All

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 423 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"this hotel is great the service and food are top notch . it is just to bad about the beach it is none existing due to a major storm in oct stayed here last year same time and beach was great" – JMJM
433 out of 508 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from dinner on Oceana balcony From room 526 VIEW FROM OUR ROOM Early morning on the beach Our View Sunrise by the pool Chilling by the Pool view from our room!! amazing On the beach Paradise at your doorstep Beach at Secrets Capri Early morning going to the pool eating at Seaside Restaurant Paradise Ocean Front Balcony Beach near Secrets Capri pure beauty View of sunrise from room View from our room Beautiful resort towel art Raccoons View from my balcony Drinks on the beach second cut foot Serenity Now.. Wonderful view from our balcony of the ocean & pool delicious View from room Good times at the pool swim up bar! Romantic Dinner on Beach Beach Read HANGIN OUT @ THE POOL Tulum Ruins View from Seaside Grill Coconut ice cream by the ocean! Coatimundi's Restaurant My little buddy that I met in downtown Playa Del Carmen View from Balcony View from room Birthday room!!! View from the grill 5th floor common area view from room Catamaran Snorkel Trip The view from our room Quiet beach Walk to the Beach Sunrise from room

All Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 423 reviews. Sort by
March 12, 2013
Family Vacation

If you are reading this, you're like me and do your homework before you book a vacation destination. Let me tell you what my family experienced during our stay the first week of March 2013 at Secrets Capri. There were six of us from mom and dad to our kids the youngest age nineteen. We share two rooms; we flew from three airports and arrived in Cancun at three separate times. CheapCaribbean.com made the travel plans a breeze, our rooms were next to each other, we had no problems with ground transport, and both the check- in and out of the resort separately and at separate times was not an issue. I attribute this to the help from the CheapCaribbean.com staff. I am very happy with their service, highly appreciate their efforts, and follow up e-mails (e.g. tacking on my air rewards number to my travel document was a fast add-on post booking). Upon arriving at Secrets Capri guests are greeted with the wet towel and champagne. The entry is marble and open, it was clean there are cookies, and the New York Times is available. We were comfortably invited to sit for check-in. That was nice and relaxed and we had no waiting. Then again seated and offered a cocktail from the bar for a personal orientation to the resort that included going over the restaurants, the map, the room key, the coupons, and any spa or excursions reservations you may want to book. There was no pressure selling just helpful services offered in a friendly manner. You are then directed to your room where your bags await. The room was clean and spacious. I will note here; that our room did have a faint cigarette odor in the entry way that they tried to hide with incense. I put the incense in the hallway, as I do not like odors smoke or otherwise. The smoky smell was not too bad and did not bother me. March is cool enough to have the breeze come in and it pleasantly refreshed the room. A side note here. Be careful to keep the screen closed at very least. There are very "friendly" raccoon-like critters that will visit your porch for a handout. We thought them very cute but I'm sure you would not want them in your room. THE ROOMS: We found the beds clean floors and bath clean, room service timely and turndown service nightly. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Bottled water supplied and mini fridge well stocked. There was some lack of bathroom privacy for the brother and sister-in-law but it is not a deal breaker. This bathroom has more privacy than most. I felt they did fine in the room. There are USB ports in the room. Our safe did not work and the plug in our bathroom did not work but other than that we had no complaints and those we minor and did not bother us. The Bar/Drinks: The first bar you will encounter is in the main lobby as you check-in. I felt this one was the best. I enjoyed the martinis and flaming coffees. They do these nightly. Across the way is the cafe. This became my spot. They coffee is the best here no matter what you order here it is always perfect. I suggest ordering any coffee here then going to the bar and adding a shot or two of your favorite liquor. This will be the best coffee drink you will get. Skip the mudslides they are watery. Get an iced coffee of your choice vanilla or chocolate and add Kahlua or Bailey's . It's so much better. You will thank me. I think all the drinks are too sugary but try them until you find a favorite. The Food: In general, it was all very good. The buffet breakfast always had something for everyone. It's not perfect. The omelets are made to order, as are the crepes. Try peanut butter and chocolate then top it with sliced banana or strawberry jam-you will thank me if you love richness. The oatmeal is a bit thin. Coffee and juices are good. Most hot things are hot. Some of the fruits were not ripe or over ripe on some days. One thing we did learn. The bread at every meal is a must. It's fresh and always pleasant surprise. The flavor is standout. The smoked salmon is wonderful. Skip the pastries most are dry and bland. The poolside lunch is not much to talk about (I recommend skipping it). They do it daily. It looks like nice cookout with dogs and burgers but the quality of meat is not up to pare and sadly it tastes like it. However, the chips and salsa and ice cream guy that comes around also daily is another story. He is awesome. Do not miss him. If you are in the mood to go inside to the buffet, take advantage of the roasted meat and the awesome bread that they do. Make yourself the best sandwich you will ever have. Use some guac and lettuce and cheese and a salad and soup. This is a way better than lunch at the pool. The restaurants are also an option. My kids say the seafood one was very good and we did the Mexican grill (fish tacos) also very nice. For dinners, all of the restaurants are equally nice. All of the food choices were fine. We did not get a bad meal. Desserts are not the high light of the meal so do save much room or hope of finding a great dessert. If room service is your thing I can say my kids found pizza at night to be yummy and timely. The Amenities/Entertainment: Golf was affordable with good tee times. It is off-site but only 15 minutes by cab. We did yoga each morning and enjoyed the level offered. The gym is okay, not over the top but you can get it done. We did not have time to play tennis but there are courts. Two of the kids had massages and enjoyed the spa. The activity team was friendly and involved us as much as we wanted in things such as volleyball. The nighttime entertainment was better than at some resorts we have experienced. However, it is "lazy" that is to say they are not off-off Broadway or anything. The sports bar has two pool tables and various board games to play. While out on the patio there is ping-pong, chess, and jenga. We all stayed busy! The Beach/Pool: When I read other reviews, I was a bit worried about the beach. We found the beach clean and no problem finding chairs on the beach or at the pool (even for all 6 of us). There is no need to rush out and reserve. Everyone is pleasant and service oriented at Secrets. They do their best to make sure you have all that you want every minute. Everything is clean. This is a very low-key smaller resort.


124 of 128 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2014
A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker

Overall resort is good I would rate solid 4 stars. Service is good. Staff is friendly and hard working. Everything is fairly clean although shows some signs of natural decay. Food is good. Drinks are good and consistent across resort. Nice features like first come first served at the restaurants. Thoughtful entertainment (not just blasting Reggaeton or salsa for 12 hours as in some resorts). Few downsides. Beach is suffering from bad erosion. I think resort has sewage issues as smell pops up in different places without an apparent reason (not for the lack of cleanliness). This may be remedied by the time you get there (or not). If you get an upgrade - ask to see the room first. It may very well not be worth it. I payed $600 to upgrade to oceanfront only to find out that the terrace does not have a roof or canopy of any kind (room 256). So no shade when the sun is out, can't be enjoyed when it rains either. To boot the drain pipe from the top floor balcony was inches away to the side of my balcony door, which precludes you from even opening the door when it rains. Here's a deal breaker: Starting second or third night in my "upgraded" room I got the insect bites consistent with bedbugs (lots of bites in close proximity to each other all on one arm). Since I didn’t find any bedbugs I stuck around (a mistake). When I was packing to go home I shook every item of my clothes (then turned it inside out and shook it again) trying to avoid bringing any “stowaways” back home. That’s when I found a huge bedbug on the floor (not sure whether it fell out of my clothes or was just crawling around). Pictures are in the album. So ok, this could happen in any resort I guess, as unpleasant as it may be. What’s not acceptable is the way management handled the issue. When I was checking out about an hour after the discovery, I produced the aforementioned bedbug and asked them to refund the “upgrade” to the room with bedbugs in return for not writing this review. Front desk manager insisted they can only refund 40% of the upgrade. So let’s see, Secrets Resorts being a part of multinational resort chain AMResorts was in such need of the remaining $340 that they decided they would rather cope with all this “great” publicity than issue a fair refund (I did not ask for the entire trip cost mind you). In practical terms this means I will not be booking any Zoetry, Secrets, Dreams, Now, Sunscape or Breathless in future. You decide for yourself.

A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker A good overall resort that gave me a deal breaker
46 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2015
Be on the look out

It was a nice resort however I didn't appreciate the welcome staff very much. The first thing they try and do is get you to visit another secrets resort and if you do they will give you a gift. Don't do it unless you want to purchase a timeshare, of course they don't tell you that. If wasted almost a full day of vacation and they don't take no for an answer. It is a very hard sell. As for the resort it was ok and relaxing. The food and staff were good. I just couldn't get over the sales job after you already purchased a vacation you expect to get right to it and we'll it just didn't happen. As for booking with Cheap Caribbean I would highly recommend this company. This is my second booking with them and I didnt have any problems with the booking and getting to my destination.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: oklahoma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
The Vacation We Hoped For

My partner and I just returned from Secrets Capri Riviera. We had a blast! As a female couple, we wanted to be comfortable at our resort location, and we were so pleased with the hospitality and service at Secrets. Our idea of a perfect vacation included relaxation, a little bit of pampering, and cocktails-- and we were not disappointed. Over our five-day stay, we enjoyed visiting the spa twice: once for manicures and pedicures and once for a couples massage. The hydrotherapy circuit with sauna and vapor room preceding our services was just what we needed to relax into our vacation. The spa staff were talented and professional. I wish we could have visited again and again! Our hardest decision each day was whether to relax at the pool with the swim-up bar or to lay in the sun at the ocean's edge with waiters and waitresses bringing us a limitless supply of pina coladas and margaritas. Each morning we took a beach walk along other resorts and we were struck by the cleanliness of the beach at Secrets. Along the other beaches we saw trash and lots of smelly seaweed-- but Secrets beach was constantly raked and spotless: just like the pictures on their website. The most pleasant surprise of our vacation was how much we enjoyed the entertainment staff. They were hilarious. We're not "joiners" by any means, but if you get the chance to socialize with them, do it. They read people well and easily adjust their engagement levels with guests. Several of our best memories from the trip involved fun times with our new friends. Go to Secrets, have the vacation you hoped for. It's as easy as that.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34

September 28, 2010
Nice Getaway

My husband and I went 9/12/ - 9/16/10. We had a great time!! The beach was beautiful, the food was good, and the people were very friendly!! The resort was at about 50% capacity so there were not a lot of people there which was very nice. The beds and pillows are not very comfortable and many of the other couoles at the resort were complaining of the same thing...so bring your pillow!! We stayed in the ocean front Jr. Suite and ocean front is the way to go. I do recommend asking for an ocean front on the first level. Ours was on the 2nd level and there is no cover to rain and bird poo! When we arrived we went out on our balcony and there was cigarette butts on the ground and the lounge chairs were covered in bird poo and ants everywhere. We had called and no one showed up. We then walked down to the front desk and told them. About 2 hours later a cleaning lady showed up to clean the patio but they didn't clean the chairs. I noticed the 1st floor suites had a roof over there balcony and you could also walk right onto the beach from the ground level. Only 1 dinner option you can wear shorts to- all others require long pants. Overall it would be an AMAZING resort if they upgraded the beds, pillows, and bedding. And definitely clean the lounge chairs that are covered in bird poo!

Ocean Front Balcony On the beach
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Spring, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2010
Pleasant Stay

Visit period: 14-19 November. Overall, a good choice. Service was consistently outstanding. Food was consistently good, though not superb. Location pretty good at 10K north of Playa del Carmen. Pool and beach were nice. Nice to have an adults-only property. We paid the small upgrade charge for a junior suite on the exterior, which is more quiet than poolside and the room was generally nice. A few pet peaves: 1) Mattresses were hard, as is common in Latin America, but the pillows were also hard and flat. Time to upgrade the pillows. 2) All areas are tiled, except for the ballroom and the main bar which were carpeted--and both smelled bad. Time to upgrade to non-slip tile in these areas. 3) Bedroom hallways were only lighted on one side of the atrium. Can't we afford to light both sides? 4) A phone call to the U.S. from your room will set you back $6 per minute and a dozen roses $90. The property is mostly all-inclusive, but add-ons such as above, spa services, premium wines, golf, and other activities are generally double what you would expect at a comparable property in the U.S. The on-site photographer was competent, pleasant and fairly priced. 5) It was an eclectic clientele during our visit based on age and decorum. Many anniversaries, honeymooners, and even weddings. Hint to those who have little experience at nice properties: A candlelight dinner in a nice restaurant is not the time or place for a pair of cut-offs, T-shirt and flip-flops. It seemed to be about 50/50 every night between those who "get it" and those who don't. Re complaints noted previously about long delays to get a room, please note that check-in is 3:00P. You may use amenities if you arrive earlier, but are unlikely to get your room until 3:00P. Re complaints noted previously about "broken" A/C, make sure you know how to properly use the thermostat first. Do not rent a car in Cancun. Prices are a rip-off. Take the shuttle for a day trip to Playa del Carmen's shopping area near the point of embarkation to Cozumel. The Ultramar boat is nice, has A/C, fast (~30 minutes at 26 knots), and fairly priced at 280 Pesos (~$25) roundtrip. Boat leaves every couple of hours from either end. Enjoyed Los Cinco Soles (fixed, fairly priced gift shop) and Pancho's Backyard restaurant in back--which are a half dozen blocks north of the pier along the sea wall road. There are some nice beaches and snorkeling to the south in Cozumel, but you will need to take a taxi due to distance and pay a fairly modest entry fee. There are nice beaches near the Playa del Carmen terminal, but not at the Cozumel terminal


24 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 17, 2011
The best vacation EVER!!!!!!

This was definitely worth every dime that I spent...which was not alot. This was a great bargain. I was leary at first because I have never done an all inclusive and the price seemed to good to be true. But, to my surprise, it was the real deal. The food was awesome at all of the restaraunts. The bars were great, especially since they had one that was open around the clock.There was a always some sort of entertainment planned so that if you never want to leave the resort you don't have to. The room was beautiful and the service excellent. Everything is very well maintained and beautiful. I have to say, the staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and my glass was never empty. I would love to go back!!!! PS... If you go to this resort you HAVE TO do the day at the spa!!!! Awesome!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn Park, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 31, 2011
Just OK

First thing to know is that the beach is not usable due to damage from the hurricane last fall. The pool area is fantastic and everyone was very helpful. I was VERY disappointed with the Seafood restaurant - but all others were pretty good. Overall, the hotel is a bit run down - with several areas of the ceiling either recently fixed or needing to be fixed due to leaks and mold. If you are getting a great deal, choose this one. But if possible, I would go with one of the other Secrets resorts.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 35-44

October 20, 2016
There's a lot better out there...

VERDICT: Capri is mediocre value as all-inclusives go, but a fair resort for the unseasoned traveler who wishes to be introduced to the all-inclusive and just lounge by the pool or tan on the beach. CONTEXT: I am a seasoned traveler who has frequented many luxury resorts throughout the entire Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico coastal locations over a period of more then 30 years. As such, my experiences gave me a biased gauge ranging from what is expected (acceptable) and what is a welcomed surprise (top notch) when it comes to activities, food, amenities, the beach, etc. I say "biased" because, as you experience the best, you come to expect it again. The pros and cons below may not all be in the resort's control. PROS: Room was an ocean front (better than "view") and very comfortable. Staff was very professional. Most of the food was very good. CONS: No authentic Mexican food to savor (we had to experience that on a tour of a national park nearby). Alcoholic drinks were free, but mostly poorly made and watered down, with a limited selection. Pool had missing tiles and signs of aging. Activities promised in the brochure were on a restricted schedule (sometimes once a week). Scuba diving was lackluster and the same goes for snorkeling. The beach is very small and narrow and swimming area is roped off. Water was usually a bit choppy, cloudy and there were too many patches of seagrass and seaweed floating around.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2015
Still Suffering!

Where do I begin? To start, this is the 4th all inclusive vacation booked through Cheap Caribbean and have been pleased. However, starting from the hotel checkin they give your key to someone that is to show you around. He points to a few things in the lobby and then proceeds to talk about their vacation club. Should have known better. Spent an entire day being bussed to another property where the sales people tell us that the Capri is the oldest of the Secrets resorts and not very good and will close for renovations in a few months. It is true that it is NOT a 5 star resort as Cheap Caribbean advertises, but it is not closing. Do not fall for their sales pressure! We bought after trying to leave numerous times but did cancel the agreement as Mexico law states that you have 5 days to rescind. The Capri sleeping room was no bigger than a small hotel room. Not what we are use to from the Valentin and Excellence properties. The bar staff was not friendly and did not have top shelf liquors or wine. Again, not like the others! The pool was slimey! YUK! And now comes the worse, my wife and I have had Montezuma's Revenge for the last 10 days. Do not trust Cheap Caribbean's rating system. Unfortunately, Secrets and Cheap Caribbean are both owned by Apple Vacations. I will never use any of them again! Worse property ever! What a waste of money!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Tampa, FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations