All

Riu Playacar Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"beach, drinks, pools, resort grounds, and atmosphere were great. 2 cons: our room never really got cool and the food was well below average. only the italian place had decent food." – dmac19
52 out of 58 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fountain in riu playacar restaurant at the pool The Beach! Wonderful View and plenty of chairs! riu playacar's beach

All Riu Playacar Customer Reviews

1-10 of 46 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2011
Nice resort, getting a bit frayed

This was my third stay at the Riu Playacar. The service and selections are good, but are eclipsed by the offerings at other resorts in the area at the same price point. The rooms are getting a bit tired, worn bedspreads mismatched towels, ceiling fans with only one speed, minor yes, but again for the same money there are other choices. The staff is a bright spot, they work hard and are so very pleasant to interact with. The beach has been restored to its pre-hurricane glory and is among the finest you will find. The advantage the Playcar still offers it that it's not the loud party crowd of the Yucatan, so if you are looking to rest and recuperate, it's still a good choice. Vaya con Dios!


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Great place for the price....just one complaint

I had a great vacation and the resort was a very good value for the price. I heard complaints about the AC not being too efficient and beds being too hard, but both worked fine for me. Food was good. We didn't care for the other restaurants but the buffet had great variety and the food was fresh.The service was good and everybody was really nice.I have one major complaint though..our room was never ready before 5/6 pm.More than once we had to leave or wait outside while they were cleaning. I want to point out that we always left the room in the morning around 10 and twice at 7:30.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 10, 2012
just okay

This is my second RIU stay. It was just okay. The rooms could use some renovation. The process for reserving in restaurants was much better. The buffet food was okay, not terrible not great. Although lobster night was not good ...some undercooked some overcooked and mushy. The service with transportation vouchers was horrible. We had Edgar with olympus tours, the partner with cheap carribean. He was horrible, unprofessional and rude. I did not experience this before at my RIU stay in Jamaica (which was waaaaaaay better). I probably will not do a RIU again and I'm on the fence as to whether or not I will use cheap Caribbean.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Beautiful Beach

Location of resort was wonderful, Was able to walk to town in 30 minutes. Friendly and safe area. Beach and pool area beautiful. Daily and nightly entertainment. Good food. Room needs work but we overlooked due to beautiful surroundings


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 21, 2014
upgraded to the riu palace

the palace is very grand and beautiful. the value is excellent. the service is excellent. the beach is gorgeous. there is blue clear water with a sandy beach. lounge chairs, hammocks and palm trees. the pool has sitting areas in it and swim up bar. not heated though. the dining options is all you can eat. we always ate at the Don Manolo buffet. this was excellent. the food was always cooked to perfection. even the shrimp wasn't overcooked. the food looked beautiful. the other restaurants that you can make reservations for we did not enjoy. we felt it was the buffet food but we couldn't pick what we wanted. the room was very nice, area for suitcases. coffee maker. bar, fridge. 2 sink bathroom and Jacuzzi tub. there is also a sitting area with a couch. there is a tv, but the channels didn't work well. the bed was comfortable also.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: huntington beach, california
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
amazing

Never did an all inclusive before and this place left a great impression! Would definitely do it again. Choice of places to eat was plentiful. Great customer service.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2015
good vaca on a budget

beach, drinks, pools, resort grounds, and atmosphere were great. 2 cons: our room never really got cool and the food was well below average. only the italian place had decent food.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: st louis, mo
Age: 35-44

May 16, 2016
First time in Mexico

This was my first time to travel to Mexico and I was really excited. Overall, it was fun and the beach was beautiful. I really liked the all inclusive part of this trip and the resort was nice. The resort and our room were clean and comfortable. The dining choices were ok, but there was only one restaurant that was a sit down and be waited on type, the others were buffet style. It would have been nice had there more choices or if you were allowed to eat at the other "sister" resorts. One night in the town outside of the resort was enough. Next time I will not stay as long and will not go outside of the resort as much. Actually next time, I might just go to Florida.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 14, 2017
Loved it here!

This is our 3rd RIU stay in a few locations. The service and food here was impeccable. Lots to do with kids and they have a great kiddy play pool as well as nightly disco parties for them. Overall an amazing trip and could not say more about the riu service and consistently work the brand!

Loved it here!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 26, 2013
good stay(lock your room)

To begin We had a good vacation. The weather did not cooperate to start but as the week went on it improved. November is usually a good month in Mexico. food: as usual the 1st 4 or 5 days it was wonderful but as the week continued it was ok..... so as usual Id say it was average or better. the service there was PERFECT (I do leave a small tip EVERY meal) drinks: watered down in some cases unless you ask, they will "FIX it up" service here excellent (again small tip each trip to bar) property: It was ok however we traveled to nearby associate properties(permitted) and that was wonderful... other pools were better but THIS property has the BEST BEACH of them all. Very gradual slope to the beach unlike the other nearby properties this adds to the value of this property and its experience entertainment: what can I say..it sucked unless you speak Spanish I spoke to all the English speaking people(Canadiens,Brits, Americans etc) that WAS the GENERAL consenus TERRIBLE Their English is enough to communicate as hosts but not good enough to entertain because of the struggle for us to understand their rapid speech The town Playa del Carmen(1/2 hr walk or $7 taxi ride) ...GREAT Cozumel ($13 45 min boat ride from Playa) ...Great however go only when a cruise ship is docked during the day otherwise it can be dead(many shops close) without the influx from a ship NOW HERE IS THE PROBLEM We have traveled all over the world 4 times a year OR MORE but we never had our things bothered THIS time room service riffled through our luggage and stole $180(assortment of bills.....mostly the big ones) of course they left $50 or so really not a big deal but we felt a bit VIOLATED through OUR stupidity. A purse was left in a suitcase after a quick trip to the room to get TIP MONEY instead of the safe. HOW dumb can we be..... I must admit I(husband) got a lot of yardage since my wife continually harps on me to lock everything...HAHA whos the dumby now HONEY!!!!!! We continued on and had a wonderful time with our $180 advanced course on travel. Hope this helps

at the pool
6 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh Pa.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations