All

Royal Solaris Los Cabos Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 339 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.6 out of 5
"Amazing place Amazing Service! Only thing we could ask for would be more ice cream and better desserts! Other than that the service was top notch and the resort was beautiful!" – Vacalvr
262 out of 390 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Solaris grounds view from pool Yes! It was COLD. LOL Panchos with Mauricio beautiful beach beautiful view from our room Solaris Courtyard View from room Blood on bed sheets when we entered room our view from our room Zip Lining view from our room View from pool. Bring your own thermal cup and they will fill it. No more little plastic cups The Arc, Cabo Sunset view from our room. view from room Solaris Pool Area another from the room balcony View from our room View from room when you tcranked your head. Otherwise our view was that of the neighboring hotel's pool. Beach at Solaris Partial View of Room Picnic on the beach from room balcony deluxe ocean view Beautiful Morning! Balcony

All Royal Solaris Los Cabos Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 339 reviews. Sort by
May 2, 2012
Royal Solaris Family Time

We were pleasing thrilled with everything. Upon arrival to airport our agreed upon shuttle van was already there and waiting for us. Checkin and the 2.5hr sales presentation that we attended in order to get the "getaway" package pricing was relatively easy. All of the staff was incredible, with the exception of a high pressure sales pitcher named Maryann? at the end, who was so disgusted we wouldn't buy that she couldn't even muster up so much as a goodbye. She just got up and walked away from the table. We are used to staying in nice condo's with our timeshare resorts, so these rooms were a little small for us. There were two queen beds and pull out bed, all slightly uncomfortable. Nice big bathroom though, with tile shower and floors. Lots of shelving and storage&amazing view out of our spectacular balcony in the deluxe ocean view room. We were on the second floor and about four rooms from the end of the horseshoe, perfect place to be for great view and away from lobby noise, but yet same level as lobby. All inclusive truly means all-inclusive here as there is somewhere to eat and drink on the premises 24-7. The drinks seem to be weak but everywhere you go if you ask for more alcohol or extra shot they will add no problem. The shows in theatre were pretty good, but we didn't want to go every night. The breakfast in Cafe Solaris and the pesto ravioli in the fine dining Marco Polo were the best food that we had while there. There were a couple of fun nights of entertainment in the lobby bar/club with bands or dj dancing, but the other 3/4 of the nights there was absolutely nothing going on after 930pm. That is what was so annoying. The pools all close at 8pm at dark and then after you eat nothing else to do on property! We found out on our last night there that there is a large hot tub hidden away by the beach, by the quiet pool. We never got to go in it but I suppose that closes at 8pm too. The other fun but unmentioned thing is that they offer free scubadiving classes in their 12ft deep scubadiving only pool. The instructor Luiz is amazingly kind and patient but his schedule gets busy as he also does the resorts subadiving tours. The spa and gym are only open 7-7 but they have a beautiful jacuzzi in domed candle lit room. We had the couples massage on the beach which was good, but would have been great had it not been for the construction going on which saws and hammering throughout the massage. So make sure that there is no construction happening when/if you book. You can bring your own cups and they will fill those up all day long for you, instead of just having to use their 12oz. cups. The sellers on the beach can get annoying and pricy, but triple check, barter their prices as some of them will eventually go down even lower than in town. Nearest bus stop to Cabo is in front of MegaMart and Starbucks about a 15min walk, for 21pesos each way. Taxis right out side of resort are 35usd each way to Cabo. San Jose Del Cabo is a unique town with seemingly hundreds of artisans, restaraunts, flea market, jewelry stores and museums. We went in only one night, Thursday 5-9pm, on the party/festival night and everything seemed alive. We regretted not going into this spirited town sooner and more often in our trip as that was our last night. The sellers bartering prices seemed to be equal to and lower than anything else that we had found in our resort, on the beach at our resort, or in Cabo. Chileno bay is half way between Cabo and resort. It is an amazing snorkel beack but is hard to get to coming from our resort, it is best reached coming home some morning after shopping in Cabo. If bus lets you off at top of highway exit to Chileno Bay, then it is a mile walk down in to parking lot and public beach with bathrooms and a few umbrellas. There are taxi's that wait in parking lot but they seemed expensive so we just walked the mile back out to the highway and if you wave at a bus it will stop for you. Santa Maria Bay too is gorgeous and great for snorkeling but harder to get to. We took the Jungle Cruise tour there for 33usd per person, with kids 10 and under free. They pick you up in Cabo and boat you there with drinks and food and snorkel gear then back to Cabo. Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view room was great view.


109 of 118 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Oregon
Age: 25-34

July 16, 2012
Excellent Deal & Service

Royal Solaris is one of the best hotels as far as service. This hotel is the best for the families with kids. I have 3 and I know what I am talking about. My oldest is 9 and youngest is 5. We got 2 rooms with king size beds and they added a twin size bed for one of the kids to sleep on in one room. The only problem was the two rooms were not connected with a door, that caused the kids to be scared so one of us had to sleep with them the whole entire trip, but that is O.K. The front desk found us a room with ocean view again, that was connected with a door, but we simply refused to move because it would have been too close to the pools where it would be too noisy for the kids' afternoon naps. Believe me my kids that never take naps needed them to be able to continue the night at rleast until 10:00 pm, due to the swimming and activities that tire them. Hotel is just beautiful, rooms are very clean and nice size. We never felt crammed. Refrigerator is stocked with cold sodas, beer and water avery day. Beds are very comfortable and very clean. We stayed at the middle of the whole hotel on the 3rd floor with the best view. Rooms 618 aND 620. RECOMMEND IT. Air conditions worked creat also. There are five restaurants in the hotel. Let me tell you with 3 kids, you need them . Because 10 minutes after you leave the restaurant one of the kids is always hungry. No problem at this resort! In the morning, they have the buffet with all kinds of food you can imagine, juices, pancakes, waffles, omelletes, Mexican breakfast items, fruits, jams, bakery items, cereals, etc... This one is open until 11:30 am. YOu can take some of these things with you to the pool or room if you like. Then around 11:30 poolside snack bar opens, wiht salads, fruits, salsa and chips, french fries, chicken nuggets, some fish item, hot dogs, and hamburgers, and some other items every single day. My kids' favorites! they are open until 6 pm. Eat as much as you want. My 5 year old ate from here all the time, because of the fries. I even took some to the room, because he would not eat anything else at night time maybe some fruits. Other buffet opens for lunch around 1 pm. No fries there, so you can get the fries from the other one and bring it for you your kids, better yet let them go get it. Dinner was the simplest thing for us, since we went to the shows on a daily basis.. Their theater opens for dinner buffet at 6:30 every night and show is usually at 8 pm. So if you get there around 7:15 you can choose a nice spot to see the show and then get your food and sit and enjoy the show while you are eating. All kinds of food! and dessert you can imagine and want. Drinks just keep coming as long as you ask for it. All the waiters are just wonderful. You tip or not they do their jobs to a perfection with smiling faces. So tipping 2 or 3 dollars at each meal goes a long way. The beach is not swimmable because the currents are very strong. But it sure is beautiful. Morning walks are excellent. My kids did the horseback riding on the beach, very affordable and fun. We also purchased tickets to go to the arches with the yellow submarine from there also. We saved about $40.00 instead of buying the trip from the hotel lobby. Oh I forgot to tell you. The hotel assigned us one person as soon as we checked in, he took us to a table and gave us a tour of the hotel on a map and gave us tips on attractions, restaurants, and where everything is on the hotel. Kids club is wonderful, if your kids are not the clingy type. Pools are excellent, it gets crowded at times but, it is summer! What do we expect right? If your kids go to the kids zone, then you can use the adult pool infront of the beach. It is very quiet and relaxing. I wish I could have used it. They have a Junior's Lounge with some arcades, pool table, which my older son did not want to try until the day we were leaving . Then he was so upset to himself because they had HALO as one of the games there. He learned a valuble lesson! Any way, our trip was fun, we had a great time, and this is the hotel to visit. Don't even think about it twice.

beautiful view from our room Excellent Deal & Service
34 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Riverside, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2015
Best price but not worth it!

Now how can I put this nicely? Well, I really can't. So I will be an adult about it but say how my fiancé n I real feel about this resort. This was our very first all inclusive trip and we had great expectations, but to our disappointment this hotel was mediocre at best. It is like a really well bonded, pretty colorful book with a horrible story inside it. First, the food is AWEFUL!! Five restaurants? It had two which needed reservations by noon in order to eat in them. Then it had a huge buffet room with the worst no flavor food we've ever eaten! There was a pizza shack that closed around 5pm along with the pool bars! Oh and that brings up another complaint. The hotel had a huge pool ( which was around 95 degrees temp wise) with a pool bar that catered to the KIDS!! Now why would there be a bar in the kids pool!!!! You couldn't get a seat let alone a drink because of all the rugrats in your way ordering virgin piña coladas!! And when you finally got a drink, (splash!) a huge wave plops in your drink from the kid doing a cannon ball right next to the bar!! The adult pool was a big more relaxing but the adults had to walk to another bar (out of the pool) to grab a drink. And!!!! The pools n bars outside closes at 5-6pm so if you want another drink (which are all watered down) you must go in the lobby where all the kids are now standing in line ordering their drinks again :) And the kicker of all of this fun is your room. The room we first got (and was told was the only room available) was facing the opposite of the pool or ocean n looking straight down at a construction site. We of course got another room. BY COMPLAINING AND PAYING AN EXTRA SUM OF MONEY!!! The food, drinks, and kids running all over the place was disgusting and in our opinion not relaxing! And the hotel serving "private dinners" to share holders of the hotel was a huge slap in our face! Oh you can go to these private dinners that served better looking food if you pay EXTRA!! Why would anyone want to own a part of this hotel is questionable. These are just a few complaints that we have along with other hotel guests that we've met during our stay. There are many more!!!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Tracy, ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2016
Family! Family! Family!

We recently arrived from our trip (08/09/16 -08/13/16 with my 2 girls (ages 11 & 13), husband & myself. The weather was perfect, was hot, but not humid or muggy. The hotel was absolutely family friendly, with a nice pool (4.5 feet) for all to enjoy. The "all inclusive" lives up to its name. You have many food places to choose from throughout the day and night. However, 2 restaurants: Pancho's and Marco Polo must make reservations & had dress restrictions (no shorts, sandals or t-shirts) so we never had an opportunity to try it out :( Cafe Solaris, Palapa Rosmarinus, Snack Bar & Pizzalisima were very casual. Food was flavorful & wait staff were friendly and accommodating. Our ocean view room #584 had an awesome view. The only issue was the AC unit was loud which amplified at night, and drowned out the sounds of the ocean. Kinda annoying, but we were too tired after a long day of activities. Reserve a shuttle if you wish to head to Cabo San Lucas. The cost is $64.00 roundtrip for a family of 4. Shuttle in hotel drop off/pick up is by the Dolphin Discovery in Cabo. The shuttle has AC so the 30 minute scenic drive was comfortable. Taxi ride from hotel to nearby Walmart or Downtown San Jose Del Cabo is $7.00 one-way. Activities we did included sunset horseback ride on the beach from the hotel $80.00 for family of 4. Boat ride to "The Arch, Scooby-Doo, Lover's Beach & El Medano Beach $10 per person roundtrip. WORTH IT! The hotel also offers 20-minute complimentary photo session which you need to make an appointment. 15-20 pictures, CD of those pix and option of canvas or memory book. Cost $225 which is an option to purchase. Restaurants we dined was Mi Casa (our favorite) and The Office (pricey, touristy but good food) right on the beach. Honestly, the Office had so many vendors swarming around, boats coming/going & just way too busy. Shopping in the flea market area is great. Got 3 mexican picnic blankets 3 for $10, jewelry & other souvenirs negotiable even at the stores. Please leave tips for the wait staff and housekeeping. They work hard to satisfy you and ensure your vacation was a memorable one.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Jose, California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 7, 2011
HOTEL SERVICES

Do not, I repeat, do not stay at this hotel! We just got back, January 29th to February 5th, 2011, stayed in room 522 and the service was awful. First of all, in the bar in the lobby, if your table is too far from the bar, and it’s busy, you simply will not be waited on. The rooms all have safes, but there are not enough keys to go around and if you are lucky enough to get one, it’s $1 a day. You will get packets of coffee in your room the first few days, then they simply quit! You have to call each day and have them brought to your room. On Thursday night at 10:30pm, our fire alarm went off. We called the front desk and no one showed up! The whole floor was out in the hall thinking there was a fire, after 5 minutes we called the front desk again, after a few more minutes maintenance finally showed up! Sure glad it wasn’t a fire! Friday night we got back from town about 7pm and wanted to get something to eat. The main cafeteria was closed, the Marco Polo restaurant had a private wedding so it wasn’t available. The Mexican restaurant was jammed full, and the theatre restaurant was also jammed full, no place to eat. We tried to make a plate of food and take to our room, but there were no eating utinsils! We asked and they tried to give us plastic ware, which we would have used, but it also was gone and after asking for more, the wait staff simply shrugged their arms and said they were out! After calling the front desk, they suggested room service, but that was $5, and this was supposed to be all inclusive. Incredible! In the mornings, the main cafeteria constantly had tables that were not cleared, you had to find your own silverware and napkins, and good luck getting coffee, just get your own. The buffet table was always out of eggs, potatos, sausage, bacon, the milk is not cold and when you asked for the buffet food to be filled you might as well have been talking to a tree!! In the mornings, unless you got to the pool at 7am and put your towel on a chair, you didn’t get a chair. If you wanted to make reservations in the Marco Polo steak house in the evening for dinner, unless you are a time share owner, you couldn’t get a reservation until 9:30pm! The manager tried to tell us time share owners didn’t get special treatment. Well now, try asking him why then were certain restaurants only available in the mornings to time share owners, and why they were given special parties, dinners, live entertainment shows that only they could attend . Again, do NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!


41 of 48 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Topeka Kansas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 15, 2012
Nice relaxing vacation

Me and my boyfriend visited the Royal Solaris in August 2010..I know its been awile but i thought id review for everyone! The Royal Solaris has a great group of people working there! Carolina was amazing at helping us figure the resort out. One thing about the RS is that its a 30 dollar cab ride to actual cabo san lucas (the party seen). We did not realize this when we booked but we ended up being okay secluded and relaxed in San Juan del Cabo. We did go to Cabo San Lucas one night and it was a great time! If you enjoy the bar seen visit Cabo Wabo and Squid Roe. The food was not terrible. It was sort of plain and we ended up eating at the buffet every morning for breakfast which was a basic breakfast and that was good. The snack bar near the pool was okay. Speaking of the pool.. the bartenders were great! The pool was also amazing! The beach was not to great however. Im not sure if it was the time we went but it was not recommened to swin in there and there was a huge dip from the sand to the edge of the water so we did not get to enjoy the whole beach sceen. All in all we had a great time here. Everyone was so nice and helpful. The rooms were nice and the bed was huge and comfy. There were no night time bars so you kind of had to make your own fun but it the relaxation was worth it!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2016
Very Affordable Fantastic Vacation

My Family, My Boyfriend and I went to Cabo Jan 4th-8th 2016. We stayed here at the Royal Solaris and we do not have one complaint about this resort. We stayed in a ocean view Jacuzzi room and it was really nice. You cannot ask for a better view to wake up to every morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were also very efficient. The grounds to the resort are very clean and it looked like there was always someone working/cleaning the grounds. The nightly shows are nice. The adult pool is heated so that was a nice touch. The adult Jacuzzi was a little small but its ocean front so cant complain about that. The food is endless and good so don't worry about being hungry or even thirsty. There are mini fridges in the rooms and they stock them with soda, water bottles and beer every day when they clean your room. The weather was in the low 80's the entire time. Overall I give this Resort a BIG 10. My family and I had an AMAZING time and we look forward to going back this year! :)


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fresno,CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2013
Fun Trip

Overall, we had an excellent trip and would definitely stay again. It its a good trip for a vacation on a budget where you don't have to worry about finding places to eat or play, it is all right there for you! All you have to worry about is relaxing!! Other than the fact that the concierge was pushy and said they were "disappointed" in us for not taking their offers in exchange for a 90 minute presentation, the service was excellent! Restaurant/buffet servers worked very hard and were always friendly. The pools were very lively, with activities and a pool bar. Although you can't go in the beach, it makes for a great evening stroll. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, although they could use some updating.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2015
WORST VACTION EVER

This resort by far is the worst that I have ever been too. They only have 2 restaurants that require reservations. If you do not reserve b4 10am they say it is full. One restaurant is Ponchos. The food is horrible. THE one in THE US IS BETTER THAN THAT ONE.(That is saying a lot) My first night there was a HUGE COCKROACH IN THE BATHROOM. AS WELL AS SOME STRANGE BUG ON THE BATHROOM WALL. 2ND DAY- MY SAFE LOCK WOULD NOT OPEN. 3RD NIGHT- SHOWER BACKED UP AND THEN THE TOILET 4TH NIGHT- TOILET BACKED UP AT THE BEACH BAR- I ASKED FOR A BOTTLE OF WATER. WAS TOLD THEY WERE OUT. 5 MIN LATER A WAITER DELIVERED A BOTTLE OF WATER TO A HISPANIC CUSTOMER? I THEN WENT AND REQUESTED ONE? STANDING IN LOBBY AT BAR, WAITING TO BE SERVED, A HISPANIC LADY WALKS UP AND START SPEAKING SPANISH, THE WAITER BEGAN TO SERVICE HER INSTEAD OF ME. THE RESTAURANTS (CAFE SOLARIS) BUFFET STYLE HAD BIRDS FLYING AROUND AS YOU TRYING TO EAT. FLIES WERE RAMPANT IN THE FOOD AREA. LAST DAY WENT TO BREAKFAST, SAT DOWN AT A CLEAN TABLE AFTER GETTING NY FOOD.. ONE OF THE SETTINGS HAD A USED FORK, IT MADE ME WANT TO PUKE. THE LOCK ON THE ROOM DOOR WAS BROKEN THE ROOK SERVICE WAS HORRIBLE. THEY SPOKE VERY LITTLE ENGLISH, SO THE ORDER WA USUALLY WRONG ON TOP OF BEING DISGUSTING. I WOULD STRONGLY SAY "THIS WAS UNFORGETTABLE , HORRIBLE AND WORST RESORT EVER.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: TEXAS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2011

terrible experience with the receptionist when we first arrived. They did not want us to check in right away. They want us to listen to their kind of like time share. If you don't listen they give you a hard time.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: san jose, ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations