All

Riu Yucatan Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 51 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4.1 out of 5
"Beautiful resort! Great service and everyone is so nice! Only problem is that you literally have to wake up at 5am to save a pool side chair for shade!" – Remo
53 out of 61 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Typical walkway, Jan 2011 View from our balcony Paradise XHel-Ha Riu Yucatan beach Our room Beach view

All Riu Yucatan Customer Reviews

1-10 of 51 reviews. Sort by
January 21, 2011 Featured Review
Riu Yucatan

We chose Riu Yucatan for our first "all inclusive" trip to Mexico. Having never been before, we were apprehensive about what to expect. We chose private transportation from the airport, our driver was very friendly and cautioned us about the time share people, he encouraged us to enjoy our vacation and not to let them waste our time. Excellent advice to anyone. We were greeted at the front desk by very friendly staff, they accomodated our room requests, and made sure we had drink in our hands. They carried our bags to our rooms and made sure we had everything we needed. Room was nice, bed was hard, just like every other review said it would be. We spent 5 nights on the hard bed and we survived. We were warned before we went that the food would be very plain and not to expect much. With the exception of the one night that we made reservations at the "steak house", we ate all our meals in the dining room (buffet). We ate well every meal. Not once did we go away hungry, lots of choices. If you can't find something to eat here, I don't think you could be happy anywhere. Was it the "best" food we ever ate? No. Each of us found something to eat at each meal that we liked though. Plenty of bars throughout the complex, you will never be far from another drink if that is your thing. Evening entertainment............we went to bed early most nights, didn't partake of the shows. But we believe that you get out of anything what you want to. If you depend on someone else to "create" a good time for you, then you probably be disappointed. Beach and pools were the best. Plenty of chairs for everyone. We are from USA, most guests here are European. Europeans like to enjoy the pools and beach. The men wear speedo's and the women go topless, young, old, and in-between. Not a big deal, Not all men should wear speedo's nor should all women go topless, be prepared, deal with it. If it offends you, stay away from the pools/beach, pick a resort that caters more to USA people. Overall..................4 out of 5. We will go back. We don't need to spend a small fortune on our vacation. There isn't room service, or other fancy services. Excellent choice for average working folks on vacation.

View from our balcony Typical walkway, Jan 2011
33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toledo, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2013
Beautiful Resort with Excellent service

1. If you fly Spirit remember to pay for bags on line before you get to the airport 2. When you get to the airport in Cancun, walking out of the terminal there will be people that want to help you but they are selling time share etc. they are somewhat helpful but they want you to come to lunch for a sales pitch (keep on walking out the door) 3. Olympus is the company CheapCaribbean contracts with (Orange shirts, blue pants) they are great and will take good care of you, getting you to your hotel (assuming you paid for transportation in advance which you should), and meeting with you the next day to answer questions and sign you up for excursions. 4. The Rui Yucatan is South of Cancun airport about 35-40 miles and will take 45-60 min depending on how many stops to other hotels. This hotel is in the Playacar area which is a gated community South of Playa del Carmen. You can walk to the city but it will take you a good 30-40minutes. 5. Check in was fast, and yes some people received a drink at check in but we didn’t. They brought the bags up very quickly. Even though it’s a non tipping resort the man stood there waiting for a tip so my wife gave him a few dollars. The buildings are 3 story with steps only. We requested a 3rd floor room for a better view. There are 8 buildings so you have many to pick from, some up by the entrance and opposite side close to the pool/beach. Closer to the pools are noisy, entertainment is every night at outside theater and you may hear this or people at the outside bars next to the pool. The buildings up by the entrance are quiet but a long walk to the pool/beach. 6. Rooms are nice, marble and tile which is good for sand you drag back from the beach. You will have a mini bar free but we only used few pops and beers. The beds are very hard. There is a safe in every room and they tell you to use it. The only noise we heard was from the Rui Palace next door (we left our window wall open at night) but it wasn’t bad. 7. The hotel grounds are beautiful very topical feel, trees and other plants and animals (small critters) running around. The only thing they’re missing is a few more flowers for color. 8. There is a tennis court but we didn’t have time to use it, it was available most of the time we walked by. 9. The Pool area is two large pools connected, with swim up bars. Plenty of chairs but you need to put your towel down on one by 9 or 10 am to reserve they will fill up. The best ones for us were overlooking the beach (cool air). 10. The beach is large with many chairs, palm trees providing some shade, water was great. You can rent sail boat (which we did), kayak, snorkel equipment from the dive shop but only one per day for one hour. We didn’t know that until the last day but enjoyed our sailboat ride. Also, there’s scuba in the pool every day for people who haven’t tried it (free) 15min . If you enjoy it, they have a class for $90 which includes actual ocean scuba session after the pool training. 11. There’s two main bars, in the entrance lobby which isn’t that big but dozen tables, and also open air bars back by the pool and entertainment stage. The bars at the pool get busy in the afternoon and early evenings before dinner. And yes, tipping a few dollars always gets better service. The drinks are water down but that is a good thing otherwise it would get out of hand. 12. Dinner is at the buffet in the main building, or steakhouse, Mexican, Asian. The Mexican was a disappointment, texmex food not local and not many choices. The steakhouse was ok the steaks are very thin but tasted good. The buffet had lots to pick from. Overall the food was OK at best, this is not their strong point. 13. Excursions, we booked through Olympus (the representative was in the lobby every morning) but there are many other companies in the lobby you could go through. Ours was snorkel at Akumal bay, open cenote, and underground cave and included lunch. I would recommend the company, the tour was Mayan Adventure (the company had a similar name like Adventure Mayan etc). The big tours in the is area are Xcaret, XPLOR and Xel Ha, which are owned by the same company and each offer different things to do. Each one is approximately $130 but if you but more than one there’s a discount. If we go back for a full week, we’ll probably do all three. 14. The people at the resort (guests) were from Europe and other parts of Latin American. So you will hear a lot of German, Spanish being spoke. For us this was a positive, very mix crowd makes the trip more interesting talking to people from outside the US. Age group was middle age 30-50, some families, singles and many couples. Many large groups traveling as extended families. We went during spring break in March and surprised not to find many college age kids there (were told they all go to cancun) 15. Rui has 6 resorts in the area. You can visit the others in your price class and have drinks, lunch and use the pool. The Tequila is right across the street, it has a better lobby bar (open to the outside). People at the Tequila will share your beach area. The Playacar is two hotels down on the beach side, we visited the pool mid afternoon a few times and there were more “adult” games going one (drinking beer competitions) so it was more entertaining. But also more people getting drunk…. 16. They have entertainment all day long for the guests, afternoon games volleyball, soccer on the beach, kayak races in the pool etc, and at night musical production of some kind. We didn’t stay for the nightly entertainment, if you’ve been on a cruise think lower level. It would be nicer if they had a band play and night. We didn’t stay up long enough to go to the disco. 17. Service was outstanding. People were great, this is one of their strengths. 18. Overall a great 3 star resort, would highly recommend and maybe go back some day. After we were leaving the resort was closing for three months to get an upgrade.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ann Arbor Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 12, 2012
Best trip ever

Wow thats all I can say!!!! Cheap Caribbean makes the trip a breeze. The RIU yucatan was the best Riu we have stayed in. This was our 5th time in Mexico and have always stayed at Riu hotels but by far the Yucatan was the best. The landscape was awesome the rooms great the food well its any resort food but great. The beach WOW and the things to do at the hotel were so much fun. Thanks Cheap Caribbean for making our trip so special. Cannot wait to book again


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: buffalo New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 5, 2011
22 Enjoyable Days

This was our 3rd stay at a Riu Resort. At Riu you are never pestered to buy time shares as you are in most other resorts. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Meals were generally very good. The entertainment was usually very well done (some of the floor shows were of Los Vegas quality!). The daily activities were also very well done. We will be going back to another Riu resort in February!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia, USA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL!!

I hope before you book this hotel you will read this comment. We booked our trip at Cheap Caribbean over a phone and was amazing experience. Everything was as advertised online. Price was good and trip as we planed. Once we arrived, staff was bit friendly but room we booked (double queen bed) was not ready even we arrived around 3PM so after 40 min of waiting at lobby they offered us "better" room in building close to pool and beach for inconvenience. Once we got to room we got shocked with bed and location. Was in building which is far away from beach and pool but it is what it is, its vacation time so lets enjoy it...Once we open a door we got even better surprise. What they did they attached two full size beds and make one huge bed and add one small hospital bed with mattress for a kid. If you are trying to sleep on middle of the bed there is a huge chance you will end up on floor since bed was on small wheels and you will fall between. Moving around like crazy. In bathroom THERE IS NO DOOR! No privacy at all. If you like to take shower you will have to tell others to go on balcony or outside since everyone can see you. Celling tiles were hanging up so you can see between walls. Huge rust spot on shower tub. Now This hotel is rated as 5 Star hotel but remember to bring your own hair shampoo, conditioner, tooth paste or any small things every hotel offers for free at this hotel is not even available. Towels are changed on daily basis but they don't use any softener so they feel hard like carpet. For entertainment they have TV but with most of Spanish channels. I do understand we are in Mexico but majority of visitors are English spoken visitors so they should have more English language channels. INTERNET COST $15 DOLLARS A DAY and it is super slow.. Feels like they are using AOL disc dial up net. You have available 90 min a day for free at lobby but once expires you have to wait 24 hours to use it again and if you like to use it please used all at once because they are timing you from sign in..Beach is great. Nice clean sand but seaweed was miles long on the beach and you have to climb over to get to the water... Poor employees are trying to clean up but what they need is huge tractor to clean up. Six major hotels are located along same beach and they use human power to clean tons of weed every day and according to manager on site "Cost to much dinnero" to buy a machine to clean up and pick up seaweed. Pool are ok but seems to many people in it so water is bit dirty. Pool with bar is a challenge. If you get early you might get into clean water, later on not so much.. Food was A+..Same kind of dishes in every restaurant but was nice, clean and service was superb. If you go outsidea hotel to little plaza with stores please think twice if you like to buy a gift or something for your self. They are ripping people off. Bottle of tequila cost 69 dollars and same bottle I purchased at Airport for $23 and if you buy two you will get one for free so cost was $46 for 3 bottles of Harnitos Barrel tequila black so please think twice. If you like to book a visit to Tulum make sure you try to find a tour guide name Jorge or George ("his American name") and you will have fun with it. Him and his driver Sergio are two awesome guys. We book it at lobby with Gabriela at CheapCarribean desk. Now I will rate this hotel as best 3 star hotel and only way I will stay here again if they give me free vacation for week with flight otherwise NO WAY! Not worth a money and headaches you might have. 5 Star hotel should give you 5 star treatment not being cheap on small items which you need in this days. SPEED UP NET RIU YUKATAN GUYS AND TEACH YOUR FRONT DESK AND CLEANING CREW SOME MANNERS. WE DO NEED VACATIONS SPOTS BUT YOU GUYS NEED US TOO TO COME IN AND SPEND MONEY AT YOUR HOTEL NOT AT HOTEL NEXT DOOR!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Arlington Hts, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 28, 2012
Friendly Staff

I can"t say enough about the friendliness of all the workers. The moment we got there, at 7:00 A.M., we were taken care of. The grounds were beautiful. Perfect location on the beach not far from downtown. The beds were way too firm. We had two full beds put together. They need to be replaced with a king bed.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Loveland, Colorado
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2016
Awesome Vacation

Very nice resort. Pools and bars were really good. Different kinds through out the hotel. Shows are at a high level and varied ever day. Activities for the family all. Access to other two hotel from the chain. Both of them with different themes that make your vacation a really experience. Rooms are well prepared and set for your relax. Although we had a minor issue but they fixed right away. Personnel very welcoming aside from a few bartenders. Dining options varied but all with limited menu options depending on the time you arrive. The buffet was always top notch. Beach beautiful and you can walk along it to see the other resorts and people.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2012
Great value

The resort is great. Its very modern and up to to date. The pros: its close to the beach, so a short walk from any room, and that the staff was kind and friendly. its close walk to the riu Tequila, whereyou can go tcheck out their pool and restaurants also. They have a better beach bar pool then the yucatan for sure. cons" the poor bars close Early like around 6 or 7 however the other bars around there were open later. Seems like things calm down there after 11pm. Overall a great resort and a great time. If you wanted some action its a 7.00 cab ride to 5th ave downtown, which was a blast. i would definetly recommend this hotel!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
I loved the Riu Yucatan!!

This was my 2nd time to Riviera Maya, Mexico and I am so glad that we went through Cheap Caribbean and stayed at the Riu Yucatan. I loved the exclusitivity of the Playacar Area, The grounds were gorgeous and there was so much wildlife! We especially liked the jungle-like areas around the hotel. It was awesome seeing the monkeys and my BF even fed one a banana! ( Even though you're not supposed to.) The staff was incredible, excellent service and great and friendly personalities. The food choices were amazing and I especially liked the watermelon carvings. The only complaint that I had was that the beds were a little uncomfortable and I would liked to have had a small coffeepot in the room.It was a little hike to get my 1st cup of coffee. The location was excellent too! Would definitely recommend ot to others!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2011
great resort!

The Yucatan is one of the best on the beach!! This was our second visit to The Riu Yucatan. Very friendly staff, and a clean resort. Our two favorite bartenders, J' Cruz and Eduardo are the best!!! The beds are a little hard and simple...but you dont spend much time in them anyway. 4/11/11

great resort!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year