All

Riu Playacar Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"The RIU Team did a great job of service and accomodations of thier guests. All requests were embracecd and facilitated." – NeckNutts
52 out of 58 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fountain in riu playacar restaurant The Beach! Wonderful View and plenty of chairs! riu playacar's beach at the pool

All Riu Playacar Customer Reviews

31-40 of 46 reviews. Sort by
November 4, 2011
Get what you pay for

Everyone was very nice. We enjoyed staying here. The beds were a little uncomfortable, but that would be the only complaint we had! The beach was beautiful!


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St. Louis MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 4, 2013
RIU Playacar - Great Value for the Money

The RIU Team did a great job of service and accomodations of thier guests. All requests were embracecd and facilitated.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2013
Riu playacar, playacar mecico

Enjoyed my stay . Service was great! Maria and ohmar were very friendly and they provided alot of activities to keep us busy. I would recommend snorkeling from the hotel. We snorkeled with turtles. I enjoyed it more than the snorkeling at cosmel. Staff at check in was very friendly and fast at checking us in. Steak house was good. Great stay, thanks to everyone


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 29, 2013
Enjoyable stay

Double room - a bit outdated, wasn't the best but wasn't the worst either. Didn't spend much time in the room anyway. AC worked well, beds/pillows were fine, mini bar was nice. If you're picky about the bed linens, blankets, towels etc you can always bring your own. If you're looking for a modern/high class room then you should go somewhere else. If these things don't bug you then you're all set! Food/drinks - I was overwhelmed by all the options served at the buffets. In my opinion, the food was great; no upset stomach, no food poisoning. Restaurants served great food; make your reservations upon arrival, the sooner the better. Juices and sodas weren't that great, they had an awkward taste. Alcoholic drinks were good, a few were watered down but it might depend on the drink? I saw a woman who was very drunk so I guess the drinks were good enough. Nightly entertainment - Excellent! Every show was fun/funny/entertaining. No complaints here. Beach/pool - The beach was spectacular. Calm waters, gorgeous colors, truly amazing. Plenty of beach lounges. Pool was great too. Swim up bar was never crowded. Staff - overall very friendly and helpful. Some male staff members seemed shy and very humble so they might not communicate as much, but others are outgoing and funny, so I guess it all depends on their personalities. Don't forget to tip your waiters/waitresses, bar tenders, and maids! They work hard and deserve a little extra; they'll appreciate the tips and serve you better.

Enjoyable stay
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 21, 2013
Laid back honeymoon

The resort is a very laid back, comfortable resort. So, if you're looking to party, this is not the place. There were more older adults and families than younger people. We loved that about the resort. There was no pressure to participate in activities, or to party! We were able to choose what we wanted to do without feeling pressured by the staff. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was decorated for our honeymoon, which was nice. I only have two complaints: the room had 2 double beds put together, so my husband and I couldn't really sleep together due to the crack between the two beds; and the buffet food wasn't the greatest. The steakhouse was awesome, and the asian restaurant was decent, but not the best I've ever had. All in all, we had a wonderful time and would go here again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tyler, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Great Experience with Riu

This review is for the Playa Car. Although we did not get to stay there this time due to them being overbooked. They upgraded us to the Palace but we have stayed at the Playa Car a couple years ago. We liked the layout of the Playa Car with 6 different colored buildings for the rooms. We hear they are going to go away from this layout in the near future. Rooms were nice beds a little to firm for our taste. The food was good both at the buffet and speciality restaurants. Staff and service friendly and accommodating.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Yantis Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 11, 2014
Wonderful trip!

The decision to vacation in beautiful playa del Carmen at the RIU Playacar was a great one and I would recommend the resort to everyone. The food was great with lots of choices at all meals. We did try the Mexican themed restaurant one night, and I personally felt the buffet was better. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and it was never difficult to find a lounger. The pool areas were a bit more crowded and finding chairs for 2 of us together was sometimes difficult but we preferred the beach anyway. It was a 25min walk to playa del Carmen where there were lots of shops. I would definitely go back!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North carolina
Age: 25-34

April 22, 2014
Good Value for the Money

The package was very good for the money, the sleeping rooms needs some updating. The AMSTAR shuttle service representative was never there, we were told to meet her at 9:00 am the following day but she was never there, and than found out that we needed to make an appointment which we thought was kind of odd. We run into her by coincidence and told her that we needed to reserve the shuttle back to the airport.


0 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Torrance, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2014
Love the Riu Resorts

This was our third trip to a Riu Resort and enjoyed it more than the previous two locations but we actually have no complaints with either of those. Just our personal preference with the location. The staff was entremely nice and helpful. We did not have any negative encounters with any phase of this trip except upon arrivial at the Cancun Airport thru Customs. It was extremely crowded and so disorganize. The departure on the other hand was very fast and efficiently handled. We were impressed with the airport transfers by AmStar to and from the resort. They were very professional and on schedule. Our first experience with CheapCaribbean.com and plan to use them for our next vacation adventure.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Alabama, USA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2014
Beautiful location resort could be better

I stayed at a Rui property in Cabo last year and it was amazing I was hoping for the same quality this year. Food was the same and so were the rooms. But what the resort had to offer could have been a lot better. The location is perfect though.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34