All

Riu Playacar Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"The RIU Team did a great job of service and accomodations of thier guests. All requests were embracecd and facilitated." – NeckNutts
52 out of 58 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fountain in riu playacar restaurant The Beach! Wonderful View and plenty of chairs! riu playacar's beach at the pool

All Riu Playacar Customer Reviews

11-20 of 46 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2017
Loved it here!

This is our 3rd RIU stay in a few locations. The service and food here was impeccable. Lots to do with kids and they have a great kiddy play pool as well as nightly disco parties for them. Overall an amazing trip and could not say more about the riu service and consistently work the brand!

Loved it here!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 26, 2013
good stay(lock your room)

To begin We had a good vacation. The weather did not cooperate to start but as the week went on it improved. November is usually a good month in Mexico. food: as usual the 1st 4 or 5 days it was wonderful but as the week continued it was ok..... so as usual Id say it was average or better. the service there was PERFECT (I do leave a small tip EVERY meal) drinks: watered down in some cases unless you ask, they will "FIX it up" service here excellent (again small tip each trip to bar) property: It was ok however we traveled to nearby associate properties(permitted) and that was wonderful... other pools were better but THIS property has the BEST BEACH of them all. Very gradual slope to the beach unlike the other nearby properties this adds to the value of this property and its experience entertainment: what can I say..it sucked unless you speak Spanish I spoke to all the English speaking people(Canadiens,Brits, Americans etc) that WAS the GENERAL consenus TERRIBLE Their English is enough to communicate as hosts but not good enough to entertain because of the struggle for us to understand their rapid speech The town Playa del Carmen(1/2 hr walk or $7 taxi ride) ...GREAT Cozumel ($13 45 min boat ride from Playa) ...Great however go only when a cruise ship is docked during the day otherwise it can be dead(many shops close) without the influx from a ship NOW HERE IS THE PROBLEM We have traveled all over the world 4 times a year OR MORE but we never had our things bothered THIS time room service riffled through our luggage and stole $180(assortment of bills.....mostly the big ones) of course they left $50 or so really not a big deal but we felt a bit VIOLATED through OUR stupidity. A purse was left in a suitcase after a quick trip to the room to get TIP MONEY instead of the safe. HOW dumb can we be..... I must admit I(husband) got a lot of yardage since my wife continually harps on me to lock everything...HAHA whos the dumby now HONEY!!!!!! We continued on and had a wonderful time with our $180 advanced course on travel. Hope this helps

at the pool
6 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh Pa.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2013
High School Senior Trip 2013

We just returned from a week stay at the RIU Playacar with 10 high school senior girls, 9 Moms, 3 Dads and 1 big sister. Everyone had a GREAT time - parents and kids alike. Highlights - the service is 5 star. RIU Playacar is staffed by caring, hardworking individuals who go out of their way to cater to your every need. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The property is constantly scrubbed and cleaned. Be sure to tip - the staff deserves it. Food and drinks were plentiful and good. Avoid the Asian specialty restaurant. The staff set-up a special birthday/college going away party dinner for us one night complete with balloons, champagne, cake, and a mexican seranade. Resort had lots of fun activities - I highly recomend water aerobics with Maria. A massage on the beach is also an indulgence well worth the price. The girls had massages and hair braids at the same location. Beach is gorgeous and pools were nice. Never had a problem with chairs at either the pool or beach. Jet skis and parasailing are easily available right at the resort on calm days. Also there are plenty of trips from snorkeling to sight seeing for a couple of hours to half and full day. Tulum ruins are less than an hour away. Playa Del Carmen is a leisurely 20-30 minute walk down the beach or on the sidewalk. (I recommend the beach). The girls had fun at Senor Froggys. The only negatives were the rooms. Several people in our party had problems with air conditioning. Also, as noted in many reviews, the mattresses are hard and bedding is sparse. Definitely request the mattress toppers - they make a difference. Rooms were clean. We did visit the other RIUs at this level - RIU Yucatan and RIU Tequila. The girls enjoyed the disco at the Tequila. Security, however, was sparse to non existent. If you are traveling with teens, be prepared to have adults in the vicinty/lobby area to keep an eye out. Of the three, we all liked RIU Playacar the best. Note: These properties are not contiguous but instead about a five minute walk each with other hotels in between. Bottom line - if you go in with the right expectations (this is not a RIU Palace) you will have a GREAT time and be very pleased with your experience at the RIU Playacar.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL - USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 1, 2013
Awesome vacation

Riu Playacar was a wonderful place to stay for the week. The food was great. We have stayed at Riu Yucatan the past two years and love both places. The people there are so friendly and make you feel like you are a part of the family. Met many people from MN, New Jersey, England. The pools were great and the beach was like none other. So beautiful - water is warm and an awesome blue color. Truly a paradise. We took a one day trip through Olympus travels to Cozumel. Had a great time visiting the town, going to the National Park, the lighthouse, checking out the crocodiles and hanging out at the beach. Ferry ride back home was a bit rough. We did run into a bit of rain this year (never really had any rain other years) but that didn't take away from the beauty of the Riviera Maya. Can't wait to go back next year.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2016
Fantastic resort

I am a Riu member & have stayed both std Riu & Palaces, this was just as good as staying at a palace, everything was perfect except for the front desk, I was very disappointed, I arrived on my birthday & asked if I could have an upgrade since I was a member, they actually could not have given me the worst room, right behind the theater, I think if the girl had not been a trainee left on her own this would have never happened. I could hear the whole 930 show weather I wanted or not. Otherwise I give the hotel all 5 stars well deserving. The food was just fantastic & you didnt even have to sign up for the specialty resturants. Cant say enough good things, well worth your money.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2014
great place to stay

my wife and I took our granddaughter for a last minute trip before school started ,the ride from the airport was about 40 minutes. It was the first time we stayed at a Riu property, from checkin to check out everyone at the resort was really helpfull . the room was clean and nice with a wet bar .the beach was kept clean ,always plenty of food and entertainment. .some shopping right across the street , a quick easy cab ride to plya del carmen the lady at the front desk told us where to catch a van to tulum on our own for $4 or $5 each and like $15 to get into the ruins instead of buying a tour . we would absolutly stay there again


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: dallas tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 27, 2011

overall the resort and beach were beautiful. the water so pretty and warm. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. our room was very cosy w/ a balcony, just wished our balcony faced the main walkway instead of the backside of the builiding, but it gave the feel of being somewhere tropical because of all the trees and sounds from the birds. there was lots of food and liquor to enjoy but by the last day i missed my home cooked food. the resort had daily entertainment and activities, also we were able to visit the other riu hotels in the area and eat at the restaurants and enjoy whatever acitivities they had going on. the only bad thing i can say,and it's no one faults, but when i went it rained for 3 days straight so i didn't get to enjoy the beach until my last day but that's because i went in october which is apparently hurricane season. i didn't have worry about spending money because everything was included w/ the exception of certain activities and services like the spa or some water sports. i didn't really spend any money when i was there, just mostly on gifts for people at home and i would tip the wait staff even though you don't have to because it's included in the package.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: brooklyn, ny
Age: 25-34

January 25, 2012
January in Riu Playacar

Just a mile and a half from Playa del Carmen, this laidback resort did not impress me when I first walked in. But the longer I stayed, the better I liked it. The bartenders and staff were always friendly and helpful. The check in and check out was painless. The grounds were kept immaculate. The pool was a bit chilly but well kept. The food was a good variety ( gained 6 lbs in a week). My only complaint was that the room smelled moldy the entire time and my clothes smelled moldy when I left. But I would very much recommend this resort.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northwestern Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 4, 2012
Good for the price

We had a nice time here. The staff was all friendly, the beach and pool and drinks were all exactly what we needed! It was warm and sunny in February, the water was beautiful. We had bugs in our room when we arrived... I think they were just fruit flies, but the door was open, so that's an easy fix. They sent up someone with Raid and it wasn't a problem again. Just a little off-setting when you first arrive. All rooms have balconies! Which was great. The liquor dispensers in the room... all the liquor had a bit of a tequila-esqe flavor. We couldn't even tell what two of them were. The beds were hard and 2 doubles pushed together to make an oversize king. That is weird, but it was fine. When you go to the bars, state which brand name of liquor you want and the drinks are MUCH better. We learned that on our 3rd day. Food is OK. We ate a lot of it! But it wasn't anything to write home about. Lots of entertainment. It was great for a 4 days trip, but glad we weren't there any longer.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 12, 2013
First Time but not the Last

I have travelled extensively but have never taken a beach vacation out of the country. It was just me and my 16 year old boy and we had a wonderful time. The first two days we spent by the pool and on the beach. Weather was good-some clouds that broke up the direct sun, which was good for my son as he is not used to the heat. The third day we did XPLOR with the zipline, jeep through the jungle and river raft ride. This was a blast -our first time zip lining! It started to rain right after the zip line but was kinda of nice for the rest of the day's adventure. The next day was still raining but took advantage of the other RUI with the Sports Bar where we played air hockey and pool then back to our room and wathed a movie and relaxed. Our last day was SUNNY. The shows were great at night and the service was lovely. A special thanks to Arsenio! We will be going back tothe PALACE in 2015 for my son's gradusation with friends and family.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: LA, California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year