All

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 60 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"This felt like something different. The hotel was quirky and fun. The staff treated us like friends. The beach location is very nice." – Travelmommy
62 out of 72 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
San Juan View from our room cool blue decor view from #701 This could be YOU! Our room...yes that is blue lighting...

All San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 60 reviews. Sort by
March 2, 2012
Great stay!

We spent 4 nights at the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean - perhaps a little worn - but very well taken care of. The maid staff did a wonderful job keeping everything in ship shape order. The rooftop pool was small, but the perfect size for a quick dip and the bar/restaurant area boasts wonderful views. We found the staff to for the most part be very nice and helpful throughout our stay. My only criticism was something small, but a little frustrating. There were two water bottles sitting out on the bathroom counter next to the coffee machine when we arrived. There were no signs or additional info so we assumed they were complimentary and drank them. At the end of the stay, we were charged upwards of $3 for each bottle. I certainly would not have opened those bottles if I had known! This location was perfect to get to and from the airport, Old San Juan, and rental car facilities. You do need to take a cab to get into Old San Juan, but it was not terribly expensive (roughly $20 per way while we were there). The food options right around the hotel were not super authentic (fast food and chain restaurants were the easiest to find), but they were pretty plentiful. A number of casinos are in walking distance and the very beautiful beach is literally right out the front door of the hotel. Towels, chairs, and umbrellas are provided by the hotel. Overall, this was a great spot to stay and very reasonably priced especially compared to other hotels in the Isla Verde area. We would come back again to the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel in a heartbeat.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2011
Clear water, soft sand, close to activities...

Great location on THE BEST BEACH in Puerto Rico. The hotel room is small but the black light gives off a very cool vibe. The rooftop pool was being remodeled. Workout room is just enough - 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and free weights. Free internet access in the room & 2 computers downstairs. The restaurant is the only low score here - too expensive and not a lot of options, but the free happy hour from 5-6 pm makes up for it!!! Located about 10-15 minutes from old San Juan - only a taxi ride away ($3 a person)...or You could take the scenic route by taking the T5 bus for only 75 cents. The hotel is next to many places to eat - Sushi, Ruth Chris' Steakhouse, Starbucks, Wendy's, Subway, Pizza shops - plus many more. The El San Juan CASINO is only 3 hotels down from the Water club. Hotel staff very hospitible - they can book any tour you are looking for (Rain forest, Bacardi Factory, Zip line, Bioluminescent Kayaks). In all a very AFFORDABLE place to stay in a prime location on the "Enchanted Island" Highly recommended and will stay again


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2012
A Glorious Getaway!

If - -like me -- your idea of the perfect island vacation is to stay in a small, chic hotel with fabulous staff, fabulous food and phenomenal ocean views, this is the hotel for you. From what I understand, this hotel was just recently renovated, and I love the decor: emphasizing their proximity to water (the beautiful palm-tree-lined beaches of Isla Verde are just a dozen steps outside the door), the hotel uses turquoise blue as an accent color. Blue-tinted waterfalls splash behind glass in the elevators, blue lights are an option in every bedroom, and the casually elegant rooftop terrace restaurant - -with breathtaking views of the coastline -- is a beguiling mix of turquoise and gold. I can't say enough great things about this restaurant. Part of it is covered - -great when there's a sudden rainstorm - -but much of it is uncovered, inviting you to lie on the comfy couches, sip on the great mojitos, snack on the fabulous calamari, salmon ceviche or ricotta donuts glazed in grand mariner caramel...and stare up at the moon and the stars. I must also say a few words about the staff. I consider hospitality to be the ultimate luxury, and by that measure this is the most luxurious hotel in which I have ever stayed. From the valet at the entrance to the staff at the front desk to the servers at the restaurant - -and everyone in between -- the staff was uniformly - -and genuinely - -warm, caring and incredibly accommodating. I tucked away my watch, turned off my cell phone, left my i-pad unopened and simply allowed myself to be pampered by the staff, soothed by the balmy breezes and serenaded by the nightly chirping of the indigenous coqui frogs and the great Atlantic surf. Just the best vacation I've ever had!


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kensington, MD
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 22, 2010
Professional Pampering

In planning our trip, my partner and I were anxious due to two concerns: one; neither of us had traveled in quite a while, and two; neither of us had ever left the U.S. mainland. Our fears were compounded by others' horror stories regarding travel. By virtue of some kind of instinctive miracle, we entrusted our plans to Cheap Caribbean. Our anxieties were gradually erased with each phase of our trip. All paperwork was precise and helped expedite airport experiences. Imagine our delight when we were greeted by the shuttle service folks, holding signs bearing our names! Felt like VIPS. During that brief jaunt, they advised us re. best restaurants, etc., which was used to good purpose. We were soon ensconced in a beautiful, beachfront hotel room, complete with a romantic, majestic view of the azure sea. The hotel staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Enjoying the shimmering sands of the Puerto Rican beach and fun visits to nearby San Juan created indelible, pleasurable memories. Our good deed to friends and family, especially the inexperienced, will be to avail themselves of the professional, travel pampering obtained through Cheap Caribbean.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2011
Decent hotel but no food/beverage options

I thought the hotel was nice and it is right across the street from the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helful with restaurant suggestions. Unfortunately, the rooftop pool/bar was closed when we went. It also seems strange to me that the restaurant is only open for breakfast. If you want a snack or a beverage readily available I recommend you stay somewhere else. The rooms do have small fridges though so you can buy/bring your own snacks and drinks.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
The Perfect Spot!

This was the perfect spot! Tucked away at the end of the street, right on the best part of the beach. The service was awesome and so helpful! On our first day, while checking into our hotel, Vin Rhimes walked in with a guest and went into the dining room for dinner. The concierge said that he was a regular there. Their rooftop bar and pool is gorgeous! Don't miss out on their happy hour everyday. Free drinks from 5-6pm. It's a perfect way to start your night. DO NOT miss out on the Bio luminescent Bay. It is by far the most AMAZING thing I have ever seen in my life! There's so much to do. The rain forest, boat tours, snorkeling, scuba diving, the Bicardi Distillery, casinos, Old San Juan, fishing... Just ask the concierge. They different tour options every day and they arrange everything; transportation, tour guides, lunch, etc. Don't forget your water proof camera. Great trip! Great price! I never like to travel to the same place twice, but this place... we will definitely be returning soon!

The Perfect Spot! The Perfect Spot!
18 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2011
GREAT VACATION WOULD DEF GO BACK!!!

PROS: 1.Hotel located right accross from the beach, as soon as you walk to the beach you are greated by a beach boy (ask for Joseph..he is AMAZING!) sets up your beach chairs,Umbrella,brings you drinks etc..2./Located near shops & places to eat 3. Room was nice4.Hotel service was EXCELLENT..staff treated us like friends although you can feel some tension(ppl affraid to lose their jobs???)/ Transportation is at easy reach.Fluorescent blue lights are super cool...decor is trendy! CONS:1.We weren't aware that the pool & upstairs lounge was under construction until we got there2.Continental breakfast only includes two bakery products and a beverage (everything else you pay for(the prices are low and limitted menu)3. No lunch or dinner available.4. The elevator looks unfinished and not as nice as they make it seem.5.The rooms weren't thoroughly cleaned/ No dresser so we had to keep our clothes in our suitcases. What you see on the website does not reflect what the hotel is actually like, On the site it looks newer when we first got there it looked a little dingy and old..it took a day or two to get used to it. If you are looking for a place to stay and be active all day..it's the place for you...We liked it! Would definetely go back!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Hartsdale NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 5, 2012
Great Vacation!

I loved this little chic hotel! It was less than 10 minute drive by taxi (beware they drive really crazy down there!) from the airport and when we arrived at the hotel we were met with friendly people (who spoke English perfectly). The guy who checked us in, I forgot his name but he was tall and skinny and had a tongue ring, he was very nice and explained everything to us. We were able to check in early (we arrived at 2pm) and even got upgraded! The blue lighting in the room was cool....although I could see it being a problem if you were trying to get ready at night to go out. In the morning we opened the curtains to the sun and beautiful beach view! Loved the beach....the beach attendant set up chairs and an umbrella for us and also gave us towels. It was hot and the sun is strong so don't forget your sunblock! Housekeeping came twice everyday so we always had fresh towels and a clean room! Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone and if we travel back to PR, we will def. stay there again! Oh and thanks to the concierge lady who gave us the directions to get to Old San Juan by bus (only 75 cents and worth it!). It rained on our last full day so that sucked but good thing we were out early in the AM so we still got to hit the beach!

View from our room Our room...yes that is blue lighting...
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2013
Our first trip to Puerto Rico

It was a last minute need for some sun shine and salsa dancing. It was a fantastic time. PR is absolutely beautiful! Water Beach club is also fantastic! They have spent a lot of time with attention to detail with their elegant decorating. I liked having a tranquil setting in the hotel and the ability to seek out the hustle and bustle of night life with a short cab ride away. I would rather leave the night life in the club than have it in the hotel. I am a professional ballroom/Latin dancer. I was seeking the epitome of salsa/Latin dancing. I think by far PR has the best salsa music...I wasn't too impressed with the locals and how they danced...but perhaps I set the bar too high. Either way...it was a lot of fun. There was a disconnection on which room type I was supposed to have. I booked and paid for an oceanfront view room with a balcony...what I got was a partial ocean front with no balcony and windows that didn't really open. So that was a bit disappointing. I am in communication with Cheap Carribean to get back my upgrade charge of 40.00 per night. So boo to that...but I will def go back! (hopefully very soon in case my hubby is reading this :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2016
Not worth the money

The hotel staff are wonderful for the most part. Only once or twice did I feel like the concierge only show up to work out of obligation. Housekeeping come late. Ours after 6pm. 3 times we were cramped into an elevator with a service cart. Once the cart carried alcohol to another floor. The second time was with a person who was probably maintanece carting paint and painting supplies, and the 3rd was just an empty cart. It's not a big deal except the elevator and the cart are almost the same size. Our room was less than desirable, however not bad enough to eat the $1000.00 reservation. There was mold on the windows and bathroom tile. On Wednesday during our stay we were "pushed out" buy visiting cruise passengers. It was like they were more important than standard paying hotel guest. The pool is small, approx 20x10 or so and the pool deck only accommodates 6. Why care about the pool when you're at the beach? The water is nasty and the beach was unkept. The roof top lounge was very nice. This hotel is not grouped "with" the other hotels, it's about 6 blocks down in an area where gang painted buildings are the norm. And during our stay, this hotel did not keep the area of the "secluded" beach clean. There was a lot of litter. If you are looking for an 80's Miami Vice feel, the decor here is something you'll like. However, there isn't much close by. Don't waste money on the "transportation" the cab ride was $16 or so vs $80 via the package add on.


12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Bradford Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year