day and the next prior to checking out. Our first half day at the cabana was great. Service truly appreciated. Steak dinner that night had two stray cats strolling in and out under our table. Not very appetizing. Next day cabana service I would give three stars at best. Service was not up to five diamond expectations whatsoever. That night our electricity began to shut off and on for the remainder of our time in the room. We were exhausted and hot and decided to just shower in the dark and pack to go home. We did inform our concierge on our way out about the electricity and went to the lobby to sit and wait for our ride to the airport. When we arrived home I pulled Mr. Santos’s card from my wallet at which time I realized that we had once again been deceived and Mr. Santos was not the general manager of Secrets Maroma. I felt it was my duty to make my experience public for anyone looking for a Five Diamond Experience. I have copies of our emails from start to finish that I would like to attach but they put a confidentiality notice at the bottom of each email prohibiting from doing so.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: TEXAS
Age: 45-54

July 20, 2011
The honeymoon we waited 8 years to take!!

We spent 5 beautiful days being waited on by the friendly staff at secrets Maroma Beach resort. The Preferred Club is the way to go if you decide to stay here. The concierge was an asset I recommend. I loved having the preferred club lounge with snacks, drinks and computer access that was never crowded. The room was beautiful and the view even better. Comfortable bed and mini bar stocked daily. The beach was well kept with plenty of chairs and the waters beautiful turquoise. There were cooks grilling up lunch on the beach and a bungee trampoline as well. The bar on the beach had swings as seats. How fun. The pools were all terrific with not a bad seat in the house. Grounds well manicured with iguanas galore not to mention the other animals I was not able to identify. The swim up bar was fun. The wait staff by the pools always kept the drinks flowing and cold, such as the Pina’coladas, daiquiris, beers and mud slides. There were some interesting menu choices at a few of the restaurants but overall the food was good. My favorite was the pork tenderloin at the French restaurant. The food choices were vast, even a picky eater would find something they like. Lunch was grilled up by the pool every day with burgers & fries, nachos chicken fajitas and even ribs. You could also make your own ice cream cone by the pool.Self serve soft serve. So fun…. The many shows and bars at night kept the boredom at bay. The fire and ice show was so neat and their version of American Idol was hilarious. If you aren’t kept entertained there is something seriously wrong…. I have to say this was the best vacation ever.

One of many pools. Wonderful beach!
19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 5, 2013
Best vacation ever!

Secrets Maroma Beach was beyond our expectaions. The property is so clean and beautiful. We had a junior swim out room, with an upgraded ocean view, and it was amazing. I have never stayed anywhere with service like we had...the people are just wonderful. So friendly, warm, and anxious to do whatever we need to make our vacation special. We loved the World Buffet breakfast, and had a special dinner there also. Portofino was our favorite, so delicious. The BEST drinks were from Andres in the preferred club bar, but all the bartenders know what they're doing. Be sure to have the drink called a Pai Ai...light rum, brandy, cherry liqueur, cream of coconut and pineapple juice. I was even drinking these at 9am, and I DON't DRINK!!!!! The whole experience was wonderful, and cheap caribbean gave us everything they said they would. We'll definitely book with them again Thanks, Harry.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Kingsville, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 21, 2013
Honeymoon Trip Extraordinaire!

We just got back from 5 nights at Secrets Maroma and were very pleased with our first all inclusive experience. While we are not top end travelers we do have discerning taste & overall we were impressed with this resort. The service was superb & gratuities are included so it was nice not having to be nickled & dimed all week. But we wondered how everyone is so nice and accommodating when they're not getting tipped??? The World Cafe has an extensive buffet for breakfast - literally anything you could think of. Lunch & dinner buffets are a carnivore's dream but as a vegetarian/pescetarian myself I feel obligated to warn others: they put pork/chicken/meat in almost everything in Mexico! The refried beans are NOT vegetarian despite being offered as part of veg dinner options & they even put cut up pork in the mashed potatoes. That said, I was still satisfied with the options I could eat (fish), lots of fruits/veggies. The Mexican restaurant was not impressive (my husband is Mexican & was not pleased) while the Italian was almost gourmet quality. The room was exactly as pictured on this site with one minor exception - the pool photos have been photo-shopped as the pools are not blue. The color scheme of the whole resort is very earthy/lots of browns/understated but nice. So the pools are lined with brown pebbles & only look blue at night with blue lights on. We splurged for the Preferred Club membership but probably a waste of money. There's a lounge with higher end liquor and we got to use the spa's hydrotherapy circuit but otherwise they treat everyone like royalty so ditching the extra expense is fine. Alert: At Secrets Maroma you will be asked to go to a 90 min presentation about a new resort so that you will "pass on the word" to friends. You will get a handsome reward for doing so. We lost our camera in the ocean so we agreed to do it for $150 credit toward excursions so we could use that money to replace the camera. But it was torture - It's a hard core, obnoxious sales pitch for vacation club membership. Warning: when you get through the airport to head out for your transportation people in beige uniforms will guide you to a person at a desk as though it is necessary to check in with them - IT'S NOT - it's a sales pitch for excursions. Bypass them, avoid eye contact & book your excursions at your hotel! We booked ours to Xel Ha and Xcaret through Olympus tours, got a package deal & everything was incredibly well-organized. FYI you don't need a single peso to eat/drink/play all day at Xel Ha - liquor included! Xcaret not so much - you get one meal/one drink and have to buy any extras.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 24, 2011
Soaked but still wonderful

Well, the entire 5 days we were at SMB it RAINED like mad due to a series of back to back tropical storms passing through. One day it rained so hard we never got to be outdoors at all. The other days we just had to swim at the pool and beach in the rain. We even snuggled up to the pool bar in the rain. At least the rain was relatively warm. Though this was the "soggiest" vacation of my life (and I have had many!!!), I could still appreciate that the resort was beautifully planned out, maintained and managed. Umbrellas were plentiful and made readily available, the staff in all areas of the resort worked feverishly to squeegy away the pooling water from walkways. The nightly entertainment was really very good. The food was great and the best part was that with the exception of the Japanese restaurant, none required reservations. The only disappointment (other than the weather, but who can fix that?!) was that after check in we were shuffled to a second desk where we were given a HARD SELL to try to buy in to an AMRESORTS Repeat Guest plan. I said no,no,no so many times that I finally stood up and walked away, making no appologies for my "rude" behavior but the woman wouldn't stop shoving papers in our face and trying to get us to sign them. I simply knew no other way to get the point across to her but to walk away!


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2010
A very relaxing vacation

My wife and I spent our 10th Anniversary at Secrets Maroma from July 2 - July 6. It was a fantastic trip. We left our three young kids with their grandparents and we certainly enjoyed this adults only resort, not having to listen to other peoples' crying / screaming children. The weather wasn't great, but did not spoil our trip. We had one full day of rain and just spurts on the other days. When it was hot, it was really hot. Bad sunburn hot....even through the haze. Absolutely beautiful beach. Woke up early one morning to see a whole crew of workers raking the sand. Not a single item of debris nor even a jagged shell. Soft, white sand, clear blue water. Perfect. Beach-side bar and plenty of waitresses who will come to your beach chair if you are too tired / lazy to walk over to the bar. Same at the pools. Food choices were excellent. We tried the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants. (You need a reservation for the hibachi table there, but that's the only reservation needed). All the menus had plenty of choices and for those who like to eat, you can sample multiple appetizers, soups, salads, desserts if you want. Breakfast buffet was unbelievable. Amazing amount of choices including traditional American and Mexican fare. Our favorite was the custom made fresh fruit crepe station. Lunch choices were also fine. We enjoyed the poolside Seaside Grill where you could get a good meal while still seeing the water. They have 24 hour room service to satisfy those late night cravings for pizza and nachos (or if you don't feel like getting dressed up and going out to dinner) Lots of good bars including a coffee bar. Just about all drinks are included in the package. They have house wines available at every meal. If you prefer different wines, they are available for purchase by the bottle but we were fine with the house selections. Same went for beer. Plenty of good entertainment options. There is a show each night. Very impressive cirque de soleil like show. The American Idol show was corny but fun. Even the couple's game show was funny watching other guests put themselves in embarrassing situations. Nightclub had mostly younger crowd and music to suit their tastes. Some live music spread out around the resort at different times. Ping pong, billiards tables, darts and board games to help pass the time during rainy hours. Tennis courts, basketball and archery for those who want to sweat. Also had a small but well stocked gym, but we never used it. Spa was very nice but pricey. Couples massage was relaxing. With any spa service, you get to use the hydrotherapy circuit which includes sauna, steamroom, hot-tubs and pools. Very nice. Rooms were a real highlight. Four post bed. Satellite tv with dvd player (though not a great selection of US stations). Two person jet jacuzzi tub in the room. Balconies offer ocean views and partial ocean views. Ground floor rooms have access to swim out pools. It costs more so we skipped that option. Didn't see many of the people using their private pools although it did seem like a nice thing to have. Our wi-fi worked in the room and we didn't have to pay for internet access with our ipods. There was a computer room in the main building with computers and printers. Plenty of activities arranged by the resort. We did the jungle bike tour and played beach volleyball. They offer yoga, dance lessons and plenty of other things to pass the time. No problems finding a beach chair by the pool nor even getting a pool float when we wanted one. Only a few negatives: big banner on our room said Honeymoon instead of Happy Anniversary. (not a big deal, but we did tell them about the mistake and they never fixed it) They never called us to tell us our room was ready at check in. We were given a beeper but it never rang. Eventually when we went to follow up, we were given our room key. They never came to pick up our bags at check-out. They had us provide the time we were leaving and the time we wanted our bags picked up - then they never came to get our bags. We had to bring them to the lobby ourself...in the rain.... Service for the most part was excellent. Some times you had to wait a little while for a drink, but it's understandable considering how many people the wait staff was servicing. A little annoying though when you see the waitress give your drink to the guy sitting 5 beach chairs down from you...... One thing that got me was that every single staff member, whenever you thanked them, would respond, "It's my pleasure". I know if wasn't really my waiter's pleasure to clear away my dirty lunch plate. It's just not that pleasurable a task. A simple "you're welcome" would have been fine. Not really a complaint, just an observation..... All in all it was a great trip. Being an all inclusive, it was comforting not having to think about spending money for food and drinks. If you stick to the house beers and wines, you can leave your wallets in the room and forget about spending money altogther. It adds to the relaxation. I highly recommend Secrets Maroma.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 1, 2011
Excellent Resort, Excellent Staff!

We had a great time on our vacation. Its about 25 minutes south of the Cancun airport on a two lane highway, quick and easy especially if you get a car service to drive you. The Staff was amazing, I mean every single person was extremely polite and friendly. They will do absolutely anything to ensure you are having the greatest time ever. the dining choices were good but each restaurant was a bit slow (dinner took about 2 hours at a minimum.) The beach was great, sand was powder and soft! The rooms are amazing, high quality & clean. Ana, one of the beach service women, was so friendly, attentive, and always had a great smile! They had de-humidifiers so it helps with that damp feeling in the rooms. Carlos run building #26 (very close to the beach & a GREAT view.) He is outstanding, so friendly and truely cares about you and how things are going. Bring your bug spray (especially in Sept/Oct) or you'll be in for some bites! All in all, I would go back to this resort in a heart beat.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: OC, California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2011
best place on earth

Secrets Maroma is the perfect destination for couples. My husband and I had the best time ever. With pool and ocean side food and drinks, great nightly entertainment, and friendly service you cant go wrong. The room was amazing even better than i could imagine. Delicious food, and coconut ice cream (my husbands favorite), also a pretty cool night club. The only thing i would change is the price of spa treatments, very expensive. We will return for sure.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 13, 2015
Another amazing visit!

Stayed here again on a 5 day/4 night trip last week and were thrilled to see that this property is even nicer than it was when we first visited 4 years ago. The staff here is universally friendly, attentive without being obsequious, and really focused on each guest's comfort and happiness. This was true of housekeeping staff, entertainment staff, waitstaff in restaurants and by the pools and bars - everyone! The beach at Maroma is wide and has beautiful white sand. (The beach was only swimmable one day of our stay because of the well-documented seaweed problem in the Gulf this season; however, Secrets was doing all it could to clear the beach every day.) There are two lovely pools. The swim up bar is in the main pool and there is a separate infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Each room has a two-person Jacuzzi and really comfy beds. We love the "Secrets box" feature which allows private delivery of room service without having to open the door (or get dressed). We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the grounds from our fourth-floor balcony. There are several excellent restaurants and bars. Compared to other resorts, the food is fantastic and there is a lot of variety. I particularly love the special treats the staff prepares around the pool - some of the chefs even get in kayaks and deliver appetizers in the pool themselves. Finally, entertainment really is something special at Secrets. We aren't fans of most shows, but we saw an absolutely terrific Cirque de Soleil style acrobatics show that really exceeded our expectations. We also enjoyed movies in the main theater and the live music at breakfast (a harpist, a cellist) and at night in the lobby (a blues group, singers).


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Elkins Park, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year