All

Sands At Grace Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 29 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"An overall excellent resort and the beach at the sands is the best on grace bay! Would go back in a heart beat!!!!!!! A+" – Barbados11
32 out of 33 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our balcony Sunset at Sands at Grace Bay Beautiful Beach Sailing at The Sands Sunset from the Sands @ Grace Bay Resort View of the beach while eating lunch Sunset from Hemingways

All Sands At Grace Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 29 reviews. Sort by
August 10, 2010
We Got Upgraded!!!

We checked in on Saturday, 8/1 and received our welcome cocktail – rum punch. We went up to our room and did not have a/c in our one bedroom ocean view studio. A maintenance man was immediately dispatched and told us that he could not fix it. We approached the front desk who showed us a few other room options and we ended up (after 4 hours) being moved to a one bedroom ocean view suite with no up charge. When booking a trip and staying at the Sands, I highly recommend spending the extra money on a 1-bedroom suite if you are planning on cooking your own meals (at least breakfast and lunch) since it includes a full kitchen and tons more room (sitting area, dining table, outside table on the patio) when compared to a 1-bedroom studio. We went to the grocery store (within walking distance) and found out how expensive it was. We recommend taking a taxi back to the hotel since carrying groceries that distance may get uncomfortable. Breakfast at Hemingway’s is not exactly cheap and we ended up spending $30 the first day on two bagel sandwiches and bottled waters. The rooms are stocked with flatware, plates, glasses, cups, and cooking pans. You will be surprised at all of the available cooking utensils. The pool areas are pretty and the beach is awesome! There are floats and snorkeling equipment available from the towel guys if you get out to the beach at a decent time. The Hobie Cats were available a lot and we ended up going out on them quite a few times throughout our vacation. The pool guys will clean your conch shells that you retrieve if you go on a snorkeling trip. They will smell terrible otherwise so take advantage. We ate at the Tiki Hut which is short taxi ride from the hotel. Our best meal was at Anacoana which is a restaurant at the Grace Bay Resort. We got the filet and sea bass. The mac and cheese with truffle oil is KILLER! Be aware that some restaurants add a 10% Service Fee so you don’t need to tip an additional 15% just another 5 – 10% if the service was worthwhile. Everyone speaks English and driving is on the opposite side of the road from US driving since it is a British owned island. Overall, this resort is meant for relaxation. Hemingways has good food but you will want to branch out and eat at different restaurants for dinner especially for the atmosphere and variety. We heard people talk about Bay Bistro, Coco Bistro, Grace’s Cottage ($$$), O’Soleil ($$$) and Anacoana ($$$). The on-site store is great for snacks and alcohol. They also have kid stuff in case they get bored which we doubt they will. Cable television is pretty good for night-time if you are not a night owl. Overall, our experience at the Sands was excellent. We would definitely go back there!

Sailing at The Sands Sunset from Hemingways
88 of 89 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Frisco, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 20, 2011
Fantastic Vacation!!!

I would definetly reccomend this resort and I will return anytime, I had an awesome visit the first week of May, 2011. My room was upgraded at no charge to me and because I traveled alone I believe the staff watched out for me extra carefully. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. The beaches were magnificant and so where the pool areas. The rooms were very comfortable but for the short amount of time that I stayed in my room I would insist on a smaller room and decline the upgrade. Hemingways' Resturant serves delicious food (a little pricey though) and you can sit on the outside patio and watch the sunset as you eat dinner...simply awesome!!! Very, very pleased with my selection of resorts and I will definetly use cheapcaribbean.com again!

Sunset from the Sands @ Grace Bay Resort
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Three Rivers, MI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 11, 2012
Top notch

An overall excellent resort and the beach at the sands is the best on grace bay! Would go back in a heart beat!!!!!!! A+


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ma
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 15, 2012
Mediocre Stay

I really didn't want to be so negative on our stay in Turks and Caicos. The beaches really are pretty and most restaurants are pretty good. Unfortunately, our accomodations were very middle of the road. We arrived at the Sands and looked forward to our Rum Punch welcome. That didn't really happen. We had to ask for it and then it took about 25 mins! Dumb. The girl (Rhi) at the counter showed us on a property map where our room would be- of course they want to put us in the building furthest from the beach and closest to the parking lot. (Is this because we booked on CHeap Caribbean?!) I asked if there was any way we could get a building closer to the beach and was told no. Rhi wasn't very friendly or accomodating. THere was construction going on in the 2 buildings near the beach. I later found out only 19 of their rooms were even booked while we were there and I'm sort of shocked they couldn't make better accomodations for us since the place was so empty. Anyway- we headed on to Bldg 1. Our room was fair. Nothing great at all. The size of the room was fine- bed was decently comfortable. We had goo water pressure in the shower. There is absolutely nothing "pretty" or "amazing" about this place if that is what you are wanting. It's essentially like staying at a Holiday Inn that hasn't been updated in a while (and we were actually in one with an updated bathroom.) The tv's are little and old. The kitchenette area does not have much- it has a college dorm fridge, a toaster, tiny microwave and a few plates and bowls. There was a dirty nasty sponge sitting on the counter which is what housekeeping apparently used to clean our dishes. Yikes! Simple things like a newly packaged sponge would have made this visit better. I'm not sure if that's a "local" thing, but there were a few little things like that which would have made a difference. I normally do not expect clean sheets every day when staying at a hotel- but in this case, it really would be nice because we accumulated sand in our bed. Housekeeping did a really shotty job- don't expect much when you come back to your room after it's been cleaned. YOu get a half made bed and that's it! They don't even give you fresh shampoos. The restaurant Hemingways on the property was also very sub par. I ate there twice- lunch and a dinner. I got the fish tacos for lunch. Very average. Dinner was better- I had the Creole Grouper which was good. Unfortunately, the woman who served us was one of the rudest we crossed on the island. Locals seem very lazy. None of them seem real eager about having to work. The front desk crew just sits there...the maids don't clean well, and the servers spoke openly how they wished the Sands would have closed like everyone else during low season (hence how i found out only 19 rooms were booked). I understand they may prefer to not work, but we were on vacation and still want to have great service! And unfortunately, it doesn't seem like any of the money coming into these resorts is trickling down to the locals which I don't understand. Anyway- Regent Palms and Seven Stars look nice. I may just be the type that needs nicer amenities and good service. Maybe I'm spoiled_ but i like good ole American service. Pretty disappointing overall. If you want an average place The Sands wil do for you. If you really want a good vacation, spend a little more and stay elsewhere. It really would be worth it ( I kept telling myself- the beach is what's important....but really..a nice place is key too.)


20 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2011
Great Vacation spot

Just returned from TCI; it was an awesome vacation. While The Sands was not a 5 star resort, it was definitely worth the money. The grounds are beautiful, as were the pools. Beach was awesome & watersports equipment was always available or just a short wait. Hemingways(restaurant on resort) was good; staff was friendly & food was moderately priced for the area (all food was expensive). Would recommend a room with kitchen so you could at least eat breakfast&/or lunch in room. There are several restaurants within walking distance on the beach.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Clarence, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 1, 2012
Wonderful vacation

We had a wonderful time at the Sands at Grace Bay. The room was excellent. The beach is really clean and water so nice and warm. The grocery store is within walking distance ..15 minutes. There is another one that you pay to go to, but don't waste your money. We didn't rent a car and didn't need it. The staff was very friendly and helpful esp. the water front staff. We sailed with the free boats provided and enjoyed it all. It was a great 50th anniversary vacation.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: Over 65

December 22, 2015
Awesome trip

This was an amazing resort. I can't imagine another place more beautiful. Resort was very clean, staff very friendly, beaches were breathtaking. This resort was close enough to town that you could walk. You also never had a problem getting a beach chair or palapa.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Loveland, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 31, 2011
Wonderful Four Day Vacation

Great mini vacation for my husband and me! The folks were wonderful and the room was great. We were in a studio and it was "very" spacious! We ate every day at Hemingway's, the onsite restaurant. We had a "front" row seat to 4 glorious sunsets! We rode bikes, learned to sail and went snorkling....all included. We enjoyed it so much, I am now making plans to return for a longer trip at Christmas with our 19 and 27 year old "adult" children. We are all excited!

Wonderful Four Day Vacation Wonderful Four Day Vacation
7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 3, 2012
Turks & Caicos ranks right at the top/ carib vac.

Thoroughly enjoyed Turks & Caicos,the SandsHotel, excellent. The people, the beach at Grace Bay,the weather,the ambiance,the restaurants. All on a par or better then other carribean vacations I have taken. This includes Puerto Rico,Guadelupe,St. Maarten,D. Republic,Paradise Isl.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DIX hills, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2014
BEAUTIFUL BEACHES!!

The Sands at Grace Bay is a beautiful resort with the best staff I have ever experienced. Everyone is friendly yet professional. The landscaping of the resort is top notch and the 3 pools are an adventure in themselves. The sand and beaches in Turks & Caicos are even more beautiful than the postcards advertise. While staying at the Sands resort, we had complimentary access to bicycles, snorkeling gear, paddle boards, and kayaks everyday. The resort was a short walk/bicycle ride away from shopping, local restaurants and bars, as well as a grocery store. My only complaint would be the prices at the convenience store that is on the resort property. $8 for a bag of chips was a bit ridiculous. Other than that I would recommend this resort to anyone and will definitely be returning myself.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year