All

Riu Playa Blanca Resort Reviews

Central America | Panama Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.1
3.7 out of 5
"THE HOTEL WAS SPOTLESS , FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. NO COMPLIANTS" – rubyQ
30 out of 40 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Room view Farallon water is murki

All Riu Playa Blanca Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 37 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2015
Great Value

We normally stay in 5 star resorts and get pampered. This is not the same, but is a great value and very clean and well maintained. Somewhat limited in dining options and even the specialty restaurants are mostly buffet style. But I must say the food was excellent. Pools are nice, and the kid's pool was a big hit with the many families we saw there. It would be nice if they had swimsuit friendly bathroom facilities more conveniently located. We saved a lot of money over what we usually spend on tropical vacations and the only difference was that we went to the bar to get our own drinks, walked to the buffet instead of table service, and no turn-down service in the room at night. We left the safe open by accident when they came to clean. a supervisor inventoried all valuables and locked them in the safe and changed the code. When we came back and discovered it, they were there in a jiffy and opened the safe and we verified all was fine. We felt very safe the entire time we were there and also when touring Panama.


49 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2015
Better than expected based on all reviews

Service was excellent. Front desk was able to contact the provider of a scheduled tour on a holiday and after hours and tracked me down to talk to the representative. Beach was clean and not over crowded. Yes there is white and black sand. This is expected for an area developed by volcanos! Pools were crowded on weekends with the local residents taking advantage of the holiday but we planned our tours on these days knowing this would be the case. Food was good in both the specialty and general buffet. Never had a problem making a reservation in any of the specialty restaurants. Never waited in a line to make a reservation. Note - many individuals stood in a line to make a reservation early in the morning. I found I could get in any restaurant at any of the selected times reserving as late as 9:00 am! Bars and tenders were great. My drinks were refilled promptly and tenders were very friendly. I have stayed at many RIUs, and this one met my expectations. I felt they have addressed issues I read in other reviews although some were in my opinion a traveler issue and not the hotel.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Round Lake, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2016
I expected more

Let me start off by saying that the resort is very pretty! And if I wasn't a frequent traveler I would of probably been a lot happier. With that said when we arrived at the resort we were greated by the receptionist and then escorted to our room by the bell boy (Steve) who was extremely welcoming, he let us know where everything was located and told us we could go to him if we had any questions..after that we were pretty much on our own and ignored by mostly all workers. There were hardly any hellos or small talk (which if you are antisocial or not in the business of interacting then I'm sure you won't mind). The room was very pretty and clean however the bed was really hard. I also couldn't help that a lot of cleaning (like floor buffering) would happen during peak times, And the things to do were extremely limited, there wasn't any concierge to really assist with anything and to book tours you had to do it through an app. On our first full day there we woke up super early 6am to go to the pool and didn't get to enter the pool until close to 1pm because they were still filling the pool up. We met 2 employees who worked by the pool and they were extremely nice, they kept us company and made small talk with us and let us know that the pool would be filled soon (which was appreciated although the wait was still long). The pools were pretty clean and we stayed at the side of the pool through out our stay because although the beach sand was crystal white the water wasn't a clear as we expected. The resort also has nightly entertainment, buffet style food (which became a bit redundant after day 3). As expected the drinks were pretty weak but being that it is an all inclusive resort we didn't Mind, just keep drinking. With all of that said I believe the resort would be a great place for those who just want to go, sit by the pool or beach and read a nice book. If you are looking for anything more exciting I would look into other options.

Room view I expected more
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 6, 2016
Love this place

My wife and I and two adult sons visited this resort for five nights from April 21 through April 26 2016. The resort is just great. I am a little bewildered by the many reviews I read. People complained about the food. The food is fresh, plentiful, and the variety is awesome. The buffet is standard Riu - with something special every day. Both the Italian and steakhouse restaurants were very good. Our group found the food plentiful - we all put on a few pounds over our 5 days. The drinks were also plentiful and standard Riu fare. Dirty monkeys were standout. I read reviews about the lack of English speaking staff. Firstly, English is not the first language spoken here but we were able to get by. Secondly, if you want to be served in perfect English, book your vacation in UK or US. The resort is clean and well-maintained. We noticed a bulb out.in a hallway and told the staff and it was repaired by the time we returned from dinner. The air-conditioning worked perfectly as did the shower and water. The staff were polite and helpful. Both rooms were extremely clean and the daily cleaning was thorough. I red reviews complaining of fridges not being stocked. That was not my experience. And the staff were happy to oblige our wishes as necessary. No complaints from us. The beach is what it is. It is not soft white sand like the Caribbean but we swam daily in the ocean - nice and relaxing and great temperature. The pools are mostly well maintained and spacious. Easy to find loungers at the pool and beach - all in good working condition. Plenty of activities - soccer, table tennis, aerobics, volleyball. Plenty to keep you active if you wish. The shows were entertaining. Again, standard Riu fare. I read complaints about the shows being loud and disturbing people wanting to sleep. Really? If you seek silence, do not visit a Caribbean resort ... And in any event, the shows do not continue beyond about 11pm. Overall, a lovely experience at a clean, well maintained and welcoming resort. No problems encountered and no complaints. For the price, it was a.fantastic 5 days. Thank you Riu.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, Arizona
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2015
PARADISE IN PANAMA

HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL. PLENTY OF POOLS. PLENTY OF CHAIRS AT THE POOLS & BEACH. FOOD WAS GOOD. HAVE STAYED AT DIFFERENT RIU HOTELS ALL OVER. I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THIS HOTEL HAD THE BEST FOOD. IF YOU HAVE A FAMILY THIS IS DEFINETLY THE RESORT FOR YOU!!. THE RESORT IS 1HR & 1/2 FROM THE AIRPORT. YOU DO HAVE TO BOOK YOUR OWN TRANSFERS. R&L TRANSFER YOU CAN BOOK ONLINE. THEY WERE AWESOME !! MOST REASONABLY PRICED. MY ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE DRINKS. THEY WERE VERY WEAK. MAYBE THEY SHOULD LOOK INTO THE BRAND ISLAND OASIS. THAT ALL THE OTHER INCLUSIVE RESORTS USE. ITS VERY CLEAN RESORT. GREAT GROUNDS. WE ARRIVED ON A SUNDAY THE CHECK IN WAS A LITTLE CRAZY IT TOOK MORE THAN 1/2 HR BUT I THINK BECAUSE THEY WERE BUSY. THE HOTEL IS VERY MODERN. VERY GOOD DEAL FOR THE $$.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK,NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 17, 2015
Oops... not what I expected

This is a beautiful resort however my vacation was not so great. to start off the transportation was paid for and then I was told a mistake had taken place and it was only to one resort in the city and I would have to pay cash for my transportation and was charged $150.00 . Next we arrived at the resort after 11:00 pm, no welcome committee just told that food was available 24 hours in the sports bar, this was great until we got there, in a refrigerator was left over hamburgers and sandwiches with little or no meat/ this was not what I expected for an all-inclusive. The room was ok nice patio and a fridge full of drinks which would be replenish every two days, this did not happen and I made several request but no additional drinks for the room. For people who enjoy drinking the liquor was overflowing. The beach was beautiful . I would not recommend to my friends.

Oops... not what I expected
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Miami, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 21, 2016
Great value

Great value. Nice place - missing a few amenities but for the money it was worth it. In area that is pretty remote - excursions are all a 1.5 hour to 2 hour drive. Great for hanging at the beach and pool. Little things like no room service, no pool drink service and things like that you get at higher end resorts are missing but place is very nice to get away from it all. Food is average - asian and italian is best. Stay away from Steakhouse. Buffet is okay, typical. Liquor is not high end but they do have Johnny Walker and Bacardi and are very generous with the drinks. It's helpful to know a little Spanish - not a lot of English speaking but that makes it more authentic. Had a great time and would recommend. Good for couples and families, not so much singles as there is not night life nearby


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2016

There is no rest rooms near the pool area, you have to go to the main building or restaurant, too far from the air port more than 2hr on taxi,when arrive the place there is no food or snacks, we reached there 11.30 afraid to stop to eat on the way hoping to have food.No way to send any message or photos to family no Wi-Fi or other forms off connections.have to travel hrs to see places


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: ny
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 20, 2015
Very Happy the Wow's kept coming

Kate Hallman gets 5 stars, We were in needs for a good Vacation. we kept looking at different sites. We fount Kate at Cheap Caribbean. We told her the time we wanted to go, we wanted the best price, we wanted to be Wowed Kate made it happen!

Very Happy the Wow's kept coming Very Happy the Wow's kept coming
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphila PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2016
Great couples vacation

RIU was amazing. Great hotel and service. However, the excursions are on the pricey end compared to the countries I've been. The food is not authentic Panamanian food, the hotel tends to cater to the Canadians a lot which ruins the culture food diversity !!!

Great couples vacation
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: nY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year