All

Riu Palace Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 273 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.2 out of 5
"The beach was beautiful. The staff and food was great. I will definitely return!" – Stephk247
263 out of 312 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
swim up pool bar Beautiful water! Beautiful beach! RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA The beach Down the beach Fountain renovation Morning beach pool with awesome moutain view Loved to take a walk after dinner on the grounds Morning Beach Stroll Punta Cana: Macao Beach (watch out for the waves they are crazy here) Beachview On the beach! Pool view Afternoon beach Riu Palace Punta Cana looking toward the beach Main pool Everywhere to take great pictures! (ool bar before it got busy Inside the Palace The beach The beach at the Riu Place Punta Cana Superior Suite (0113)

All Riu Palace Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 273 reviews. Sort by
December 10, 2012
Riu Palace Punta Cana DR

This was our first time traveling to DR. The Hotel.... Beautiful.... Not the newest..... Everybody was very nice and very helpful... They tried the best to speak English.... We found our way around... Without speaking any Spanish.... Buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner was our favorite... Had dinner at Krystal and the Steakhouse.... Not sure we loved it.... And you even have to make reservations... To dine there... Pool was great..... No chairs at 8:00 am.... So keep your towels the day of.... And get your chairs 6:30 am and get new towels when you ready to take your chairs during of the day..... Wasn't fun of this trick.... But worked. Beach is beautiful... Sand is amazing.....loved the fresh coconuts.... Room... The all hotel smelled musty a little bit... Or a lot of bit.... Unfortunately.... You can't do anything about. The mattresses is little bit hard...., but our room was big enough... Big bathroom.... Enough towels.... One more thing.... Everybody is smoking everywhere.... I mean EVERYWHERE, restaurants, pool, beach.... Lobby.... You can't escape....this was hard a little bit..... I was amazed how nice everybody was here.... The employes were happy.... Zero attitude, what was a nice change for me.... Just happy all around.. We would go back for sure.... If u r not high maintenance.... And just go with the flow and ready to make the best of it.... You can like this place...


53 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 11, 2013
RUI Palace is beautiful!

The grounds deserve a 5 star rating! I am glad we chose the Palace-very grand. The beach is fantastic and very beautiful also. Lots of seating-never a problem to find a lounger on the beach. Kept very clean. The staff works hard. The room was ok. We had 3 rooms and requested king beds when we made the reservation, but only got 1, however, the other rooms had 2 full size beds that are pushed together-might be weird if traveling with 2 couples in the same room. Each room tripped a breaker once-no big deal-breaker box right there. The A/c quit in one room but was fixed very quickly. One room TV did not work-fixed right away too! Great maintenance staff.Our rooms overlooked the grounds, not the fountain/pool areas, but it was very pretty and quiet sitting out there. There are built in drying racks on the balconies for your towels, etc. None of us used the liquor dispensers in the rooms as we were always out and about and near a bar or waitstaff service The mini bars come with beer, various 20 oz bottles of soda/pop and water. They replace everything daily. Plan on using the large bottles of water alot as you will need to brush your teeth with the bottled water per the locals and staff. All of our rooms had a large tub with jets-glad we did not pay extra for a jacuzzi. Complex is not huge and never felt crowded. The stores at this complex have better prices than those on Carribbean St. We visited RUI Macao next door and walked down to the Bavaro complex. I would give the food 3 stars-not bad but not fantastic. You will not go hungry. Room service food is strange. We ate at the Japanense place 1 night and the Braziallan another. Unable to get reservations to Steakhouse or Fusion. Food ok. Lots to eat in the Brazillian-meat coma. Japenese ok... do not recommend the tempora shrimp & veggies-beef plate very good. Fish soup extremely fishy and not liked by anyone.. You make reservations for dinner at the Itailan restaraunt everyday 8am-11am. The bar staff at the pool are great! We tipped them occassionaly and received the top line alcohol and great service.The other alcohol is very good and lots of top named brands. Try the pina coladas with the Ron Bacelo dark rum-We do not like pina coladas but these are yummy-lots of pineapple! They are best at the pool bar as the other places do not have the frozen drink machines and use vodka or white rum. Tips at pool bar: the $1 bills seem to be split among all bartenders but they get to keep the $5's and bigger dominations for themselves, we observed .Also, the pool cleaning man saves all the seats around the pool every morning and looks for a tip to give/save you seats every day. We took our family-24, 25 and 27 y/o. The winds were too high to use the kayaks, boogie boards, water sports, etc.so they didn't have as much to do as they wanted. There are NO jet ski rentals offered anymore. Did not go to nightclub-was $40 US and only included 2 drinks-seemed silly to pay for entertainment and alcohol. There is a show every night near the courtyard. The circus one is the best The only bad thing: Olympus Tours's rep in the lobby-Jsmael (sp?). Rude. He should not assume that Americans do not understand Spanish. He said something very rude and laughed about it-the reps at the other tables had the decency not to laugh. He also did not follow through with our return travel trip and I had to find another rep to take care of us. Would love to return!

The beach
27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 17, 2012
Overall GREAT trip

I was super nervous after ready some of the reviews of this place, but we ended up having a fabulous time! The beach is gorgeous and we could easily find chairs everyday. The wait staff by the beach were very friendly and we tipped $1 for each round of drinks and let me tell ya, they took care of us!! The lunch buffet wasn't stellar, but the dinner buffet was awesome! The japanese and italian resturants were good too --- no complaints. We got massages on the beach one day and it was only $60USD (normally about $100USD in the states.) We are really laid-back people and just found what we liked and had a blast!!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 4, 2014
Not bad but not great

I read reviews to book my vacations so I wanted to give a fair and honest review of the Riu Palace. We had stayed at the same Riu in Playa Del Carmen so, since the reviews were pretty good we thought it would be a good choice for Punta Cana. The resort is beautiful and the beaches are gorgeous. The rooms are comfortable with great A/C but are dated and are in need of some renovations. The food was ok but you're not there for the food, right? It was the service that was bad - pretty much across the board. There were a few standouts: the staff at Krystal were great, especially Benito. He should train everyone there is customer service. Deroche and Juan1 were our favorites at the main buffet and Cristian at the poolside bar was also great. Deroche always saw us coming and had a table waiting. The girl that takes reservations each day was the most miserable person I've ever seen in hospitality. If there were 5 people making reservations, she was rude to each and every person, each day I was there. I don't understand why they would have someone with such a poor attitude out front interacting with guests. No one smiles, they walk in front of you/cut you off, don't look you in the eyes when speaking - just terrible. If you are in the hospitality industry it is imperative to be happy, thoughtful and guest focused. We met quite a few people and the consensus on service was the same across the board. I'm glad I talked to all of them because I thought I may have been wrong or was being too hard but clearly I was not. The other thing to know is you have to use bottled water to brush your teeth because the faucet water is not drinkable - there are signs on the mirror telling you not to use it. Many people I talked to got belly sick, so bring medication from home. Weekends are apparently "locals days". Get ready, your pool becomes a mass of loud screaming kids jumping all over the place. We stayed away because it was so bad - stay at the beach on Sat and Sun. I'm no prude, I love kids and think everyone should have fun but this is different - it was downright stressful. The poolside entertainment crew was great - when they were there. I think they divide their time between the four resorts (all next to each other) so you see them sparingly. It's a shame because they are fun. The evening shows were a nice treat as well. We enjoyed our excursions very much! Katie helped us choose three and they were all fantastic. Marinarium and Side by Side were our favorites. The Marinarium was 1/2 day but had we known how much fun it was we would've done the whole day for sure! Katie even suggested a restaurant in town per our request. Do yourself a favor and go to Noah's. It was FANTASTIC!! A real treat; something for our 21 & 25 year olds as well as us. Food and service were exceptional. The beach had parasailing, windsurfing, kayaking, and Hobicats. We did a couple of those and it was very fun. I would go back to Punta Cana, but I'd go to a different resort. Hope the honesty helps you and the management at Riu Palace.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, La.
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2016
Can't believe we booked this!

This was the worst place we've ever stayed! Tried to give it a chance but its was awful. Had to change rooms as ther first wasn't clean and the second barely better. Food was terrible unless you like loads of salt and day old food. Talked to people from many places including the US, Canada, and overseas and all agreed they would never return. Don't waste your money!!!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Broomfield, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Dec. 2015 Riu Palace Punta Cana

Overall, we had a very good trip and after seeing the other Riu hotel offerings, I feel that the Riu Palace was the best value for a family vacation. My wife and I traveled with our 12 year old son and we all had a great time. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We have traveled fairly extensively through Mexico and of course US destinations. Pros: * Absolutely beautiful hotel with great architecture and immaculately maintained facilities * Nearly every staff member was friendly and provided great service * We were able to visit the adjacent Riu hotels. We found the pool bar at the Bambu to be a lot more fun than the Palace, so we spent more time there. * CheapCarribbean staff were very helpful and easily accessible when we missed our connection and needed to update our ground transportation. * Ground transportation booked through CC contractor was efficient, friendly and a great overall value for the 'private' shuttle option * Very large and plentiful food selection. Unless you are extremely picky, you will not go hungry. * Guests - other guests are friendly and well behaved. We made lots of friends and felt comfortable and safe at all times. Cons: * Restaurants that require reservations - There were limited opportunities to experience these restaurants. Reservations were limited even though there was plenty of room in the restaurants during meal time. The managers that ran these restaurants also tended to be very unfriendly and unyielding. This part of the experience almost felt like they were pushing you to use the main restaurant. * Alcohol selection - options are limited (one type of beer for example), but given the value nature of this hotel, this is a small negative. * Food - I would like to see more of a focus on quality over quantity. Some of the menu options could have been improved greatly with just a little more love. I certainly had plenty of options and by no means did I ever walk away hungry. Again, given the overall value nature of the hotel, this is a very small negative.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cary, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 3, 2017
A great place for family vacation

We have a group of 8 including 3 college students. We had a great time there. The hotel and beach are nice and clean. The sand on the beach are clean and soft. The services are good. The staff are friendly. We stayed 6 nights from 12/20 to 12/26/2016. The weather is very nice and comfortable. Not hot. Not humid. This is always nice ocean breeze. It is a place for relaxing and having fun. There are a lot activities. There are 5 restaurants. So there is always something for everyone. Highly recommend it. Go Riu!

A great place for family vacation A great place for family vacation
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 15, 2011
Fun vacation but a little disappointed

My sister and I planned a get away for just the two of us to Punta Cana. The price offered by Cheap Caribbean was very reasonable and the hotel looked beautiful. And it was. Riu Palace is really a beautiful facility and the staff are extremely helpful and nice. However, we were very disappointed in the quality of the food. Except for the Italian and Brazilian restaurants, the food was not very good. We managed to find things to eat but overall the food was not up to par. I know the RIU Palace draws a large European population and so it makes sense to cater to them by offering popular European dishes, such as cold cuts and cheese for breakfast, but it would be nice to have some good American dishes too. There were eggs, and little bacon bits and pancakes but everything tasted slightly odd and just not very good. Although the presentation of the food was done well. Our room was really nice. We were very impressed. The mattresses on the beds were firm and although they didn't have a mattress cover, it was okay. The air conditioner worked really well and there was a ceiling fan in the room. However, the room really smelled musty. We had read that this was an issue so we brought candles and a Glade plug-in but none of those really worked to combat the overall musty smell. It was pretty bad. Once you were in the room for awhile you tended not to notice it as much but it would really hit you when you'd been away from the toom and then came back and opened the door. Whew! Not a nice scent. Our maid service was good but kind of inconsistent with towels. Some days we would get faceclothes and some days we didn't. One day we didn't get face clothes or hand towels. Not sure why that was. But they were very nice when we would call down and ask for some. The drinks at the pool bar were quite good but we didn't have very good luck with the drinks at the bar in the lobby. We ordered martinis, champagne and mojitos on 3 separate occassions and they were just not good. I've tried many brands of Champagne from cheap Andre to Dom Perignon and the champagne served here was like nothing I'd tasted before. The first time, I thought it had gone bad, like maybe it was starting to vinegar, but then they gave us a glass at dinner at the Krystal restaurant and it was the same. I did see other people drinking it so maybe it was just my sister and I. We definitely did not care for it. The beach in front of the hotel is really beautiful. They have tons of lounge chairs set out on the beach so we never had a problem getting one. They do have a waiter or two going around taking drink orders but it was a little inconsistent. We usually tipped him a dollar to ensure good service and it seemed to work. There were 2 days when they ran out of towels which was a little bit of a bummer. From that point on, we would just go and get them right after breakfast even if we weren't ready to head down to the beach just to ensure we had them for the day. The pool is really nice too with little alcoves you can sit in that have a table and the swim up pool bar is quite handy. Although there are a lot of bees hanging around the bar area, no one every got stung so it wasn't really a problem. The resort does have an entertainment team who initiate games and such. We didn't participate but did watch a couple. Although we had a lovely vacation, I don't know if I would recommend the RIU Palace to a friend. Although the accomodations and service were lovely, the bad food and musty scent in the rooms were very off putting. When we got home we had to run our clothes thru the washer twice with lots of Downey just to get the musty scent out of our clothes. However, while you're there you actually don't notice the musty scent in your clothes so that's a good thing.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Aliso Viejo, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 1, 2011
This is aPalace

Just came back from the most beautiful vacations ever!!!!!I went on the web site of Cheapcaribbean.com purchased the 6 night package (very simple procedure) printout paper work took passport and WE went there. Fantastic! My wife is very picky, well, she did not find one negative thing about this place.Everything was great ,weather ,food,stuff,package. It was my wife's b-day so we celebrated in the Brazilian restaurant. She got roses on the table , wine ,shammpagne on ice and at the end the most beautiful coconut cake. She loved it all!!!! Going back next year. Can't wait!!! Just fell in love with this place.

This is aPalace This is aPalace
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2017
Beautiful Resort

Had a wonderful time at this resort beach was beautiful though there was a lot of sea weed on the beach but there were workers trying to keep it cleaned up. would recommend this resort for anyone looking to go to Punta Cana


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year