All

Riu Palace St. Martin Resort Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 167 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"Would be nice if they provided service on the beach. The entertainment was ok. Staff service was great. Dining options could be improved." – IceTea
157 out of 189 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Bar Area sunset from the hotel Sunset Pina Coladas ! Sunset Marina You will see many of these friends Radisson Blu Beach The Beach Special thanks to our server... a sweetheart Infinity Pool At Sunset Beach Pool Pool looking out to the beach Beach Gaston Resort Every day view makes it all good

All Riu Palace St. Martin Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 167 reviews. Sort by
August 7, 2010
Great trip for those looking to relax

My girlfriend and I took this trip last summer wanting a chance to relax after she had just taking the bar exam. This resort was perfect for that. The hotel was only a year old at that point and everything looked brand new. The service was great. The entire staff was very helpful and the concierge was very attentive. They set up dinner reservations, cab rides, rental cars, and gave us ideas on where to go based on our interests and price ranges. The beach was very nice with plenty of lounge chairs and bar service. The infinite pool was also pretty awesome if you are not a beach person. The restaurants were pretty good at the hotel but pricey. There is one restaurant that I think only takes reservations and the other is more casual but everything is priced in Euros, so for Americans it can get expensive. There are 2 restaurants across the street for the hotel and a little market which are about the same as the hotel. We decided to go to the supermarket for a few meals since it was a little cheaper and still delicious. The lolos are definitely something to check out. We did an excursion through the hotel which was snorkeling and sailing to other islands such as tortuga and anguilla. It was really fun and they had open bar on the boat. It was definitely a great time. The only down sides I would say is that half the vacationers at the resort speak french and half english so there is somewhat of a language barrier, however that is to be expected when staying on the french side. The dutch side is definitely better for shopping and drinking since they charge in dollars. Overall, we had an awesome time, would absolutely stay at this resort again, and would recommend it highly. One last suggestion, which I think is pretty common, is to rent a car. It is much cheaper then taking cabs everywhere and more fun to explore the island.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, LA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 25, 2015
Away from it All

Our stay at the RIU Palace in St. Martin was nothing short of wonderful. The resort has a truly magical feel to it and was just the relaxing Island retreat I was hoping for. Before anything else, one should understand it's location on the Island. The resort is situated on the quieter French side of the island and is nestled on a gorgeous beach among the mountains. The resort is very much secluded and would require a car rental or taxi cab to hop around to other areas of more action but honestly has everything you need in it's vicinity. Upon arrival at the airport there was no problem getting a taxi and it was an easy ride of about 30 minutes to Anse Marcel where the resort is located. For other Americans that were stressed as we were, regardless of the French side being on the Euro, USD was accepted everywhere even as tips and English is spoken primarily. -The European flair of the resort's location is really wonderful if that's what you're looking for. Vacationing in the Caribbean can seem repetitive in some destinations but you really get a luxurious feel and a charming different culture here without the language barrier. We met guests from all different countries and ages which was great. Remember power converters for their different outlets! -For an All-Inclusive the value you get is top notch to the point where you forget that everything is included. The room was extremely comfortable and gorgeous. Always a stocked mini fridge and a literal 4-bottle liquor dispenser of top shelf spirits in every room. Beds were sleep number which was refreshing and each room has a private, spacious terrace with a nice view. -Food was everywhere! The buffet puts out an unbelievable spread for breakfast each morning but we were disappointed that it was so early. Wanting to sleep in each morning it's difficult to make the 10am cut off. The lunch and dinner they served was always incredible and had something for everyone. We tried all the restaurants and they were also very good. Be sure to make reservations in advance as there are limited spots but they can always work with you if anything. -The pool/beach area puts the resort over the top. It's an amazing sight to see and is super luxurious. Everything was kept super clean and the beach was never too crowded. Always got lounge chairs each day and the beach bar was bliss. -The most memorable aspect of this resort honestly was the service. I dont think I've ever met a more charming, wonderful team of people that are so eager to please and make your trip amazing. Every worker that we met at this resort stole our hearts in one way or another. I dont think you'll meet friendlier people so remember to tip and treat them just as well! Overall we really enjoyed our stay in St. Martin and would definitely return. If you're a couple, a group with a good amount of people or just the type that wants "away from it all" I dont think you can find any better than this resort. High end quality and stress free.


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2012
Know before you go!

The resort was absolutely gorgeous. Our accomodations were in the Marina suites which were extremely comfortable and just what we would have expected. The beach was wonderful and the infinity pool was great. Nothing bad to say about the setting and accommodation. We have traveled to Europe on several occasions, and this resort has a definite European feel. On the downside, the resort is located on the Fench side and VERY MUCH out of the way of EVERYTHING. The restaurants at the resort were just ok but extremely expensive for the offerings. The buffet breakfast was excellent with many offerings, included with room rate. So, if you wanted to eat elsewhere, you had to pay for the cab PLUS the meal, and by that time you may as well pay for the exorbitant meals at the resort. TRAPPED is how we felt. We will definitely choose our next accomodations on the Dutch side. Another serious problem- tried to use the ATM at the resort and the machine kept our card! On Saturday with the weekend ahead we had no credit card. The manager arranged for us to have money for the weekend, as we were not going to get our card back until sometime on Monday. Thanks to the diligent work of the manager, she worked with the bank to get our card back without us having to travel all the way to Marigot AT OUR EXPENSE, mind you! Vacation saved!


26 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Saint Louis, MO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Best Beach on the Island

Some earlier reviews had noted that the staff was unfriendly unless you spoke French. That was not our experience at all. Everyone was very friendly. Remember the standard in the Caribbean is not to speak unless spoken to. Also, the French are class conscious and would not consider the staff to be their equals. A special shout out to Melinda in La Marche and Fanny of the social staff. Yes the resort is isolated. That’s actually the good news. Rent a car if you want to see the island. Hertz gave us a complimentary GPS. It’s 20 minutes to Orient Beach (with a clothing optional area), 40 minutes to Sunset Beach (where the airplanes can blow you off the wall), and about an hour to Phillipsburg. After seeing all the other beaches, Anse Marcel at the RIU is the best. The entire walkable bay has smooth sand and few rocks in the water like some other Caribbean resorts. There is a water activities hut beside the RIU where you can rent many things and book excursions. There are also several excursions desks in the lobby. A dive shop, Scuba Zen, is a 2 minute walk from the front entrance to the marina. 2-tank dive = 92 euros. There’s nightly entertainment at the Calypso. It’s not Broadway but it is entertaining while you sip your adult beverage. Plenty of seats too. The resort is loaded with iguanas. They’re not very skittish or intimidating, but if you afraid of lizards, well… Be sure to say hello to Gaston, the reptilian patriarch of the pool area. Signup for the a la carte restaurants is not that difficult but you will have to book at least a day in advance. Essentially, your first two nights you will be eating in the buffet. The food in the restaurants is pretty good and the service as well. Plan to spend an hour or so to eat dinner. The buffet is nothing to scoff at. On International night, there are lobsters by the basketful. If/when we return to St. Martin, we will stay at the RIU again.

Gaston The Beach
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Vacation of a Lifetime

From beginning to end this vacation was amazing. The Riu is a beautiful resort with the friendliest and sweetest bunch working there. As soon as we got to the resort we were greeted with a fruity cocktail. Check-in was quick, and allowed us to get to the beach ASAP. It is absolutely gorgeous, like it seemed I was in a dream. The beach and pool were very clean and well-maintained. The dining options were excellent and the food was to die for. The Coco bar on the beach was my favorite spot! Nightlife on the resort was good, with a variety of different performers. The Riu is a very quiet, relaxed place, which is the perfect spot for those who want to get away and just relax, get a tan, and have a pina colada. Definitely take advantage of the nautical activities. We did snorkeling our last full day there and had a blast!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Clark, NJ
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2017
Do not stay here

A friend and I booked this hotel through cheap Caribbean as we were looking for an all-inclusive package in Saint Maarten. When we arrived to our hotel room, it was very late in the evening… We noticed the carpeting had red stains all over, The dresser had stains as well-maybe ketchup, food or who knows what. The linens were so dirty, my friend and I were worried about the possibility of bedbugs as well. We actually put a towel on top of the pillows when we slept that night. When I took a shower, the bathroom floor flooded as there is a large hole where the pipe slide into the bathtub over the bathroom floor; it was a mess. The drain in the sink did not work-water would accumulate and then garbage or filth would come up from the drain. We took pictures of everything and addressed our concerns with management, as we wanted to leave the hotel as it was absolutely filthy. We addressed our concerns with cheap Caribbean which did absolutely nothing to remedy the problem. The manager who did end up helping us gave us an option of a second room which we inspected before taking it-that was also filthy stains everywhere. We passed on that room and told her that we would be looking for another hotel and would appreciate being reimbursed and having the cancellation fee waved. She then presented us with another option which was a suite-that was a bit cleaner. We ended up staying at the hotel because we had already wasted a complete day trying to find a new room or alternative hotel-again, cheap Caribbean did nothing to help us with the situation. By the time we were able to change our rooms, we were told that we had to wait for the Porter-it seemed they only had 1 for the entire hotel. Anyhow long story short the hotel is extremely dated, the dining options are not that many. I will say though, there were a couple of staff members in the buffet area which were exceptional-very friendly. given the overall experience we had with the hotel room situation-I would not recommend this facility at all.

Do not stay here Do not stay here
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 27, 2017
Wonderful Relaxed Vacation

The Riu Palace was wonderful. We spent most of our time relaxing on the gorgeous beach in the resort's comfy lounge chairs. (They set up big umbrellas and have little tables with cup holders for your convenience too.) The pool is also gorgeous with different types of areas you can sit in (a faux beach, big covered lounge areas, etc.). The iguanas by the pool are docile and awesome to watch. Most of the staff is very friendly and accommodating. I recommend you take part in the guided nature hike they offer. It took us about 2.5 hours out and back. We hiked up a nearby peak for a stunning view, then hiked down to a gorgeous secluded beach. The guide was super friendly and it was no extra charge. We also took advantage of kayaking in the bay, which was fun and easy. We saw a number of sea turtles by the anchored boats! The food is readily available at all times and delicious--especially dinner at Krystal! (Just make sure to get there around 6:10 if you want to get in with the first seating at 6:30, since that particular restaurant has limited seating and is popular.) The entertainment in the evenings leaves a little bit to be desired, but we still enjoyed it. It's nice to spend the evenings watching the entertainment, hanging out in the bar/lounge, and dancing. The grounds of the resort are gorgeous. The room balconies include a drying rack for bathing suits, which is very helpful. My only complaint about the room is that there's no fan in the bathroom, and the sliding bathroom doors leave gaps on the ends, so you can kind of see people when they're using the bathroom...not really desirable. But that's really my only complaint at all. We had a lovely, relaxing time, and I recommend this resort with no hesitations!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2015
relatively small, very secluded,great ocean views

This was a good hotel for the price, however not the best I have visited. Cons-It is very secluded ( this may be a pro for some).But I like to walk off the hotel property to shops, markets , etc and with this hotel, there is no where to go. The variety of food is limited. They do not have themed nights as other hotels I've visited, but the food itself is good. I did not like the fact that the snacks available in the afternoon was the same food from lunch. There isn't much entertainment as the resort is small, and the entertainment that they do have needs to be improved (Karaoke night, live entertainment). Even though the bathroom was mostly updated, the toilet itself was a bit old looking and the shower head was a s well. I attempted to contact them prior to my arrival to make a room adjustment and I never heard from them after emailing them twice. The hotel is located net to a public beach area I think so persons not staying at the hotel had access to the beach as well as hotel grounds which I didn't think was particularly safe. Price of the flyboard and jet ski were expensive. I did not particularly like that we were unable to eat breakfast prior to leaving. We were being picked up at 5am and they don't begin serving breakfast until 7am. I think there should be accomodations made for early departures as long as it can be proven that you are indeed leaving early. Room service does deliver 24/7 however, the only items available at that time of the morning was a cold fruit plate, cold sub sandwich, tuna salad and hot chocolate. No hot meals were available. Even though I pre-ordered the breakfast the night before, I had to call them that morning and check on it since it was past the time we ordered it for, and the person checked the order and began getting it ready only when I called. Therefore, if I had not called, no breakfast would have arrived. Pros- Very nice beach and pool area, they also have a mini soccer area and volleyball area as well as table tennis (ping pong ) table. The rooms were comfortable, however our floor had a musty smell I think from the lack of air flow. Towels and wash cloths are provided on a frequent basis (at other hotels, I have had to ask for wash cloths every other day. The room itself was comfortable-AC, TV, balcony, clean smell, clean bathroom. The ocean scenery is great- turquoise waters and you can see Anguilla really well. There are lots of boats parked at the dock. There is free kayaking, rafting for hotel guests. Overall the staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a nice hotel.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: ATL, Georgia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 31, 2016
Excellant Surprise!

Look if your wife can't find anything wrong with the resort, food or service you know it was a Great trip! Very impressed with the staff!!!! HAPPY WIFE HAAPPY LIFE!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Stamford, CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2016
Great resort

We went with our friends to celebrate our anniversaries. We had a great time, can't say enough about the staff they were all very nice and we're focused on taking care of you. We never left the resort, we wanted a place that we didn't want to leave and we got it. Great location on the French side that was secluded.. we went in October so it was off season so dining options were limited on the resort at night. I understand that you can't have everything available every night if you don't have the guests. The meals were great though, quality was awesome. Would go back to this resort next time. Special thanks to Claude for taking care of Maverick and his wing man.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year