All

Royal West Indies Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 55 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"Best Vacation destination! the resort grounds were flawless, access to the beach was easy and the view from our room was Amazing!" – Davmus
69 out of 72 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Up close sea life The View From Our Room Beautiful Sunset Phenomenal Beach beach The pool. right outside Royal W.I.hotel The view from my room, building 4. Sunset view from our balcony the harbor View from our snorkeling tour of the hotel Sunset from our balcony The beautiful beach! Quiet pool- view from patio Sunset from our balcony (3rd floor, bldg 3) Amazing sunsets Royal beach

All Royal West Indies Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 55 reviews. Sort by
June 5, 2011
We didn't want to leave!!

The Royal West Indies Resort turned out to be even better than we were expecting! We didn't want a big and "flashy" resort with lots of activity and this was just perfect. The resort is peaceful and beautifully landscaped, the pools are rather small but impeccably kept. The beach and the ocean are amazing!! There were quite a bit of custiomers at the resort, but it never felt crowded and we never had a problem to find chairs and/or umbrellas at the beach or by the pool. The staff is the nicest we ever had! Everybody went above and beyond to please the customers. We had a reservation for a botanical studio, but were given a one bedroom suite, which was a nice surprise! Then on the second day we discover some wet spots on the bathroom ceiling and the moved us to another room. To make up for the inconvenience they upgraded us to an ocean view suite, which was fantastic!! The only negative we can talk about is the cost of the food.... it is not cheap!! There are a few excellent restaurants walking distance from the resort, but but prepared to easily pay $80-100 per person for a 2 course meal + wine when you factor in all taxes and tip. There is a good grocery store just 5 minutes away by bike (the resort has free bike rental for their guests) -- groceries are not cheap either, but it definitely save you a lot of money in the long run if you have 1-2 meals a day in your room (all rooms have well equipped kitchens). There is also a pretty nice bakery/bistro just across the street from the resort that serves breakfast and lunch at resonable prices. Go there during happy hours (5-7 PM) everyday and their pastries and breads are half off (that took care of breakfast for us)!


41 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Rochester, MN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 29, 2011
Timeshare Style Resort

The Royal West Indies was a timeshare style resort geared for relaxation. Not the place you would go to for a wild and exciting trip. The hotel only has king beds - but we had a nice sized bathroom, kitchen and living room with a pull out. Also a private patio with table and chairs that opened to the pool. The furnishings were very comfortable and in good shape. The beach is beautiful - the bluest waters I have ever seen. They were also very clean. There were always towels, lounge chairs and unbrellas available. The 2 pools - larger one by restaurant and a "quiet" pool for adults. They are small but nice. September- October is the 'down season' so there were not many people - and several resorts and restaurants were closed. You need to call ahead and check. I would suggest renting a car while on the island - the taxi's are expensive and unreliable. Great value for that location!

beach Quiet pool- view from patio
21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Conshohocken PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Home away from home

The grounds of Royal West Indies Resort is lovely. The pool area is very pretty and tropical looking. The beauty of the resort is also the oceanside location and I went jogging on the beach each morning before my husband and son got up. The resort is not too big, which can be overwhelmingly busy with people traffic and not too small where you feel confined to one place, a perfect size for those who seek rest and relaxation. The suites are nice sizes, equipped with utensils and pots for a good size kitchen. It was nice having the option of preparing breakfast and eating in. We shopped at the local supermarket and also bought some food for lunch for the few times we stayed within the resort chilling by the pool and beach. The bedroom was very comfortable and homey. The decor of the suite was not gaudy and over-the-top. It has the home away from home feeling plus the added beauty of the property in a beautiful island.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Northern New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2012
Excellent Value

We were at the RWI for one week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The facility is very clean and well taken care of. One annoying habit that people had were they went to the beach very early in the morning and put their towels on a chair...never to return! But the staff was very good about putting more chairs and umbrellas out!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 20, 2016
Royal West Indies, Turks and Caicos

This resort is nice. The one bedroom suite was large and spacious. Fully equipped kitchen a necessity since dining out is very pricey. We found a great restaurant just a mile down the way called "Fresh Catch", Wednesday night is all you can eat lobster night on the buffet. The grouper was excellent as well. At $40 per person the best dining option we had. The restaurant at the hotel, the food was fair and a bit pricey. The pepperoni pizza was good and so was the chicken. Sunday is the Jerk Fiesta, with jerk chicken and other options. You must like the spicey stuff to enjoy. The beach is absolutely beautiful, and that is why we went in the first place. White sand, clear turquoise water makes for a great day on the beach. The weather was hot and humid but the water felt so nice. The quite pool is a great option for the evening and the hot tub after the sun goes down. We also road bikes (free at the resort) and went to the grocery store where everything is at least twice as expensive as here in the US. We read the reviews beforehand and packed a lot of our own dry foods, like pancake mix, syrup, pop tarts, snacks, crackers, oodles and noodles and such. We bought milk, eggs, lunch meat, steaks, lobster and chicken at the store. The best bargain is watermelon, $5.00 for a melon it lasted all week. From the airport you catch a cab, $20 per person and I tipped the driver $10 each way. They were very pleasant. When we got back to the airport, I let one of the bag carriers get my bags, he then took me to the kiosk and helped me get my boarding passes, he was very helpful. I tipped him $10 too, it was well worth it. The airport is small and has limited options for shopping, therefore pick up any souvenirs in town before you get back to the airport. The dining options are also very limited and expensive. The second floor lounge is best, but no elevator or escalator you are forced to use the steps. There is a spa upstairs also where for $25 I received a 15 minute massage, also worth the money. Don't let them tell you to leave for the airport three hours early. It takes about 15 minutes to get there and maybe 20 minutes to go through customs. Leaving two hours before your flight is perfect during the off season. All in all, the island is very expensive. We have been fortunate to have been to Jamaica, Mexico, Punta Cana and Aruba. With the exception of Aruba all the other options are much more affordable and you get an "All Inclusive" resort. If you are looking for rest and relaxation, this is a great place, but I think you get more bang for your buck at any of these other locations. Carl .... Sept 19


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 7, 2013
Wonderful time in Turks again.

We just came back from Turks and Caicos. we stayed apri l27 to may 04. This was our 2nd time at the Island. This time we stayed at Royal West Indies and we loved this resort.The grounds are well kept and clean. everyone was very helpful and friendly especially the guys at the towel/ water sports hut. Our room was clean and actually bigger than the studio we stayed at Ocean Club West. We loved the pool and having the Jacuzzi was a plus. Also having two pools which one was a quiet zone no kids allowed which was very serene and tranquil. We really enjoyed having the kayak and snorkeling equipment available for free. The only complain i have is about the 2 hour limit for the bikes and if you want to keep the bikes for more time you need to go back to the resort to get another 2 hours. The resort is close to many restaurants and also is located in a very nice stretch of the beach. we will stay at Royal West Indies again and would recommend this resort to our friends. Turks and Caicos is a beautiful island and the clear crystal water is surreal. Royal West Indies is a great value at this expensive Island and the resort is beautiful. cant wait to go back.

Wonderful time in Turks again. Wonderful time in Turks again.
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2015
Turks & Caicos 2015

Overall, the Royal West Indies Resort was Great. Every room has accommodations close to home. The Super Market is 5 minutes aways by Taxi or the Resort has bikes you can rent up to 2 hours and take a nice ride. It is costly though but because the Resort only has 1 restaurant and not all inclusive, economizing is KEY. The BEACH! Phenomenal, and The Best I've Been Too. Clean and the water is like glass. I Can't Rave Enough. No Stragglers hanging around either. The Sunset is Also a MUST!! The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We Will Definitely Revisit this Resort.

Phenomenal Beach Beautiful Sunset
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 19, 2011
Turks and Caicos Paradise

We just returned from a fabulous vacation in the Turks and Caicos. Cheap Caribbean was a wonderful resource for booking our hotel and flight. I chose Cheap Caribbean over other travel websites as it had many more condo and flight options. Everything went smoothly and we want to return to Turks and Caicos again. We were thrilled with the relaxed atmosphere of the island and the resort!!! I am researching the website for our next beach vacation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2012
great place

very nice complex, quiet, low key, beautiful mature landscaping. rooms very nice, ours was obviously remodeled....clean, modern, comfortable bed, very convenient kitchenette, nice patio. there is a quiet pool area with a jacuzzi and one more bigger pool by the restaurant, great for swimming. The only thing is chairs get taken quickly, unlike on the beach, always plenty there.... soft sand, clear water. don't expect resort feel with too many services, only one restaurant, but their food is great, loved chef Jacko (made our own catch for us for lunch:-) prices are higher, but so are the groceries, tips are expected for everything and that is on top of taxes and in most cases also after added 10% or more service charge. so be ready to have more cash on you, you will avoid dirty looks and talks. bunch of restaurants and shops nearby, you can easily walk or borrow their bikes. excursions easy to book, costly but worth it: I recommend Caribbean Cruisin, YOU HAVE TO ASK TO GO WITH LINDSAY, HE IS THE BEST! Ended up with an individual tour for just my husband and I, total treat and absolute highlight of our week!!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Clara, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 25, 2015
Great vacation

Great resort! Comfortable rooms, fully equipped with comfortable beds, washer/dryer, etc. Internet service not great, but didn't need it on the beach! Short walk to grocery store, shops, golf, casino, restaurants. Most stores closed on Sunday (we didn't know) No alcohol sold on Sunday. Cab drivers great and always accessible. Hotel offers bike for 2hr. checkout as well (3speed) for free. Also, free use of paddleboards, catamarans, snorkeling gear, etc. Island flare is a bit pricey but plenty of options nearby like local fish fry on Thursday nights. Resort specials "fiesta jerk" on Friday nights were all reasonably priced. 2-4-1 Happy Hours at the resort is well known to all locals and is the "spot" to be for happy hour. Gotta have a drunken lobster!! All in all, a great, relaxing get-a-way. Slow paced, and very quiet

Sunset from our balcony (3rd floor, bldg 3) View from our snorkeling tour of the hotel
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Stratton, ME
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year