All

Secrets Akumal Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 144 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.7 out of 5
"The resort itself is very beautiful. The staff is attentive and full of smiles. The pools are very clean and inviting. Our room was 5 stars. I was disappointed with the quality of food." – Iamhavingthetimeofmylife
143 out of 159 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lunch at Seaside Grill Snorkeling tours everywhere This little guy loved our camera Above tub, dripped all night! Beach in front of resort Amazing sunrise every day! One of the 3 pools Fire show in the theatre Infinity pool Boats anchored at swimming area, causing crowding at our beach! Dinner on beach The view of the beach from the infinity pool

All Secrets Akumal Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 144 reviews. Sort by
April 6, 2016
Excellent - this will be my "go-to" Secrets

This resort is def. 5 diamonds. It's got everything. Perfect beach - totally swimmable. You just walk right in. No drop, no fighting big waves. Beautiful white powder sand that won't burn your feet like the sand in Cabo does in the hot sun. Beach is important to me. This did not disappoint. Snorkeling is big there because you get to see beautiful turtles and Ray's. Now I did not see the adundance of colorful fishies I usually see over in Cozumel, but to swim along side these turtles well makes up for it. I was in bldg 6 preferred club top floor. View of ocean and resort. I was right above Seaside Grill and the preferred club lounge. My room was big w a jacuzzi tub in bathroom and a big type of soaking tub out on my balcony - I believe they call it a "plunge pool." I loved that thing! I filled it everyday and just relaxed in warm water after a day on the beach. There are pools everywhere and they are warm and beautiful. The food - I loved it. 98% of my food was perfect. My fav place to eat was Seaside Grill. Preferred Club only breakfast then they open at 11 for lunch. Nice lunch options too and if something your wanting is not on the menu, they will try to make it for you. At night - a pleasant surprise - it turns into an Argentine Steakhouse. Great rib eye, lamb chops and T-Bone. The only other restaurants I ate at were Bordeux, Portifino and Market Cafe. Some restaurants are closed different nights. The only thing that was not good at all was Oceana's lunch buffet. Don't bother. Go to Market or Seaside or get poolside lunch service. One meal that impressed me was room service's Sea Bass dinner. I had gotten back very late from a day of snorkeling in Cozumel and was too beat to get all ready for dinner so I ordered that. It was a nice piece of fish done perfect with mashed potatoes and aspargus and a side thing of garlic butter sauce. It was delicious. And red hot when delivered. They have the secret box to drop your food in so you don't have to answer door, let them in, clear a place for them to put food. Then after its delivered, you get a courtesy call to let you know your food is out there! The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you. If you go, and you find things wrong w this resort, then you went there to try to find something wrong. This place was perfect.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2016
Secrets Akumal

This place was absolutely amazing! We loved every single aspect of it from top to bottom. The resort is still very new (opened in Nov. apparently) so everything was super clean and well maintained. The staff was great and the food and drink were fantastic. I didn't want to ever leave. I tend to analyze everything, but still couldn't find anything to not be totally impressed by. I rarely go back to the same place twice, but would in a second if the opportunity arose.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2016
newer property

still ironing out issues causing delays in dining options. Waited for more than one hour for the entree to arrive and when it did it had to go back...overcooked. Pity. Site is spectacular with excellent architecture in the Mayan Style. Well appointed rooms. Lunch was the best meal of the day for us and as an "older" couple we loved the serenity pool option and left the younger set to pool volleyball etc in the other pools. nothing to do with the product but a note worth making. We arrived in Cancun airport on Sat PM and it took us a very long time to clear immigration (95) minutes. Told after the event that Sat is their busiest day. Avoid if you can


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 2, 2015
Great Trip!

Secrets Akumal is a beautiful property that exudes a luxury experience. The resort opened in early Nov 2015 and we traveled over Thanksgiving, so it was still somewhat under construction. As expected, there were a few hiccups during our trip, but nothing major. Most of the suite buildings are not completely finished so we would occasionally hear furniture being moved below us or in nearby rooms. The elevator broke one night but was repaired the next day. Satellite went out for a whole day as well (unfortunately on football Sunday). Some of the public bathrooms (by the pools or restaurants) were being worked on so we would occasionally have to walk a little farther to find one that was open. The gym and spa were not finished, but they had temporary locations for both (FYI the gym is now open and spa is scheduled for December). Again, these were all minor issues that should be taken care of once everything is fully complete. Overall, we had a fantastic stay! We booked a partial ocean view room and were upgraded to preferred club in the same type of room. It seemed that the regular non-preferred buildings were not open yet, so I think most people were upgraded. The resort was nowhere near full capacity, but we preferred it that way. Rooms are decorated nicely and our view from the 4th floor was great! We even had a jacuzzi pool on the balcony, in addition to the jacuzzi in the room. Housekeeping and mini bar service (FYI they are separate) were not consistent in terms of timing or how they stocked things, but the room was clean and comfortable. A/C and hot water worked great and we noticed that the housekeeping was better when we left a tip. Although tipping is not required with all-inclusive packages, I would recommend it at this resort because you will receive a better level of service at the bars, restaurants, etc. The pools were our favorite part - there are 3 and each one has a different vibe. The water temperature fluctuated daily, but perhaps this is something that also needs to be worked out. There was never a shortage of clean, dry towels. The swim up and middle pools have pool concierges who are very helpful to get you chairs/umbrella/raft and set you up with towels. Sunday at the middle pool was our favorite! These 2 pools also have waiter service for food (from the Barefoot Grill) and beverages. Alberto was always quick to refill our drinks. We were not super impressed with the beach, although we were somewhat biased having visited Curacao only a few months ago. There was some seaweed but the staff did attempt to rake it throughout the day. The water was mostly calm, except on a few stormy days, but not as clear as we had hoped. We didn't swim out far enough to see the turtles and the fish just offshore were scarce. Others said the turtles were a lot closer to the beach in the early morning. Definitely bring your own snorkel gear since it was almost impossible to rent it at the resort due to a shortage of equipment. We really enjoyed the top shelf liquor (Grey Goose included) and the drinks were well made. The food was better than what we've experienced at other places, but still resort style. I did like that the breakfast/lunch buffet was indoors and air conditioned as opposed to open air where bugs/birds can easily intrude. The Barefoot Grill had great snacks and lunch options for pool or beach service. The steaks at Seaside Grill were delicious and Portofino (Italian) was much better than we expected. We did not care for Oceana and it was almost impossible to get into Bordeaux (FYI if you call ahead for a table, there is no guarantee they will seat you). I suggest making reservations for hibachi as soon as you arrive at the resort since availability is limited. Room service is 24/7 and there are plenty of restaurants, so you will not go hungry! Massages in the temporary spa were relaxing and they allowed us to use two $40 resort coupons for a couples massage. The grounds are beautiful and everything was within close proximity to our room since the resort is on the smaller side. Overall we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay, minus the kinks that are still being worked out. If you can live with minor issues, I wouldn't hesitate to book, but if not, I'd give it a year or so and I think it will be even more impressive.

Great Trip! Great Trip!
14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2016
Maybe in a year it will be a great resort

We do travel a lot and we try to find great resorts. Secrets Akumal is not there yet. The resort is 1 hour and 20 minutes from the airport, located between Playa del Carmen and Tulum. Compared with Secrets Maroma: Grounds are similar, Akumal probably has more rooms/buildings and the layout of the resort seems more crowded. It is a very nice resort but... The landscape needs work. They have lots of trees& shrubs with no leaves...?All the restaurants are at ground level, which is nice. We stayed in building 4/preferred club, 4th floor , beautiful view of the ocean. ...after we refused the 1st room they put us in and "beaucoup" $$$$$ s later... The pools are nice/ more options than Maroma's. The beach/ocean -Pros: being so close to the barrier reef the ocean is calmer. The ocean is wonderful if you are into snorkeling, scuba, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding. There are many turtles and fish. Bring a waterproof camera! Cons: the beach is located next to a public beach where there is a constant/ all day influx of snorkeling tour groups. It becomes a bit annoying at times. On the other side there is a resort that is under remodeling? .. We could hear from the beach, in the background, the sound of drills and tile saws. The rooms are nice, similar to Maroma's. Good thing they eliminated that step in the middle of the room. The restaurants are nice, the food is ok (not as good as Maroma's) the service is ok but far , far from Maroma's. At Akumal they need more staff and training in all departments of service. It will probably improve over time.Exemples:)When we arrived it took them 2 hours to bring our suitcases to the room. The toilet was not flushing properly/ we called and they came right away and fixed it; they have these tablets in the room ( which we liked)from where you can also order food. We did, on our last night but the food never arrived. We called, they said they came but no one was in the room... We never left the room.... We were looking for the spa one day and we asked one of the staff guys by the main bar/ lobby area, if he can tell us where the spa is located. ?..he told us he didn't know because it was his first day:) .We ignored these things because, overall the resort is nice people are very pleasant and hopefully the owner/management is working on fixing the service issues.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 11, 2016
Trip to Paradise

I have nothing bad to say about this resort. it exceeded our expectations in every way. the common areas, pools and beach were breathtaking,well staffed and maintained. Great selections of bars and restaurants. We ate in a different restaurant every night. the breakfast buffet was bountiful. I especially liked the selection of fresh juices and smoothies each morning.the staff was accommodating and over the top friendly. they appeared genuinely happy to be there. they provide daily activities such as volleyball, water aerobics, movies, an American Idol competition and a rock show. live music each night at the main bar. it was also quiet and peaceful, we had plenty of time to relax. We enjoyed that all of the guests were "grown ups", no one was rowdy or loud or crazy drunk, while still having a good time. one thing that surprised me was how well dressed everyone was in the evenings!Very classy! Our room was beautiful and comfortable with a great view and a well stocked mini bar. I would highly recommend this resort. we had a great time and will be back!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: atlanta GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 1, 2015
OMG

One of the best vacations I have ever taken. Secrets Akumal was more than welcoming and the staff was out of this world. So much to do/see and attractions are easily accessible. Food was exquisite and I am a very picky eater. Cannot say anything bad about this resort!!!! we will be back soon! Only thing, MEN, remember to bring LONG pants for dinner. The restaurants require long pants for dinner... we were forced to buy a 75$ pair of pants because we did not bring any.. pretty strict with that rule.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 28, 2016
Grest Experience

This resort is fantastic! From the time you step off of the shuttle onto the property you are welcomed "HOME". Each individual on property treats you as though you are VIP making the experience exceptional. The pools are great and the entertainment crew does an awesome job! The restaurants are wonderful. We ate at a different each night. My personal favorite was the Italian restaurant. The rooms are exceptional nice. We had an Ocean view with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The evening shows were great. We visited the nightclub one night and also visited the spa one day. The spa was very nice and relaxing. Again, I highly recommend this resort. We will be back without a doubt. When you go ask for Keynor, which was our concierge. Nor, "Danny Devito" and Alberto were also fantastic!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2016
Look no further for your next vacation

Sry, this review is long..My wife and I spent our anniversary at Secrets Akumal. From the time you arrive until you get in the van to leave you are treated to the best service I've ever experienced at any resort. The staff from top to bottom had nothing but smiles and were eager to take care of anything and everything you may need. The food and drink service on the beach was amazing. I've been to other places where you felt like your server got lost or forgot about your order but not here. There are three bars within a stones throw of your beach lounge hair so the service is so fast. Fernando was our server a few days..he even laid our towels out for us on our chairs each morning. The entertainment staff really takes this place to another level. They get to know your names while you're there and they are always having a good time. We are big beach volleyball players and they put on a great game twice everyday. Big thanks to Johan, Marcos, Leo, Fernando, Mexican Chocolate and everyone I missed. The restaurants are good, lots of choices. The dessert at the Hibachi is the best. The shows each night were pretty good. The theatre is great, comfy seats and good drink service. The spa is amazing. The hydrotherapy before the message was great, it's like an adult water park lol. Now to the room. We had a preferred junior suite ocean view. We had some rain when we got there but no problem..we sat in our huge soak tub that was out on the balcony and just watched the ocean and the rain. Beds are nice and AC works great. You want it ice cold, you got it. Our room also had a Samsung Tablet that had all your services at your fingertips. You could order food, drinks, pillows..whatever and you never had to pick up the phone to call downstairs. The tablet also had all of the restaurants' menus, the day's activities and shows, weather, spa services, everything you could want to know is on there. The best thing in your room is the "Secrets Box" You open the closet and there is a cabinet with a door you lock from the inside...there is a door on the other side that room service can open with a key..you order room service on the tablet..make sure the "don't disturb" light is on (it's a light switch you hit instead of a thing you hang on the door) but 30 minutes or so later your food arrives in the "Secrets Box" with a knock they let you know it's there. You eat and drink up, put the trays back in the box..go to the tablet and select tray pick up and they come get it..you never have to put pants on in the room ever again for room service..lol Finally, the beach, very nice and when they say you can swim with sea turtles, they aren't lying.. The picture below of the sea turtle we took on our last day..You literally walk out into the water and they are grazing 40-50ft from the beach. You can also swim out 100ft and swim around the reef and see all kinds of fish. Bring your own snorkel gear, they have it available for free but it's best to have your own cause lots of people come to see the turtles. So in a thousand words, this place is amazing. Book it now!

This little guy loved our camera The view of the beach from the infinity pool
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2016
Not up to Secrets standards

Nothing about this resort screamed luxury. Seemingly standard items were grossly overlooked, at every corner. Disappointed, to say the least. Pros: *New resort *Further south in area by the ruins (less travel to see attractions) *Buffet was delicious *Spa was beautiful, but overpriced beyond comparable resort's rates *Great liquor selection, and quality liquor *Preferred Club lounge was excellent Cons: *Beach is shared with entire area! Specifically, the Secrets beach area is lined with beach towels and coolers of visiting neighbors. *Additionally, there are snorkeling tours that flood the beach continually. Again, to be clear, it is constantly three groups of approximately 20 people. When you gaze out in the ocean, you see 100 people. No feeling of being exclusive. *Neighboring beaches had boats anchored at their swimming area, so the guests had to move to our beach area. *In addition to it being overcrowded, children lined the beach from nearby resorts. I paid for an adult-only experience, and did not receive that. *The Secrets area of chairs and umbrellas were too crowded, and you could not walk through area without ducking under each persons umbrella. And at any point, we could not find chairs available! *The service at the beach was lacking, we ordered drinks and they never were delivered. Ever. *Pools were too crowded, never a set of chairs open without towels. Never! *Swim-up bar was ridiculous, you could not even get close to the area to order drinks because of the crowd. *Restaurants were ok, some were great...others so poor we literally went to another restaurant immediately after to eat again! *Check-in was too long!!! And our ocean-view room that took two extra hrs to get us in to...was the third BUILDING from the ocean, directly above the pools? It was only a sliver of the distant ocean! Again, not what we paid for, in my opinion. *Room service was sporadic and didn't even come daily? Nightly turn down was the same! Our mini-bar was not refilled, namely the waters!!! We had snacks the first day, and nothing after?

Snorkeling tours everywhere Boats anchored at swimming area, causing crowding at our beach!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year