All

Le Meridien Cancun Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 119 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.2 out of 5
"The staff was very attentive we enjoyed our stay please get a better quality steak" – Tman50
113 out of 139 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
At the bar Balcony Beach and water are beautiful! Beautiful decor of Bar One Neighbor construction Beach By the pool with beach view Sandos Sunrise Molecular cuisine Construction at Le Meridien Nice Pools Won at Bingo poolside! SO RELAXING!

All Le Meridien Cancun Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 119 reviews. Sort by
July 24, 2013
Where to begin...

Arrival- Upon arrival they make you feel very pampered. They offer cold towels, a rose for the ladies, and a glass of champagne. They even got my husband a beer right away. Alfredo greeted us and ever since our first meeting, he remembered our names and greeted us every other time we saw him. He is truly a joy to talk to and we enjoyed looking for him everytime we went through the lobby. He is a great "face" for the front door. Room-Very clean, beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed(which is SUPER important.) I loved the fact that they stocked the bathroom with Q-tips and makeup remover pads. Nice little detail. Never once had a problem with the room being clean. Nothing was ever stolen, however there is an in room safe. Beach/Pools-The water at the beach is incredible. It's a beautiful blue and is pretty to look at. As far as the roughness...it is rough. Most can't swim in it. We went out and basically stood on the sandbar and cooled off. The cabanas on the beach are first come, first serve. They go relatively quick, but there were plenty of lounge chairs available every day. No problem there. The pools are very clean and beautiful and great to just relax in and watch the ocean, however, they are warm. Yes, the sun is hot, yes, the water heats up, so we can't complain much here. I used the showers down by the beach when I wanted to cool off. Pool drink service- Irving made this trip for me. He really is awesome. He is so friendly and happy and genuinely seems to enjoy meeting people and taking care of them. I recommend to anyone going to this resort-ask for him and take care of him with a good tip. You will not be disappointed and he deserves it. Food-The food really is top notch here, and I can say that we are pretty picky. There was only one meal that we did not enjoy and we were here a full week. Seasons is wonderful and the menu does change. We didn't figure that out until our last night or we would have eaten there every night. Keep in mind with Seasons that it is developed as a 4 course tasting menu. We heard complaints from others that the portions were not enough, but for me and my husband it was perfect. They are also very accommodating if you wanted to add on a lobster tail or a piece of fish to make your entrée meal bigger. We were ranting and raving about the food and the Executive Chef came out and met us. What a nice touch. The person that really was great was our server at Zango, Arturo. He was awesome. Very on top of things, constantly refilling your water, very personable, and he made us laugh. We started requesting him every time we ate at Zango. Room Service-It's funny because the food is awesome here except the late night room service. Keep in mind that we were ordering after 12:00AM, so maybe earlier in the day or night it's just fine. Do NOT judge the food by the room service. We ordered a pizza late night and it was not good but the pizza's by the pool during the day rock. Alcohol-Spot on. They have it all in the liquor department. All of your premiums that you are accustomed to. As far as beer, you are looking at Sol, Tecate, and Dos Equis. We were cool with that, but they do not have Corona. They also stock your mini fridge with beer. Entertainment-Ricardo, Alfonso, and Mauricio really have a good thing going on. They like each other and have fun with each other and I think that makes for a good team. They won't harass you if you say "no" to an activity either, which is nice. They try to get you involved but if you say no, they will not pressure you, like at some other resorts. They also get involved with games and activities and enjoy them with the guests instead of staring at you from the sidelines. They make you feel like you are their friends and I liked that. I have terrible volleyball skills and never play but they encouraged me and laughed with me, not at me. It was actually fun! On a side note, as someone who speaks little to no Spanish, it was nice that they were able to help me if I did have a hard time explaining to another employee a drink request, or if I had a question about an excursion, etc. All 3 of them speak great English and can communicate very well. This is a huge bonus. Spa-The spa was very nice. It was relaxing. I had a 50 minute relaxation massage but went in an hour early to enjoy all of the "wet areas." Karla was my guide through that process and was very professional and explained everything. I loved the cold plunge. It was an adrenaline rush! The prices of the spa in my opinion are a bit high but the good news, is that they run specials every day which will be listed on a scroll that you will receive in your room the night before. I would suggest seeing what those are before booking. Activities/Nightlife-The penthouse party was well done. The decorations were beautiful, the water drum show was really awesome and something not seen everyday. They give away prizes also. My suggestion would be that at the end of all of the bottles and massages given away that everyone's name gets thrown back into the bowl for a chance to win the free nights. There were several complaints about that, but it's an easy fix! My suggestion with activities and nightlife is to really try to plan something every night that will last at least 3 hours and be fun for everyone. Instead of just doing "Minute to Win It," have a full on game night with several different game shows or board games. We didn't want to go downtown to the clubs every night but we didn't want to sit around talking at BarONE either. Something in the middle is really what needs to be worked on. Also, back up plans. If karaoke gets cancelled because of the rain, what can be a solid plan b? You have an incredible staff ready and willing to make it happen which is a great starting point. BarONE-They made great drinks. They really did. Everything was mixed well, and they were great about giving suggestions on places to see, things to do, etc. Lorenzo and "Nacho Libre" were a great team and kept us laughing many a late night. Clara was so sweet and dealt with us like a champion. Overall-I really enjoyed this resort. It's smaller, but I think that allows for more personal attention and service. The staff really is incredible here. They made it totally worth it. The food is impressive, the drinks are strong and varied, pools and beach are clean. Nighty entertainment, could use a little more, that is my only suggestion.


48 of 52 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34

November 26, 2011
Never recommend to go !

This is a terrible hotel. Have you ever seen or heard that at a luxury hotel during the night time at 2am, 3am, 4am, 5am or 6am is broken down the walls, drilled concrete, cut the steel bars and columns. The big construction in the hotel is going on days and nights while the guests paid a lot of money for resting at a quiet place on their very valuable few days. This is one of the most expensive hotels in Cancun. This is not all... There is another very big construction next to Le Meridien. It is another hotel, maybe three times bigger than this was built next to it. The construction probably lasts 6-8 months more. It is like a big curtain to stop the sun lights come to Le Meridien. After 2-3pm the pools don't get sun light. You have to go to the beach for sun bath. Nobody took into consideration our complaints. I and my wife never recommend you to go to this hotel. Never !

Neighbor construction Construction at Le Meridien
34 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Super Relaxing

Upon arriving we were greeted with champagne and a rose, room had amazing view. I was in a wedding, and the whole experience went smoothly. I would recommend getting married there. Food was not the best best best I've ever had but was still very good for Mexico. My favorite was the Japanese restaurant. It was nice to not have to pay for things at the resort including drinks at the bar but bring singles to tip because we didn't and it was hard to get money changed while in Mexico. The staff is amazing so they do deserve tips. Bar staff, cleaning staff, food staff, wedding staff, pool staff, everyone at the resort went above and beyond our expectations we were literally waited on hand and foot! They made sure we made it to the airport at the end of the trip, I hope we can visit this hotel again. The only thing is we could have gone for a little more upbeat and lively place at night, but we were there in a wedding party so no choice. Nightlife is very close to the hotel though because you are in the hotel zone. If you're looking for laid back and relaxed and very quiet, this is the place for you! Pool during the day had all kinds of fun activities. I liked that there were not a whole bunch of kids or drunk people running around though. We did get refused to be seated at the steakhouse because our party was too big but it wasn't a big deal. Beach there is AMAZING prob ONE of the best I've seen and I've lived in Hawaii. You can see it from the pools it's awesome. Great price for the resort and plane tix combined and I really liked cheapcaribean.com. I was skeptical of them at first but they really took care of me, I will use them again.

Super Relaxing
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southeast Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 18, 2016
Really Nice Servers, Currently Under Construction

Overall: A bargain, large, clean room, good food with nice staff, but construction issues and some other confusion/comments/issues lowered my grade. Details: When we arrived at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, the first thing we noticed was the entrance was completely covered by construction materials, and the entrance wasn't the only thing under construction. One of the restaurant locations (the one on the beach with the famous stone-fired pizza oven) was also closed for construction and the jackhammer noise from that was very disruptive when we tried to relax by the pool. It did not look anywhere close to being finished. To be fair, we realize October is not the park season, but we were still a little surprised. On the positive side, the waitstaff was incredibly friendly and attentive, and we thought the food was very good. The pools were beautiful and the ocean right there. The room itself was good-sized and clean, although we mistakenly thought it would have a balcony, which was disappointing. Also, the last night we were there, something happened (a leak?) on our floor, and maintenance crews literally cut a hole in the ceiling outside our door and banged on the pipes for 8 hours. We barely slept. After we complained, Sandos eventually offered us a room upgrade, but it was our last night, so instead, we were offered 25-min massages to compensate us. Normally, the massages at the resort spa are prohibitively expensive -- much more than in the States, and the massage was good. Earlier in the week, I also had a pedicure in the spa, and it was very nice. Even discounted, though, it was about the same price you would pay in the States. No bargains for sure! Apparently, this is common for Cancun, but you are also required to wear a skin-irritating hard plastic bracelet the entire time you are there, and every day, staff is trying to get you to go to a 90-minute presentation about how to buy a timeshare. Multiple people asked us very personal questions about whether we were married, if we lived together and how old we were -- we assumed to determine if we would qualify for the timeshare. We declined to hear the presentation. We also did 2 excursions: a half-day tour in Tulum, which we enjoyed and a snorkeling tour, which was also great. We booked our transportation to and from the hotel through Cheap Caribbean. In the end, the ONLY bus that arrived early the entire trip was the bus to take us home. They actually moved our pick-up time an hour earlier than planned and got us to the airport (only 20 minutes away) almost 3 hours early (1.5-2 hours is plenty early in the small Cancun airport.). I kind of wish we had booked our own transportation so we could have enjoyed one last delicious lunch. Although, heads up! They boarded the flight super early, so it would have been bad to miss the flight. BTW: We had perfect weather and the water was beautiful, so we tried to let none of the problems normal with travel get us down -- it really is paradise.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2011
Superior Service

I must say that I have never been so well taken care of in such a friendly way while on vacation. Every single employee had a smile and was helpful in a genuine way. The room and hotel was spotless and so very comfortable. Only one night was there a loud fight between some occupants, but one phone call to the desk and it got quiet very quickly. I would stay here again.


12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Weaverville, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2014
Great Little Resort

Overall Mood: I loved our stay at Sandos. I went as a couple and enjoyed that it was very adult focused. There were always chairs available and friendly people at the pool, without the crowds and craziness. There were some activities at the pool throughout the day, but they were short-lived and low key. If you're going to Cancun for a crazy night life or party time, then this is not your resort. It kind of shuts down after dinner, unless you're into lame lounge singers. Check-In: We arrived at 1pm, two hours before the 3pm check-in time. They greeted us with champagne and scented towels. We were led into the bar and given a 5-10 minutes sales pitch to attend their 90 minute sales pitch for a free massage the next day. We passed, but had we not had another activity at that time, it would have been worth the 90 minute pitch. We grabbed an amazing lunch, then some drinks at the pool, and went back for an update close to 3pm. We were told it would still be quite some time, so we changed and headed to the pool. We didn't get our room until close to 6pm, but we got a balcony upgrade, so we weren't upset. Food: Zango was pretty amazing for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (aside from one disappointing dinner). We went in with low expectations for an all inclusive in Cancun and our expectations were far exceeded. The room service and poolside bar were typical bar food, great but nothing that will blow your socks off. It came relatively quickly too. Seasons was very good but the ambiance was boring, the service slow, and very small portions. We did not go to the last restaurant because my boyfriend didn't have a coat and tie. He was disappointed that we couldn't get in. Service: Excellent. Everyone went above and beyond to provide a good experience. The poolside waiters were a little bit slow, as they took orders from 110-15 people until they went to the bar to have them made. We ordered food at one point and the waiter forgot for about an hour. The service does not get better with tips, we tried to get faster service at the bar. Otherwise, the entire staff was pretty amazing. Excursion: We booked an excursion and the staff was greaat in helping out and making sure that we had transportation and everything we needed. Overall, it was a great resort and I would return.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 17, 2015
Sandos 7/2015

The resort was very nice. ALL Inclusive is the only way to go. The restaurants and food choices are good. Our favorite was the brick oven pizza and the hibachi. Our least favorite was the steak house. This is where we experienced the worst service as far as wait times and taste of food. Even with those very minor issues I highly recommend this resort.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44

February 19, 2016
Loved everything but the dining options...

Well...I must just say this...I didn't realize that the moment I arrived I would be hit with a "we have a 90 minute blah blah blah....". I immediately told them I was hungry and had a long day and wanted to eat. I wasn't interested in a time share. I wanted to eat and see the beach! Let's begin with the beach. The service was impeccable. Waiters were catering to us hand and foot, bringing us drinks and food, without us even asking. Brick oven pizza by the pool. Ceviche on the beach. What more could a girl want! And, the wait staff was exceptional!!!!!!!!!! The breakfast buffet was amazing. I only had one actual lunch which was pretty good. As for dinner, the Italian restaurant had nothing on the menu that interested me. One night they offered an Indian buffet which was to die for. I didn't really like the steak restaurant because the service was horrible and the filet was extremely fatty. Not my cup of tea. I am generally not a hibachi kind of gal but the hibachi place was an experience. Overall, the food was good but the choices were not. I was very impressed with the attention to detail. One night before dinner there was a knock at the door. A man came around with a cart with freshly dipped chocolate strawberries. Another night I arrived from dinner only to find that my bed had been turned down. It's the little things. I would go back because as I said the staff, the service and the overall hotel was great! Just maybe some different dinner options. But it could have been a lot worse so I was happy!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: bayside, new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 10, 2016
Couldn't ask for better

I am a fan of reading reviews prior to booking but I'm not too much of a fan of writing reviews as I often get distracted or something to that nature and never find the time to write. Anyways, this resort and the staff is second to non. They all spoke English as well. We dined at all restaurants, the food was excellent. The staff is always willing to accommodate. EVERYTHING was truly included in this ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE. The refrigerator was ALWASY stocked with beverages. The snacks in the room was also brand name along with wine and fresh fruits. They had 24 / 7 room service. I often ordered at 1am (midnight snack) and they delivered as expected. Fresh food and prompt service. I was celebrating my wife birthday, they did a wonderful job assisting me with surprises and other actions to make her birthday a memorial one. THE POOL: the pool was outstanding. It was never crowded. There was also enough chairs, covered bed/tent next to the pool which provided shade and relaxation. The entertain was average but the staff members made up for it as they will do almost anything to make you happy. At no time did any staff member said no to a request. THE BEACH: the beach was good too. Similar to the pool, enough chairs etc. I highly recommend this place espically for adults. Good food, good staff, truly all inclusive. Close to major shopping (all brand name stores) and it's all duty free. You claim back the taxes at the airport. You cannot go wrong with Sandos. It was truly an "all inclusive resort". The staff work very hard making certain the guests are happy. I changed $250 usd in $5 bills. I wig I had changed more. I can't help but to tip these amazing staff members for their service and hospitality. Please note, they never ask for a tip or give any indication that they want one. I heighly recommend this place for your next cancun Experience.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 26, 2017
Best Vacation Ever!! Sandos is the place to go!

Everything was spectacular from the moment we entered the lobby and were handed a glass of Champagne and a red rose. The room was beautiful and clean and the service was impeccable. Every dining experience was great! The beach was gorgeous, the pools were awesome. EVERY employee we met was gracious, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We loved every minute of our trip and were very sad to have to leave. I could go on and on, but I will say that we will be back and we will stay at Sandos. Book your trip now...you will not regret it!!

Sandos Sunrise
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lakewood, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year