All

Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Huatulco Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 28 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.4 out of 5
"Great vacation. The food was good but could be better. great value for the money. Shrimp tacos great! It would help if you speak Spanish." – DeeJay1959
31 out of 36 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Secrets Huatulco

All Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 28 reviews. Sort by
July 21, 2014
ahhhhhh....relaxation at it's finest!

My wife and I loved everything about this resort. Service and rooms were exceptional! I will stay at this resort again. Highlights: Rooms- We had the junior swim up suite and it was worth the upgrade! Clean, well appointed, awesome shower, comfy bed, daily cleaning and turn down service. A++++ rating SPA: Amazing! Had the hydrotherapy treatment with the couple massage. It was a top highlight of the trip. Dining: Lot of options with exceptional service. Like any all inclusive they were a jack off all trades (cuisine types) master of none. All the food was great, hot, and fresh, and there was plenty of it. The authentic Mexican dishes were the best for obvious reasons. The best dining location was the castaway's grill for lunch or dinner. It overlooked the bays for a stunning view. DRESS CODE: MEN NEED LONG PANTS OR YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO DINE AT INSIDE TABLES. Beach: A++++. I can't say enough about the beauty of the beach. It was very calm when we were there so the swimming was awesome. It is difficult to access for the public so it has a very exclusive feel. There is an adjoining beach on the other side of the peninsula that is short walk though a trail. It offers a stunning mix of rock and sandy shoreline. Nothing man made is on the side beach so it feels like you are on your own private beach. Great for a romantic walk or swim. I snorkeled right off both beaches all week and saw lot's of wildlife around the rocks. It was calm when we were there so visibility was great but I could easily see how currents and rip tides could kick up so use your best judgment. Side beach notes: -Main beach has a designated swimming area with life guard -The sand was VERY HOT by the afternoon so bring swim/ beach shoes. -There are shaded chairs on the main beach with drink service! -beach vendors are present. -Resort offers an entertainment hut where you can check out kayaks, snorkel gear, catamarans, paddle boards, etc at no charge. The sailing class is pretty cool! Pool: A++++ set up with the obligatory swim up bar. Pool is HUGE so there is plenty of room to spread out and not feel crowded. Night life: one or two open bars at night but overall it is very quiet and calm......ahhhhhh.....relaxing. Service was great. Everyone was so nice. They go out of their way to make sure you are having a great stay. Tips were not expected but we tipped anyway as we felt the service was deserving. BRING BUG SPRAY. Mosquitos can get pretty annoying after dark. But not unbearable.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 12, 2015
HIdden gem!

We went to Secrets Huatulco for our honeymoon and loved it! We may go back to celebrate the next anniversary. We've never been fans of the larger, commercialized resort towns like Cozumel and Cancun, so this was the perfect spot for us since we like to be a little more off the grid. The atmosphere was so relaxed and quiet, and with no kids it didn't feel crowded or loud at all! The beach is beautiful with plenty of spots to relax, and you don't have to fight crowds or "save" premium seats! There are plenty of options of where to spend your time, between the multiple pools, the beach, restaurants, and bars, and various activities the staff had planned. I would highly recommend getting the swim out pool, it is worth the price! We loved being served by the staff right outside our back door in our own pool. The service was wonderful, good food, polite staff, and they never watered down our drinks. We realized we didn't have to tip them, but it didn't hurt and we felt like we got exceptional service. The rooms were clean and had a lot of attention to detail which made staying in our room very special! There is a small local town nearby, which we enjoyed visiting just to get a little culture. It actually felt like an authentic town, not a commercialized spot built just to cater to Americans. Just keep in mind the vendors are very aggressive and will push their sales! We loved everything about this resort and can't wait to go back and stay longer this time!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 12, 2015
Fantastic stay at Secrets Huatulco

If you want to stay at a great resort, give Secrets Huatulco a shot. Have stayed previously at Secrets Maroma Beach so decided to give the Secrets Resort chain another stay and found Secrets Huatulco. What a great find. Stayed 9 nights and could have stayed longer. Thanks to Anne Lindquist of Cheap Caribbean for suggesting a great resort in a different part of Mexico. Have done the Cancun, Riviera Maya side of Mexico and saw this resort on the Cheap Caribbean website and wanted to try the west coast. The resort is built into a hill-side on a beautiful cove with no other resorts in sight. We were lucky enough to get the highest building on the top floor and the view was incredible. The beach is not the pure white sand of the Caribbean but a slightly darker, coarser sand that retains a lot of the suns heat. Flip flops, sandals or water shoes are a must when walking on the sand.The water was pretty clear most days but intense waves came in and shut the beach for 3 days. No matter, the pools are huge are sparkling clean. Wait service on the beach and around the pool always kept you with a fresh drink, At the swim up bar Olidiero and Angel kept the drinks flowing all day and it never seemed liked you waited for a drink. The entertainment staff worked full time getting people to try different games and such or you could just relax with a good book. There is a no reservation policy at the resort's restaurants and during the weekend the resort was pretty full but we had no trouble getting seats in any of the restaurants. Nemorio at the Spice restaurant went out of his way to make sure people had a good dining experience. The day always started with a good breakfast buffet with several stations making fresh omelets, pancakes, waffles and Mexican dishes. A smoothie station as well rounded out a good breakfast. Lunch had several options such as the beach grill, several restaurants and a lunch buffet made for a varying menu. Dinner had many options as Spice (oriental) Cin Cin (Italian) Oceana (seafood), Bordeaux (French), Tamarindo (Mexican), Castaways (steak house) Market Cafe (buffet) all had good food. It is an all inclusive resort so if your expecting 5 star meals you might be disappointed but I can honestly say not one meal did we walk away saying that was terrible like we have found at several other resorts. If your a wine enthusiast definitely talk to Jorge, their sommelier. Very knowledgeable and fun to talk to. Night time entertainment was provided by the entertainment staff at the Showtime Theater and varied from Broadway style review's, Mexican Dance, music video dance. One night they had the boxing match w/ Mayweather and Pacchieo on 4 screens, a boxing ring and a large buffet. They also had a small bar called Desires that had a DJ some nights and a 2 piece music group other nights. Being from NY during the hockey playoffs I'd like to thank Antonio "Tony" from the concierge staff who was able to get Ray, a technician from the entertainment staff to program the tv's in Desire bar to get the NY Rangers games. Also Elder the bartender at Desire's for keeping me with a drink while watching the games when the bar was actually closed. That's what a really good resort does for it's customers and why my wife and I wouldn't hesitate to come back to Secrets Huatulco. Only drawbacks were the lost days flying to and from NY to Huatulco. It's over a 5 hr flight from NY to Mexico City but a long 4 hours in a very warm airport waiting for a one hr flight to Huatulco . The people who work at the resort are the friendliest people at any resort we've come across. They have a saying after you say Thank You to them for whatever service they have provided, they say "it's our pleasure". The great part is it feels like they really mean it.


19 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2013
Very Disappointed

I was surprised to learn that Secrets is associated with the same organization that manages Dreams. We had the same disappointments at our recent stay at Secrets as our previous stay at Dreams. The alcohol is watered down and the staff doesn`t give you two shots when requested to compensate for the low alcohol content. The food served in the multiple evening dining rooms is blend and tasteless. Steak is tough and like eating shoe leather, The seafood menu is strikingly limited considering the resorts are on the sea. The breakfast dining is excellent. with many choices in the dining room. The room sevice menu is limited and the food served is frequently not as described on the menu like a club sandwich that arrives with guacamole and tunafish. The food service staff is very service oriented and very happy to serve. However, the management and conceige staff are hyper about repeatedly asking you if you have taken advantage of the spa coupons they give you. The problem is the coupons only discount a little off each separate and very expensive spar service. Te rooms were designed very poorly. The doors for all the rooms which are adjoining are connected with space allowing one to see into the other room and also for the slightest noice to come thru. Also the way the rooms are designed when room service enters the room there is no privacy for those using the shower or toilet facilities. To sum it up we won`t be returning to a Secrets or Dreams resort.


34 of 49 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 12, 2014
Beautiful Resort

We just returned from a fantastic 6 day vacation at this resort and it was everything we hoped it would be. We've traveled to several other destinations in Mexico, several other Secrets resorts, and this one was very comparable. Here's an overview... Staff & Service--all very friendly, hard-working, eager. They were especially amazing pool-side or on the beach. At times, in the lunch eateries or in the restaurants in the evenings, service was spotty. Not in that they were rude, but we had a few occasions where the server just kind of disappeared. There was a little lack of organization, maybe due to certain servers being better trained than others. You'd see tables that sat down after you with drinks and menus while you waited 5-10 minutes for your server to appear. Not a huge deal, but it could be improved upon. Overall, the waitstaff was excellent. Pools & Beach--lovely. Yes, the sand is coarse. Another reviewer described it as coarse brown sugar and that is accurate. My husband and I were not bothered by walking on it, though by mid-afternoon the sand is VERY hot. Too hot to walk on barefooted. We'd just make a run for it down to the ocean when we wanted to go for a swim! The pools are very nice (maybe in need of some minor repairs). The WORST part about the pools, and possibly about our entire experience, was the whole "people reserving chairs at 6am bit". I know this is a problem at resorts all over the place, but I do wish the hotel would somehow manage this issue. I'm not joking when I say that if you were not outside by 7am to get a towel on a chair and claim a spot, they would be all spoken for (especially in the prime areas). Often, I'd watch chairs that were "reserved" sit unoccupied until noon or later and I think that is quite ridiculous. In one particular location, one lady would stop by a run of chairs around the pool (at 6:30am) and set 1 item on 12 chairs in a row...the actual occupants of those chairs didn't come to the pool area until 11am most mornings. Again, I hate to nit-pick little things, but that could be improved upon. Food--was excellent. We were very happy with the options! We never had to wait to get seated and the meals were lovely. The food served in the pool area was great as well! Rooms--beautiful! All rooms have ocean views. Yes, some better than others, but it's impossible to complain about. We were in the tower located right above the swim-up bar in the main pool. A noisier area to be and not as high up, but our view was still stunning. One thing to note...it is HARD as heck to get a king bed. We ended up with 2 doubles our entire trip. Housekeeping is awesome!


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 3, 2016
Place to relax

We choose to return to this resort because last year we had a great time. This time around the service we had was over the top. Everyone we encounter was exceptional service. From the time we got there to the time we left.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Beautiful resort

Secrets Hualtuco is a beautiful, laid-back resort. The service, food, beach, and weather (December 2015) were perfect. Hualtuco is a quiet town, definitely NOT a party place like Puerto Vallarta, Cancun, or Cabo. It feels more like old Mexico. Entertainment was LOTS of mariachi music. The Sky Bar is great and Castaways Restaurant is on a cliff overlooking the ocean; absolutely the best place for lunch (try their calamari). The staff can't do enough to meet every need. Absolutely pristine and clean everywhere. If you don't have fun here, it is your own fault!


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Carmichael, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 30, 2014
Secrets is Annoying

I am currently sitting in my private chair with a phenomenal view and dipping my feet in my swim up pool. I am making this point so you are aware we did upgrade to the premium rooms and I still find this resort to be one of the most annoying places I have ever stayed. The pluses: the view is absolutely breath taking, the bartenders are nice and usually remember your name and drinks, the prestige concierge is fantastic and will do whatever necessary to make your stay great. Mediocre: the food. None of it was bad but I don't consider any of it to be great. There are a lot of restaurants but only 2 - 3 are open each night so you had to choose between those. If you didn't get reservations quick enough enough then you have one one restaurant or a buffet. The "Real Deal": We have been here 4 days so far and every day we have been approached to buy into their Resort Package aka Pyramid, timeshare scam. No, it is not just like a timeshare but pretty real close. And when I tell Rosarita no on day one, please quit sending a new salesperson to me every day. I even think they look at our profile to try to draw us into the conversation. As soon as I stepped out of the breakfast restaurant, we were approached again. I have had it. I am taking a vacation to get away from life pressures and surely do not want to be pressured into purchasing other things on my vacation. We have become hermits and are staying in our room, enjoying the private pool and view, and running to the bar for to-go drinks. If I see anyone walking towards me in white, I will pretend to not understand them at all and if that doesn't work, I will start being really rude. YOU ARE RUINING MY VACATION AND I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER SECRETS OR ANY SISTER HOTEL.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 23, 2014
Views Views Views!!!!

I loved the views and the service. It is sold as very elegant and luxurious I disagree as I found the restaurants to be very average. The food was not as gourmet as they claimed. I would recommend to have a private dinner at the wine room between the Italian and French restaurants. For a simple cost of a $100 bottle of wine you can have lobster dinner for two plus an incredible attention as well as your own wine samonier. That was the highlight of the trip. Go on a boat ride and see the nine bays. Great views and snorkling.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: wpb,fl
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 10, 2014
Very DIsappointed

I'm very disappointed staying at Secrets. I went last week of September. I was looking forward to staying in the 5 stars hotel. The price I paid for what I got was not right. There's 5 restaurants, 2 were closed for renovation. I could have dealt with that with no problem. Even though I received an e-mail stating that I could still order from the menu of those 2 restaurants that were closed. Not true at all. What really got me upset was that on top of those 2 restaurants being closed the other 3 restaurants would not open daily supposedly because there were not enough guests in the hotel. They would rotate to have the 2 restaurants open instead of the 3. I never read anything anywhere saying that they do that when their hotel is not full of guests. The restaurants were always hot. The only one that had AC was the Italian restaurant. I paid extra for upgrade on the room, includes an upgraded mini bar in the room supposed to be re-stocked daily. It was not re-stocked every other day.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year