All

San Juan Marriott and Stellaris Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 209 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.5 out of 5
"If you can get a deal this is a perfectly nice hotel with a good location. Just don't pay rack rate. We were traveling with two teens and they liked the beach and pool areas just fine." – benabby
266 out of 275 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Marriott pool area View from our room. 19 floor Pool at Marriott Beach at Marriott Lobby New Lobby Cabana View Beautiful beach...clean and the water was clear and warm. From the beach in front of the hotel Snorkeling! Our Partial View of the Ocean. Taken from our hotel balcony Paradise view from our room 18th floor, San Juan Marriott and Stellaris Casino room view of pool Beach Behind the Marriott view from room Pool as seen from our room The pool Bed Rainbow from our balcony

All San Juan Marriott and Stellaris Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 209 reviews. Sort by
January 17, 2011
Great Time in Condado San Juan

My wife and I-both 30, stayed at the Marriott in Condado for four nights (Friday-Tuesday) and a blast. The Marriott is a great place to stay in San Juan if you want to check out a lively and walkable neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars, have a good pool area, be on a nice stretch of beach but also have easy access to Old San Juan and Isla Verde. About our experience: We had no problem checking in early (1pm) upon arrival. Our room was located on the 14th floor, but it was a bit too high for us so we were moved down to the 4th with a great view of the pool grounds and the beach/ocean. The room was well appointed with a spacious bathroom and a massive balcony. There was a small fridge for beer and rum etc. The lobby had a large and lively bar/lounge area with live salsa on Friday and Saturday. The place was packed and everyone was having a blast-stayed that way fairly late. The casino was large and had several roulette tables. Waitresses were prompt to get drinks while played. An earlier review reported that alcoholic drinks were not offered, but they definitely were. Daily happy hour deals at the beach bar with waitresses promptly delivering drinks to your chaise lounges on the beach. The hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants and bars and a quick bus/cab trip to Old San Juan ($.75 bus or $15 for a cab).


60 of 61 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2012
great wknd getaway!

We stayed at the marriott in Candado and I think it was the best possible place to stay. We had never been to PR before so weren't familiar with any of the areas or where to stay. Based on trip advisor, I picked the san juan marriott and stellaris casino. it was great! We were able to walk to sooo many great little puerto rican restaurants and shops. We even walked all the way to San Juan, but I wouldn't recommend that because after an hour in the 90 degrees it was a little too much. we took the bus back for only 75 cents! We used the tours desk at the marriott to book snorkling, ziplining and night kayaking. The tours picked us up at the hotel. For the ziplining tour we had the best guide. Jerry picked us up at 8 am and took us to toro verde and we did the beast or La Bestia as they call it. Amazing. Jerry was great with all the info about PR. He was very friendly and gave us lots of good tips on what to do and where to go. We did the spread eagle snorkling tour. we lef the hotel around 8am and sepnt the whole day out on the water. It was awesome. it was breezy on the water so it wasn't too hot but we did get sunburned even with SPF 70 on . they gave us a nice little lunch, lunchmeat sandwhiches and potatoe salad, chips, veges, and fruit. The snorkling was great. They gave us bread to feed the fish and the fish loved it. They were all over us. we took an underwater camera and got some cool pics of the fish. The kayaking was ok, but not great. I read online how awesome the bioluminessence was. It took forever to get there because we stopped at 5 other hotels to pick up other kayakers. It took almost 2 hours. Once we got to the place to kayak there were so many other people there. They put us in a group of like 15 and we had to kayak out to this little cove. It was a cluster...mess. everyone bumping into each other. we had to go single file down this pitch black mangrove path and someone would yell "get to the right" and we had to move to the side so other kayakers could leave the cove. Getting to the right when you have no idea where you are in the pitch black was a nightmare. we all got smushed up against the mangroves and we almost tipped more than once. Once we got out to the lcove/lake area it was cool. the neon floaty things were great, but then I knew we had to face the pitch black mangrove path again to get back. it was smoother on the way back and better but I felt exhausted when we were done. It would have been great if it hadn't been so crowded. Apparently there is another place to go, maybe that wouldn't have been so crowded. Anyway, overall the whole trip was amazing. A great place to go for a few days. There is so much we didn't even get to do. i would go back just for 2 days even, we hadd a direct flight and it was so worth it. I can't wait to go back. And we will stay at the marriott again. Maybe even bring the kids next time:)


33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 29, 2015
Fantastic Puerto Rico vacation at the Marriott

Our stay and San Juan Mariott Stellaris was beyond Fantastic. The entire facility is top notch and everyone that works there was very friendly and gave great advice on area restaurants in the area. Our ocean view room was perfect and plenty of free bottled water was provided daily. The 2 large pools and swim up bar was beautiful and we could spend hours just looking at the waterfall. The beach was clean and water crystal clear. Everyday, at the pool entrance you can find a board that list all the free activities hosted by the Marriott.There is a game room with plenty arcade style games and a very well equipped gym and cardio area. In the gym, you find plenty of free bottle water, tea, and cold peppermint scented hand towels. The bathrooms have his and hers spa, and the showers each have soap, shampoo and conditioner. The hotel and all of Old San Juan have plenty of police and security personnel. A Marriott security guard, Alexis Hernandez,we met the first day there was extremely helpful and always greeted us with a smile and friendly advice. We looked forward to seeing him when hanging out at the pool. The concerige was great and arranging various tours on the island. Our trip to El Yungue Rain Forest was guided by Rene'. He was funny, informative and probable the best guide we every encountered. Great Job! Typically on vacations to the gulf coast it cost $40 per day for 2 beach chair rentals. Not so at the Marriott; all included at no extra charge. Another service that we have never experienced, is that because of a late departing flight, our checkout time was many hours prior. We were told to give our luggage to the doorman, who stored for us, and we were allowed to use all the facilities until time to leave. Because of the many things listed, without a doubt our next trip will be to the Marriott Stellaris. Thank you to all the staff for making our vacation one of the best ever!

Fantastic Puerto Rico vacation at the Marriott Fantastic Puerto Rico vacation at the Marriott
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Prairieville, Louisiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 19, 2011
We LOVE PUERTO RICO!!

Cheap Caribbean is a great site to get excellent vacation deals! This was our second trip back to the Marriott in San Juan and we LOVE this hotel. We always get the ground floor facing the pool and ocean. Despite our room being next to a music speaker and the jack hammering in the lobby, it was a fantastic trip! We don't bother eating the food at the Marriott because we don't want to pay $15 for crummy chicken fingers and $10 for a beer. We experienced authentic Puerto Rican food right across the street at Miro and throughout San Juan. Also, Old San Juan has wonderful dining options. We enjoyed the Marriott because it is clean, comfortable, and convenient to the bus stop. The staff is very accommodating as well.The pools are beautiful and the hot tub is amazing! The beach and grounds are very well kept and just beautiful! The casino is also nice. I would highly recommend this hotel despite a few weaknesses but definitely more strengths.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 23, 2012
wonderful vacation!

We took a family vacation with two teens and what a great time we had! From the moment we checked in (which was very quick), everything was perfect. The rooms were bright and clean, the pool and beach were spectacular, and everyone we encountered was very helpful and pleasant. As we sat on the beach or by the pool, there were staff wandering around making sure we had everything we needed. We took other reviewers suggestions and did not eat at the resort, but rather ate in town at the many local restaurants. We booked a couple of different excursions through Cheap Caribbean, and those were great also. From the moment we got off the plane where there was a car waiting for us, they were very attentive. We received a phone call the day before our excursion letting us know what time we would be picked up, and the name of the driver. They were there on time, every time. Our favorite excursion was the snorkeling trip to Culebra. The water and beach were so beautiful. I would definitely return here, and will use Cheap Caribbean again for future trips.


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte NC
Age: 45-54

November 6, 2012
My 2nd time around

This is my 2nd time staying at San Juan Marriott. We had a fabulous time! The hotel and rooms were beautiful. The main restaurant was really nice, and the food was fresh. We got a really good breakfast deal through this website, which was 1/2 off. Definitely a plus, since food is pricey if you happen into the wrong place. The excursions through the hotel were expensive but there is a magazine near conceriage desk with coupons and we got great discounts and package deals.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, Fl
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2011
San Juan Getaway

My wife and I were looking for a quick couples getaway. I must admit, I was apprehensive of booking with cheapcaribbean.com since I never dealt directly with this firm. WE WERE IMPRESSED!!!!! The descriptions and pictures posted online were essentially on point. The service at the Marriott was excellent and the staff extremely attentive. The hotel went through a major renovation within the past two years which included the rooms and dining areas. The lobby, lobby bar, and hotel check-in areas are slated to be renovated beginning on or about June 20, 2011 as described by the notice posted in the lobby (and they don't need to be renovated). The dining options at the hotel as you can imagine are pricey (as with most hotels) for the quality of food received. There are many dining options within walking distance that are affordable and of gourmet quality. If you shop for alcohol I would suggest purchasing at the Duty Free shop at the airport because the pricing is outstanding. You can purchase on the concourse and take directly to the plane since you will have been cleared by security. We did not rent a car as we took taxis or walked to and from locations that we frequented within San Juan. Taxis fares are governed by the tourism board and locations visited are governed by zone pricing. As we travel safety and security are always on our mind; we were never concerned for our safety. We will visit San Juan again in the future and I will be booking another getaway with cheapcaribbean.com in the near future.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 11, 2016
More information needed by the customer!!!

We enjoyed our vacation very much., The hotel is very nice, and the grounds are well cared for and lovely All the staff is pleasant and will go out of their way to help you with anything. BUT... My problem is with the funding of the vacation. We reserved a 4 night, 5 day vacation including the Air transportation, in April 2016. through Cheap Caribbean So far everything was fine. Upon arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to an ocean view room, at an upgrade price. We agreed. This is where the problem started. We agreed to the upgrade price, not realizing there was also a Daily fee that for the room, an "Upgrade Resort Fee" a room tax, a state tax, and a city tax on the upgrade fee None of these were mentioned until checkout. Customers should be advised of these FEES in advance so there is a choice for them, Another problem was that daily we received a bottle of water for each of us in our room, again not aware that we would be charged for the water daily, even though we didn't request it or were asked if we wanted it. We have found in warm climates water often complimentary.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 22, 2011
Marriott @ SanJuan

great staff nice modern hotel walking distance to fantastic restaurants


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlant, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 11, 2013
Excellent!

Stayed for a week at the San Juan Marriott & Stellaris Casino in mid-August 2013. I based my choice to book this hotel from other reviews online...some are mixed and I don't see how some people had such a horrible time there! We were so very happy with the hotel! We purchased the airport transfers for $35 each way, which I don't feel were necessary as taxis are $17, but nice in that we didn't have to worry. We were picked up in an Escalade and the driver pointed out history/locations along the way. I suggest getting the transfer when you arrive but taking a taxi back to the airport when you leave. The bellboys were excellent, from opening the doors each time you walked through to helping get taxis, suggesting restaurants, things to do locally, to helping with any other requests. Elvin was awesome!! We received our welcome drinks upon checking in. The desk clerk changed our full oceanfront view room (well worth the cost) from two double beds to a king, which meant we were upgraded for free to a corner unit which had a full view of the ocean off the front balcony and a larger second balcony with a view of the pool, a little of the city and the coast to the west, which allowed us to see sunsets - awesome room!! Thank you desk clerk! Room was clean and spacious, bathroom was beautifully upgraded, minifridge in the room. Bed was slightly hard, but not anything to really complain about. My only suggestion for the room was they should have had a highboy dresser of some sort - there were three or four small drawers in the cabinet that housed the minifridge, enough room for socks and such. The rest of our clothing either had to be hung or placed in shelves in the closet, which was right next to the door. A little weird to get dressed next to the front door, but again, nothing to really complain about! Beach was excellent - large, clean, water was clear, clean and warm, beautiful views! The pool was also clean and not terribly crowded any time we were there. Towels were always readily available. Swim up bar was a nice touch. Prices are high so it's really only worth it during happy hour for the 2 for 1 special (same for the other outside bar, which was also nice). Swim up bar seemed to only be open during happy hour, but that could've been b/c it was technically "off season" when we went. We did not eat at the hotel except for the coffee bar in the front lobby, which was reasonably priced and good. I had read from other reviews the hotel restaurants were overpriced. There are many good restaurants within walking distance - Buns across the street for lunch, and Tijuana's and the little italian restaurant right next to it were the absolute best!! The italian owner actually remembered me and we went 3 days apart - nice touch! (Walk left out of the hotel.) Go to Walgreens a block away to the right for beer/liquor. Casino was small, but you're not in Vegas. Our only complaint was there was only one $5 blackjack table open at any time - really could've used two more at $5! I always felt safe - lots of security all over the outside of the hotel. Walking the "strip" I also felt safe. Overall, I would definitely go back to this hotel!!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Coatesville, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year