All

Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 140 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4 out of 5
"The resort was beautiful well manicured grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pools could've been a little bit cleaner. And the restaurant food was mediocre at best." – Dutchess
112 out of 158 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
In love Parasailing Swim-up room Shades of blue Leaky Ceiling no response Beautiful Sunrise on beach Broken Tv 4 days Royal Suites Turquesa

All Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Customer Reviews

1-10 of 140 reviews. Sort by
March 28, 2012
I definitely recommend the RST

I don't mark 4's and 5's easily, so for me, this is a strong endorsement. I chose the RST because I've been to a Palladium resort before (Jamaica) and this option represents FOUR Palladium resorts at one location. The RST is the adults-only "neighborhood" which is wonderful because you can stay there, or venture out to the other three Palladium resorts. You can enjoy ALL the amenities of the other resorts, however the others can't come to the RST, so it's exclusive and that offers comfort and value, and more seclusion if you are so inclined. The RST has 24 hour room service and each building has a "butler" nearly around the clock. The butlers are more than a concierge. They handle the scheduling of the room cleaning, they make local phone calls for you (in Spanish), you do your dinner reservations through them, they call for your taxi, they handle any needed repairs, and they generally care for you the entire time. The minibar comes stocked with top shelf liquors - not the small 50ml bottles, but full 750ml. The suites by the pool all have a view of the Caribbean. There is another section that has swim-up to the ground floor rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable. The RST has its own beach too, with sunbathing beds for couples. It's really hard to beat the comfort and value of the RST, and again, you're at a huge Palladium complex, so you can enjoy all the other features of the entire property, for example the Spa, the Casino, two amphitheatres with nightly shows, a sports complex, and many restaurants and bars to choose from. And now for the more personal aspect of my endorsement. My 20 year old daughter and I rented a car and were struck by an oncoming truck on our second day of our Spring Break vacation. We suffered broken bones and other maladies and spent four days in a nearby hospital. The butlers at RST never stopped caring for us. They met us at the ambulance. They called us multiple times per day in the hospital. They helped us with rides, they helped us with banking, they escorted us to the police station to do follow up paperwork. When we were discharged, they made sure our suite had the extra things that we needed due to our tender condition. We could only sleep sitting up, so there were many memory-foam pillows. Room service was put on full alert to serve us fast. Ultimately, I was not able to return on our scheduled flight back to the USA due to my bruised lung (not good in a pressurized cabin). The butlers and the management at RST made sure accomodations were made so I could stay in my suite until I was cleared to fly home. My daughter returned as scheduled; my ex-wife flew down to help us in the hospital and escort our daughter home. We only had one full day to enjoy the resort, so we made the best of it. It is a beautiful property with plenty to see and do. Spending four days of a six day vacation in a hospital is everyone's worst nightmare, but the people at RST truly helped us make the best out of a bad situation. We're home now and following up with our USA doctors, and we should return to full strength and health. We are eternally grateful to the management and staff, and I would recommend the RST to anyone. And lastly, I must offer HIGH praise to CheapCaribbean.com. They employ local customer advocates in each of the areas they do bookings, to handle any customer support issues that may arise. Well of course, we fell into that category. Sr. Rijo is the representative for all the Dominican properties. He visited us in our hospital room. He arranged for free transport for my ex-wife. He drove me to the police station and later, to the courthouse at the province capital (Higuey). He even lent me money when my card didn't work in the ATM. He was available 24x7. He helped with translation. The list goes on and on. And he did it all without ever asking for anything in return. Simply the BEST!! Everyone should use CheapCaribbean.com for their travel needs - I always will. Lastly, let me say that our accident could have occured anywhere. This is not an extremely dangerous place to drive. Tourism is by far the number one economy in this area of the country, so generally it is kept safe for visitors. Having said that, getting around by taxi is an easy and affordable alternative, and the excursions of course include transport as well. Or you can just stay within the resort, you'll never run out of things to do.

I definitely recommend the RST I definitely recommend the RST
58 of 62 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2011
Truly a fabulous resort.....

With more restaurants than one could imagine (14 I believe), and 3 buffets too boot, what's not to like about the Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium in Punta Cana. We arrived at Punta Cana airport, and once we had our baggage, we went to Turinter booth and in less than a minute, we were escorted to our van to take us to the Palladium. Once there, we checked in at the lobby, but since our plane was a few hours earlier than the normal 3 pm check-in, we enjoyed our first meal at the buffet for the Royal Suites. A perfect ending to a trip that started for us at 6am. The buffet was excellent with a menu that would match some of our better restaurants in the States. Our room was the Royal Junior Suite Deluxe. It was indeed deluxe. A canopied bed, great jacuzzi, shower was spacious. The room was really clean, although a musty smell once we arrived but that quickly evaporated once we moved around inside. (We were on the 2nd floor, but next time we will pay a little extra for a swim-up room.) On the first floor there was a desk for our "butler". If we encountered any problems, we just presented them to the butler and he took care of it for us. No phone calls to make on our part, just tell the butler. What could be easier than that. A word about the resort staff. In our 5 nights there, we met only one person that was a little surly. Coming from Brooklyn, we are used to most everyone being surly. So one out of an estimated 75 or more, that's not bad at all. The staff was very informative, courteous and always smiled as we passed them on the streets. They made us feel comfortable. Will we go back, you bet. As a matter of fact, I'm planning on taking my wife there on her birthday next year. This will be our third trip to Punta Cana, with this one the best of the three. Sorry I rambled on and on but when something is as good as the Palladium resort, I could continue praising this place. Thanks for reading. Jimmyg8138

Truly a fabulous resort..... Truly a fabulous resort.....
19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn,NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2015
Worse vacation ever!!!

From start to end I had nothing but bad experiences with this resort. Upon check in they tried to tell me the room I reserved was not available. After my complaining for half hour they mysteriously found my room was available. They were trying to give it to someone else. Instead of trying to help me the girl checking me in says " I don't deal with that" instead of trying to locate the person who could assist me. Leak in the ceiling. When I complained about the leak they said "that's not a leak; its condensation and all the rooms have that. Other guests just put a towel on the floor." Unless I'm mistaken, water falling from the ceiling consistently is a leak. I couldn't believe my ears! A 5 star resort telling me just to put a towel on the floor for a leak??!! The food was horrible!! The customer service was just as bad! The resort was beautiful but that was the only good thing! I literally cried my 3rd day there from the frustration! Coincidentally there were many other couples complaining as well and also about the lack of customer service! The bed was so uncomfortable that my boyfriend and I both left with back pain! I would never recommend this hotel!! Horrific experience! Totally ruined my vacation. Don't bother paying for butler service. You never see him as he's split between two buildings and dealing with so many complaints, he never has time. When I went to complain to the girl at the desk she said once again " I don't deal with that" instead of trying to help me but that seemed to be her motto! Do not waste your money here!!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Ft lauderdale
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 8, 2016
Great Place

The swim up rooms were excellent , very private with bar , you did not have to leave your room, not busy like the pool & beach . A very big selection of restaurants, like 13, a few were exceptional but a lot of others were fair The resort & rooms were first class appearance , upscale, clean & maintained very well. Very nice that you could have the option of all the other resort facilities like restaurant, pool & lounge.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lancaster,Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2016
My fourth all enclusive and this was the best

The resort was very nice and its huge. Lots of different options to do and always something going on. I didn't realize before we went there are only 2 restaurants for the royal only (adults only) They rest of the restaurants are mixed in with the other resorts on the grounds. they tried to keep us away from the kids but there around, it didn't bother us but some people might not like it. A lot of the restaurants are very far away from the royal but they offer golf karts to bring you around or you can bring comfortable shoes and walk like we did. A great thing about the royal is you can make reservations for dinner (you don't have to get up early to do this, just book with the Butler at anytime for as many days as you want) the other resorts have to wait for dinner with those buzzer things, we just walked right up and were seated. Restaurants have good food and there is a good variety of different types of restaurants. Every restaurant expect the dinner buffet seamed to have the same problem, everyone working there didn't really have a set job, we would have several people coming up to us and our drinks did not get filled as quick as we would have liked, we learned the first few night we had to get there attention to get the drinks filled, once we established we were drinkers they seamed to pay attention more. The biggest down side to the restaurants to me was breakfast ends at 10 am, and i like to sleep in on vacation, i only went to breakfast one time. Our room was awesome, clean, lots of space, nice shower, jet tub. The bed is definitely on the firm side, i didn't mind it but the girl did, but the best part was the swim out room, definitely worth the upgrade, you'll be sorry if you don't get it., it was great to take after dinner or late night dips in the pool then just walk right into your room. The royal rooms have four full bottles or vodka, rum, gin and scotch as well as beer, soda and water, bottles of wine you have to buy. The beach was nice, always busy but we never had problems finding chairs in the shade or sun and we went never went the beach very early. The pools are nice, there are two adult only pools one is a little quieter then the other and there are a bunch of other pools through out the compound so you easily find something you like. All the bars are great and make great drinks, but i always ended up at the lobby bar by the end of the night. This is my fourth all exclusive trip and i liked this resort the best. Its the best of both worlds you can have your peace and quite and just stay on the royal side or wonder over to the other resorts wheres there's tons of people and always something going on.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Monson,MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2016
Honeymoon

We chose this resort since there were other resorts owned by the same company that we could visit. The grounds were beautiful. We walked most places but also rode their golf carts driven by resort staff to get around. Good food selection. Make sure to try different restaurants to find what you like. Remember that no food is ever like home. We ate off site at a restaurant Captain Cook that was amazing with fresh seafood. The hotel lobby bar was the best bar on the grounds that we found. It was the only bar that did not seem like they waterered the alcohol down. The majority of the resort staff was awesome. Our butlers Manuel & Charlie were the best! The beach and water were breathtaking. The sand was so soft and the water was clear. We loved our swim-up suite even though we really didn't use the pool much. The room was great. The resort credits we received were only coupons able to be used for specific items. The on-site shopping prices were pretty comparable to near-by shops for local goods. The biggest downfall of the trip was our Amstar representative, Ruth. She called our room at 08:30am on the 2nd day to remind us to meet her at 09:30am. We were on our honeymoon & did not like being called at 08:30am. We went ahead and got up to meet her at the lobby for 09:30am & waited around for 10 mins. 1 of the resort staff said they saw her but did not know where she went. So we went about our day, met up with some friends that accompanied us & went to the beach. On the way back in, I saw a desk with Amstar on it and introduced myself to Ruth. I explained that we had looked for her earlier with no luck. She asked me for my return flight info. I didn't have it on me as we were walking in from the beach. I told her that our return flight was going to Miami and the roundabout time. She insisted that there were no flights with that info and wrote down a time for us to be in the lobby for pickup on our departure date. She then asked us if we had booked any excursions. I told her that 1 of our friends accompanying us scheduled a fishing trip. She continued to ask who he booked through and I told her he had booked with an employee at a restaurant we ate at. She told me that "you are not allowed to do that." I explained that he had not booked with cheap Caribbean.com and was not bound to anything with her. She then proceeded to become very beligerent ask who he booked his trip with. She also told me "good luck with that because if you have bad weather you won't get your money back." At that point I got up and walked away. She had ZERO customer service skills with us. Fast forward a few days and another couple came to meet us. They too had to meet with Ruth regarding transportation they set up through Amstar. They did however have all of our return flight info for her. She looked up the flight and set them up for a different pick-up time. I told Ruth that we are all on the same flight and our pick-up should be changed to the same time. Ruth said "well then you had to have told me the wrong info." I explained how I didn't have the info on me and she insisted that there was no flight info with the time frame I had provided. She said she had already sent the info to the office and would have to change it since I gave her the wrong info. At this time, the friends with me and my husband had enough of Ruth's blatent rudeness. They confirmed that our pick-up time would all be together and we left. They did book an excursion with her as she told us we had to since we booked with Cheap Caribbean.com. I do not know how true that is. She was by far the worst part of our trip & needs a lesson om customer service. Luckily, there was only 1 of her and everyone else made up for her horrible attitude. I will book with cheap Caribbean.com in the future. It was easy and reliable.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34

July 8, 2012
Honeymoon Trip

We had a fabulous time at the Royal Suites Turquesa. It happens to be the "high-end" resort in this Palladium section, so if you stay here, you get perks that the other 3 or 4 resorts in the campus do not. We saw security always patrolling the grounds, day or night, and we felt very safe where we were. The pool and ocean were never crowded. The a la carte restaurants were very good. You need to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants. However, they tell you you can't go to these restaurants the first night because you need a reservation, but we did see people get in without reservations, you just need to wait until they are done seating everyone with a reservation. Room service has terrible food and the buffet food is pretty bad. If you do go buffet, have someone at a station make something fresh for you and it is better than the food they have out. The rooms are fantastic - very spacious and clean. We had a problem or two with electric outlets (they kept giving out) and the air conditioning isn't the best. We combatted that by leaving all the lights off at night and using the television for light. That kept the room much cooler for some reason. We had also ordered Olympus Tours to transport us to and from the airport. They did a nice job getting us to the resort right away upon arrival but they did not come get us to take us back to the airport even though we met with a guy who took all our information and told us he would be there. When we called them to see where our ride was, the guy we met with wasn't there and they did nothing to help us, we just ordered a taxi. My advice is skip Olympus for transportation, there are more than enough people to take you from the airport to the resort. Everyone at the resort was very nice and accomodating. We would definitely go back to this resort again.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 21, 2012
Great Resort, but.....

I chose this resort, because of my prior experience with Palladium/Fiesta Group. They really know how to provide a top notch vacation resort. The resort was staffed by the best, the amenities were great, the food was good. That being said, I was dissappointed that I paid extra for a room upgrade, that was to include "sea view". By upgrading to the "Royal Junior Suite Deluxe", got us a suite, that was across the street and tucked in a corner, from the Royal Suites Complex, and thru that to the Royal Suites Pool area, then beach. The standard rated rooms were facing the pool, and next to the beach. If I only knew, I could have saved the upgrade charge, and gotten a much better room location. I also requested a swim-up room, but to no avail. The room was great, but only got about 5 minutes of "free room wi-fi". In all, it was a great but short vacation. The only other negative element of this part of the resort, was the high rate of vehicular traffic; we were constantly dodging passing vans, taxis, and buses. When we were at Palladium Montego Bay, all that traffic was restricted to just the main entrance area, and not were the guests walked. The resort had visitors from all over the world, with folks primarily from Russia, Canada, France and Germany, but a lot of the staff had a hard time understanding and speaking English.


13 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Whiteville, North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2014
One and done

I have to say that I based my decision on reviews of this resort from trip advisor and I was extremely disappointed. This is an adult’s only resort but shares grounds with several other Palladium resorts which are family resorts. This is not the issue, the issues is that the Turquesa does not have any entertainment itself at all. All the activity takes place at the family resorts and after 11PM your only option is to go to the disco to hang out and drink with a bunch of 18 year olds. I left my kids home for a reason. We met a bunch of other people who were having the same problem and they were trying to make the best of the situation by enjoying themselves in the swim up pool outside their room. But at 8:30 PM were asked to exit the pool as they were being too loud. Most people we spoke to described this resort as a retirement home. Also another issue, I understand we are in another country but being in the hospitality industry you would think that the staff, especially the front desk, would have a little better understanding of the English language. My daughter called from the states to check in and make sure all was well and the first time they could not understand her at all and hung up on her and the second time she spoke to them in Spanish and was placed on hold for 10 minutes and then hung up on. I am sure glad it was not an emergency. We were completely ignored by the staff at the bar as well as in the buffet. After waiting for about 20 minutes for a glass of water we ended up getting up and getting ourselves which seemed to upset the wait staff. During breakfast half the time we would finish our food before the coffee even made it to the table. And don’t get me started about the so called Casino, if you can call it that. It is a room consisting of a couple table games and maybe about 30 very outdated slot machines. It all starts when you walk in the door and are greeted by the staff who entices you with a “new game” they want you to try on their dime. They give you 2 chips to get you started. Well, being from the states we are quite familiar with the game which is called Razzle, which is actually illegal in the US. If you don’t believe me Google razzle scam. Luckily we were aware and after our 2 attempts on the casino’s dime we knew to walk away. However, some people are not so fortunate. My husband made an attempt to warn the older couple who walked in the door after us who at this point already had started betting with their own money. They lady who is in charge of escorting the new victims over to the game became extremely annoyed and attempted to flag down security to have us removed from the casino but we quickly left. I do want to mention that the casino is not owned and operated by the resort itself but by an outside firm and is in no way regulated. We only learned that from reviewing it after the fact. I have to say the food and staff at the 2 restaurants we were able to get a reservation to were much better. The resort is absolutely huge and there is a shuttle service that takes you from place to place. The problem is you know where you want to go but have no idea how to get there. So you ask the driver and they nod with a smile so you hope they understood your request. But they make multiple stops during the ride and never once announce where you are so you have to get out and go up to the driver and ask if this is your stop. You can ask 5 different people the same question and receive 5 different answers. We even tried using the app but when you ask the staff about the activities listed on the app for a specific day they have no idea what you are talking about. Then they point you to a board that list activities but does not tell you when or where. Now the island itself is beautiful and the beaches are just breathtaking. We did a couple excursions and had a blast. So if you are only going for some R&R this may be the place for you. But I like to have options. I spent last year’s vacation in Paradise Island, Bahamas at the Riu Palace and was completely blown away. The staff knew you by name and knew what you liked to drink and had it on the bar before you even asked for it. They were always happy and smiling and went out of their way every chance they had. This was definitely a one and done.


11 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Alpha, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 6, 2012
Best vacation ever!

This resort was amazing! It completely exceeded my expectations on every level. Everything and anything we asked for was granted. We asked for an upgrade to a swim-up suite, which we got, and was totally worth the little extra. The only complaint I do have is with Olympus tours; they are the third party representative between you and Cheap Caribbean. They are supposed to arrange for your pickup from the airport, help you book any excursions you want to do while in the Dominican, and arrange your pick up from the hotel back to the airport. They picked us up fine, but our representative, Frank, from Olympus who was supposed to help us book and plan things was horrible! He was never around and very unhelpful. We ended up getting a different rep towards the end of our stay, who made sure our ride back to the airport was all set, something Frank hadn't done! All in all I have no complaints with the resort. Again, my only issue was Olympus tours, but that's a cheap Caribbean issue, not a resort issue :)


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, New York
Age: 19-24

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations