All

Sandos Finisterra Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 81 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.3 out of 5
"The resort was amazing. Staff was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. The food was great. We loved the Italian restaurant the best. Beautiful and great value!" – Amberrosepratka
80 out of 94 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Pool View from my room. View from my room In pool bar with entertaining bartenders

All Sandos Finisterra Customer Reviews

1-10 of 81 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2014
Finisterra hotel - great. Sandos - not so much

Let me warn you - the trip you take to Cabo (not just Finisterra) is so that you can be pitched a timeshare. Period. Before you get out of the airport, someone will offer you free stuff for listening to their pitch. If you purchase ground transportation through CheapCaribbean, the transport company will try to delay your van departure until you agree to a pitch. Once at the hotel, the concierge will try to hold your room key hostage until you agree to a pitch. As long as you are aware of what is happening, you can use it to your advantage to get free stuff (as long as you don't mind spending time listening to a pitch). Shop around, play the various pitch men (and women) against each other. Get an agreement for the best free stuff and go with that one. And don't take "discounts". You can get free stuff - whale watching, massages, para-sailing, sunset cruises, etc. Now for the review. The Finisterra is a great hotel - very clean and modern. We were in the Junior Suite (first upgrade). Great location with great rooms. The pools are plentiful and clean. The beach is beautiful, but on the Pacific side so no swimming. No vendors on the beach, so no one harassing you there. We did have an issue with getting our room - they did not put us in the upgrade. It took me a while to figure it out (hey, I had never been there before). Once I told them we were in the wrong room, it took a while to get it straightened out. We pretty much lost the first night to the long immigration line, the delayed transportation, the delayed concierge and the room swap. Very disappointing to have lost the only Saturday night we had in Cabo. Overall, our experience was excellent - we were able to accomplish what we set out to do - relax and enjoy the beach. The all inclusive was awesome - endless food and drink I would recommend the Finisterra as long as you know how to handle the timeshare pitches.


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 45-54

November 7, 2013
Amazing resort!

I recently stayed at the Finisterra from 10/31-11/4 and had a blast. The resort was amazing. I was put in one of the brand new remodeled junior suites and it was more than I ever expected. The staff was all very helpful and attentive. The beach and pools were wonderful. Town was super close. I will definitely be staying here again!


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sacrament, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 24, 2016
Great Location, Beautiful Resort

We really enjoyed the Sandos Finisterra resort. This was our first time at a Sandos and we were very pleased. We especially liked that we did not need dinner reservations and that dress was casual so the men did not need to wear slacks. The resort is very clean and the entertainment staff work hard to get people involved. The service in the restaurants were slow even though the resort was not very crowded. The nightly entertainment was OK but we were disappointed that some of the nicer bars like the lounge bar and the whale watchers did not stay open later. The only place that was open was the Stones club which some nights was not very fun. Either the music was not our taste or it was too loud so we could not have a nice conversation. We would have preferred to hang in lobby with a bar and sit and chat with each other or play pool at the Whale watchers. Things closed down at 10pm or 11 in the lobby. The location of the resort was perfect for walking into to town or catching water taxis. We even walked the beach and crossed the rocks and went to Divorce Beach. The walk was tricky but fun. The resort is beautiful and well kept. We upgraded our room to the 6th floor and had a beautiful view of the pool and we were close to the 7th floor restaurants and cafe. The manager was very helpful when we complained about our first room. We were on the first floor and it was close to the lobby and noisy. We also did not care for the view from that room. I would recommend a higher floor.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jamestown, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Like a second Honeymoon

My husband and I traveled here to witness a wedding of some friends. Sure glad we went! After taking the shuttle bus from the airport (which on the way to the hotel was prepared with beer in a cooler ready for purchase...wish they had had water...so buy at the airport if you're not a drinker), we learned that our drop off was the last. Not a big deal if you're prepared for the drive and drop offs. I was glad it was because every other hotel had to take taxis or shuttles to shopping, clubbing etc and this hotel was within walking distance of EVERYTHING! The hotel, view, and staff was AMAZING and we cannot wait to return! The food was good, hotel was clean, and every staff person was ready to help and sincerely courteous...and spoke good English. One afternoon we had massages on the beach which I HIGHLY recommend! My sister used the spa to have her massage and said that we should have visited because it was breath taking. Some of the other guests of the wedding party changed rooms because their view wasn't as good, but we had no complaints about ours. We have 2 small children and cannot wait to bring them back. I ran into a family at one of the resturaunt breakfasts and the mom said they had superior childcare. Thanks for a beautiful and relaxing vacation! We will be back for sure! :-)


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: McKinney, tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2016
Must Go!

If you are looking to book your vacation at this resort, I would say you should not hesitate one bit and go ahead and book your trip because you will not find another resort better than this one! This is an all inclusive resort, so this means everything is included and you actually do not need to pay for anything. I am talking from free meals, snacks, coffees, drinks (alcoholic and non), entertainment, games, room service, gym, fitness classes and trainers! Rooms: The junior ocean view suites are gorgeous and spacious. Large bathroom areas, closets, with your own private balcony. There is a stocked mini fridge in the room filled with beers, and sodas as well as a large water filter for drinking water. Food: YUM. I usually expect mass produced food to be sub par, but this food was exquisite. Every restaurant I went to had amazing food. Don Diego is amazing for breakfast brunch, they have everything from custom omelettes, fruits, authentic Mexican food and smoked salmon and cream cheese! The cupcake cafe has such great coffees, they even have almond and soy milk for those who prefer! Service: From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with champagne and tequila shots! They made our entire group feel like royalty. I was never told no. Anything I wanted, they would make it happen (even if it was not allowed). I have traveled a lot and I have never ever been treated this well. Drinks: You can start drinking at 9 am, they will make you any drink you ask for. They remember your name and your drink choice. If you move locations from the beach to the pool or from the pool to the restaurant, your server will go out of your way to find you to bring you what you need and asked for. Entertainment: They begin with morning classes at the gym (yoga, pilates, stretching, walking on the beach), then poolside games and prizes for adults and children, and nightly entertainment with live music, beach parties, games, prizes and a lounge/club at night with a DJ. Hope I have convinced you to go :)


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 1, 2017
Fantastic place

The resort was amazing. Everyone was very welcoming from the moment you arrive. If you need anything from a taxi to reserve a beach cabana or make reservations anywhere either the concierge or the staff at the reception area were always there to help. The rooms were very clean and the views breathtaking. The restaurants were very good and the choice of food was excellent, the service depending on the day was either excellent or good. The last two days I was there were very windy and a couple of the restaurants by the beach were not the best place to have dinner since it was too cold and no windows or doors but otherwise the food was worth to put a jacket and still have dinner there. The pools were great and the activities the hotel had either by the pool or other places in the hotel were great and fun. I would go back to Sandos anytime.

View from my room
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Elmont, Ny
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2015
Nice place but had some major flaws

All in all the resort was nice. The whole resort was clean and the staff was attentive. The evening entertainment was a nice touch as well. The resort was close to the marina and the shopping which my wife liked However, we did have some minor issues with the room when it came to the bathroom. The sink was clogged almost the whole time we was there and the toilet leaked quite a bit and we had water on the floor a couple of days. The maintenance people did come up and fix the issues so it wasn't that big of a deal. Another complaint that I have is the high pressure sales pitch for the timeshares and excursions. I went out of my way to pay for an all-inclusive so we wouldn't be bothered with sales people and this was the worst I have ever been subjected to. After telling the salespeople we wasn't interested in timeshares multiple times they finally left us alone until we tried to book an excursion and the pressure started again. On top of it the things that they was telling me didn't feel very truthful and it made me very hestitant about anything the resort told us. My biggest complaint is the issue we had when we checked out. As soon as we came into the lobby the resort people grabbed our bags from us to load into the shuttle back to the airport. They didn't ask us but just grabbed them from us and took them away. We checked out and when the shuttle arrived the bags were loaded into vehicle. We saw our bags being taken from the lobby to the vehicle by the resort people. However, when we got to the airport my bags were not in the vehicle. The driver played dumb and would not offer any help and just drove off. We contact the shuttle service and they said they would look into it and call us back but they never did. We called the hotel and they said the bags was still in the lobby and that we would have to pay $80.00 to have a taxi deliver them. They told me it was my responsibility to make sure the bags was loaded and not theirs. They took our bags away from us without asking and then said it was not their responsibility. The fact that the resort messed up and then would not take responsibility for their mistake and stick me with the bill makes me furious. We will never ever stay at that resort again!!!!


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, Mo.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 9, 2016
Loved this resort

The staff at this resort treat you like old friends. They were so welcoming and gracious. We especially appreciated Gaby, one of the hostesses, who always wore a beautiful smile. We enjoyed the variety of food, and the freshness. I wish I had sampled more, but there were always too many choices at the buffets. We did order the fish tacos at Agave after reading another review, and they were excellent And I think I ate my weight in fresh fruit. . The bartenders were always ready to fix whatever drink you asked for, and made suggestions too. Try a Dirty Monkey, a fun drink. All the waiters were very accommodating , and always smiling. I can't imagine doing their job, long hours, every day and look happy to be there. The pools were pristine and we never had a problem finding a chair. We also spent time on the beach chairs, enjoying the ocean breeze. As noted, you cannot swim at this beach, and there are lifeguards to remind you. We had a junior ocean view room that was spacious and very clean. I appreciated the expandable drying rack on the patio for wet suits. I did miss not having an alarm clock and outlets closer to the bed for charging my phone. The front desk staff and managers were very helpful. We did book a ZipLine tour based on their recommendations, and thoroughly enjoyed the excursion. We did get talked into listening to the "vacation club" talk by Monica, a sweet lady. The sales pitch was low pressure ( we did not invest), and got a couples massage for our time. The couples massage was amazing, and the Spa itself is a beautiful and relaxing place. The nighttime entertainment was fun. The Wednesday nite beach party was outstanding. The setting was so fun, the entertainment amazing, and there was even fireworks. Don't miss it. This was our first trip to Cabo, and we would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.

Loved this resort Loved this resort
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: Over 65

October 5, 2016
Best vacation yet!!

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon September 25th till October 2016. We have been on a few vacations before, including to Cancun and Rivera maya at an all-inclusive resort, and this definitely became our favorite!! First I will start with any negatives: When you first get there they will try to have you listen to a "presentation" for "90 minutes." This is a just a walk around trying to convince you to become a VIP member, not a timeshare but close enough. You will get discounted activities if you listen to them speak and just say no.... but our went about 2 hours. If you decide to book an adventure, DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT go fishing on the resorts 23 foot boat with the company named SUSHI TIME. We paid 260 for 5 hours of deep sea fishing, and the guy only took us out for 4 hours while throwing things at sea lions and we did not catch one fish... then when we got off the boat he asked where his tip was and told us to never come back mf's all because we did not leave him a tip SINCE HE JIPPED US TIME AND NO FISH. Then when I complained to the resort they promised to resolve it and apparently the captain told them (in Spanish) that we asked to go back early... which is false. So do not book your fishing trip through this resort. Positives: the view is amazing, the workers are amazing, their managers are wonderful! Tips are included in this resort but we still tipped a few bucks here and there. The entertainment is great, Mexican night on the beach was awesome and we even won 2 bottles of tequila!! Rooms are beautiful, menu and restaurants are pretty darn good, especially the steaks! If you do not like their buffet is there is always a menu to chose from, but you can eat at a restaurant everyday if you choose which is awesome!! The marina and boardwalk is literally across the street so you do not have to walk far. It is full of restaurants and shops and boats. There are shops all around the area and of course you get to bargain!! You cannot swim in the ocean because of the tide and underwater tunnel which will suck you away, but the view is amazing. You will understand when you see it. I would give this place 5 stars for the hospitality and all around scenery. You will not regret this trip :)

Best vacation yet!! Best vacation yet!!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Antonio tx
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 14, 2017
Great value, great resort

We had a great week at the Sandos resort. It is very conveniently located next to the harbor and town. We found excellent shopping on the other side of the street opposite the hotel, hidden away in a small "strip mall". The views from the hotel of both the harbor and Pacific were magnificent. We got to see beautiful sunsets and the full moon shining across the waters. The view from the top of the resort and Stone bar were gorgeous. We attended a destination wedding of a relative and the beach ceremony, beautiful food spread and patio for the reception on top of the resort were the most beautiful i had ever been to. The staff did an incredible job of organizing the event and running the reception. We had very delicious gourmet meals at the three theme restaurants. The buffet made a good breakfast with tasty bacon and other meats and eggs to order. Lunches were okay, not what I would call gourmet like the theme restaurants. It took us a few days to figure out the brick baked pizzas and calzones were the way to go. The guacamole was some of the best i had ever tasted. Service at breakfast and restaurants was good but not great. Probably our only gripe for the whole week was there always seemed to be a missing detail at the table like a napkin, salt and pepper, or fork missing. Bars had top notch choices of alcohol and the bartenders made great drinks. I can't say that bartenders were the friendliest group, but they did their job well. The adult pool is definitely an attraction for us older folks that want to have fun and not be around kids. Families staying in the other pool areas seemed to enjoy themselves. The activity staff (Lily, Paco, Linda, etc.) were always very friendly and helpful. There were plenty of activities to stay engaged in. we played volleyball, aerobics, and bingo. Overall for the cost, food, value, room I would rate the resort as an outstanding value.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations