All

Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 42 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"The hotel and pools were very nice. The restaurants were ok for an all inclusive. Everything was clean and the grounds were manicued nicely. The bar tenders could have been a little more attentive." – DebbieL
42 out of 47 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Loving the all inclusive restort The view

All Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 42 reviews. Sort by
June 8, 2014
The best vacation ever

My boyfriend and I decided to go on a 5day vacation during our summer break right after final exams were over. Words and pictures can't explain what we have experienced here. We were so excited about the whole resort. The food was great at the places we ate at (OPA, Zen, Gourmet Marche, Caffe Lounge) and the drinks were very strong just like we like them. The water park and water sports were all fun. We really appreciated the free WiFi so we could post pictures on Facebook from the tablet while we kept the phone off to avoid roaming. We also went to the spa. The spa was so relaxing the best part is that everyone gets 20% off spa services and they have everything in their spa. My boyfriend and I spend 3hours in the spa enjoying everything they offered. They had something going on every night; the night we arrived, they had a Michael Jackson performance and I must say those dancers are very talented.

Loving the all inclusive restort The view
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 14, 2014
Will absolutely go again!

I have nothing but positive comments! The place was amazing and the people were beyond incredible. Everyone would welcome you with a smile everyday you saw them. The food was amazing, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the overall facility was beautiful. Best vacation i have been on. Cheap Caribbean was so organized and made the trip so easy to travel. They picked us up right from the airport and brought us right to the resort without any hassle or waiting. They truly were looking out for our well-being. My overall experience was beyond my expectations and I cannot wait to return.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lebanon, NH
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 2, 2014
Amazing Resort

We enjoyed our short trip to Punta Cana and the stay at the Royalton. The Royalton was top notch from our first step out of our taxi. We were greeted with welcome drinks, given a tour, and upgraded to Diamond Club (Manuel was excellent butler). The beach was beautiful, the assortment of restaurants was exceptional, and each and every staff member greeted us with smiles. Could have stayed forever....


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2014
Great deal

We stayed at the Royalton Fromm May 13 for 9 nights. The resort is beautiful. We have stayed at 3 all inclusives in the Caribbean before and loved it but this was by far the nicest. The property is new and modern. The staff is extremely attentive but friendly. They want to make sure everything is perfect at all times. We were upgraded to a VIP room with a butler, 24 hour room service, private pool area and private pool at no extra cost when we arrived. We were also. Given a room with an ocean view even though we paid for the cheapest room. There were always plenty of chairs available at the beach and/or pool. Once again, I cannot emphasize how wonderful the staff was. Everyone always had a smile on their face and was more than willing to help or make sure you were happy. We stayed at the adults only but it looked like they had some really cute things for the kids also. I would definitely come back and bring the kids.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Most Amazing Vacation Ever

We arrived on August 15th and were greeted with a cold towel and lots of smiles! We had the sincere pleasure of working with Elaine and the front desk. She was very nice and helped us upgrade to the Diamond club and swim out suites. I recommend both upgrades. Our two swim out suites were so beautiful and being able to swim anytime day or night was great for us and our kids. We met our butler JUNIOR, who is the best employee at the Royalton. He always checked with us daily and never said no to anything, actually every one at the resort never said no to anything. Junior sent surprises such as champagne to our rooms. The Beach is incredible and the Diamond beach bar is great! - The most amazing part of this resort is the staff. They must only hire the best employees in Punta Cana. The staff is always happy and eager to help you with absolutely anything! - Junior - highly recommend him for butler service. Very polite, always happy, just a phone call away. - Elaine - front desk very nice and helpful - Aurelio - best bartender at the lobby bar - Gregory - butlers assistant was very nice and professional - Rosa - she works at the diamond club beach and is always there to get you drinks or food. The deliver food right to you on the beach. She is the hardest working employee ever. Always pleasant even with rude guests. Please tip her as she deserves it! - diamond club beach bar - Cesar and others(forgot names sorry) were so eager to help. Always made quality drinks. Happy people. Restaurants- 1. Steakhouse - steaks and fish incredible. Small steaks so surf and turf is an option. The place is beautiful and the staff is great. 2. Opa Greek restaurant- we arrived for our reservation(butler makes all reservations) and we felt like the whole staff was waiting for us. Our table was so close to feb ocean you could hear the waves crashing. TOP notch service. Good was wonderful. 3. ZEN - typical hibachi grill. The food is great here. Order sushi as well it's great. 4. Room service - great service, always delivered in less than 30 minutes. Good selection and quality. Call anytime 24 hours a day Other restaurants were great but the above were the best. Entertainment 1. White hot beach party- probably the best time I have ever had at ANY resort. They go all out. Get there early and grab a bed it couch. Stay the whole time, it gets better and better. 2. Michael Jackson show is good. The theater gets packed so arrive early. 3. Circus show in the main area is entertaining and it's beautiful being outside to watch a show. Get a couch or chairs in front of the martini bar and relax abs enjoy the show. - Notes- the theater is very hot so get there early and find a seat under the huge fans. Drinks- - everything us top notch. champagne, top shelf liquor, nice glasses. The bartenders take pride in the quality of the drinks. Dirty Monkey is yummy. Rebelle Champagne is so good and included - wine - limited to house red and house white as far as included. Many bottles available for purchase. Diamond club lounge - has liquor and mixes ( high end ) . Mix your own drinks here. Tip - they have coffee 24 hours a day so stop by anytime even when coffee shop is closed. Tipping- topping is not at all required but these people work so hard always with a smile. A couple dollars each drink order goes a long way. Bring $100-$200 in ones with you, you'll be glad you did. Overall impressions- The best resort ever. We WILL return and think they will remember our family and treat us as family. Things you need to do if you can. 1. Diamond club upgrade - 2. Swim out suite worth every penny. 3. White hot beach party - do not miss this 4 Junior as your butler- you can request him 5. Memories water park - very fun 6. Surf and turf at the hunters steakhouse. THANK YOU to all of the staff at The Royalton, you made out family of 6 feel like your family. Hope to be back soon. Stayed August 2014


17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Best Vacation Experience

Hands down, this was the best resort trip both myself and my husband experienced. The resort in person is better than any commercial I've seen. The bed was and is the best thing about the room. The restaurants are all very delicious...including the "buffet" restaurant option (which hasn't been the case at other resorts visited). We couldn't decide which restuarant we liked the best but we settled on a tie between the Steakhouse and OPI, the mediterranean grill. We live close to the DC area and are "foodies" and each restaurant was just as good if not better than experiences we have had in DC. All of the staff were extremely polite and wonderful. There wasn't one rude or tired/overworked staff member that we experienced on this trip. Our trip was so gratifying that we teased about how we could come back to live there. The only downside to the resort is that while we were on vacation, there were people arranged to try to get us to purchase another vacation. I really just wanted to focus on the vacation we were on before planning the next one and that eating into our time. However, when we said "no thank you" to vacation promotionals, it was respected and we continued to enjoy our trip. If you are a pool person, come here (they have a pool for everyone and one for adults only). If you're a beach person, come here: The Royalton has the cleanest best beach I've ever experienced. The sand literally seemed filtered. If you're a "foodie", then come here. The nightly entertainment was so good that we videotaped it each night. I'm aftraid to go to other resorts and waste investing my money, because this resort had everything perfect for us as a couple and perfect for our kids.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northern, VA
Age: 35-44

August 25, 2015
Great trip

Good food, amazing pools, a lovely room, and the Kids Club was a wonderful option for when the young ones had enough of the sun and water. The staff could not have been nicer, particularly to our young children.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Great food and value!

This was my 4th time in Punta Cana and 1st time at this resort. I chose this resort due to the good reviews on food and value. When we first arrived, I wasn't in complete awe. I was used to awesome lobby views from the bus and being greeted by happy employees with a welcome drink and cold cloth. When we walked out, we met with one of the staff who took our luggage and directed us to the Diamond Club area check in. On our way there, we did get our welcome drink to enjoy. Once inside, I asked about using our $160 towards a room upgrade, in which she told us she would check on one for us. We were interested in the swim up room that they had there. Eventually she came back and just gave us our room info, which was on the second floor and didn't say anything about the room upgrade. When I asked again, she told me that they overbooked the diamond club section and therefore there was no swim up rooms available. I then requested that they notify me when one did become available, which they estimated the following day or two, so we could switch and take advantage of that room type and credit. When we got to our room, it had two full size beds and a balcony. The room itself was nice and clean but again, staying at 3 other resorts, this one seemed a lot smaller. It had no bathtub/whirlpool or jacuzzi, which the others did have. Now even though I seem to be talking harshly about this resort and room so far, it's not the case at all. Just giving my experience compared to the others. It's by no means a deal breaker for me. While waiting for out bags, we decided to order room service since we just arrived and were hungry. Both the food and service were great. After our bags came and we unpacked, we walked around the resort to see what if had to offer. The resort itself was very nice. Not too big and not too small. I've been to some resorts where you had to take a trolly everywhere you wanted to go and this was a lot nicer not to have to do that. we then decided to eat at Grazie Trattoria. It was a buffet style italian restaurant with decent food, but wasn't totally impressed. After we ate, we decided to go and get ready for the beach white party that was advertised as happening that night and one of the reasons why we purchased an all white outfit. After we changed and got ready, along with a lot of other guests, we were told that the white beach party actually took place the night before, so we missed it, or so we thought. They switched it up to Tuesday's instead so it was a nice send off for us, since we left the following day. The next day we decided to hang out at the beach and pool bar all day, which were great. And later that night we ate at the main buffet (Gourmet Marché) and it was amazing! Great selections and it all tasted good! One of the best buffet's I've been to at any of the resorts I stayed at before. All you can eat filet mignon, which was just amazing, as well as lobster and crab legs, shrimp, pasta..etc. The following night we ate at Hunter, a steak restaurant, which was amazing as well and one of my favorites! We also tried Zen, which had a lot of negative reviews but I like to form my own opinion, and I have to say, it was not only fun but the food was really good as well. It's more for the experience than anything. I wasn't overly impressed with the Under the Sea restaurant on the Memories side and would have been happier eating at the buffet again but it wasn't terrible. Speaking of which, this side of the resort had a water park which we visited one of the days. I got a sunburn bad the second day there, second degree burn even when I used spf 75 (just forgot to reapply it out of the ocean and pool...lol), so I wore a tshirt to prevent further burn. They would't allow me to use any of the slides with my regular tshirt and I needed a water shirt if I chose to wear one. So just and FYI. One of the days, I played some beach volleyball and although it was fun, I noticed a lot of trash in the sand area, as well as rocks and shells. A lot of guests were getting their knees tore up from diving or simply kneeling down on it. So they def need to do a better job cleaning that part up. But other than that, the beach area was beautiful! Towards our end of stay, I realized that not once did anyone contact us about our upgrade and we have seen several people leave and come in to those specific rooms. I even reminded the concierge about letting us know and gave him a decent tip. Which I will say, even though they speak like having a concierge is wonderful, we didn't see him at all and the number for him didn't work when we did need him. We had to go to the Diamond club lounge to find him. And I understand that he prob didn't want to pester us, but to check in once in a awhile to see how things are going of if we needed anything would have been nice. This actually brings me up to one of the major cons of the resort. In each building they have someone sitting in the lobby area to assist you. But in addition to that, they will also pester you everyday about a special breakfast which basically meant, to sit through their time share presentation. And even when I declined several times, they kept insisting we go. Just have to be stern with them and tell them no. Overall, I would def come back though...the food was great and the nightly entertainment was wonderful!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massena, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2017
Royalton Punta Cana in August

Everything was amazing... food was great, even in the buffet. Upgrading to diamond club is a must!!!! The butler is worthless but we didn't use him anyways. Overall, I will come back -Paul


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Portland Oregon
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Nice resort but TERRIBLE service

Overall the trip was great but I think it was more a result of the company rather than the staff at the resort. We upgraded to the Diamond Club so our expectations were that we would get better service than the average all inclusive resort. However, this was not the case. During the day, we waited extended times (i.e. it took 2 hours for a few snacks from the Diamond Club bar by the beach) for food and drinks. We also anticipated ease of making reservations for dinner. While it was easy to make the reservation through the butler, without fail, every night we had an issue. For example, we showed up on our last night at the Japanese restaurant and were nearly turned away b/c our reservation was made by our butler for 7 instead of 8. They worked it out after we wasted 15 minutes discussing whether or not they could squeeze in room for a small child. During this time, we were insulted. Also the wine was terrible! Expect to buy a bottle with dinner if you want to drink something that doesn't taste like a $3 bottle. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and we didn't have problems getting seats by the pool each day. I just wouldn't recommend the resort because of the service especially if you are traveling with kids. I didn't think the comments made in front of my family were necessary and appropriate. It would be different if it was a one off but it was the theme throughout the week.


11 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations