All

Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 53 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.5 out of 5
"Hotel and accommodations were perfect clean we'll run help was very pleasant and attentive" – Carmann
54 out of 61 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beach Jr suite Salt pool Plenty of these crawling around. But didn't bother anyone. Room Pool area Royal suites private pool private beach for guests of the Royal Suites

All Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium Customer Reviews

1-10 of 53 reviews. Sort by
August 1, 2010
Royal Suites Grand Palladium

We visited the Royal Suites in Feb 2010 this was our third trip to the Palladium but our first time at the Royal Suites.We loved it!!! the resort is great and all of the amenities were great,private beach,pools,restaurant we had our own butler a very large Jacuzzi on our deck....the service was outstanding... we always find the staff at the Palladium to be the best,they go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. definately will recommend to our friends and we will return,many times.

private beach for guests of the Royal Suites
15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: stroudsburg pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Feel Like Royalty

My GF and I just returned from an awesome week at Royal Suites Yucatan. Grand Palladium has done a great job laying out this resort and the adults only section known as Royal Suites is fantastic. The entire resort (there are 5 sections here) covers a large area. Getting to any part of the resort as guest at Royal Suites is easy since you are provided transportation specific to R.S. guests. The spa at Grand Palladium is beautiful and as a guest of Royal Suites many of the services at the spa are available at no charge. Those services that required payment at the spa were discounted for Royal Suites guests. There is a seperate area at Royal Beach for guests of Royal Suites. This area has Bali beds for use by R.S. guests and bar service at yojr lounge area. If you enjoy seafood be sure to ask about the Royal Lobster. Grilled lobster available with your dinner at any of the ala carte menus. The lobster is not listed on the menu - just ask your server for the Royal Lobster. For us it was definitely worth the money. Did I mention a private pool and poolside bar for Royal Suite guests?


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Chester, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 3, 2012
Good but...

This is our 3rd trip the Riviera Maya and it was good. First, Cheap Caribbean was very easy to use and even called us at the resort to tell us when we were going to be picked up, which is more than I can say about Olympus tours. First the Olympus tour guide didn't show up when he was suppose to so that we could schedule our return trip. Had the resort not called them for us, I doubt he would have shown up. I'm on vacation so this is not what I wanted to spend my time doing. When he did show up, he had no idea what time we would be picked up. Thanks to Cheap caribbean for calling me and telling me. The resort is beautiful but hard to navigate as there is NO straight line to anywhere. Thankfully we were at the Royal suites so we could get rides wherever on the resort we wanted to go. The personal rides was a great advantage to staying at the Royal and itself worth the extra money. Food was OK. The buffets were regualr resort buffet food and was good. The a la carte resteraunts were good, but unbelievably slow! Even when we were the only ones there. El Jardin is good but no great. It had a very quiet dull atmosphere and again, very slow, but the food was good. The beach is excellent. The sand is so soft and the water so clear. The salt water pool was good also. The pools were excellent and less crowded than I have seen at other resorts. The Spa was a real let down. I guess they let anyone into the spa area where the sauna and thermal pool are as there were so many people there that were not getting spa treatments. It was so loud (even though there were signs everywere asking to be quiet) it made it hard to relax. Nobody there to keep things in order. That part of the Spa was less than average, but the massage we recieved was first class. I would definetly recommend the couples massage. I haven't decided if it was worth the cost, but overall we had a good time. We've stayed at other resorts in the area that cost less and had a better overall experience.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Honeymoon at Palladium

Our 10 night stay at the Royal Suites Palladium was amazing!!! By staying at the Royal Suites, we were entitled to perks that the other 4 resorts did not have. Top shelf liquor at our bar, ice cream at our bars, private shuttle services, etc...We were close to the salt water pool, which was great for sunrises and sunsets. All the staff were extremely accommodating. They are also extremely environmentally friendly at this resort. I would definitely recommend this to another couple looking for a great place to honeymoon. Oh, one more thing, I know it is far from Cancun, but it was good for us as all of the places we wanted to see, Tulum, Coba, ad Rio Secreto were close to us.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34

May 16, 2016
Fantastic Resort & Adult All Inclusive Service

Ill start off by saying this is our first time at this resort ( 2nd trip to Mexico and we've been to Punta Cana twice ) . We loved this resort and have placed it at the top of list ! Royal Suites Pool : Absolutely fantastic ! Deeper than we have ever seen at any resort ( approx 4'6") . If you're just lounging by the pool the waitress service was fantastic. The bar is well stocked with top shelf as was the other bars throughout the resort ( we did notice top shelf flavored vodka absolute raspberry etc at Royal Suites -other bars outside of Royal Suites had flavored vodkas but it wasn't top shelf ) . Around 11am everyday fresh fruit skewers arrived and the very kind waitress would walk around offering it to everyone . Around 1pm they rolled the grill out poolside and you can get burgers or chicken skewers and fries which was great if you didn't want to leave the pool area to have a bite . They also have poolside patio tables and a menu to order from if you wanted something at a different time or not available at the pool . They also had ice cream bars and a variety of ice cream you could get directly from the pool bar . Transportation around the grounds was great , if you needed a ride they would pick you up and take you. Private carts for Royal Suites guests were clearly marked and only used for guests in Royal Suites area . Plenty of larger carts were available and they would stop at every lobby on continuous loops so it may take a bit longer to get where your going using these but who cares your on vacation ! The restaurant inside Royal Suites , El Jardin , was great ! I felt the steak here was prepared better than the steak restaurant . We ate breakfast here a few days and they had normal breakfast buffet items as well as made to order eggs , omelettes , and waffles ( and mimosas of course !). We downloaded the palladium app to our iPhones which made making reservations for dinner a breeze . Reservations were not required but we always did . You could also check out what activities were going on around the resort from the app . WIFI service was awesome. The Japanese resturant was great and we ate dinner there one night and noticed they had a sushi bar . We found out that it is first come first serve and does not take reservations -- we went back one night and requested the sushi bar and went a little nuts trying every type of sushi - delicious and highly recommended . We wanted to go to Playa Del Carmen and see the shops along 5th ave so we researched transportation . We ended up using a colectivo that has a stop right by the main entrance to the resort . The colectivo was a experience and we rode along with locals. It was very inexpensive and drops you about 3 blocks from 5 th ave in a not very touristy area . We walked the 3 blocks and we're all of a sudden along side many tourists walking along 5 th aves shops and restaurants and bars . Most of the vendors tried to stop you to buy something or come into their shop but just keep walking or say no thank you and they moved onto the next person We stopped into one of the bars had a couple beers and some Nachos no problems ( we did look to see others enjoying the restaurant to figure out where we should stop ). 5 th ave was a good experience and is also where you can catch a ferry to Cozumel. We did decide to take a private taxi back to the resort and figured it would require a haggling experience to determine the fare . We asked a driver how much to go to grand palladium and were happily surprised the driver walked over to a large posted sign ( we missed the sign -lol ) that displayed all the resorts and the fares . It was worth it to us to grab a AC ride back . Oh more thing - check out the champagne sunrise !!!! Definitely awesome experience ( and you get a bottle of champagne which was all included ) Bring some singles for tips because the service was excellent ( we tipped $5 plus for dinners ) Sports bar was awesome Overall this resort and employees was great and we'll be back .


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Amherst NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 28, 2016
25th Anniversary

This was a magnificent vacation. We were met at the airport by Cheap Caribbean personnel, and we were met outside the airport on arrival and promptly put into our transportation. Check in at the hotel was smooth. The room was great. By staying at the Royal Suites, we had access to the entire resort. The place was big but they did provide transportation although we enjoyed walking. The food was great, there were plenty of things to do at the resort, and off the resort excursions were plentiful. Wildlife siting was frequent added positively to the ambience This was the trip of a lifetime. This resort, and in particular the Royal Suites, was fantastic. I would return to this place in a heartbeat and I highly recommended to couples without children. He


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Billings, Montana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2012
My Wife Says We're Going Back

This was our second all-inclusive experience, first all-adult upscale. The Royal Suites lodging is at the far end of the resort from the Royal Suites private beach area but the dedicated golf cart transportation was always available within 10 minutes. The Royal Suites private beach area has wait staff (don't miss the daily late morning fruit!) or you can walk a few steps to the bar. The staff was very attentive and friendly in the lodging area, at the beach, and in the restaurant. Like most people we are accustomed to fending for ourselves but within a day we learned to welcome the service. We stayed 4 nights - the BBQ dinner at the beach was a meat (him) and beach (her) lover's delight, the mexican restaurant was pretty good, and two dinners at El Jardin (exclusive for Royal Suites guests) were wonderful. The beach was good for some nice walks at various times of day. Our room was great, we both slept well.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Near Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2015
The Royal Suites gives the extra for the extra!

The Royal Suites was worth the extra money. It provided many extra benefits that helped make the stay more enjoyable. A third floor suite is best for privacy. The staff were very helpful, they stayed on top of the details and they were always there to help. Alberto was the best...he drove us to wherever we needed to go and he was very prompt. He always had a great attitude! The private pool and restaurant, and the lobby were very convenient and a nice to have. The resort was a combination of jungle, pool and beach. You could find seclusion, peace and quiet, relaxation, as well as fun and action all on the same resort. As soon as you arrive, take a walk or ride around to get a feel for the entire property...this will help you enjoy the entire property of five resorts. We met many nice people and enjoyed our stay. We look forward to returning next year.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Reading, Pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2016
Still writhing in pain

Me and my new wife chose this destination for our honeymoon. Unfortunately we did not get to enjoy a good portion of our trip due to the food related sicknesses that we both experienced. The good: beautiful grounds and beaches, great employees that are very chipper. Now the bad.... Starting the week off both me and my wife had really bad diarrhea from the food. Much of the seafood in the buffet was room tempeture and looks as though it has been sitting out for quite some time. After 2 days of that we decided that we could only eat very bland foods available and dinners at the a la cart resteraunts. But even that proved to not be a safe option... On our 5th day of our 8 day trip we went to the Japanese resteraunt for dinner. Food was decent tasting but within 30 minutes of finishing I was rushing to the bathroom where I have stayed for the past 3 days. Non stop diarrhea 3-4 times an hour. I have not been able to eat, drink, or enjoy my vacation due to being tethered to the bathroom and the unbearable fear of all the food cooked on site. Finally after days of this the hotel sent a doctor to me (which they tried to charge me for before my wife yelled at them) who informed me that I have an intestinal infection that is caused from "dirty" food with pathogens in them. Upon some online research I learned that the most common reason is fecal matter in the foods... The hotel refused to assist me in fillin my needed prescriptions leaving me with the options of risking a long trip into town (with no known bathrooms if needed) or sending my wife out alone in an unknown place... So far I have lost 15 pounds and there is no end in site. When we asked the hotel for any compensation they have been less than apologetic and blamed it on foreign stomachs. Even locked in our hotel room we cannot find solitude due to ants coming out of the drains and covering our room. Room service food is not any better and leaves my wife bloated and feeling badly. Needless to say we will not be returning to any of the Grand Palladium resorts and will be fighting for compensation for ruining our trip. What was supposed to be remembered as a magical trip in paradise has been tarnished with the bad feelings. Keep this in mind before booking any vacations at this location.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Ca
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2016
Beautiful resort, great food, so-so beach.

Just got back from a 5 night stay at the Royal Suites. Welcoming staff were helpful and informative, especially Martha in the front desk area. The rooms are gorgeous, very clean, and we did not have any issues with appliances not working. The air conditioner works VERY good and it automatically shuts off if any doors are open (FYI). Bed was comfortable. We were given a first floor room and asked to be moved to a higher floor on the second night due to privacy issues, there are pathways and bridges all around so even though the balconies have curtains, if you feel like having fun in the spa, you should request a higher floor. The staff were super accomodating about our room switch and it was no problem at all. We did see a few ants in the room but seriously they were the tiniest ants I had ever seen and we did not care at all. The jacuzzi tub can fit at least 6 people, it is HUGE! Ours was very clean. The pools were beautiful and clean, the bartenders were very friendly and the drinks were good. We ate several A la carte restaurants, all were very good, The Fish and Rice one (Punta Emilia) was my favorite. And yes, just say "Royal Lobster" at any of the A la Carte restaurants and you will get it. They prepare it different ways at each one so that was fun seeing how it would be. We did eat dinner at El Jardin one night and it was incredible. Honestly if someone has an issue with the food choices I would question their judgement. The buffets were clean, and had more food choices than you could try. We did use the spa one day and it is definitely worth a look. The pool there is SO pretty and very tranquil. They have a sauna, steam room, ect. The ladies in my group did get a massage and we all agreed it was just "ok". If you can get a deal, I would go for it but i would not pay full price. (there are men who sometimes walk around with clipboards and promote spa services and give deals out, 2 for 1, ect.) The grounds are very well maintained with TONS of wildlife, be aware you are in a full on jungle. It is humid, very humid, and hot. The beach was pretty, but it did have a lot of coral/rocks so swimming was not really the best. Maybe if you had water shoes it would be better. The beach itself is not super wide so there is not alot of play room between the ocean and where the chairs start. We went off the resort one day and took the Colectivo van to Tulum, and the beaches there were INSANELY beautiful, wide, pure powder sand and no rocks, not crowded. It was my favorite day and you should do it, it is only about 20mins away. The private beach for Royal guests is at the far end so you want to take a golf cart for sure, they have bali beds which are usually open and servers that bring you drinks. It is shaded and gorgeous, very relaxing. The only thing negative i can say about this resort, if you can call it a negative, is that it is SO HUGE. I walked so much I have blisters on the soles of my feet. Golf cart service was very hit or miss. Sometimes they would come right away, sometimes we would have to wait and just gave up and walked back to our section. There are bridges, rock paths, water canals, jungle tunnel bridges, it is a maze of a resort and you better be ready to hoof it. I would not suggest this resort to people with any kind of limitation as far as walking. Overall it was beautiful, with great food and staff, clean rooms and all the liquor you could want.

Beautiful resort, great food, so-so beach.
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year