All

Riu Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 39 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.9 out of 5
"Had a great vacation with friends. Resort staff was always helpful, friendly, smiling. Facilities were good, had a great time, cant wait till our next trip." – babraham
30 out of 41 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach View Deco Castle in the Sky View from ocean Great sunsets!

All Riu Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 39 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
great vacation

My daughter and I had a great time at the Riu Vallarta. The staff go out of their way to make sure everyone is having fun. The food was good and the beach location was a short walk to Bucerias for a look at a non tourist town. Everything we needed was there so you don,t need to go into town if you don.t want .


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Clemente CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 2, 2013
Whoops

I booked the wrong hotel. i was master of my vacation, checking lots of sites looking for the deal of deals. I thought I had found it and booked. I arrived at the airport and asked for the Riu Palace, my wife looked puzzled, we are not staying there she tells me, we are at the Riu Vallarta? I assume she is wrong and go the the Palace...Oh dear, she is right our reservation is down the road. How bad can it be? It was bad! Lobby is an open air sauna, the staff are doing their best but nothing is running smoothly. There is free internet for 90 mins in lobby otherwise $15 a day for 1 device. The internet in the lobby was the slowest I have experienced, unusable so you have to pay, I refused and used my phone data as it is unlimited in Mexico my wife had work and needed a good connection. The food was awful, the buffet was bad to very bad the restaurants not much better. The lunch buffet was probably where Alfred Hitchcock was inspired to create "The Birds" as you ducked the constant attacks from these experienced black winged food assassins. This area was converted into the "steak restaurant" at night and was slightly hotter then my oven at home. Terrible. The adult pool was a stagnant pond of sun tan lotion and split drinks and horribly warm, we were scared to get in. Day 3 of our 6 day trip I went to the Riu Palace and asked about switching, no problem just tell the Riu Vallarta front desk they can "upgrade" you. I asked at the front desk who wrote down 300, 600 or 900 for us both to move, I was thinking dollars, but ok we have to move! No the clerk tells me this is pesos! Ok do the maths about $25 for us both to move hotels for 3 nights, DONE! The Riu Palace was fantastic! Food amazing, room beautiful, staff superb, pool clean and spectacular, beach amazing and free internet for 4 devices was included! I would strongly advise if you are looking at this area and more directly the Riu resorts you chose the Riu Palace, you will not be disappointed as it will deliver what you should expect from an all-inclusive trip to Mexico, even the shows my wife makes me watch were fun and entertaining at the Riu Palace. Maybe after the sour of Riu Vallarta the sweet of the Riu Palce tasted even sweeter but my wife was already planning coming back before we left. So chose carefully your happiness depends on pushing the right button, not all Riu's are created equally! Cheers N


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: San Francisco
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 12, 2011

Rui Vallarta is a beautiful place. This was our first time in Mexico and in Rui, so we didn't know what to expect..People working there were so warm and welcoming. Loved the bartenders who made awesome drinks. Everyone who was working there had a smile on their face which made a difference. We went in the peak season but the service was still exceptional. The managers were constantly making sure things were running smooth at all time. The Entertainment team at the resort were very friendly. This place was amazing and I would Love to visit one of the other Rui Location.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY/NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2011
Amazing on several levels!!!!

We traveled with another couple to the RIU Vallarta in April of 2011. I'll sum it up the best I can: Front desk staff - great, prompt, and friendly. Restaurants - The buffet was just as good (if not better) than any of the reservation restaurants on-site. I can't say enough about the food. The rooms: Beautiful, especially with the Jr. Suite upgrade (worth it!!!). Awesome views of the Sierra Madres mountain range and the ocean....not to mention the famous sunsets I heard so much about. The bars: I will have to say, awesome bloody's, great margaritas, and the beer...actually ice cold!!! (unlike other resorts I've been to in Mexico). The staff around the pool/beach area is there to make sure you are happy. I think we all agreed that the staff made the whole vacation what it was. Jesse and Moi, you guys were fantastic. The Michael Jackson show gave us chills it was so good. I just really don't have any complaints. It was one of the best times of our lives, and we aren't new to the "all-inclusive" world either.

Amazing on several levels!!!!
5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 26, 2012
Wonderful trip

Excellent hotel, transportation, food and drink. While there are some negative reviews of this hotel, we found no issues with RIU Vallarta. Just go and have a good time. Hotel staff were very friendly.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2012
Very Disappointed

We were very disappointed in our trip to the RIU Vallarta. We had stayed with the RIU in the Bahamas a year ago and it was awesome! So, we had high expectations of this location. We were 2 of the maybe 15 people in the entire resort that spoke English, it was mainly locals on vacations with their familes. Which, that is great, I wouldn't mind them being there, but, I am no kidding when I say, they were the rudest people I have ever been around. They led by examplel for their children by cutting in lines, walking in front of you to load their plates at the buffet, and not letting you get off the elevator until they were all on! We couldn't get in the water the entire trip b/c it was filled with Jellyfish and stingrays the entire 6 days. TAKE BUGSPRAY!!! The mosquitos were so bad we couldn't go out after the sun went down. So, we couldn't enjoy any of the live shows in th theatre! We tried to purchase bugspray from the gift shop 3 days in a row and they kept saying to come back the next day. We never had ANY bugspray! The gourmet and the Japanese restaraunts were really good. The steak one was outside so we were ate up by mosquitos, I think my husband had 27 bites, even thru his shirt, the next day. The food at the buffet was the same everyday. One day out of 6 they had some shrimp and a chocolate fountain, other than that, tortillas, nachos, and fajita meat (5 ways) are your choices! Our room was very humid, so humid and hot that my gum melted in my purse in our room and my husbands cell phone battery expanded with moisture and his phone crashed! Which was an extra bummer b/c all of our pictures from the trip were on his phone, so, no pics from the trip to even share! Probably will not go back to this resort or to Puerto Vallarta! The staff on the other hand were incredibly nice and recognized us everyday, they were a lot of fun! We really enjoyed the entertainment staff as well, Brenda, Lucax, Vanessa, Onesima, and Hector, you all were a real highlight to our vacation!!!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 22, 2012
Beautiful Resort.

My husband and I just return from Riu Vallarta, the resort was very charming and clean. We had such a relaxing time that we'll be back in the near future. We had only one issue that was very disappointing, we purchase 2 tickets to see the whales, when the morning came to meet the driver, (which we had to walk 2 resorts down, not a big deal, just saying)... the driver never came to pick us up! My husband and I was very disappointed with the company, no one ever called to cancel, they did return our money very quickly after my husband talked with them in the lobby of the hotel, but we never did see the whales!!!(One saving grace is that we purchase the tickets on the resort property, probably wouldn't received our money had we bought it on the street, buyer beware! But all in all, the resort very charming, one of the most beautiful ones I have been to in Mexico! that's not a 5*.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington State
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 17, 2015
North of Puerto Vallarta

We had a good experience. The resort is located in Nuevo Vallarta which is north of Puerto Vallarta. The taxi ride from the airport is about 20-25 minutes. Definitely make dinner reservations for the non-buffet restaurants. In my opinion, these restaurants are better and the service is better too. Some of the evening entertainment was good, and some of it was mediocre at best. The beach was good and there are plenty of palm trees to provide shade if you get too much sun. There are no clocks anywhere, not even in your room, so bring a watch. There is free wifi in the lobby area and in the bar next to the lobby. As mentioned in other reviews, the beds are hard. We went on nice walks along the beach at sunset. There are lots of resorts all up and down the beach.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Denver, CO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 11, 2016
RIU VALLARTA

After landing in Puerta Vallarta, walk over the bridge to catch a cab. Less expensive. Negotiate prices BEFORE leaving in cab Beds are hard as a rock. Ask for pillow toppers Staff is AMAZING!!! The best service I have ever received Prepare to get up by 5:00 am to reserve a pool chair. Ridiculous Large pool but not enough chairs! Same goes for the beach chairs. Food was good. Everyone found something each meal they liked. Plates are HOT! Alcoholic drinks are WEAK! I am a light weight and NEVER had a buzz even after drinking ALL day. Great for me, bad for people who were looking to be buzzed over their trip If you need the kick, buy a bottle in town and add to your drink Pool activities through out the day. Activities team is energized! Some music is inappropriate for young ears. Mine too Evening entertainment is nightly. Music, shows and a lot of kid and parent interaction. Reservations can be made from 8:00-2:00 for two nights. Gourmet is allowed only once. Women were dressed nice for dinner. Gourmet requires dress pants for men WIFI is weak. We had to log on each time in the lobby or hanging over the balcony Sand is HOT Bring water shoes to walk the beach. We always walked to the left because the sand was smoother than going to the right ( unless during low tide ) Activity directors in the lobby Nice family getaway. Met a lot of nice families with kids. Older kids 15-21, went to the disco at 11:00 pm . They said is was okay. Music, but dark


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
I won't recommand

my family and I went to visit this Riu on 06/2014. We stayed for 9 days. The food wasn't that good, some of the staff members were rude, the worst staff members were working the front desk. I had to give one of the front desk employees (Alex) $30 to get a room with nice view, even thou I already paid for an ocean view. the front desk in general was horrible to deal with, it is like we were bothering them every time we asked them for something. This is not the first time we stay at a RIU, but probably will be the last.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Rockwall, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year