All

Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 80 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"The restaurants are all 5 stars! Excellent food and service! The nightly shows and children's entertainment were pure joy! Everyone that works for the hotel are amazing! The rooms just average." – Mamagina
77 out of 91 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunrise Awesome beaches Main Pool babes bday this was complimentary along w/slice of cake & bottle of wine Beach Luxury Junior Suite

All Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 80 reviews. Sort by
October 14, 2015
Wonderful resort

My husband and I went to join our daughter and her husband, and his family for a week and had perfect weather every day. The resort was brand new, having opened in Dec. 2014, and we were there in early Oct. 2015. Only one small section was under construction to be opened later. Everything was clean with hard-working, friendly staff all around us. We up-graded to the Diamond Club, which allowed us to use the infinity pool and other places, that we highly recommend. There are many pools with swim up bars to choose from and 11 restaurants with excellent food. My husband couldn't get used to the fact that we never had to pay for the food and unlimited supply of drinks around the pools, as it was all-inclusive. There were different types of entertainment every evening and fun things such as water aerobics during the day. We used the gym and roof top tennis court as a fun extra activity. We preferred the clean water in the many swimming pools to swimming in the ocean, which was not crystal clear, but sitting by the beach and going for a catamaran sail was lovely. Some people took long walks or jogs by the beach. We stayed in the Hideaway section for adults only, but generally met our family in the middle section of the resort. We did not need Mexican currency, and brought lots of $1 bills for tips.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: Over 65

May 26, 2015
Nice vacation

We received a free upgrade upon arrival, maybe due to the fact that the resort messed up my son's reservation at the resort the day before and I called on his behalf. Outstanding room overlooking the ocean and pool area and near the coffee and ice cream bar. The service was exceptional at all times (we do tip a dollar here and there but it is worth another $30 to have great service). Nightly entertainment was very good and set up by the pool, which allowed hundreds to watch without feeling crowded. We liked all of the restaurants (the Mediterranean one the least). Japanese was the best! Steakhouse was really good too. The ocean was full of seaweed and disappointing but we found out the problem was all along the coast and not this location. Our biggest complaint was the lack of shade at the pools and the beach. They need a hundred more umbrellas and some covers around the pool area. And last, maybe they rushed getting it open but there are many major cracks that maintenance people were fixing all the time, including tiles falling off in the pool area...a little strange for a new resort, but tolerable.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Dallas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Incredible

This hotel is incredible! The moment you get here the staff is waiting on you hand and foot. My husband and I came for our 1 year anniversary and it was beautiful. There is so much to do from comedy stand ups, casino, 14 pools and a beautiful beach! The gold was outstanding... The buffet was out of this world- world class speciality items that were all fresh. Again this place was so worth it


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2015
Some good, some not so good

The pools are great, the staff is friendly, the drinks are plentiful-although watered down. Beach and ocean is full of seaweed & not good for swimming. Food is hit and miss. Buffet is good. Steakhouse was very good. Mexican restaurant was awful. Not much happening in the way of entertainment. Beware of the vacation club salesmen. I was promised a $200 gift card that could be used at the gift shop for listening to a 90 minute presentation. Presentation was 2 hours, $200 was limited to spa, late check out or tours NOT accepted at gift shop. Will not be returning.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2015
first vayK & I was in Heaven

This was my first vacation sp my review might seem bias but my stay was perfect. The staff was so friendly. The food was good the drinks too. Right from the lobby you can sit relax & drink. If you don't want to sit at the bar staff will take your order right in lobby. Relaxing & peaceful. All the entertainment is on site so you have no reason to leave. I stayed on the hideaway side where exclusive seafood restaurant is only for hideaway guests seperate pools & bars. No construction on that side but it was some on the side where the kiddie pool is. My only complaint was staff hound you to participate in morning meeting to earn a "free" stay which I declined. & mosquitoes are horrible too. Resort is open so mosquitoes are everywhere. I would be back tho overall experience was perfect.

babes bday this was complimentary along w/slice of cake & bottle of wine
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2015
Great deal for a new hotel

Overall, this all inclusive was worth it- i just would have liked more information than I had gotten. For example- someone from the front brought us to the check in area and told us someone would be with us in a few minutes. 30 minutes later we were still sitting there watching other groups getting taken. When i went up to the desk they said they would be with me soon and were taking those who were checking out. So instead of me getting aggravated after waiting 40 minutes if i was told it was going to be a bit we would have relaxed and kept drinking. We didn't get a tour but i would recommended it as we were a little u sure about where everything was. We booked the hideaway jr suite. What they do not tell you is that you face the mangrove which is smelly and buggy. I heard the first floor was unbearable with the bugs so if you do get those rooms(otherwise the dooms were very nice!) be sure to ask for a higher floor. The ocean and. Pool view is more expensive. If you have extra money to spend. You can upgrade to the "diamond club" if its in your budget it seemed like those members got better privileges. For one there were safes and coolers by the pool which was a nice perk. Ask about it- we had no idea there was a difference and this is something we wished we would have known prior to booking. The staff was great and. Always went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable. The food was also great!! You need a reservation for the sushi and hibachi place and have to wait on the customer service line which opens at 8am. To be sure you get a reservation be on line No later than 7:15. Otherwise they book up. Hope that was helpful! Enjoy your trip


10 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2016
My 1st Vacation worth every penny

The Royslton Riveria was extremely beautiful!!!!' The staff beyond AMAZING and FRIENDLY!!!! Not one complaint on help on the floor .. Check in was long and rooms were double booked we were upgraded to presidential at no extra charge.. Just had to share a king size bed with my best friend of 19 years soo not really a big deal for either of us.. Only complaint we were told our upgrade was still with ocean view but it was only ocean view after getting out of bed and walking out on balcony... But again that was only downfall because the room was still awesome.. Would definitely go back there.. Thanks to all involved making this trip so amazing.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2015
Absolutely fantastic

Place was fantastic. Facility was top notch. Absolutely beautiful. Service is amazing. It stormed for 2 of the 5 days we were here (young 24 year old couple) and it still was fantastic. They upgraded us for free to the adults only section (Hideaway) which was very nice Would absolutely recommend. Only knocks: nightly entertainment. Daily entertainment was fantastic. Nightly entertainment was hit or miss. But it really didn't matter. There was just so much to do, it didn't make a difference. Seriously considering returning even though we like to try different places. It was just too nice. (First review I have ever left on a travel site in my life)


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2017
Wonderful trip

My friend chose this resort for her 40th birthday party trip. She used a travel agent and so did a lot of the other people in our group. We used Cheap Caribbean (we always use CC). Anyway, we had the exact same experience for almost 1/2 the price! Same flights. Same room. Same transportation to and from airport. Wonderful resort. Wonderful experience. I highly recommend this resort to anyone that has children!


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 9, 2016
Royalton - Cancun

We went to Royalton May of 2015 and had a blast! I had read some negative reviews and was a but hesitant but booked anyway. Awesome resort! Very friendly staff, clean rooms - bed made 2-3 times a day. So many food options we didn't have time to try it all! Would definitely go again! (Tip: Bring a good amount of cash to tip servers and staff - they do a great job!)

Awesome beaches Main Pool
4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 19-24

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations