All

Royal Decameron Los Cabos Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 35 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"great staff, food was amazing, and great hotel. This was a great trip and I would recommend it to anyone." – SurfingInParadise
26 out of 38 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Buddies soaking after a hard day fishing! Spider Bite on neck first night in bed

All Royal Decameron Los Cabos Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 35 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2014
Royal Decameron Los Cabos

We stayed at Royal Decameron Los Cabos in January 2014 & loved it. The rooms were clean & the staff were very friendly & helpful. The clerks at the front desk could have been more knowledgeable, but they did their best to accommodate us. Our room wasn't ready at check-in; but, we were allowed to use the restaurants & bars. The grounds were very well maintained & beautiful. We would definitely stay there again!


55 of 61 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bath, PA
Age: 45-54

October 28, 2015
7 days in paradise

A dozen times at various resorts in Mexico, Our 5th time in Cabo, 1st at this resort, we are very experienced. All Inclusive. ALL the staff were great! We vacationed in mid October and felt we had the place to ourselves. No waiting in lines of any sort. Upper deck "Adult Only" pool was great with an excellent view of the resort, pools and beach and surf. There is really only One main restaurant that has a rotating menu, I got a chance to try Octopus for the first time one night. That main restaurant is not air conditioned but we were never really hot. The only other restaurant is near the main lobby and it is air conditioned and where we had breakfast each day and dinner a couple of nights. Food at the restaurant onsite was gourmet every night. If you like huge ribeye steaks and lobster and shark choices this is not your place. But we ate really good each breakfast, lunch (hamburger was quite yummy) and evening. Water is purified, we got no stomach problems drinking the ice in the drinks. Drinks were name brands, Jack Daniels, Tanqueray , Johnny Walker scotch etc. We got the king bed single room nice, clean but limited bathroom sink space to set personal items. Rain water shower, plenty of hot water. There was a small couch in the room. Only drawback was I got bit by a spider the first night on the neck in bed but didn't realize till a few days later. Entertainment each night was outdoors at the main bar and was fair, one night a single mariachi sang and was world class, karaoke night, fire spinning presentation night, variety live band etc, typical stuff you find at resorts. There was a disco onsite but we were usually too tired to participate till the wee hours of the morning as a few of the quests were. We have stayed at 2 other resorts on this street in the past, this one seems to be smaller but VERY relaxing and ALL the staff were just very glad we were there and treated us fantastic. Right across the street is a 7-11 type convenient store and behind that across the street is a Mall with a WalMart size grocery and even a Dairy Queen. The resort is about a 5 minute ride to downtown Los Cabos for shopping. This beach is NOT swimmable, but I got in anyway, 8foot+ waves and strong surf and undertow. I don't think this would be a very good resort for kids. There did not seem to be anything for kids, being October we did not see any school age children, only small toddlers. We don't really need to be entertained but for kids and tweens and adolescents there really is not any activities. We liked this cause it was mainly adults and we just wanted to relax. For all the appointments, the good room, good food, excellent service here is my only beef....No free WiFi. They charge $10 for 24 hours of staggered use but didn't tell us each block purchase shut off after 3 days then you had to purchase another 24 hour block. I know...its only $10 but this should be included in an All-Inclusive package....why?!...because its only $10. Other than the spider bite (photo included) It was a great 7 days. There are vendors on the beach selling tshirts and jewelry, (typical in cabo and los cabos) and horse back riding. And directly across the street is the dolphin experience although we did not participate this trip so I cant advise on that. One final note, this is not a huge resort but not tiny (148 units?), actually smaller than any we have been to but it made it really nice for someone that doesn't want to go to one of the mega resorts. Any of the photos you find online are representative of the resort. So I only uploaded my favorite from the adult pool upstairs. You don't see any people in the photo cause there were not many.

Spider Bite on neck first night in bed 7 days in paradise
19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Austin Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Great time at the Royal Decameron Los Cabos

First time visiting Cabo and we stayed at the Royal Decameron Los Cabos for the 4th of July weekend, 7/3/14-7/7/14. First off, our flight was horrible. Connecting flight with a long layover, delayed, mechanical issues with the plane, everything you could think of. After all the issues, we were pretty bummed about the start of our vacation. When we arrived at the hotel, I have to say I was impressed. The hotel is GORGEOUS. From the landscaping, pool, bar, beach, the rooms..everything exceeded my expectations. The PROs from our experience: **The customer service is on point. Every single staff member we had a conversation with was friendly and more than welcome to help with directions. **About 90% of the staff here speak English and that was big help for us because our Spanish is not that great. Their English may not be perfect, but you can definitely understand them and they can understand you. **Lots of variety food options and the food is quite tasteful. My family preferred the buffet daily because of the variety and daily changes to the menu. The CONs from our experience: **The drive to San Lucas. Because this hotel is located in San Jose, you have to take a Taxi (or your rental car) to San Lucas if that's where you want to visit. We planned on doing most of our shopping and excursions in San Lucas, but did not know it was 25 minutes from our hotel. The taxi trips got pretty expensive towards the end because it was about $40-$50 each way for my family of 4 to go back and forth from the hotel to San Lucas. **The strong currents and massive waves made it impossible to get in the water at the beach. A gentleman staying at our resort actually died trying to take a morning swim. The waves are no joke. The hotel staff will also advise you not get in the water. I even tried putting my feet in the water and was knocked over by the large shore waves. I was scared after that and did not return to the water. It's pretty to look at, but don't get in. **The beds are not that great. Actually, it way too firm. Some nights were pretty uncomfortable from the beds being so hard, but for the most part, when you get back to your room so tired, you don't even think about it. **Please take slippers or socks. I was unaware that the rooms had tile flooring and with our A/C on, the floor got so cold that I had to put on 2 pair of socks to not feel the floor. **If you plan on dinning at the main dinning hall, make a reservation the day before at the front desk. We tried making a reservation the morning of, but they told us reservations are made a day in advance. Overall, our experience was great! To me, the Pros did not outweigh the Cons. I would definitely visit this hotel again even being 25 minutes from San Lucas.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 27, 2014
Would look for something else.

Negatives!!! 1. My room smelled like sewage. We stayed in 148 and the sewage smell was seeping out of the toilet. Very disgusting!! 2. The pools were freezing. No heated pool option. 3. The jacuzzi in the adult only area was room temperature and had no bubbles. All 5 days we were there, the jacuzzi was room temperature and didn't have any bubbles. 4. The swim up pool bars close at 6pm. You then have to walk to a side bar in order to get a drink. Major inconvenience. 5. The pools and jacuzzi close around night fall. If you are young and in love like me then you want to visit the jacuzzi at night. Wellll that's not happening here. 6. They have a nightly show at 9:30pm....however once 11:30pm comes the ENTIRE resort is dead silence. You can hear crickets. They do have a club that is connected to the resort but there wasn't ANYBODY in this place EXCEPT some guys that were locals. 7. This place is San Jose Cabo (very relaxing) not Cabo San Lucas (party town). Positives!!! 1. Buffet was really good and changed daily. 2. Landscaping is GORGEOUS!!! 3. Marcos is the bartender in the lobby. Best drink maker at this resort!


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2015
Seclusion!

Royal Delcameron is the perfect fit if you are looking to get away from the bulk of the croud. Note this hotel is in San Jose, not Cabo - but this is not necessarily a bad thing. Very ideal to walk across to the dolphin excursion and market. Local bus stops every 5-10 mins to go into San Jose town, which is alright. About a 30 min drive to the Cabo marina. Beach is not swimmable, but still nice - this is where the locals go. Food was all in all average, some really good some not good at all. Believe it or not the finger food (pizza etc) was the best. Service was excellent. Dont book the excursions online. Hotel has more accurate info and cheaper rates.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Midland, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 14, 2017
Lots of Fun at Royal Decameron

We had a great time and loved the views, loves the Actvidades and Deportes group, and LOVeD late night shows with circus and fire, Broadway showtimes, and more! Good access to the beach and easy to never want to leave


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2015
I'm glad I didn't pay a lot of money ....

The food was not good, the walls were paper thin. The alcohol was awful with mean bar tenders. For an all inclusive resort I purposely spent most of my time off of it preferring to pay for food and drinks! I would never recommend this resort.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2014
Great, relaxing spot!

Back in the freezing days of Chicago, I was looking forward to a warm vacation in June. After reviewing a CheapCaribbean email, I came across a deal to Cabos that I couldn't pass up! I just returned on June 29th and couldn't have been much happier with my decision. The great - The resort is gorgeously designed. Everything around looks beautiful and comfortable. The views are amazing and almost every room has a balcony/patio. You never have to wait for a chair near the pool. There are plenty available and the place is never overcrowded. The staff are fantastic! Everyone was helpful and the activities people are so much fun! I felt like I was part of the family. The rooms were just ok on the inside. My friend and I took this trip together and I was a bit shocked to learn that we had no bathroom privacy. That was hard, but we got over it. That was minor to us. The food wasn't the best, but it was certainly better than most all-inclusive resorts. We really loved the authentic Mexican food and wished they did more of it. I know they have to cater to all, but we were in Mexico and were excited for it! The bad - the alcohol. I like to drink. But cheap liquor is terrible! I had a hard time with this. If they can just up it a little, it would make a world of difference. Also the pools closed early. That was frustrating. And there isn't a 24hr bar or restaurant. We did not like that we couldn't eat and drink when we wanted. Overall, the resort is small. One buffet and one ala carte restaurant. It offers great entertainment, good food, nice people and a relaxing environment. I would definitely go back!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2015
Enjoyed the hotel

Really like the hotel, staff were very nice and attentive. Good value! Only two downsides for me, the hotel is on the beach and it's beautiful but you cannot swim there the water is too rough and bad current. The other was Spirit Airlines for the great price they give you everything is extra including any luggage or carry on suitcases.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2015
Excellent

Resort exceeded expectations. Room was very clean. Pools had great swim up bars with friendly staff. Resort is located within walking distance of the Mega grocery store and other fast food restaurants. Resort buffet wasn't as big as other all inclusive resorts, but food was better quality. Beach is not a swimming beach due to rough current, but still beautiful to lay out and get some sun.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year