All

Samsara Cliff Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 23 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.3
Dining Options
 
2.6
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.5 out of 5
"Slightly out of town if you are looking for a relaxing getaway from the hussle this would be for you! Incredible views - but no access to the beach. Great for swimming off the rocks!" – chavvie
16 out of 23 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
MOLD the road to samsara ONE OF TWO ROACHES

All Samsara Cliff Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 23 reviews. Sort by
November 1, 2011
Wouldn't recommend Samsara.

Samsara Hotel was so horrible, we booked another hotel in Negril and lost the money we had paid to Samsara. It was that bad, we would rather lose money than stay there. Please take note of other bad reviews, the Cheap Caribbean customer service told me not to worry about bad reviews because some people that don't stay there put the reviews up, but PLEASE pay attention. I lost over $300 because they wouldn't let me change my reservation due to the extremely low quality of this resort. In fact, I think Cheap Caribbean should remove this resort from their site, they shouldn't be advocating for such a poor property.


93 of 96 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: South Alabama
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 17, 2012
Love the cliffs, but....

I would not tell anyone to stay at Samsara. No coffee pot in the room, I was chewed up by mosquitos in my room at night. The hours for dining are very restrictive, so all inclusive is not a great deal. The staff was wonderful. No safe in the room, but they had safe deposit boxes in the office for rent. The bedding was iffy, Views from the seaside rooms was peekaboo. And I have to say, it is the first time I have ever seen a "cold tub". What were they thinking? All inclusive drinks stop at 10pm and the dirty banana tasted moldy!! The hotel drivers were super, can't thank them enough. Legends was crowded, two resorts on the same small stip of beach and shade was at a preimum. I guess that I am a spoiled American, but I have stayed at better places on the cliffs, so next time I will go just down the road, I will never get tired of Negril and the west end.


67 of 69 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 20, 2013
Excellent Getaway

This was a semi-last minute purchase for my boyfriend and I. We wanted to get away and when we found the deal for the Samsara Resort we couldn't resist. I am thankful for all of the reviews at it helped make the experience that much better. As everyone says, they only provide a bar of soap and bath towels. We brought our own beach towels (ones we could leave behind in case we ran out of suticase space), soap, shampoo, conditioner, razor, and if you want to dry your hair I recommend bringing your own dryer. I chose to go more natural. The view is AMAZING from Samsara, we jumped off the cliffs and into the water and fell in love with the sunset and actually seeing thousands of stars at night. The sister hotel is very convenient with shuttle service. The local FOOD was sooo good! I highly recommend walking down the street (turn right outside the hotel and about 5-10 min walk) the place is called Three Dives you get a ton of food for the money and can sit right by the cliffs. Further down the street is a restuarant called the Push Cart, this is a more commercialized place but has an excellent view as well. The food is good but a bit more pricey. Also, Rick's is a must just to see people cliff dive or do it yourself. All in all it was a great trip and very smooth. We had a taxi driver for the day take us to Y.S. falls and we ziplined and wanted to go to Appleton Estate but it was getting late. Its a long drive but well worth it. Cheap Caribbean made it very easy.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 18, 2016
Still here. Don't want to leave.

As I sit on a lounge chair overlooking the ocean, I can't help but think how, yes, I love my home but I never want to leave this place. I thought I would miss the "beach" or the sand, and yet, I have zero desire to leave this cliff. The staff here is amazing. Omar, took us to a gift shop to purchase a beach towel and souvenirs and take us to Three dives with the most amazing jerk chicken. Samsara is not a "luxury" resort so if you are looking for a place that will follow you around anticipating your needs, go elsewhere. What you get here is help if you need it, answers or ideas if you have questions and service when expected. Most of the staff here is eager to help but not trying to sell you anything. I bought a giant mug when I got here and woke at 7 am every morning to go to the restaurant and have a giant cup of coffee to start my busy day of sitting by the ocean, watching the fish, snorkeling in some of the most beautiful reefs right where I dove off the cliffs and sleeping under a canopy listening to the sounds of the ocean rolling against the cliffs. It has truly been relaxing and welcoming. This "resort" has a very Mediterranean look which adds to the romance of it. TerriAnn, (Rasta) is an absolute delight with the personality that makes you feel she is in charge and make you laugh, truly laugh at the same time. Really. Pamela, who is head of housekeeping makes you feel instantly welcome and has an exuberance that makes you smile. Daily you can see friendly, local spearfishermen, more than happy to show you their catch. If you are that person who wants to be left to your own devices to do or not do, this is the place for you. The beds ARE very firm, but the pillows are soft. The towels ARE older but they absorb water better anyway. I have no complaints except that I have to leave and go be an adult again. BUT, I will be back as soon as possible.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Cedar Grove, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 24, 2013
My 10th year wedding anniversary

I will start by saying that, my trip was great. My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary on the cliff, it was exactly what we needed, it was quiet and peaceful. I will admit that i was taken aback by the room I was in T4 when we arrived, the room is not air conditioned and was very hot. I went to ask about an air conditioned room and Owayne, suggested i give it a try, best advice he could have gave. I went to the room and the trick is to keep the room ventilated and the light deem, i had a pink scarf that cover the lamp perfectly, it also made the room have a pinkish glow :-). The Shower is below the hut so that was an adjustment but i have to say it wasn't that bad. the room is a hut and what you see on the website is exactly what you will get when your there. if your brave enough there is swimming in the ocean via the cliff. Overall I had a good time and Yes I would go back for a get away. Oh yeah there was one thing, the villa next door which i believe are the owners home, they had three dogs, one of them got up early on most morning and i mean 5-6 in the morning early, the irony is our dog gets up the same time so we had a giggle. Merlene was a big help before we got there and answered all emails quickly and efficiently. and FYI, the do have an adjusted meal plan which was awesome as my husband and i are not drinkers and we tend to go on adventures during the day when on travel.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Alexandria, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 27, 2012 Featured Review
Our Tree House

My wife & I stayed in the tree house on the Samsara resort. What a Blast!! Very friendly staff & always cleaning. The pools & spas were wonderful. The great part was being able to be shuttled over to Legends for beach time. We chose to go non all-inclusive. Glad we did. We got to taste the local cuisine. Giant shrimp & lobster. The Ciao Italiano restaurant across from the resort is excellent. We will be going back.

Our Tree House
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: charlotte nc
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2016
The cliffs

When we arreived it was sooo late that we couldnt see our hand in front of our face so was kinda worried about where we were...but in morning we woke up to a beautiful resort so try to get early flight esp. since ride is an hour and a half from airport.....this was not the beach but it is called the cliffs because it is situated on cliffs and u can jump in the water (i recommend u step down).....also the resort food was good but we wanted to experience the local food so we ate at Pablos across street and it was so good we went everyday (looks like a shack but best food).. also Ciao Italian rest.directly across street we didnt get a chance to go but heard the pizza was great.....also didnt get to Ricks Cafe but looking forward to going next time...this resort is small and private not big resort with lot of people just the way i like it...not for children unless u plan activities off resort daily.....the transport guy Omo was awesome taking us around and other resort workers were so respectful. The beds were a little hard for me and room just fair but manageable. I cant wait to return and do what we missed out on the first time.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Woodlawn,Md
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2015
Well worth it

Samsara cliff resort was a breath of cool Jamaica air. When I arrived I didn't know exactly what to expect based on the reviews. The staff was excellent in all they did, with several going beyond. True you're on the cliffs but if you're adventurous the cliff diving and snorkeling were great. Going to the beach was easy with samsara's free taxi over to 7 mile. Many great local eateries around samsara, get out and try some great cultural delights. A must for breakfast is Press a One Love for breakfast, where Press a and Eva treat you as family and create one amazing ackee and saltfish. The tours offered from local guides through samsara were great. I highly recommend heading into the mountains and experiencing the real Jamaica. The land is lush and beautiful, while it's people are warm and inviting. I will definately be back and stay at samsara, I didn't see any other resort that wasn't touristy and had some much to offer. If you're a beach slug and don't plan on getting out stay somewhere else, but if you want to experience the real Jamaica and it's people stay here.

Well worth it
14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2016

I WAS PLACED IN ROOM 5A OF THE GARDEN SECTION. THIS ROOM WAS POORLY MAINTAINED AND NEED MUCH RENOVATION. LETS START WITH THE BATHROOM: I WAS GREETED WITH TWO DEAD ROACHES ON THE SHOWER FLOOR AND A DEAD INSECT ON THE CEILING, FURTHERMORE, WHILE BRUSHING MY TEETH I COULD NOT AVOID BUT TO CONSTANTLY OBSERVED MY SALIVA FLOATING AROUND IN THE CLOGGED SINK, THERE WAS ALSO AN OLD BROKEN WINDOW WHICH WAS UNABLE TO BE CLOSED WHICH CAUSED MOSQUITOES TO ENTER; WHEN IT WAS BED TIME, I REMOVED THE BED SHEETS AND OBSERVED LONG BLOND HAIRS ON THE BED; WITHOUT A CHOICE, I HAD TO SLEEP COVERED UP IN AVOIDANCE OF THE MOSQUITOES THAT WERE HOVERING AROUND IN THE ROOM. I WOKE UP TO SEVERAL MOSQUITO BITES AND THE ANNOYING SOUNDS OF MOSQUITOES IN MY EAR. THE CLOSET WAS FILLED WITH COBWEBS AND I HAD THE WINGS OF INSECTS FALLING ONTO MY HEAD FROM THE CEILING AND THERE WERE HOLES IN THE WALLS AND WHAT APPEARED TO BE MOLD ON THE SHOWER WALL. AFTER THE FIRST DAY OF RAIN, WATER WAS ALSO OBSERVED INSIDE THE ROOM. AFTER MAKING A COMPLAINT AND REQUEST FOR A ROOM CHANGE, I WAS ABLE TO BE TRANSFERRED TO ANOTHER ROOM ON THE 4TH DAY OF ARRIVING. THIS STORY MAY SEEM UNTRUE AND BITTER, HOWEVER, IT'S 100% FACTS. NO ONE SHOULD HAVE BEEN PLACED IN THAT ROOM AND THE STAFF KNOWS IT. THAT ROOM NEEDS IMMEDIATE RENOVATIONS. I HAVE REQUESTED A FOUR DAY VOUCHER FOR THE TIME SPEND IN THAT ROOM AND IS STILL WAITING A RESPONSE FROM THE RESORT MANAGEMENT.

ONE OF TWO ROACHES MOLD
13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 28, 2013
Love

This resort was worth how much it cost. The service was great and it's Negril location is perfect for the night life and experiencing Jamaica. I have a ton of family around the way so it felt just like home


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations