All

Riu Playacar Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"The RIU Team did a great job of service and accomodations of thier guests. All requests were embracecd and facilitated." – NeckNutts
52 out of 58 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fountain in riu playacar restaurant The Beach! Wonderful View and plenty of chairs! riu playacar's beach at the pool

All Riu Playacar Customer Reviews

1-10 of 46 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2011
Nice resort, getting a bit frayed

This was my third stay at the Riu Playacar. The service and selections are good, but are eclipsed by the offerings at other resorts in the area at the same price point. The rooms are getting a bit tired, worn bedspreads mismatched towels, ceiling fans with only one speed, minor yes, but again for the same money there are other choices. The staff is a bright spot, they work hard and are so very pleasant to interact with. The beach has been restored to its pre-hurricane glory and is among the finest you will find. The advantage the Playcar still offers it that it's not the loud party crowd of the Yucatan, so if you are looking to rest and recuperate, it's still a good choice. Vaya con Dios!


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Great place for the price....just one complaint

I had a great vacation and the resort was a very good value for the price. I heard complaints about the AC not being too efficient and beds being too hard, but both worked fine for me. Food was good. We didn't care for the other restaurants but the buffet had great variety and the food was fresh.The service was good and everybody was really nice.I have one major complaint though..our room was never ready before 5/6 pm.More than once we had to leave or wait outside while they were cleaning. I want to point out that we always left the room in the morning around 10 and twice at 7:30.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 10, 2012
just okay

This is my second RIU stay. It was just okay. The rooms could use some renovation. The process for reserving in restaurants was much better. The buffet food was okay, not terrible not great. Although lobster night was not good ...some undercooked some overcooked and mushy. The service with transportation vouchers was horrible. We had Edgar with olympus tours, the partner with cheap carribean. He was horrible, unprofessional and rude. I did not experience this before at my RIU stay in Jamaica (which was waaaaaaay better). I probably will not do a RIU again and I'm on the fence as to whether or not I will use cheap Caribbean.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Beautiful Beach

Location of resort was wonderful, Was able to walk to town in 30 minutes. Friendly and safe area. Beach and pool area beautiful. Daily and nightly entertainment. Good food. Room needs work but we overlooked due to beautiful surroundings


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 2, 2014
It's the best

This was our 3rd time staying at the Riu Playacar. By far the best visit yet. The food has improved tremendously. The resort size is perfect for us old people, not too big so not too much walking. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff is wonderful. I will say we are already planning to go again next year.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Muncie, Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 29, 2012
Everything great but the rooms

We just got back on Nov. 21st, 2012 and the Riu Playacar has a great location, very tasty food, amazing entertainment team managed by Israel and Al and the kids club is managed by one of the nicest ladies there... Diana. She is amazing with kids and so is Magda. Our 7 year old and almost 5 year old daughters just loved them, and let me say that they are usually not big fans of kids clubs. Even though there are only few restaurants there, the food is great in all of the buffet restaurants. We tried the Stake house and it was so so in terms of the food, but the service was great. On the down side, during lunch there were hardly any waiters asking what we would like to drink... we had to get it ourselves, but it was not that much of an issue... just something to get use to. The pools are not the greatest but they are fine, and the beach is amazing.... soft white sand. We loved everything there but the room. It was the worse room we have ever had in Mexico and we have been going to Riviera Maya for 15 years. We asked for a different room and I have to say that the front desk was not the friendliest or willing to help. They said all of the rooms are just like ours (which is not true). I'm not going to say much other than the beds are so small (especially if you have 2 adults and 2 kids in a room) and ssssssooooo uncomfortable (even with the topper), the pillows are like a brick and the covers on the beds are so old and dirty that we simply took them off and put them away for the whole week. And the decor is so out of date. But that is all going to change soon since they will be closing the hotel soon and rebuilding the whole resort. The rooms are just not to RIU standards.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 21, 2014
upgraded to the riu palace

the palace is very grand and beautiful. the value is excellent. the service is excellent. the beach is gorgeous. there is blue clear water with a sandy beach. lounge chairs, hammocks and palm trees. the pool has sitting areas in it and swim up bar. not heated though. the dining options is all you can eat. we always ate at the Don Manolo buffet. this was excellent. the food was always cooked to perfection. even the shrimp wasn't overcooked. the food looked beautiful. the other restaurants that you can make reservations for we did not enjoy. we felt it was the buffet food but we couldn't pick what we wanted. the room was very nice, area for suitcases. coffee maker. bar, fridge. 2 sink bathroom and Jacuzzi tub. there is also a sitting area with a couch. there is a tv, but the channels didn't work well. the bed was comfortable also.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: huntington beach, california
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
amazing

Never did an all inclusive before and this place left a great impression! Would definitely do it again. Choice of places to eat was plentiful. Great customer service.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2015
good vaca on a budget

beach, drinks, pools, resort grounds, and atmosphere were great. 2 cons: our room never really got cool and the food was well below average. only the italian place had decent food.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: st louis, mo
Age: 35-44

May 16, 2016
First time in Mexico

This was my first time to travel to Mexico and I was really excited. Overall, it was fun and the beach was beautiful. I really liked the all inclusive part of this trip and the resort was nice. The resort and our room were clean and comfortable. The dining choices were ok, but there was only one restaurant that was a sit down and be waited on type, the others were buffet style. It would have been nice had there more choices or if you were allowed to eat at the other "sister" resorts. One night in the town outside of the resort was enough. Next time I will not stay as long and will not go outside of the resort as much. Actually next time, I might just go to Florida.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year