All

Secrets Aura Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 153 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.7 out of 5
"Great vacation but recognize August is Cozumel's offseason so only two of the resort restaurants were open and the hotel was generally understaffed." – Daniel9999
116 out of 172 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from breakfast view from our room Beach pool view from roof deck Secrets lobby taken with our phone! Room 4312 garden pool not that great Foam party at secrets Cabinets broken and not attached ocean view swim up suite View from pool Beautiful view View from one of the pools View from the Sky Bar Romantic dinner on the pier Would you sit here View from our room/blacony Sunset Christmas Buffet on the Beach

All Secrets Aura Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 153 reviews. Sort by
June 17, 2013
Excellent Resort

My fiance' and I visited this resort for a week. When we arrived we were greeted with cold towels soaked in a nice smelling perfume and each a glass of champagne. Everyone was very welcoming and very helpful. The staff does an excellent job of service at this resort. To start off, our room was great, kept clean, and serviced daily. We had perfectly running warm water for showers, clean linens and enough extra in case multiple showers in one day were necessary. Next would be the restaurants and bars. All of the restaurants had excellent service and a good selection of food. Especially breakfast. The portions are smaller than what is served in the USA so ordering an appetizer and salad is recommended. I found this refreshing as you get to try many different things. At the Oceanis, try to look for a gentleman named Ruzel, he is a nice guy and was excellent in our service. Our favorite place to eat was Bordeauxs. The food at this restaurant was absolutely delicious and something that you would pay a lot for here in Houston. Francisco the manager was very welcoming and ensured we were being served adequately. Miguel, one of the waiters at Bordeauxs was also an excellent server and I could not recommend him enough. The food and bars get an A+ from my fiance' and I. Next would be the beaches and premises of the resort. All were very well taken care of and clean. There were always open chairs to lay out in as well as hammocks to rest under the shade. The Spa was amazing and I highly recommend a visit. Those ladies work very hard there. Overall I highly recommend this place and would only ask that you remember to bring tip money for these guys. They all work very hard and a couple dollars is nothing for there service. My fiance' and I will definitely be visiting again.


99 of 101 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 8, 2013
Peaceful and relaxing seaside

Despite reading all of the negative reviews prior to leaving, we were prepared to have a good time no matter what. You're on vacation on a tropical island. What's not to love! We flew directly into Cozumel, no hassles at all. We went straight to our van Olympic Tours and were at the resort in 20 minutes. Check-in was different as you check in and sit at a desk rather than a walk up counter. We were handed champagne and a cold towel and then shown to our room. Hardly any waiting! We booked a swim up ocean view suite. It was great and very roomy. We didn't use the pool as often as we thought because the beach was so perfect but it was nice to be able to step off the patio into the water. We had no problem with room service - used them daily for breakfast so we could eat out on our gorgeous patio. The room was cleaned daily with turndown service at night. Frig always stocked with everything we asked for. The only downside of the room is no dresser. There were shelves scattered about, but no where to really put your clothes away. We made use of all of the shelves but a dresser would have been nice. We loved not having to have reservations at the restaurants. We walked in and were always seated promptly. Service was fine. We maybe had to wait a few extra minutes once or twice but big deal. You're on island time. Food was really good. We would order several appetizers, a salad or soup and the main course. We never went hungry. I've read reviews where people said there was no entertainment. I'm not sure if they were staying at Secrets Aura but we enjoyed some of the best entertainment ever there! One night we sat out on the beach and listened to one of the best guitarists I've heard. He played for several hours! Another night there was an amazing band playing during a beach dinner. They were incredible. Our last night there, we thoroughly enjoyed listening to a saxophonist play for hours also on the beach. I'd much rather listen to this type of entertainment than the cheesy Michael Jackson type shows at some of the larger resorts. We never had a problem finding chairs on the beach either. One section of the beach seemed to never have anyone on it, so we spent most of our time there. We were steps away from the bar, a smaller pool attached to the lobby and the ocean. Amazing!! I also found a rather large sandy spot to enter the water so I could snorkle from our beach area. I didn't need my water shoes there at all but it is rocky in some spots. You can also just jump in from the pier and snorkle there as well. We also rented a car one day and traveled downtown for shopping and hanging out and then to the other side of the island for exploring. Had a blast. Make the time to explore the back side of the island while you're there. It's well worth it and breathtaking. Stop and have a drink or appetizers at Coconuts. Loads of fun with great views! The rebranding to the Secrets brand really didn't affect us or this trip. We were looking for a smaller resort, all inclusive so we could relax and enjoy time away from our hectic schedules. We plan on returning. I've been to many all inclusives in Mexico, but we really loved this one!

view from breakfast ocean view swim up suite
62 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Tulsa, OK
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 19, 2013
Very relaxing

Overall we enjoyed this resort immensely! The a-la-carte food, service, and general layout of the resort were phenomenal. We had just a few "hiccups" which is why we gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Our main complaint was that we wasted an entire day waiting for our room. We arrived at the resort at 11am and it took about 30 minutes to wait to be able to check in. They brought us champagne while we waited (which was very nice). We knew the official checkin was at 3pm but were hoping our room would be ready. They said it hadn't been cleaned yet, but to get some lunch and it would be ready in an hour. So, we did and were fine with it. But when we returned, they said it still wasn't ready and would be ready in 30 minutes. We had our baggage with us and could have easily changed our clothes and gone to the beach or pool while we waited, but since they said it would only be 30 minutes, we opted to wait at the bar (in our jeans, sweatshirts and sneakers from traveling). After 45 minutes we went to check and they said it would be another 30 minutes. So, after an hour we went to check again and again they said 30 minutes. This continued on until after 4pm. Meanwhile, many of the people who were on our flight had already checked in and were enjoying their day. We also noticed that EVERYONE there was tipping the staff. They made it clear that taxes and gratuities were included in the reservation, but we felt this was misleading. We had no problem tipping as the staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. The atmosphere is very relaxing and enjoyable and we didn't perceive it as being "full of drunks" as many reviews stated. There were separate pools with different atmospheres. One was quiet and only had 3 people the whole time, another hand a handful of people who were talking and enjoying themselves while floating in rafts and relaxing. The third big pool had games and a swim up bar and appealed to a more "party" atmosphere, but was still nothing like other resorts with "loudness" or "debauchery". We were a bit disappointed that the swim up bar was not actually manned with a bartender though. You only had to get out and walk a few feet to order a drink, but still the whole appeal of the swim up bar is not having to get out : ) We loved the rooftop bar and the bands at sunset! Each night was a different band and they were all very entertaining! The rooms looked NOTHING like they did in the photos, but were still very clean and pleasant. DO NOT FALL FOR THE TIMESHARE THING! We fell for it and wasted an entire day of our 5 day vacation. It was our mistake, but a huge one. We did rent scooters and tour the island for a day-- that was really nice. We also snorkeled in front of the beach for a few hours... great snorkeling, but be warned that the ocean has a rocky floor because it's on a reef. I would suggest water shoes or to swim in the pools or snorkel in the ocean. Our trip was phenomenal... we definitely plan to go back and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and laid back vacation! Enjoy...


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2013
Christmas in Cozumel

My husband and I visited Secrets Aura over Christmas and were very pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The room, restaurants, beaches, etc were all very clean. The food was amazing!!! We will definitely go back.


75 of 81 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Tennessee
Age: 25-34

March 21, 2013
4.5 stars out of 10 maybe

I can't believe Cheap Caribbean would rate this a 4.5 star! The room was a complete mess so many problem form bad smells and dirty to poor quality furniture and cold weak shower. I have stayed at 4 other Secret hotels and this one will kill their brand if they don't change the rating it is unfair to those of us who trust Cheap Caribbean.

Would you sit here Cabinets broken and not attached
16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 10, 2014
Disappointed Vacationer

My wife and I was hoping for a nice relaxing but fun adults only beach resort with great food, fun activities, quality drinks and quiet quality time together. we paid full price because we were traveling during peak time over Christmas. We were told by Cheap Caribbean that the resort was a new Secrets, but what we found was that it was recently bought and names Secrets but an old resort, so the buildings were not impressive, the rooms had mechanical issues and there was so many contractor/repairs going on all day and night it was very noisy, loud and disturbing. the entertainment was terrible. For all three pools and beach area they only had one single speaker that was portable. One of the staff would move it every couple of hours and play some of the worst remakes of holiday songs and over 70s songs. I was amazed and very disappointed that here I was with my wife on a nice Caribbean beach and there was no music most of the day, and when the speaker did come around they were playing slow remakes that made us feel we were in a smoke filled bar listening to cheap tired music. Mood Killer We upgraded our room to an Ocean view Suite with Solarium and pool. We wanted to every once in a while lay out top side and be romantic, quite and just alone. the first time were went on deck to use the pool the pump was turned off and there were bugs floating in the pool. the pump was turned off, because the filter was leaking all over the floor. I called the front desk and the repair man came to the room only to say it was fine and to let it run while leaking water. the Pool light did not work and he said all the pool lights are not working. So much for a romantic night swim. So he leaves and we attempt to make the best of it, we had a few drinks, laughs laying out bathing suite loose and then come the workers jumping from roof to roof while they do construction work. MOOD Killer. That night because the pool has been running all day the pool water level drops to where the filter is sucking air and it keeps us up until I go up there and unplug the motor. The breakfast were very tasty, plentiful and the service was excellent. Lunches ok but nothing to write home about. Dinners were less than desirable. the French restaurant we ate there three nights because the seafood and Mexican style restaurants had bad service and the food was worse than a fast food restaurant. The diving was the best, we contracted out four dives and if we ever go back it will be for the diving only. The gym is small and at the other resort, so you have to walk to Dreamscape to use their gym. That is a family type resort and the music was 100 times better. I swear the Secrets resort was for adults over 75 and dying. I intend on calling Secrets for credit or compensation. My wife and I stayed at the Secrets in Jamaica and loved it there. It was very nice from the food to the entertainment we had a very relaxing, romantic vacation, but this Secrets Aura Cozumel was terrible.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 45-54

April 27, 2015
A change from the past

My husband and I recently spent a week at Secrets Aura Cozumel as a romantic getaway. We had stayed at the property 4 years ago when it was a Wyndham property. There have been changes to several aspects of the experience. First, the physical property was unchanged - the beach and pools were lovely and the rooms were just as we remembered. Best of all, the service continued to be excellent. Many of the same employees were still there and they were as focused on customer experience as they have always been. What we did notice was that it has gone from a couples getaway to more of a "group party" atmosphere. While this is fine, had we known it, we would have booked another resort for the type of trip we were seeking. If we had several couples looking for a fun trip, we would go back in a heart beat. BUT, as a romantic trip, the loud groups, drunken silliness and "cruiseship atmosphere" of the entertainment at times, was simply not what we wanted. Additionally, the food was down a notch - the French restaurant was a new addition and was clearly the best restaurant option. Otherwise, it felt a bit "catering" to us and we went to town for better meal options at our own cost. So bottom line - if you are a group of adults wanting to cut loose and have some fun - go for it! If you want a quiet, adults only resort, try something else.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2016
disappointed

We just returned from a week stay at Secrets Aura Cozumel. We had a wonderful stay on the island but were very disappointed in the quality of the resort. The resort itself was dated and showing a lot of wear and tear. When the shower in the room above was in use, we had a downpour in our bathroom. The front desk said they would send someone to our room but they never showed. They could not move us to another room for two days, and then we had to wait "roomless" for 4 hours without our luggage until the room was ready. The front desk staff, head concierge and the snorkel gear staff were extremely unhelpful and gave poor service. The dining and bar wait staff were friendly but could not serve in a timely manner due to lack of adequate staffing. The grounds crew were friendly and kept the gardens beautifully. Another annoyance was that restaurants did not always open promptly. Overall, food was a C- at best, although some items were good. We left early two mornings without breakfast because nothing was open early enough and room service failed to deliver on time even though we arranged for it with plenty of time to spare. Secrets Aura Cozumel was lacking in many ways compared to it's rating and publicity. Would not recommend this resort.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54

April 22, 2016
Worst Resort Ever

We arrived at the resort at 2:45 and waited a while to check in because the two staff members checking people in spent tons of time trying to sell excursions and beach side dinners to the guests in front of us. When were were finally checking in, we were told our room was not ready. Check in time was 3 pm and there were no exceptions to that rule. Our room was decent, but we found that there was no hot water. After calling the front desk, we were told that a pipe was broken and it would be fixed in about an hour. That night, there was no running water at all in our room. The following morning, there was cold water but still no hot water. We asked to speak to the manager and were told that this was a problem that a lot of people were dealing with, but only affected a certain area of the resort. We asked to switch rooms but were told that the resort was full. This was obviously not true as the resort was practically deserted (easy to see why). The manager said that people would be checking out at noon and that rooms would become available. We said we would appreciate a new room with running water at 12:30 but were told that we would not be able to get a new room until 3. The manager was very rude and unsympathetic. Water is a basic amenity, not a luxury. The staff spent a lot of time chasing us down to buy more things or to spend our "coupon" that came in our welcome package. The food at this resort was god awful. It was cold or tasteless or totally over salted. Bacon was requested several times but it must be a delicacy because our requests were ignored. The staff was pleasant, but rarely were responsive when we requested simple things like water or another napkin. Much of the resort was in disrepair with peeling paint, broken tiles, and patchy landscaping. The beach at this resort was very rocky. Attempting to walk into the water was like walking on razors. I would NEVER recommend this resort or any resorts in this chain to anyone. Having recently stayed at Riu Palace in Playa Del Carmen, my boyfriend and I were extremely disappointed.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dedham, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 17, 2016
Not enough value for the money

Overall my stay was good. There are few things I'd like to pin point for future visitors. I traveled with my other single friend and we were very disappointed to find out that there were absolutely no single people around in the resort. There were only couples and mostly ages 40+ ( we are in our late 20s). Intertainment: there was some intertainment planned every night from 8-10pm, and after 10pm the place just was dead-no music, no lights, no people anywhere. The latest bar was open till 1am. Drinks were watered down. Service overall in the resort territory was good, polite staff, but I felt many times that tips were solicited. My biggest advice is to bring small change with you down to $100 in singles and $5 for tips. A lot of times the front desk did not have change for $20 or $50. That part was very annoying. The food was not impressive at all. It was tasty but nothing innovative or authentic, more like very basic. The spa and gym are located in the sister property if anybody wanted to use them. The beach I didn't like at all- small and hard with seashells ( hard to walk in without proper beach shoes), the entrance to water was very rocky slippery and covered with Sea grass. Transportation: the resort is about 15 min drive from downtown. Taxi is flat rate of $15 one way. There was no problem getting a cab within 5 min the most to get anywhere you wanted to on the island though. Most of the activities are located in the mainland ( need to take a ferry which is additional cost of $10 one way or $15 round trip; 45 min ride). If you book the activity trip , the transportation is not provided. We had to take taxi, then ferry, so it turned out to be very expensive. It definitely did not feel like a 5 star resort to me. I think it was not worth the money that we spend.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year