All

Riu Playacar Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"beach, drinks, pools, resort grounds, and atmosphere were great. 2 cons: our room never really got cool and the food was well below average. only the italian place had decent food." – dmac19
52 out of 58 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fountain in riu playacar restaurant The Beach! Wonderful View and plenty of chairs! at the pool riu playacar's beach

All Riu Playacar Customer Reviews

31-40 of 46 reviews. Sort by
October 31, 2011
Riu Playacar

She got a facelift but she still has old bones. The grounds are beautiful and the cleanliness is impressive but the rooms are still 2 star. Fortunately you don't spend much time there! However, you return to sleep. The beds are what I would imagine Fred Flintstone would have if he was a bedwetter. They are hard as rocks and are wrapped in a plastic matress liner. The crunch of plastic is deafening in the middle of the night. The breakfast is outstanding. So many choices and great service! Dinner choices are an Asian, Mexican, and steakhouse. You can always go to the buffet if you don't make reservations for the others. All dinners are less than satisfactory. We have awesome Asian food at home so comparitively, the food here is bland. The Mexican choice is adequate but disappointing since you're in MEXICO. The steak in the steakhouse is tough and not flavorful. Oh well. Fill up on breakfast, and lunch(nice selections) and live it up outside. The two pools are quite different. The activities are in the pool with the bar and the other 'quiet' pool isn't so much. The "whoops" and "woo's" echo throughout the hotel and the techno music is annoying. Head to the beach!


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Seattle, Wa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 13, 2017
great resort

resort was great I did request a 2 'nd floor room but was given a third floor room with no balcony and windows that looked at a wall . No elevators ! The room thermostat was preset to 23 degree C and could not be changed only turned off,, which the maid did daily ! Food was good allthough never did the steak house . Went scuba diving with Scuba Caribe ( the in house operator ) but were told to walk 1/2 mile down beach to dive shop, this was never advertised . Beach and pools were good ,, drinks were OK . Check in and out were easy .


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: penna
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2017
one of the best vacations ever

this is an amazing resort with lots of great and friendly people! i only had one issues! booking transportation with the package seems unfair to me! you pay for transportation from airport to resort and back but if you don't sit thru their sales speach for excursions they are rude to you when you attempt to schedule your return to the airport! if i have to sit thru a sales pitch then i should get the transportation free! this made me really mad and completely ruined a day of my trip! rest was amazing just a suggestion you may want to ask them to tone down on the sales pitch and attitude when customers have already paid for a service up front


1 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: wheeling, wv
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 4, 2011
Get what you pay for

Everyone was very nice. We enjoyed staying here. The beds were a little uncomfortable, but that would be the only complaint we had! The beach was beautiful!


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St. Louis MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 4, 2013
RIU Playacar - Great Value for the Money

The RIU Team did a great job of service and accomodations of thier guests. All requests were embracecd and facilitated.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2013
Riu playacar, playacar mecico

Enjoyed my stay . Service was great! Maria and ohmar were very friendly and they provided alot of activities to keep us busy. I would recommend snorkeling from the hotel. We snorkeled with turtles. I enjoyed it more than the snorkeling at cosmel. Staff at check in was very friendly and fast at checking us in. Steak house was good. Great stay, thanks to everyone


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 29, 2013
Enjoyable stay

Double room - a bit outdated, wasn't the best but wasn't the worst either. Didn't spend much time in the room anyway. AC worked well, beds/pillows were fine, mini bar was nice. If you're picky about the bed linens, blankets, towels etc you can always bring your own. If you're looking for a modern/high class room then you should go somewhere else. If these things don't bug you then you're all set! Food/drinks - I was overwhelmed by all the options served at the buffets. In my opinion, the food was great; no upset stomach, no food poisoning. Restaurants served great food; make your reservations upon arrival, the sooner the better. Juices and sodas weren't that great, they had an awkward taste. Alcoholic drinks were good, a few were watered down but it might depend on the drink? I saw a woman who was very drunk so I guess the drinks were good enough. Nightly entertainment - Excellent! Every show was fun/funny/entertaining. No complaints here. Beach/pool - The beach was spectacular. Calm waters, gorgeous colors, truly amazing. Plenty of beach lounges. Pool was great too. Swim up bar was never crowded. Staff - overall very friendly and helpful. Some male staff members seemed shy and very humble so they might not communicate as much, but others are outgoing and funny, so I guess it all depends on their personalities. Don't forget to tip your waiters/waitresses, bar tenders, and maids! They work hard and deserve a little extra; they'll appreciate the tips and serve you better.

Enjoyable stay
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 21, 2013
Laid back honeymoon

The resort is a very laid back, comfortable resort. So, if you're looking to party, this is not the place. There were more older adults and families than younger people. We loved that about the resort. There was no pressure to participate in activities, or to party! We were able to choose what we wanted to do without feeling pressured by the staff. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was decorated for our honeymoon, which was nice. I only have two complaints: the room had 2 double beds put together, so my husband and I couldn't really sleep together due to the crack between the two beds; and the buffet food wasn't the greatest. The steakhouse was awesome, and the asian restaurant was decent, but not the best I've ever had. All in all, we had a wonderful time and would go here again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tyler, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Great Experience with Riu

This review is for the Playa Car. Although we did not get to stay there this time due to them being overbooked. They upgraded us to the Palace but we have stayed at the Playa Car a couple years ago. We liked the layout of the Playa Car with 6 different colored buildings for the rooms. We hear they are going to go away from this layout in the near future. Rooms were nice beds a little to firm for our taste. The food was good both at the buffet and speciality restaurants. Staff and service friendly and accommodating.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Yantis Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 11, 2014
Wonderful trip!

The decision to vacation in beautiful playa del Carmen at the RIU Playacar was a great one and I would recommend the resort to everyone. The food was great with lots of choices at all meals. We did try the Mexican themed restaurant one night, and I personally felt the buffet was better. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and it was never difficult to find a lounger. The pool areas were a bit more crowded and finding chairs for 2 of us together was sometimes difficult but we preferred the beach anyway. It was a 25min walk to playa del Carmen where there were lots of shops. I would definitely go back!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North carolina
Age: 25-34

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations