All

Riu Palace Peninsula Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 256 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"except for the smell when you first get there. But other then that rooms are nice food is great nice service. We had a wonderful time" – NICE12
269 out of 296 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
something for everyone END OF THE RAINBOW! View from our Balcony view from beach Taken at the beach Our breathtaking view from room 1009! Special towel cake for my boyfriend on his birthday! Rocky beach view from our room view from the pool area View From Balcony Room view View from our balcony Room view view from 12th floor The Resorts Pool Area BEAUTIFUL BEACH W/ DRINKS! view from hotel room at pools Isla mujeres(my amazing picture) Cancun 2014 tequila table only for show no tasting. Every room has an ocean view Our room Ocean just like on a cruise ship

All Riu Palace Peninsula Customer Reviews

1-10 of 256 reviews. Sort by
May 8, 2013
NZ review: Awesome as bro.

My wife and I have just returned to NZ from this resort and we loved it. In my research I couldn't find many reviews from NZ so I wanted to write this one for any other kiwis who might be considering this resort. Also for the record, we are a married couple with no kids in our 30's. First up, the Resort. The resort is still pretty new and is not even listed on many of the local maps. I'm not going to re-list all the same things that have already been said, but suffice it to say, believe the best comments and forget the rest. From what I can gather, the Riu franchise is a pretty middle of the road one. The cheaper Riu resorts were definitely older and more basic than ours, but they were all clean and well maintained. I saw good evidence of a company with real pride in their product. If you have a choice then I'd recommend going for the higher end of the resorts they offer. The staff here are fantastic, the wifi internet was fine in our room despite other reports saying it was weak. I was skyping from our balcony on the 16th floor with no problems at all! I paid a little extra for the room on the top floors and I'd recommend that option. The Villa spa rooms I saw mentioned didn't look as attractive to me once we were there, since they have almost no view at all compared with the main hotel rooms. EVERYTHING in this resort is covered, except phone calls and laundry. The drinks were flowing constantly, and even though we did tip most of the time, I experimented with not tipping as well to see if there was a noticable difference in potency and if there was, I couldn't detect it. That spells even better service to me, so I felt much better about tipping. I would come back here in a heartbeat. The restaurants were all great, and they have the largest buffet I have seen. And it was great too. I don't know what people must be used to if they can find anything to complain about with the food! Booking a table at the specialty restaurants can be hard. If I were travelling with a group I probably wouldn't even bother trying. If you really want to, you'll need to line up at the service desk about 15minutes before it opens to have any shot at all. Couples should be fine to just rock up to the restaurant a little after the service opens to see if there are spaces where people didn't turn up. If you do miss out, the hotel will try to get you into a sitting on another day. We were told that you couldn't pre-book which I think is good. The beach is a very nice white sand beach. There are comments here saying it is quite rocky, and it is in places, but nothing I'd worry about. The rocks are good actually because that is what attracts the sealife. It is a very easy little beach for swimming and lounging, and if you want something better, then the other resort is right next door and you can go use their beach. They have a great system for borrowing the snorkels and flippers or whatever you need so don't worry about that. There is also a lovely man that wanders around making sure you have fresh Mohitos. I would tip him a lot, because he is awesome. You don't need to, but it'd be nice. Speaking of Money, there's a ATM in the resort and it costs you an extra $7NZ per transaction to use it. That's the same rate I found in all the ATMs in Mexico so I'd say go ahead and use that one. Peso are easy to use in Mex because they are approx 10 to 1NZ. Even I can work that out! We came here towards the end of April and I'd recommend that time. It is just after spring break, so you miss all the crazy people. The weather was great, around 25-35 degrees C every day, no rain but lots of humidity. Cancun is easy to get to, the buses stop right outside the hotel and are about $1NZ each way. Olympus Tours were great too, I'd recommend pre-booking them for the transfers from the airport and once there, you can arrange any local trips you want to do. Kiwis should be aware as well, that the snorkling to be had around this resort and on the way to Isla Mujueres is VERY average compared to what we get in the South Pacific. Not saying you shouldn't do it, just don't expect or pay too much. If you are paying for it, ask them if you will be snorkling ON a reef. Otherwise you will not be and you may not see much variety. Lastly for the Kiwis, be smart if booking flights through the USA. It can take significantly longer for you to clear customs than the yanks, so you'll want to make sure you have good connection times. We flew United, and I'd recommend them, especially since you can get AirNZ points with them! Lastly, cheapcaribbean. These guys are so great. When you book from NZ, you can't submit your credit card for payment, but I emailed them and THEY phoned ME in NZ to sort it out. Awesome service. I have absolutely no complaints, and I was not able to fault the process one bit. I would have NO HESITATION at all using you guys again and have already recommended you to everyone I know. For Kiwis looking at this resort on this site and wondering if it is a good deal... it is. Look, with the number of people processed through this place and staying at this resort, there are bound to be a few bad experiences - but based on my experience and what I saw, the star system on this site is pretty bang on. Love it!


31 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Hawkes Bay, NZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 28, 2012
Riu Plaza Peninsula all-inclusive excellent!

My girlfriend and I visited the Riu Plaza Peninsula from 11/11 through 11/18 and the trip overall was a great success. The weather was 80+ everyday! I purchased the all-inclusive package and that option alone made the trip worth the money spent. I added the "to and from" Olympus Tours option that shuttled us to our hotel and to the airport. I am all about convenience on vacation, this helped add to the relaxation and ease of the trip. There are 4 great restaurants to eat at night (reservations needed but easily done at Service Desk) with 2 time options, 6:30 and 8:30 I believe. The Riu provides an all day Buffet (Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner) and believe it or not, the food is actually quality and the service is amazing. Even with everything being free and part of the all-inclusive package, the service from the Staff is spectacular! Lastly for food, there is a small restaurant when you walk into the Hotel called Italiano, try the Beef Tenderloin entree option! It is by far one of the tastiest pieces of meat I have ever had! There is a small buffet line also and 4 options to choose from at all times for Lunch/Dinner. No reservations needed here. The atmosphere at the Riu is outstanding. There are 4 Pools to relax and enjoy the sun. 1 of the Pools has a swim up bar! The beach is a bit slim but still large enough to get the sand feeling and ease to take a dip in the ocean. I didn't pick the Riu for the beach so again, I knew that the beach area would not be as great as the Jersey Shore! :) The lobby provides both a Cocktail bar and on the flip side, a Cappuccino bar. There is also a 24/7 Sports Bar in the Hotel and an outside bar on the beach near the Villas that is open until midnight. There is entertainment each night with 2 bars providing service for drinks. As a heads up, there is NO club or dance room. All in all, I highly recommend the Riu Plaza Peninsula. Try to get the ocean view as you overlook all of the Pools and of course, the view of the ocean is outstanding! You can tip (optional) with either US dollar or can convert into Pesos. Great service, food, drinks, all-inclusive, relaxation...the Riu does an amazing job all-around and looking forward to going back!


70 of 73 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 29, 2012
Greatest Anniversary

Picture this! It's your third wedding anniversay, and it falls on a monumental, once in a lifetime date, 12/12/12. You tell yourself that you need the perfect trip to celebrate this numerical phenomena, but not too sure where you should go. While researching the internet for great all-inclusive deals, you stumble upon a site called cheapcaribbean.com. At first, you a little skeptical because you've never heard of it before, but decide to scan their website to see what they have to offer. Now mind you, you've been in contact with your usual travel agent, but despite her many packages, nothing really caught your attention. Nonetheless, as you're surfing the world of cheapcaribbean.com, you're hypnotized by a great offer. When I saw the awesome deal offered to go to a brand new resort in Cancun, I new that this was the trip for my wife and I's 3rd wedding anniversary. Upon arriving at the Riu Palace Peninsula, we were immediately dazzled by the grandeur of its majestic appearance. This resort is definitely royalty at its best. The staff were very welcoming and accomodating to providing us with an unforgettable experience. We were greeted by a member of the hospitality team with the arrival cocktail of the day, and as a gift to us, the check-in staff gave us a free upgrade. We were able to be housed in a high-floor room with stunning ocean view. The deluxe suite was filled with amenities that cultivated the essence of our vacation. The famous Riu liquor dispenser and minibar kept us full of spirit. The Hotel's prestigious decor and design is unmatched. Being that it was built less than a year ago, it's modern style gives it a fresh and hip look. The swimming pools provided great aquatic pleasure and relaxation. The swim-up bar was a great combination creating true fun in the sun. Our food experience tantalized our taste buds and kept us yearning for more. There are culinary options for everyone, including the pickiest eaters. Even during the late hours of the night, you can open up your room service food menu and order late night meals and snacks before resting for the next day of fun. I could write all day about our experienc at the Riu Palace Peninsula in Cancun, but words have a limit to how much they can describe this mastadon of the hotel world. I If you are reading this, search no more. This place is definitely where you need to be to have the time of your life.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 19, 2012
Room for improvement - but it's only up from here!

My family and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula. We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas previously, and our experience at the Peninsula was ENTIRELY different - but in a good way! We were displeased about very few things, so I'll get those out of the way first. The food quality/preparation needs some improvement in the specialty restaurants. We were only able to get reservations at the steakhouse and Japanese restaurants for dinner, so I can't comment on the others. The steakhouse was underwhelming, at best. The lobster with the "surf and turf" meal was like rubber and the steak was served cold. The sushi that is served before the meal at the Japanese restaurant was the only thing all of us enjoyed - unfortunately, we ended up ordering room service later. If you are looking for a lot of beach time, this resort may not be for you. As for the beach itself, the sand is still very rocky/pebbly and it is slightly uncomfortable to walk in barefoot. There is also very little beach area that isn't covered in large rocks. Even once in the water, there were small rocks poking up in the sand that cut up our feet. Also, BEWARE OF THE ELEVATORS! The elevator doors have not been adjusted to a correct sensitivity yet, and will slam shut on you while you are entering/exiting. I was nearly knocked off my feet by the force of a closing door, and we all witnessed it happening to several other guests - including a small child who was thrown to the ground. Kind of silly, but scary nonetheless! As for the good things... everything else! Check in/out was smooth and painless - thank you Alexis for being so helpful! The staff here is absolutely excellent and will go above and beyond to meet your expectations. They made a genuine effort to get to know us and interacted with us daily. Huge thank you to Juan, Dave, Viri, Gaudalupe, and Jose for making our time there very special! :) There are several pools available depending on what you're looking to do. The swim up bar is excellent and never too crowded. We were told the hotel was at 90% capacity while we were there, and there were always more than plenty of sun loungers available. The nightly shows are full of talent and extremely entertaining. The boys spent quite a bit of time in the sports bar, which is open 24 hours and offers a variety of snacks in addition to drinks. The rooms and lobby were always immaculate, with beautiful views wherever you turned. Beds were comfortable and the mini bar was stocked daily. As for the other guests of this resort, we all felt like they were more laid back compared to Las Americas. It's definitely more of a "party feel", which we loved. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula very much. We were impressed how smoothly everything was running for only being up and functioning for a little over a month. Like the title of my review states, there's certainly room for improvement in several areas, but I have no doubt it will be one of the best resorts in Cancun soon.


62 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tulsa, OK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2012
Great Resort

Just got back and would highly recommend the resort. Best all inclusive.. Amazing place great service. Food was very-very good "except" the Italian restaurant.... Rooms are incredibly nice and all have views... Beach is nice but a little small.... But enjoy having full drink service. Even has minor room service.... Will be back......

Great Resort Great Resort
21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2013
Excellent

This Hotel is awesome, from the moment we got there we loved it. The check in process did took a little bit longer than we expected, but after that every single dime we spent was worth it. The hotel is very nice and looks very luxurious just like the pictures everything is the same. The rooms are great and very comfortable. Their pools and the beach are not over crowded. There is enough chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The entertainment is fabulous, we loved playing water volleyball and water polo. We had a great time and would definetely return next year, but this time the whole family. Their customer service was beyond my expectations, from the moment we arrived they treat you like royalty. Everyone is very polite and helpful always smiling. I never saw a person in a bad mood. It was awesome!! The only thing I wish it would change is the parties and the entertainment that ends at 11 pm I think that is too early but it is understandable its so everyone else who doesn't like to party can enjoy the night. Very clean hotel and their customer service was awesome!!!! I almost forgot about the food, they had for all taste buds. From sea food to scrambled eggs. Very delicious!! The only thind was that you had to reserve 2 days in advance to have dinner a la carte and sometimes they did not have a slot. But in reality there was no need to eat anywhere else their buffet had everything! No complains everything was awesome!

Room view Ocean
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Eagle Pass, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 3, 2013
My New Found Love!!!

This review is based on my recent stay for 5 days, 4 nights during Memorial Day weekend 2013. It was a total of 5 African American girls from New York between 22-24 years old that traveled (just to give some background). This hotel is hands down one of the best Cancun, Mexico has to offer. It is new so everything is very much so update. It gives off a very regal but welcoming feel. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. They also do have cheap liquor dispensers which is sure to get you turnt up!!! The buffet was good but could have been better compared to other islands I have been to. I did not eat at all the restaurants (to many lol) but the Mexican one had pretty good food. The Italian restaurant was not that great, but you do not need a reservation. The sports bar that is 24hrs did not have very good food at all unless you are that drunk and hungry. I did not go on any tour but the hotel does offer those options. The pool and beach is where I stayed at with my group the most. The swim up bar was beyond fun. The hotel is not in the heart of downtown Mexico but its nothing the bus or cab ride wont handle. The cab drivers will try to swindle you so I would only pay around 100-150 pesos tops. That's 10-15 USD. To me even that is expensive. The bus is only $1 USD. If you go to this hotel you will enjoy every bit of your vacation for its close enough to the clubs and parties but far enough to have a relaxing vacation. Honestly staying here was the perfect balance for someone who is old enough to know they wanna relax but young enough to still want to let loose at night. Enjoy your trip and I strongly suggest the Riu Palace Peninsula!!!


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Queens, New York
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2012
Unlimited Joy

My Fiance and I had a high expectations and this Resort had everything we wanted, my superior junior suite was very nice ,loved the spa decor and the spectacular breath taking view . The buffet had so many differents variety of food , and great chef , overall the Piano bar, the shows were very entertaining, the staff gave us the Royal service, and for those who like art , they have a place you can paint your picture at the art shop and take it home,,, The only observation I have to make is that I wish the Resort had a Dance Club , but other than that , I was very happy , Thanks RIU for a great vacation we'll be back in the near future

Unlimited Joy Unlimited Joy
13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas , Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 11, 2012
Great Hotel!

Check in was fast and easy, and they give you a drink as they tell you about the hotel. Expect to be treated like a royal here, as they will wait on you hand and foot. The hotel has 5 restaurants including the buffet. Dinner service in the restaurants is slower then at the buffet, so if you are looking for a quick in and out, go to the buffet. The rooms are amazing, with a balcony that has a great view, a jacuzzi tub, and spacious room being the "cheapest" room. Our room was on the third floor, but the view was still out of this world. The room comes with a mini fridge that is stocked with beer, water and soda. You can drink these without any extra cost. The room also has 4 different kinds of liquor, that they will refill and keep stocked, also at no extra cost. There is a small art studio, where you can paint and draw, or have a picture drawn for you. The staff is always smiling and happy. The beaches are not as big as at some other hotels, and the sand is situated on top of very large rocks, but it's still amazing. The great thing about staying at the Riu Palace, is that you can go into any of the other Riu hotels to eat, drink and use the pools too. You will not be disappointed if you choose Riu Palace!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Manchester, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 31, 2012
Top Notch Service!

We went here for our Honeymoon in October 2012. We were in awe when we walked in to this beautiful resort. It was more than we ever hoped for. Our room looked over the pools and the beach. It was SO BEAUTIFUL. The rooms were clean and stocked every day. We loved the swim up bar and the different clubs they had here. You could honestly not leave this resort the whole trip and be very satisfied. They had shows every night and a band. Free snorkeling, kayaking and hobes! Activities all day long. We loved working out with RON and GEORGE on the beach!!! You won't wait longer than a minute to be served. There is food to eat 24 hours a day, and it is DELICIOUS!!! You can make reservations for the different restaurants they offer or you can eat at the buffet!! We loved the buffet, so many options... But most of all, the service here is FANTASTIC. We made so many new friends. They go out of their way to make you happy, comfortable and make sure you have the best trip ever. Shout out to Ulyssys, Fernando, Jaquin, Elexi and SO MANY MORE!!!! There was not once I did not find a happy helpful person. We will be back to see you next year!!!! CAN"T WAIT! Already looking to book again.

Top Notch Service!
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year