All

Royal Hideaway Playacar All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 50 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.6
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.6 out of 5
"Everything went really well. Looking forward to our next trip. Let us know of any discounts now that we are repeat customers." – Lightning
51 out of 56 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View standing in the infinity pool view from breakfast fab beach From My Balcony Our private dinner on the beach - what a lovely memory View from the Pool Deck

All Royal Hideaway Playacar All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 50 reviews. Sort by
October 15, 2011
4 star with 5 star service.

Ok, I'll try to be brief and to the point. Rooms are not 5 star. While clean, the rooms are dated (including tile and plumbing), and I don't see why the resort cannot keep the rooms in "like new" conditions, since the quarters are separate 24 room villas and can be shut down for maintenance one at a time. All of the public space (which should be harder to shut down) is in great condition. Also I have seen way more generous mini bars and bath amenities in 3-4 star rated resorts. TV channel selection is definitely substandard for an expensive resort. Food and service: Japanese fusion restaurant falls short authenticity wise, otherwise the food is great. Do not listen to reviews saying otherwise. Reasonable people do not expect Peter Luger’s porterhouse in an all-inclusive resort. Yes, I'm from New York, and very demanding when it comes to food, but I have been to 12 different all-inclusive resorts, and Royal Hideaway is at least as good as any of them or better. Also there is no limitation on number of restaurant bookings, booking is done at any time during the day by villa concierge. Service is the best I’ve seen yet. I would say overkill (shoe shine boxes in rooms in Caribbean resort? Changing your drinks because they might have gotten warm? Etc.). Staff really goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Villa concierges are very helpful. For the first time I didn’t have to look for travel agency representative to arrange for pick-up time, it took concierge about 2 minutes to do. Resort provides a variety of small conveniences like newspaper clip copies daily etc. The only deal breaker I see for some people (like myself) is that this is intentionally a VERY QUIET place. If you happen to be single or not looking for extremely quiet time – do not pick this resort. Entertainment is close to 0. There’s a dinner show once a week, that you have to book a reservation for. You get a duet singing for about an hour at lounge most evenings and that’s that. No music to speak of by the pool or at the beach. Activities are very few. Resort DOES NOT EVEN HAVE A PROPER BAR swim up or otherwise (there is a small bar at Las Ventanas restaurant that you can book for dinner). That’s a first one for me.


28 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2011
20th Anniversary Getaway

I really enjoyed this resort. The staff was friendly and kind. I would say the best part of the resort was the beach. It's vast and beautiful! It was not crowded like the resorts I noticed on my walks on the beach. I thought the food was very good at most restaurants and the beverages were high quality. I guess my only complaint would be the anniversary package. I had mentioned that it was our 20th anniversary and I was hoping for something along the lines of a bottle of champagne in my room or something special to celebrate our milestone. All that appeared in our room were 4 balloons and a note. Kind of a let down. Aside from that we really enjoyed our stay and would go back to the same resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2011
Worth the money

Was a great vacation with girlfriend...relaxing, tranquil, comfortable. Things did die down early in evening...even at the bar that was open til 1am...just not much activity there, but rest of morning and day time was great. Great food options overall, though desserts weren't the most tasteful...concentrated too much on presentation. Would definitely go back


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 6, 2015
Exactly what I was looking / hoping for ...

This resort is a low-key, relaxing, Adults Only luxury retreat. I just returned home from one week of hot sun and outstanding personalized service at the Royal Hidewaway Playacar. If you are looking for a party atmosphere and raging night life, this is not the place for you! (the neighboring resorts are though!) If you are looking for EXCELLENT fine dining at six different restaurants, overall outstanding & attentive service in a relaxing environment, this is the place for you! The beach is gorgeous and water even more inviting. As other reviews have stated, the physical property and rooms could use some "TLC" and upkeep but that would not prevent me from returning, given the tropical weather environment it's obviously difficult to maintain pristine conditions. The overall luxury experience I had at the RHP would bring me back for another vacation!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 17, 2016
Best service I've ever had!!

As a frequent traveler I've been to quite a lot of places and let me say that this resort is hands down the best resort I've stayed at! The service was impeccable, the room was very spacious, the food was great and the views were pretty awesome too! I can't stress enough on how the staff aimed to please us and made our stay amazingly pleasant. It's a must if your looking peace and tranquility. We loved every minute of our stay from start to finish.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2013
Excellent

We wanted a week of quiet vacation to rest and the Royal Hideaway Playacar was perfect. Very comfortable room. Very good service. Very good food at Las Ventanas the Palazzo and The Grill (Azia was disappointing and Spices uninteresting), Very nices lunches, beautiful garden, Great pools and immaculate beach. Go early to reserve a good chair next to the pool or one of the great cabana facing the ocean. Important: The hotel next door is tome times noisy at night it is better to be away from the houses 28, 29, 30 & 31. It is not the fault of the Royal but it can be annoying. (we asked to change room which they did very graciously). I travel a lot for business all around the world and I really appreciated what the Royal Hideaway had to offer. I would go back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Montreal
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 29, 2016
Vacation in Paradise

This was a perfect vacation to unwind from the day to day hectic life that we all lead. From the moment you arrive you are completely spoiled and catered to; a fresh towel, glass of champagne and the scent of fresh lillies make you free completely at ease while you check in at the lobby. The butler showed us to our room in villa 25. Rose petals and towel swans on the bed looked so romantic. Everything was clean and cool. Perfect! The beach is a picturesque turquoise blue. It was not crowded at all. There are plenty of lounge chairs, shaded canopies, and the softest, whitest, powdered sugar sand you've ever seen. The restaurants are elegant and the food is amazing. We especially liked Palazzo, The Grill and Las Ventanas. Reading other reviews people have complained about portion size for some of the entrees. We did not see this as a problem as every waiter encouraged us to order our own appetizers, entrees and desserts. The staff is constantly asking you if you need anything to drink, eat, a fresh towel, a facial mist refresher, sunscreen, or your sunglasses cleaned. You truly feel like royalty staying at this resort. It is calm, relaxing, and breathtakingly beautiful; perfect for a relaxing getaway rather than a discotheque with loud music and constant activities. Special thanks to Emilio! You are top notch! Our concierge, Gerardo was wonderful and very accommodating! Thank you for your hospitality, Charley, Lorenzo and Andres! We can't wait to return to this amazing resort!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arkansas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 5, 2016
Our sweet getaway

My husband and I wanted to go to a beautiful place where we can just relax and be together we found this resort to be very clean their workers very professional the room was exceptional the food was delicious we didn't even go any tours because the resort itself was so amazing we didn't want to go anywhere it was all we needed peace and quiet we can't wait to come back again my husband and I for our wedding anniversary celebration again just us 2

Our sweet getaway
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2016
lovely and quiet

Adults only. Glorious. In our 40s, my husband and I were some of the youngest guests. It was quiet -- exactly what we wanted. Water temperature in the showers was not consistent -- but honestly not that big of a deal.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 14, 2013
Fantastic Hotel

We stayed 5 nights and wished we had stayed 7. The beach and pool were beautiful. The staff was friendly and the service was fanastic. They do not skimp on the quality drinks and the food was delicious. The nightlife at the hotel was a little sleepy for my tastes, but there are lively bars 15 minutes down the beach in playa. I would suggest booking restaurants and to see shows prior to getting down there, as they fill up quick.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year