All

Royal Decameron Montego Beach Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 41 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"I love it at Royal Decameron. Second trip there and everyone is very helpful. Great customer service . I took my dad for his birthday and he absolutely enjoyed it. Highly recommended" – shanef502
38 out of 51 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
My son eating while eagerly waiting to play! Spectacular sunset from our room Appleton Plantation

All Royal Decameron Montego Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 41 reviews. Sort by
August 6, 2013
We had a blast

The Royal Decameron was a great value for the money we paid. It had all the ammenities and wow factor without the wow factor of the five star quality. At first I was a little shell shocked about the room. Its not glamerous, but it was very clean and the shower was hot and very relaxing. The ocean front view we had with the balcony was excellent. The beach front property was excellent. There were cushions set up on the ocean front decking where you could lay in the sun and dip right in the ocean only a few feet in front of you. The water was deep, but a great choice for good swimmers. I love the night life at the Decameron, very exciting with lots of variety. The staff and service at the Decameron was excellent. (Five star quality from the front desk, food servers to cleaning crew). The staff goes out of their way to please. The location of the Decameron was excellent. It's right downtown Montego Bay, but very secure. In walking distance from Ocean from water park, a good country block from Margarittaville(sp-1). OK and safe to walk around during the day and ok for groups at night. Food left a lot to be desired, breakfast was best meal, not exciting but satisfying. Overall, had a blast was great value (actually was pretty cheap for the quality and value).


36 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2013
best place yet!

This was our 8th trip to Jamaica, and I think we found our new go to place! The place was alot more than we expected.Plenty of areas to take a walk, hang out, etc. Feeding the fish was fun. took the Island Dreamer boat trip. That was great. It was better than the cool runnings boat in Ocho Rios.We have stayed at Breezes in Runaway Bay 5 times and Club Ambiance in Runaway 2 times. For the convenience of the closeness of the airport, it was great! We will definiatly be going back again. Probably this year!!! Although, info is hard to come by, like no dinner menu is posted anywhere.We did not get notified of what time to be in the lobby to get picked up for return. We had to take care of that and bring our own suitcases down. There was no one hanging around to help load luggage on the bus.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: extreme NE PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 17, 2013
Enjoyable Smaller Resort

The facility although quite old is immaculately maintained. The rooms are in need of some updates. We were in room 30 in the Sunset building and it was well cleaned daily (we tipped). Our oceanview was stunning and we only encountered minimal noise from the band/music during entertainment hours. The water pressure was spotty and at times the water was only lukewarm but for us not a huge issue as we've had this problem at 4 star resorts on the island. There were so many lounge areas, never had to compete with others for chairs or beach space which was nice. Although we didn't participate much in the activities there were plenty of things going on throughout the day ie, exercise classes, games, snorkel classes, etc. and others we spoke to seemed to really enjoy them. My husband being of caribbean descent really enjoyed the varied food choices, there was something for everyone. I loved the selection of tropical juices, soups and porridges...breakfast was my favorite. Wonderful breads and pastries, with being right on the ocean would have loved more seafood other than just occasional fish. The drinks were lacking. There was a generic 'white' & 'red' wine option with lunch and dinner and none of the mixed drinks ie pina colada, rum punch, hurricanes,etc. were made with fresh fruit but instead they used fruit flavored cheap rums and coconut powders, fruit syrups, etc. To me they were really bad, but thank goodness I'm not a big drinker. They didn't allow any meals in the rooms and this was ridiculous to me, have never encountered this at a resort before. Overall we had a greatl time at this resort, the staff was generally friendly (especially Baby Boy, Kerry-Ann & Rayon), the accommodations comfortable and prices reasonable.We did tip modestly for good service, $1 to $2 at meals and at the bar. We fully intend to return someday although we prefer Negril so it may be awhile.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tulsa, OK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2013
Excellent!

I did alot of cross reviews for this hotel-and it paid off. Location: PERFECT 110%, it is a 5 min drive fromt he airport AND in the hub of all the action, everything was walkable.The hotel is very inviting when you arrive, clean and beautiful and wide open, you sit at the bar, there are no doors or windows just wide open beauty.All rooms for the most part are ocean view and undescribeable,teal ocean, and bright moons. you would think the air nose would be loud near airport...NOT AT ALL, it was nice to see the planes coming in, and no noise. The staff was GREAT to us, they were fun and engaging at the pool bar with the activites, had a ball! The food at the buffet was meerly buffet, nothing exciting, but iv never heard of rave reviews of a buffet???there was some good Jamaican Curry Goat, but then some odd food as well.the resturant was not good, fancy and great ambiance, but the meal...not so good.Drinks were great as well, hard to get drunk tho, but thats the mixed frozen drinks for ya! The place is very clean and i would recommend this place 100% without reserve,and this WILL be the place that go to again! ONE MAJOR THING: at check in, we were told they didnt have a room for us! AND WE paid already in January in FULL! they offered us a sister hotel, and my boyfriend is from Jamaica, and was on top of things. They wanted us to go 1.5 hours away to a deserted area! DO NOT DO IT! when we refused-they immediately found us a room. I read a few bad reviews, but I can NOT figure out why, this is a great place!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 20, 2017
Nothing Royal about this hotel

There is nothing Royal about Royal Decameron. The food was disgusting. A group of 6 of us left daily to eat. There are only 2 places to eat and only 1 restaurant open 7 - 9 for breakfast 1-3 for lunch and 6- 9 for dinner. The alcohol was watered down and it was the cheapest bands. Guest & staff walking around freely smoking marijuana and offering it to guest. The Hotel is located next to a cemetery and the ghetto, with aggressive street beggars. The hotel was very nasty and out dated. You have to pay a daily fee for a safe not as big a shoe box. You are given a card in order to use towels and if you don't return the card you are charged $30. We were given a wifi code for internet, but no one in our group was ever able to use our cell phones or computers. You must put down a cash deposit if you use the telephone. This all inclusive cost us double what we would have paid had we chosen a more costly hotel. This place is not wheel chair friendly. The walking pads are all uneven, jagged, rough, pot holes, irregular,, broken, lopsided and unbalance. The evening entertainment, was the worse, not many people came and stayed until the end. (street performers). No native music played the entire 6 days we were there. I don't want anyone else to waste there money on Royal DeCameron (Royal Sh-t is more fitting) I am leaving my cell number for you to call me and I will show you the pictures. 832-209-0014


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 31, 2013
So, so...

On arrival the management tried to move us to their sister hotel, royal Decameron fun. I was furious and told the staff I would spend my entire vacation on their lobby before moving to another resort. 15 minutes later we did get a room. Other guest that came after us were moved but you have to stand your ground and be firm. The rest of our stay went well. The rest of the staff are very friendly. The food was a-ok. We never went hungry. I doubt I would return to this resort just because of the uncertainty. Beaches at this resort are rocky so bring your water shoes. We spent a day in Negril and the beaches there are so much nicer. Will be staying in Negril next time we return to Jamaica. We fell in love w/ the island and the people.

So, so... So, so...
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2015
50th birthday vacation

We had a great experience all around. Right from the beginning until the very end. The car was right there to pick us up, we were escorted into the resort, fast checkin, we were again escorted to our rooms, after we were welcomed with an ice cold drink. The resort was exactly what was promised. Super clean!!! Friendly staff. Everyone was very friendly and eager to make sure everything was going well for us. It was a great vacation.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Northern new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 9, 2017

The resort is Great for the most part, except where it counts. 1st Off. I stayed on the Cornwall side. Which is their high end side. If you stay on that side you have access to 100% of the resort. Both sides. Like I stated above. The best part of the resort is the grounds and beach. Followed by the location. Walking distance from entertainment. The resort entertainment is 100% garbage. No need to extend on that. GARBAGE! The only thing good about their entertainment is that it's the same as their food. TRASH! (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner) The drinks are great, however not great enuff to get your mind off the fact you are hungry. For less money you can stay @ Iberostar Rose Hall Beach bigger and better in all ways.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rosedale, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 1, 2013
Look at other resorts

Maybe my expectations were too high but I was highly disappointed. I was not expecting a luxury resort but I was expecting a little more than the bare essentials. Extremely basic room-nothing extra. The closet (without doors) seemed bigger than the bathroom. Check in went seamless but they tell you NOTHING about the resort, restaurants or excursions-you are basically left to figure things out for your self. I don't have to be coddled but I think a 3 ring binder with this information would be a nice addition to each room. On a positive note we had a very nice view of the ocean. It appeared to be the slow season so it was never difficult to get a chair on the beach (lucky for us because its not a big beach). Service was extremely minimal. If you tip you can definitely expect better service but keep in mind that everyone in Jamaica expects a tip-regardless of what they do for you. For the price of this resort there are much nicer places to stay.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2013
Good Budget Resort

Just returned from a fun, relaxing stay at RDR Mo Bay. Beautiful sunset views from most all rooms. Energetic, personable Jamaican employees smiled 24/7 and were eager to please. I enjoyed the food: terrific veggies, fruits, breads, and desserts, especially. As this is a third world country, I appreciated the fact that the resort had its own gift shop, native vendors, and tour operators/approved taxi service. Walking the surrounding streets can be sketchy after dark. While I was there, the typical visitors were Canadian or U.S. couples, 40 and older, escaping the snow. But, everyone, from spring-breakers to 70 year-olds, seemed to be having a great time and enjoying each other's company. I would rate this resort 3.5 stars overall. Tiny beach areas in Mo Bay.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year