All

Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 26 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.1 out of 5
"Royal Decameron st Anne's bay was fantastic!! Room upgrade to ocean front was spectacular !!! Quiet chill laid back and right on time!! No "spring break" atmosphere.... Loved it!!" – Robntamy
27 out of 32 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset our cottage A beach for everyone Taken from the jetty looking at the dining room and main pool bar Lots of beach Beach bar Sunset at Royal Decameron club Resort Lobby Area One of four small beach areas CaseyAnn and Candi Taken from in front of our Garden Villa, looking down the Beach Garden View Cabanas view at sunset

All Royal Decameron Club Caribbean Customer Reviews

1-10 of 26 reviews. Sort by
July 13, 2014
royal Decameron club Caribbean

This is a nice, quiet resort. Family friendly and overall very relaxing. This is not a developed big hotel property. It is small enough to be quaint but large enough to find a spot of your own so you don't feel crowded. The resort is set up on a good size parcel. Each room (with the exception of one small building) is a separate cottage, roomy and comfortable. Basic accommodations, I would rate 3.5 stars on the typical USA scale. The property is well maintained. The groundsman were working every day I was there cleaning, pruning and primping the grounds. The beaches were raked every day and were very clean. The buildings were maintained as well. I saw no evidence of needing repairs. The staff was friendly although some seemed to be "going through the motions". Wayne and Olisha at the jetty bar were very nice, cheers to them. I would return to this property again. I thought the pictures on the website were misleading, though in a good way I suppose. I think the resort is nicer than the pictures show. The pictures appear to be dated and don't show a lot of work that has been done to improve the property. I have added pictures I took July 2014.

Taken from the jetty looking at the dining room and main pool bar One of four small beach areas
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54

June 23, 2015
Great Romantic Getaway

If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is it. The environment and the ocean are wonderful, especially at night. However, there is not that much to do at the resort if you are looking for activities or family fun. The food is only okay, and the shows at night are not very appropriate for children. I would stick to the chicken and fish...This is a resort best for relaxation. The excursions are pretty cheap though! Make sure to check out the Dunn's River Falls.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24

July 10, 2013

OUr family really enjoyed our time at this resort. OUr villa was clean and comfortable. The bathroom could have used a little updating but it was still nice. The pools were both nice. Ocean access was great. We used the pedal boats.. very fun... kyaks.. also very fun.. best part for me was the Hobie Cat ride! I went 4 times it was so fun! They had a trampoline for the water but it was broken but that would have been fun. We played bocce ball and shuffle board.. They also had tennis . The only negative we found was the food. It may have just been we didn't prefer some of their cultural food. There was always something you could eat it just wasn't that good. If you go with young children it would be hard. They don't serve chicken nuggets or macaroni and cheese etc like we have in America so if you have a picky eater they will be hungry. The night time entertainment was a bit to be desired. Lots of provocative dancing etc not appropriate for children.. Also,, smoking is allowed everywhere and anywhere so that was an adjustment as we aren't use to that here in America. EVERYONE who worked there was friendly! Very nice staff!


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 15, 2015
Great value at a laid back resort

This resort may not be all the bells and whistles like some of the big names, but that's what makes it special. There were not a lot of kids running around screaming but I believe that's because there was not a lot of activities geared to the kiddie crowd. The food was delicious and coffee & tea were available 24/7. I loved the huts, no stairs to climb, easy access. Very clean. Staff are super friendly and eager to help you. The decor in the resort is really special, the wood carvings are everywhere & the plantings are really well groomed. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again & I've been to Jamaica 5 times, never the same place, but I would go back here.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Egypt, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 21, 2014
Don't waste your time of money

Resort grossly misrepresented. Stayed in back building close to street. Listened to VERY loud music from local bar well into the morning. Mini fridge stocked with ONE bottle of water and 2 glasses. Opened back door only to see weeds coming in and run down local apartments. Stayed one night and insisted on being moved. Resort caters to French who come every 2 weeks from JAN to APR. Very disappointed! Should be rated as a "1" star at best.

Don't waste your time of money Don't waste your time of money
17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 23, 2014
I'd move here

.I'd been to Negril before but booked this trip to celebrate a 30th birthday for my friend. 4 girlfriends, two rooms. We all fell in love from the moment we landed in Jamaica. If you're looking for 5 star butler service, go elsewhere. However, if you want an extremely relaxed, peaceful time where you can experience the culture - this is the resort for you. Things are pretty minimal but what do you really need when you're on the beach?!?! There's one main buffet which kept us satisfied the whole time. Very fresh salad bar, quite possibly the best I've ever had, always abundant with fresh fruits, veggies, and meats. Along with different hot foods each meal and breads and sandwich station. Two pools, surprisingly we actually never made it to the quiet pool although I certainly will next time. The beach was great, it's a bay (hence, Runaway Bay) and the ocean is a bit rocky but just bring water shoes! All of the servers and maintenance and activity people were fabulous. We're generally not the activity type but since it's intimate it was fun at times! First - I want to say Cheapcarribean customer service was great leading up to the trip. This was my first time booking with them and it's good to find a company that knows the definition of customer service. One downside is that Cheap Carribean advertises the garden view cottage. When we checked in we were told they were booked but to check back. We checked back adamantly since we were celebrating a 30th but they insisted there were none available. When I showed our voucher and that was what we purchased, I was advised they can't guarantee through anything other than their site. It was a little disappointing as we were told from other guests the huts were awesome. However, we each were so comfortable in our little rooms, NO WORRIES MON! To show you how comfortable, we had requested two beds in each hut/room but they only had one available - king size. We still were comfortable sharing a bed with our friend. If you want to do an excursion, we did the Cool Runnings Dunns River Falls Catamaran. I was hesitant because I had read how touristy it was since you hav eto hold hands walking up the falls. Well it was a BLAST. I'm THANKFUL I had hands to hold because some of the steps were high (for my short legs) and some of the water powerful. We became close with those around us as we hiked the falls, which made for an even better time on the booze cruise on the way back. We paid $40 for the DVD they offer of the hike and it was great! They do a good job of making it memorable and fun! None of us wanted to leave. We've done trips together and for our 30th birthdays - this was our last and I think all of our favorites! It was so PEACEFUL. They truly live the ONE LOVE mentality and it is amazing! I actually hope to go back on my own in the next few months!

I'd move here I'd move here
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2016
great value vacation

all in all this was a very nice vacation, very very clean resort, great food & drinks, really friendly staff! our only negatives were...we really like to just walk the beach & this resort has 4 very nice coves but not really a good beach to just walk, the other is even though the bungalow's are really clean & nice, they tend to be real dark inside, weather its due to lighting or lack or windows. but we were treated very very good & had a great time, would probably go there again. it is a great time at a very good price!! also we did the "booze cruise" that included snorkeling, lunch, climbing the dunne river falls, drinks & dancing back to busses. best excershion ever!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 5, 2013
What a Deal!!!

Had a wonderful time. Everybody was so helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. It was very relaxing. The food was incredible. Very clean place.

Taken from in front of our Garden Villa, looking down the Beach Resort Lobby Area
18 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Newport Center, VT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 16, 2016
Feb 5-11 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at RDC. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained. The cabana concept is unique and we were surprised with connecting units for our traveling companions. This is not a four or five star property but we do not require such. The units are fairly plain but very comfortable. It appeared that the clientele while we were there was an older demographics however, on our departure day it looked like more families were arriving. One great plus was the crowds! We were able to choose our place, be the beach or pool, anytime of the day, no get your towel to your lounge by 6am required! The dining options are a bit more limited than we would like to see. The single buffet restaurant offered a good variety and quality. The other two reservation options were acceptable and allowed for a change from the buffet. Casey Ann and Candi were the best for the daytime pool entertainment and games. Those girls work the crowd and get you involved. This said, we do not want to neglect to mention the entire staff was friendly and helpful in all areas. One consideration is location. Over an hour from MBJ on the north shore and virtually no outside options for shopping within walking. You need to use transportation to reach outside shopping areas. Finally, they accommodated us to extend our stay for the day we lost do to airline issues with the help of Jasmine!

Garden View Cabanas CaseyAnn and Candi
6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nevada, Missouri
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 23, 2014
Huge fan of Jamaica.

I love going to jamaica usually go at least twice a year. I love the Discovery Bay/ Runaway Bay area. I have stayed at other places in the area. My daughter and I stayed at the Royal Decameron this time, it was a smaller more friendly resort than the others. We met a lot of great people from all over the world. The staff were amazing, very friendly and made sure you were having a good time. Everyone seemed to hang out at the pool bar in the evenings and watched the entertainment then the disco was open till 2am. We loved our cottage it was just by the beach and was better than a hotel room as you are not joined to anyone and don't hear anyones noise. I will definitely be going back i the future. Loved it !

Beach bar Sunset
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year