All

Riu Palace St. Martin Resort Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 182 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"Place was nice if you just want to sit around and relax Night shows need to improve" – Awayigo
168 out of 204 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Bar Area Pool Every day view makes it all good sunset from the hotel Pina Coladas ! Beach Sunset Marina Resort Pool looking out to the beach Pool Beach Beach Gaston Sunset You will see many of these friends Infinity Pool At Sunset The Beach Special thanks to our server... a sweetheart Radisson Blu Beach

All Riu Palace St. Martin Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 182 reviews. Sort by
April 17, 2017
Great Time

We had a wonderful experience at the Riu Palace in St. Martin. From pick up at the airport to the food, beach, and everything in between, we have no complaints. Cheap Caribbean was very easy to work with and everything from a planing perspective went according to plan. All of the staff was super friendly and helpful. Alain (concierge)and Janelle (reception) were absolutely incredible. I had to print documents for work and they could not have been more accommodating. The food was great. Breakfast and lunch were all buffet style, pretty standard food. Dinner restaurant options were great. We enjoyed the steakhouse and La Mer (french) the most. We probably would skip Krystal if we went back. The drinks at all bars were great and the bar tenders are very generous with their pours. One of my favorite aspects of the resort was that everything was in walking distance. We would walk right out from our room and down to the pool or beach. We could always get a good spot on the beach and the views are incredible. We also took advantage of some of the free activities (kayaking, paddle boarding, etc.) Also highly recommend the jet ski excursion ($) !!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 7, 2017

Riu Palace Resort St. Martin was in need of a renovation...looked tired and dated....Cheapcaribbean left me in the dark in regards to boarding passes and tipping policy while staying at resort....created some real issues for me and my newlywed Wife because I was asked questions which I couldn't answer...cheap Caribbean hands off policy is unacceptable..


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Carlsbad Ca
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Paradise Found

My husband and I chose The Radission Resort, Marian & Spa for our 25 th Wedding Anniversry vacation. WE were ready to book it and I decided at the last minute to check out Cheap Caribean.com and found the same accomodation & flight at 1/2 the price WOW! The plantation style buildings guarantee that the resort is not overcrowded like the mega highrise places. WE were always able to get beach loungers, towels ocean side or poolside whenver we wanted. NO waiting no lines for the fabulous breakfast buffet of which provided every option of breafast food including lox & bagels, omelettes and a daily variety of fresh fruit and juices as well as oustanding french pastries & breads. The pool was awesome, the place quiet and relaxing,not run over with kids or teens. A stroll around the marina, shopping on site, computer access, lawn & water games all present. Lobby bar with welcome cocktails and gorgeous outdoor seating & sunsets were comparable to our Hawaiian vacation afew ago but a 1/3 of the cost. The resort is secluded in a cove which allows for calm crystal blue waters and security entrance so only those staying at the resort are present. We liked the French side best -Grand Case, the restaurants the Lilos, the food & wine all very French- a visit to the local grocery store is a must -wine & liquor prices are amazing; including things you can't find in the states. We had fun and won at the Princess casino and enjoyed the cabaret show and free buffet for those gambling. We explored the Dutch side and went to about 6 of the 32 beaches the island of St. Marrten has to offer and did some shopping. The Radisson Resort Blu staff was warm , welcoming and accomodating to all our needs; even a complimentary bottle of champagne and note congratulating us on our 25th greeted us. We can't wait to return and leave behind the East coast winter in February and get back to our Caribbean paradise at the Radission Blu.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbia, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 20, 2011
Gorgeous and Fabulous Price!!!!!!

My husband and I stayed at Radisson Blu Resort for the first time and I am quite impressed. What you see in the pictures is exactly what you get. The rooms are beautiful, well kept, clean, and comfortable. The staff....Kudos to the staff. Very attentive. The staff helped me pull of an wedding anniversary surprise dinner in my hotel room. My husband was surprised and I was in awe, at how one simple phone call to request help and they thought of all the details. We will definitely return!!!!! Lunch and Dinner options were fabulous, but the breakfast options are limited for the non pork eaters like my husband--there were no substitutions, so he had a meatless breakfast some days. Overall, the breakfast buffet is a great way to start the day. It is secluded and you definitely need a rental car, but we enjoyed how peaceful it was. If you are looking for the wild side of things...this resort is not for you.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 16, 2015
Could be better

The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The pool is beautiful the bars have great drinks; one of my favorite drinks was the BBC, you must ask for one if you go there. The people are friendly. This is the resort you need to go to if you are trying to relax while in St. Martin. It is at the top of the French side so if you plan on getting around I recommend renting a car, if not taxis are always available if you ask the front desk. My biggest problem with this resort were the ants. They crawled in everything and got in my bag. As a result we had to switch rooms. Other than the ant situation, the food was good. The steakhouse was the best restaurant, be sure to make a reservation there. Reservations go quick at this resort. St. Martin is a very relaxing and nice place on the French side, the Dutch side is where the nightlife and action is. If you are looking to relax then stay here, if not look for something on the Dutch side.

Could be better Could be better
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2015
Beauitful Views but Not Friendly Service

The views were amazing and the cove area was breath taking!! Couldn't beat them. With the exception of a couple of employees, the staff was very unfriendly. At other resorts we have stayed at the staff has been very engaging. They would ask about your day, are you enjoying yourself, and if they could do anything to make your experience better, but not here. We were only engaged by 2 bartenders and 1 waitress. When i would ask a question about what is in a drink or what a particular food was, it was like we were bothering them by talking to them. The buffet food was pretty good, but the restaraunt food wasn't anything special. you could get it at the buffet. And again, the service was very rude. All but 3 meals i had to track someone down to get them to pour water in our glasses. We also witnessed some of the employees openly talking negative comments about a bride that was still staying at the resort. They thought because they were speaking in French that no one would understand. We used the Spa onsite and it was very relaxing and reasonably priced. Overall, if you are looking for some amazing views, you cant' beat the place. If you are looking to be waited on and pampered by the staff, you might want to look elsewhere. I would go back based off of the views, but i would alter my expectations.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Relaxing Getaway

My husband and I decided to plan a last minute getaway and chose to book RIU Palace in St. Martin after extensive research of all-inclusive deal offerings based on our budget and customer reviews. When we arrived we were very pleased with the resort. It was tucked in a valley between the island's mountains. The whole property was beautiful and well maintained. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and spacious. We loved the in room bar! We opted not to indulge in any of the island tour or excursion offerings but decided to really lay back and relax the whole time we were vacationing there. We enjoyed a fantastic couples massage at the property's spa which I would absolutely recommend! The pool was fantastic and the scenery was just gorgeous! I don't feel the photos on the website really do the property justice. The food fell short of our expectations. The breakfast buffet was by far our favorite meal of the day. We felt the 3 main restaurants that required reservations to have very little menu options, including beverages. They only serve water or wine at the restaurants and do not offer a full bar selection which I found to be odd considering you are at a 4 star all inclusive resort. The food prepared lacked flavor and seasoning at times. The lunch and dinner buffets were pretty much the same things every day and were not very well labeled.. so a lot of times we weren't even sure what we were eating until we took a bite. The room service menu also fell flat.. They have very little in room dining options and when we ordered room service late one night and I had chosen their cheese nachos and I was provided a bowl of chips next to a small bowl of COLD cheese dip that looked and tasted like it came from a can. The resorts nightly entertainment also fell short, not that we were really there for the entertainment. We just felt that if you are going to take the steps to provide entertainment that you might want to provide something worth participating in. During our stay one night they showcased some flamenco dancers and that was less than exciting. Their in house DJ didn't really know how to work the music to encourage guest dancing participation. The very last night we were there they had a White Party around the pool bar with a live band which was pretty good compared to what was offered every other night. All in all we had a fantastic trip and enjoyed our stay at the resort. If you are looking to get away from the every day stress of life this is a perfect resort for it. However if you are looking for culinary masters and fantastic entertainment I wouldn't say this would be your best choice. What you will get is great service, fantastic scenery and of course lots of drinks! I will say though, if you are like us and do not like to vacation around lots of children, be aware that this resort is family friendly, we didn't realize that unfortunately until we got there because we had researched so many other resorts before choosing this one.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 6, 2017
Good but not great hotel

We stayed for 5 days at the RIU Palace in St Martin. Overall, the resort is a pleasant but unimpressive. While it may be one of the nicer places on the island, it looks tired and dated. The good: - The beach is peaceful and tranquil - The all inclusive restaurants were excellent and much better than others we experienced on different islands - The head chef went out of his way to accommodate a last minute request and did so without any issue. The bad: - The hotel reopened in 2014 and it still looks like they are working to get it back to the level of othe RIU Palaces. The decor is tired and well worn - The shower is very strange as the glass door only covers half the tub. Water from the shower goes all over the floor. - You have to line up for a dinner reservation. If you are late, you can't get a reservation and will have to eat at the buffet The strange - The resort doesn't have an actual hot tub. Instead, it has a "bubbles" tub that is barely warmer than the regular pool - They will only give you one room key. The stated reason is that they want to be more eco friendly and count down on the use of plastic. This makes sense until you see that they pour all of their drinks in plastic cups. - The towel return closes at 5 pm which is before sunset. Many people were stuck with wet towels at the end of the day.

Good but not great hotel
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 21, 2017

This was one of the best Caribbean Vacations I have had in a long time. I was very happy with Cheap Caribbean.com. The planning by them was fabulous. The Riu Palace was amazing in all ways too!! It was very clean, sevice was great, the staff was always pleasant and helpful, our room was always made up nicely and early in the day, the food was awesome. I just can't say enough good things about this trip. Honestly, I have nothing negative either to say.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida, New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 27, 2017
Amazing

I have to say that this hotel and stay has been the best all inclusive vacation I have came across in my past few years of traveling. I was very happy with the room which was the superior suite and the hotel itself. Everyone is very friendly and the excursions are highly recommended. The food is delicious and the drinks are good. No regrets on this trip


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations