All

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 354 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"It wasn't all it was cracked up to be & the food was horrible but aside from that the bed was comfy." – SmilkysGirl
365 out of 424 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Restaurant Coatimundi's The view from our room 5th floor common area View from Balcony Good times at the pool swim up bar! Serenity Now.. Early morning on the beach towel art HANGIN OUT @ THE POOL view from dinner on Oceana balcony Romantic Dinner on Beach Quiet beach view from our room!! amazing Catamaran Snorkel Trip view from room Chilling by the Pool eating at Seaside Restaurant Birthday room!!! Drinks on the beach pure beauty View from the grill View from room Beautiful resort View of sunrise from room My little buddy that I met in downtown Playa Del Carmen View from Seaside Grill Wonderful view from our balcony of the ocean & pool Our View From room 526 View from our room Raccoons Sunrise by the pool Paradise Beach near Secrets Capri Early morning going to the pool delicious VIEW FROM OUR ROOM View from my balcony Beach at Secrets Capri Paradise at your doorstep On the beach second cut foot Tulum Ruins Ocean Front Balcony Coconut ice cream by the ocean!

All Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 354 reviews. Sort by
March 12, 2013
Family Vacation

If you are reading this, you're like me and do your homework before you book a vacation destination. Let me tell you what my family experienced during our stay the first week of March 2013 at Secrets Capri. There were six of us from mom and dad to our kids the youngest age nineteen. We share two rooms; we flew from three airports and arrived in Cancun at three separate times. CheapCaribbean.com made the travel plans a breeze, our rooms were next to each other, we had no problems with ground transport, and both the check- in and out of the resort separately and at separate times was not an issue. I attribute this to the help from the CheapCaribbean.com staff. I am very happy with their service, highly appreciate their efforts, and follow up e-mails (e.g. tacking on my air rewards number to my travel document was a fast add-on post booking). Upon arriving at Secrets Capri guests are greeted with the wet towel and champagne. The entry is marble and open, it was clean there are cookies, and the New York Times is available. We were comfortably invited to sit for check-in. That was nice and relaxed and we had no waiting. Then again seated and offered a cocktail from the bar for a personal orientation to the resort that included going over the restaurants, the map, the room key, the coupons, and any spa or excursions reservations you may want to book. There was no pressure selling just helpful services offered in a friendly manner. You are then directed to your room where your bags await. The room was clean and spacious. I will note here; that our room did have a faint cigarette odor in the entry way that they tried to hide with incense. I put the incense in the hallway, as I do not like odors smoke or otherwise. The smoky smell was not too bad and did not bother me. March is cool enough to have the breeze come in and it pleasantly refreshed the room. A side note here. Be careful to keep the screen closed at very least. There are very "friendly" raccoon-like critters that will visit your porch for a handout. We thought them very cute but I'm sure you would not want them in your room. THE ROOMS: We found the beds clean floors and bath clean, room service timely and turndown service nightly. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Bottled water supplied and mini fridge well stocked. There was some lack of bathroom privacy for the brother and sister-in-law but it is not a deal breaker. This bathroom has more privacy than most. I felt they did fine in the room. There are USB ports in the room. Our safe did not work and the plug in our bathroom did not work but other than that we had no complaints and those we minor and did not bother us. The Bar/Drinks: The first bar you will encounter is in the main lobby as you check-in. I felt this one was the best. I enjoyed the martinis and flaming coffees. They do these nightly. Across the way is the cafe. This became my spot. They coffee is the best here no matter what you order here it is always perfect. I suggest ordering any coffee here then going to the bar and adding a shot or two of your favorite liquor. This will be the best coffee drink you will get. Skip the mudslides they are watery. Get an iced coffee of your choice vanilla or chocolate and add Kahlua or Bailey's . It's so much better. You will thank me. I think all the drinks are too sugary but try them until you find a favorite. The Food: In general, it was all very good. The buffet breakfast always had something for everyone. It's not perfect. The omelets are made to order, as are the crepes. Try peanut butter and chocolate then top it with sliced banana or strawberry jam-you will thank me if you love richness. The oatmeal is a bit thin. Coffee and juices are good. Most hot things are hot. Some of the fruits were not ripe or over ripe on some days. One thing we did learn. The bread at every meal is a must. It's fresh and always pleasant surprise. The flavor is standout. The smoked salmon is wonderful. Skip the pastries most are dry and bland. The poolside lunch is not much to talk about (I recommend skipping it). They do it daily. It looks like nice cookout with dogs and burgers but the quality of meat is not up to pare and sadly it tastes like it. However, the chips and salsa and ice cream guy that comes around also daily is another story. He is awesome. Do not miss him. If you are in the mood to go inside to the buffet, take advantage of the roasted meat and the awesome bread that they do. Make yourself the best sandwich you will ever have. Use some guac and lettuce and cheese and a salad and soup. This is a way better than lunch at the pool. The restaurants are also an option. My kids say the seafood one was very good and we did the Mexican grill (fish tacos) also very nice. For dinners, all of the restaurants are equally nice. All of the food choices were fine. We did not get a bad meal. Desserts are not the high light of the meal so do save much room or hope of finding a great dessert. If room service is your thing I can say my kids found pizza at night to be yummy and timely. The Amenities/Entertainment: Golf was affordable with good tee times. It is off-site but only 15 minutes by cab. We did yoga each morning and enjoyed the level offered. The gym is okay, not over the top but you can get it done. We did not have time to play tennis but there are courts. Two of the kids had massages and enjoyed the spa. The activity team was friendly and involved us as much as we wanted in things such as volleyball. The nighttime entertainment was better than at some resorts we have experienced. However, it is "lazy" that is to say they are not off-off Broadway or anything. The sports bar has two pool tables and various board games to play. While out on the patio there is ping-pong, chess, and jenga. We all stayed busy! The Beach/Pool: When I read other reviews, I was a bit worried about the beach. We found the beach clean and no problem finding chairs on the beach or at the pool (even for all 6 of us). There is no need to rush out and reserve. Everyone is pleasant and service oriented at Secrets. They do their best to make sure you have all that you want every minute. Everything is clean. This is a very low-key smaller resort.


119 of 122 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2010
Pleasant Stay

Visit period: 14-19 November. Overall, a good choice. Service was consistently outstanding. Food was consistently good, though not superb. Location pretty good at 10K north of Playa del Carmen. Pool and beach were nice. Nice to have an adults-only property. We paid the small upgrade charge for a junior suite on the exterior, which is more quiet than poolside and the room was generally nice. A few pet peaves: 1) Mattresses were hard, as is common in Latin America, but the pillows were also hard and flat. Time to upgrade the pillows. 2) All areas are tiled, except for the ballroom and the main bar which were carpeted--and both smelled bad. Time to upgrade to non-slip tile in these areas. 3) Bedroom hallways were only lighted on one side of the atrium. Can't we afford to light both sides? 4) A phone call to the U.S. from your room will set you back $6 per minute and a dozen roses $90. The property is mostly all-inclusive, but add-ons such as above, spa services, premium wines, golf, and other activities are generally double what you would expect at a comparable property in the U.S. The on-site photographer was competent, pleasant and fairly priced. 5) It was an eclectic clientele during our visit based on age and decorum. Many anniversaries, honeymooners, and even weddings. Hint to those who have little experience at nice properties: A candlelight dinner in a nice restaurant is not the time or place for a pair of cut-offs, T-shirt and flip-flops. It seemed to be about 50/50 every night between those who "get it" and those who don't. Re complaints noted previously about long delays to get a room, please note that check-in is 3:00P. You may use amenities if you arrive earlier, but are unlikely to get your room until 3:00P. Re complaints noted previously about "broken" A/C, make sure you know how to properly use the thermostat first. Do not rent a car in Cancun. Prices are a rip-off. Take the shuttle for a day trip to Playa del Carmen's shopping area near the point of embarkation to Cozumel. The Ultramar boat is nice, has A/C, fast (~30 minutes at 26 knots), and fairly priced at 280 Pesos (~$25) roundtrip. Boat leaves every couple of hours from either end. Enjoyed Los Cinco Soles (fixed, fairly priced gift shop) and Pancho's Backyard restaurant in back--which are a half dozen blocks north of the pier along the sea wall road. There are some nice beaches and snorkeling to the south in Cozumel, but you will need to take a taxi due to distance and pay a fairly modest entry fee. There are nice beaches near the Playa del Carmen terminal, but not at the Cozumel terminal


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2014
A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker

Overall resort is good I would rate solid 4 stars. Service is good. Staff is friendly and hard working. Everything is fairly clean although shows some signs of natural decay. Food is good. Drinks are good and consistent across resort. Nice features like first come first served at the restaurants. Thoughtful entertainment (not just blasting Reggaeton or salsa for 12 hours as in some resorts). Few downsides. Beach is suffering from bad erosion. I think resort has sewage issues as smell pops up in different places without an apparent reason (not for the lack of cleanliness). This may be remedied by the time you get there (or not). If you get an upgrade - ask to see the room first. It may very well not be worth it. I payed $600 to upgrade to oceanfront only to find out that the terrace does not have a roof or canopy of any kind (room 256). So no shade when the sun is out, can't be enjoyed when it rains either. To boot the drain pipe from the top floor balcony was inches away to the side of my balcony door, which precludes you from even opening the door when it rains. Here's a deal breaker: Starting second or third night in my "upgraded" room I got the insect bites consistent with bedbugs (lots of bites in close proximity to each other all on one arm). Since I didn’t find any bedbugs I stuck around (a mistake). When I was packing to go home I shook every item of my clothes (then turned it inside out and shook it again) trying to avoid bringing any “stowaways” back home. That’s when I found a huge bedbug on the floor (not sure whether it fell out of my clothes or was just crawling around). Pictures are in the album. So ok, this could happen in any resort I guess, as unpleasant as it may be. What’s not acceptable is the way management handled the issue. When I was checking out about an hour after the discovery, I produced the aforementioned bedbug and asked them to refund the “upgrade” to the room with bedbugs in return for not writing this review. Front desk manager insisted they can only refund 40% of the upgrade. So let’s see, Secrets Resorts being a part of multinational resort chain AMResorts was in such need of the remaining $340 that they decided they would rather cope with all this “great” publicity than issue a fair refund (I did not ask for the entire trip cost mind you). In practical terms this means I will not be booking any Zoetry, Secrets, Dreams, Now, Sunscape or Breathless in future. You decide for yourself.

A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker
46 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2015
Be on the look out

It was a nice resort however I didn't appreciate the welcome staff very much. The first thing they try and do is get you to visit another secrets resort and if you do they will give you a gift. Don't do it unless you want to purchase a timeshare, of course they don't tell you that. If wasted almost a full day of vacation and they don't take no for an answer. It is a very hard sell. As for the resort it was ok and relaxing. The food and staff were good. I just couldn't get over the sales job after you already purchased a vacation you expect to get right to it and we'll it just didn't happen. As for booking with Cheap Caribbean I would highly recommend this company. This is my second booking with them and I didnt have any problems with the booking and getting to my destination.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: oklahoma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2012
Too Hit or Miss

This was our third trip to Secrets Capri. Unfortunately we won't be coming back. For the price, we didn't get nearly as much as we could have at a different resort. We tried all of the restaurants and wasn't thrilled on any of them. We ordered room service multiple times and despite ordering the same thing each time, we never had the same dish twice. On our first visits, we weren't pressured as much for up-sales and upgrades, this trip everything was an upgrade to get what should already be included. Nice people, nice place but when you are paying for all inclusive, I think there are better options.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2012
great relaxing trip

Lovely, small resort with easy walking. Staff was amazing. Weather was perfect. Service was impeccable. The food was excellent, especially Rita's breakfast omelets. Lots of activities if you cared to join in. The pool was very nice with great teak chairs. But the beach left a lot to be desired as it was mostly washed away by a hurricane. Nice to have drink service without having to leave your chair. Our room could've been larger, there was no sitting area other than 2 chairs with a small wooden table. And my laptop wouldn't fit in the safe. The jetted tub was very small and the water that came out was full of black flecks (maybe it had stuff in the lines because it hadn't been used in a while ??). My only real complaint is that they allow inconsiderate people to "reserve" the best seating by the pool or at the beach. They would place their towels, books, etc. on chairs then disappear for hours. They even went so far as to carry the pool floats down to the beach when they weren't using them!!!! Everyone deserves an equal opportunity to enjoy the shaded beds -- who do these people think they are? PLEASE stop allowing this unfair practice to continue.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 25, 2016
Not the place it used to be, don't bother!

Although the regular staff is great, the resort is run down and needs to be redone. Been here five times before, the sixth left me very disappointed. Management could care less about your concerns, they are ignored. Food is just okay, portions are small. At one big show (which was horrible), our food was served cold. Drinks are bottom shelf and watered down. Don't order wine - you'll be charge $150+ for a bottle of Mexico's finest and won't find out until check out time. There is no beach here any longer, it is all but gone. The pool is not clean, activities minimal. Tried to give management the benefit of the doubt and the opportunity to rectify our worst visit so far, they ignored me and made excuses . . . so now they get a negative review and I will never go back. Don't waste your time or money, find a better place.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2010
Nice Getaway

My husband and I went 9/12/ - 9/16/10. We had a great time!! The beach was beautiful, the food was good, and the people were very friendly!! The resort was at about 50% capacity so there were not a lot of people there which was very nice. The beds and pillows are not very comfortable and many of the other couoles at the resort were complaining of the same thing...so bring your pillow!! We stayed in the ocean front Jr. Suite and ocean front is the way to go. I do recommend asking for an ocean front on the first level. Ours was on the 2nd level and there is no cover to rain and bird poo! When we arrived we went out on our balcony and there was cigarette butts on the ground and the lounge chairs were covered in bird poo and ants everywhere. We had called and no one showed up. We then walked down to the front desk and told them. About 2 hours later a cleaning lady showed up to clean the patio but they didn't clean the chairs. I noticed the 1st floor suites had a roof over there balcony and you could also walk right onto the beach from the ground level. Only 1 dinner option you can wear shorts to- all others require long pants. Overall it would be an AMAZING resort if they upgraded the beds, pillows, and bedding. And definitely clean the lounge chairs that are covered in bird poo!

Ocean Front Balcony On the beach
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Spring, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2013
Anniversary Vacation

ok, so here is the breakdown for secrets Capri Riviera trip. We booked via cheap carribean.com & make sure to include the round trip from the airport. First my husband and I chose this resort because it was exclusively adult only. Upon arrival, we were greeted with glass of champagne and cold towels, then we checked in.. THE RESORT This is a medium size resort. Pros: You will always get beach towels and chairs for relaxation. THE FOOD I really have no complaints with the restaurant/ food. It was good. You had multiple restaurants to choose from for lunch and dinner. This made it possible to have different meals daily. THE STAFF They were very nice ... no complaints. We enjoyed Jonathan from the entertainment staff, & James, who helped with our luggage. The room service staff were excellent. I loved the turn down service. CON: Minimal activities by the pool side. The pool activities are scheduled. this means that if, for instance, the pool volleyball is scheduled from 10 - 10:30, when the time is up, the staff will remove the net from the pool. Typically, you tend to find many people lounging around, drinking, or sleeping. Secondly, they play minimal music at the bar, including the swim up bar. This is because they only play music at scheduled times. For me, this was ridiculous!! Overall, their schedule was too rigid for my style of vacation. Thirdly, the resort need some serious maintenance. Whenever it rained, the ceiling in the dining areas, hallways, entertainment areas, were leaking. This was quite disturbing to see water dropping from the ceiling, while you were trying to eat. Make sure you take mosquito repellant!!!!!! THE ROOM It was ok. Alcohol is not included in the minibar, only the mini Corona. They do not have a refrigerator in the room, even though the website said it has a refrigerator. They have a 'cooler', which honestly does not keep the drinks cold. However, there is an ice machine on the first floor and the staffs are willing to get you some, if you ask. The resort will inform you of a 90mins presentation regarding their other resorts, and they will promise you a spa treatment or romantic dinner on the beach. you will be allowed to chose one. FYI: DO NOT GO, ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!! The resort will inform you that this will be only 90mins, but unfortunately, it will last for about 3hours and additional 1hr for transportation, while they try to enforce you to purchase a package from them. I think that this resort need to find better ways to engage their customers. People tend to get bored so quickly, and that has never been my experience with all inclusives. It might be a good idea to visit other resorts for more tips better all inclusive activities. Overall, I had a great time. I stayed 6days, but I was tired and bored by the 4th day. So from now on, I will keep my all inclusive to 4-5days.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
The Vacation We Hoped For

My partner and I just returned from Secrets Capri Riviera. We had a blast! As a female couple, we wanted to be comfortable at our resort location, and we were so pleased with the hospitality and service at Secrets. Our idea of a perfect vacation included relaxation, a little bit of pampering, and cocktails-- and we were not disappointed. Over our five-day stay, we enjoyed visiting the spa twice: once for manicures and pedicures and once for a couples massage. The hydrotherapy circuit with sauna and vapor room preceding our services was just what we needed to relax into our vacation. The spa staff were talented and professional. I wish we could have visited again and again! Our hardest decision each day was whether to relax at the pool with the swim-up bar or to lay in the sun at the ocean's edge with waiters and waitresses bringing us a limitless supply of pina coladas and margaritas. Each morning we took a beach walk along other resorts and we were struck by the cleanliness of the beach at Secrets. Along the other beaches we saw trash and lots of smelly seaweed-- but Secrets beach was constantly raked and spotless: just like the pictures on their website. The most pleasant surprise of our vacation was how much we enjoyed the entertainment staff. They were hilarious. We're not "joiners" by any means, but if you get the chance to socialize with them, do it. They read people well and easily adjust their engagement levels with guests. Several of our best memories from the trip involved fun times with our new friends. Go to Secrets, have the vacation you hoped for. It's as easy as that.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34