All

Riu Palace Peninsula Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 291 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.6 out of 5
"Rained Wednesday and Thursday pretty much all day. Sunday we asked for help with our a c. No one came till Tuesday. Problem was not resolved with our a c. Food needed more of variety please." – nursingcaringme
298 out of 332 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
tequila table only for show no tasting. Cancun 2014 Isla mujeres(my amazing picture) Room view The Resorts Pool Area view from our room Room view Every room has an ocean view Taken at the beach BEAUTIFUL BEACH W/ DRINKS! View from our balcony View from our Balcony Special towel cake for my boyfriend on his birthday! view from beach Rocky beach Riu Peninsula!!! Our room view from 12th floor END OF THE RAINBOW! view from the pool area something for everyone Ocean view from hotel room at pools Chichen Itza!!! Our breathtaking view from room 1009! View From Balcony just like on a cruise ship

All Riu Palace Peninsula Customer Reviews

1-10 of 291 reviews. Sort by
November 28, 2012
Riu Plaza Peninsula all-inclusive excellent!

My girlfriend and I visited the Riu Plaza Peninsula from 11/11 through 11/18 and the trip overall was a great success. The weather was 80+ everyday! I purchased the all-inclusive package and that option alone made the trip worth the money spent. I added the "to and from" Olympus Tours option that shuttled us to our hotel and to the airport. I am all about convenience on vacation, this helped add to the relaxation and ease of the trip. There are 4 great restaurants to eat at night (reservations needed but easily done at Service Desk) with 2 time options, 6:30 and 8:30 I believe. The Riu provides an all day Buffet (Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner) and believe it or not, the food is actually quality and the service is amazing. Even with everything being free and part of the all-inclusive package, the service from the Staff is spectacular! Lastly for food, there is a small restaurant when you walk into the Hotel called Italiano, try the Beef Tenderloin entree option! It is by far one of the tastiest pieces of meat I have ever had! There is a small buffet line also and 4 options to choose from at all times for Lunch/Dinner. No reservations needed here. The atmosphere at the Riu is outstanding. There are 4 Pools to relax and enjoy the sun. 1 of the Pools has a swim up bar! The beach is a bit slim but still large enough to get the sand feeling and ease to take a dip in the ocean. I didn't pick the Riu for the beach so again, I knew that the beach area would not be as great as the Jersey Shore! :) The lobby provides both a Cocktail bar and on the flip side, a Cappuccino bar. There is also a 24/7 Sports Bar in the Hotel and an outside bar on the beach near the Villas that is open until midnight. There is entertainment each night with 2 bars providing service for drinks. As a heads up, there is NO club or dance room. All in all, I highly recommend the Riu Plaza Peninsula. Try to get the ocean view as you overlook all of the Pools and of course, the view of the ocean is outstanding! You can tip (optional) with either US dollar or can convert into Pesos. Great service, food, drinks, all-inclusive, relaxation...the Riu does an amazing job all-around and looking forward to going back!


70 of 74 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 19, 2012
Room for improvement - but it's only up from here!

My family and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula. We have stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas previously, and our experience at the Peninsula was ENTIRELY different - but in a good way! We were displeased about very few things, so I'll get those out of the way first. The food quality/preparation needs some improvement in the specialty restaurants. We were only able to get reservations at the steakhouse and Japanese restaurants for dinner, so I can't comment on the others. The steakhouse was underwhelming, at best. The lobster with the "surf and turf" meal was like rubber and the steak was served cold. The sushi that is served before the meal at the Japanese restaurant was the only thing all of us enjoyed - unfortunately, we ended up ordering room service later. If you are looking for a lot of beach time, this resort may not be for you. As for the beach itself, the sand is still very rocky/pebbly and it is slightly uncomfortable to walk in barefoot. There is also very little beach area that isn't covered in large rocks. Even once in the water, there were small rocks poking up in the sand that cut up our feet. Also, BEWARE OF THE ELEVATORS! The elevator doors have not been adjusted to a correct sensitivity yet, and will slam shut on you while you are entering/exiting. I was nearly knocked off my feet by the force of a closing door, and we all witnessed it happening to several other guests - including a small child who was thrown to the ground. Kind of silly, but scary nonetheless! As for the good things... everything else! Check in/out was smooth and painless - thank you Alexis for being so helpful! The staff here is absolutely excellent and will go above and beyond to meet your expectations. They made a genuine effort to get to know us and interacted with us daily. Huge thank you to Juan, Dave, Viri, Gaudalupe, and Jose for making our time there very special! :) There are several pools available depending on what you're looking to do. The swim up bar is excellent and never too crowded. We were told the hotel was at 90% capacity while we were there, and there were always more than plenty of sun loungers available. The nightly shows are full of talent and extremely entertaining. The boys spent quite a bit of time in the sports bar, which is open 24 hours and offers a variety of snacks in addition to drinks. The rooms and lobby were always immaculate, with beautiful views wherever you turned. Beds were comfortable and the mini bar was stocked daily. As for the other guests of this resort, we all felt like they were more laid back compared to Las Americas. It's definitely more of a "party feel", which we loved. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula very much. We were impressed how smoothly everything was running for only being up and functioning for a little over a month. Like the title of my review states, there's certainly room for improvement in several areas, but I have no doubt it will be one of the best resorts in Cancun soon.


63 of 74 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tulsa, OK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 8, 2013
NZ review: Awesome as bro.

My wife and I have just returned to NZ from this resort and we loved it. In my research I couldn't find many reviews from NZ so I wanted to write this one for any other kiwis who might be considering this resort. Also for the record, we are a married couple with no kids in our 30's. First up, the Resort. The resort is still pretty new and is not even listed on many of the local maps. I'm not going to re-list all the same things that have already been said, but suffice it to say, believe the best comments and forget the rest. From what I can gather, the Riu franchise is a pretty middle of the road one. The cheaper Riu resorts were definitely older and more basic than ours, but they were all clean and well maintained. I saw good evidence of a company with real pride in their product. If you have a choice then I'd recommend going for the higher end of the resorts they offer. The staff here are fantastic, the wifi internet was fine in our room despite other reports saying it was weak. I was skyping from our balcony on the 16th floor with no problems at all! I paid a little extra for the room on the top floors and I'd recommend that option. The Villa spa rooms I saw mentioned didn't look as attractive to me once we were there, since they have almost no view at all compared with the main hotel rooms. EVERYTHING in this resort is covered, except phone calls and laundry. The drinks were flowing constantly, and even though we did tip most of the time, I experimented with not tipping as well to see if there was a noticable difference in potency and if there was, I couldn't detect it. That spells even better service to me, so I felt much better about tipping. I would come back here in a heartbeat. The restaurants were all great, and they have the largest buffet I have seen. And it was great too. I don't know what people must be used to if they can find anything to complain about with the food! Booking a table at the specialty restaurants can be hard. If I were travelling with a group I probably wouldn't even bother trying. If you really want to, you'll need to line up at the service desk about 15minutes before it opens to have any shot at all. Couples should be fine to just rock up to the restaurant a little after the service opens to see if there are spaces where people didn't turn up. If you do miss out, the hotel will try to get you into a sitting on another day. We were told that you couldn't pre-book which I think is good. The beach is a very nice white sand beach. There are comments here saying it is quite rocky, and it is in places, but nothing I'd worry about. The rocks are good actually because that is what attracts the sealife. It is a very easy little beach for swimming and lounging, and if you want something better, then the other resort is right next door and you can go use their beach. They have a great system for borrowing the snorkels and flippers or whatever you need so don't worry about that. There is also a lovely man that wanders around making sure you have fresh Mohitos. I would tip him a lot, because he is awesome. You don't need to, but it'd be nice. Speaking of Money, there's a ATM in the resort and it costs you an extra $7NZ per transaction to use it. That's the same rate I found in all the ATMs in Mexico so I'd say go ahead and use that one. Peso are easy to use in Mex because they are approx 10 to 1NZ. Even I can work that out! We came here towards the end of April and I'd recommend that time. It is just after spring break, so you miss all the crazy people. The weather was great, around 25-35 degrees C every day, no rain but lots of humidity. Cancun is easy to get to, the buses stop right outside the hotel and are about $1NZ each way. Olympus Tours were great too, I'd recommend pre-booking them for the transfers from the airport and once there, you can arrange any local trips you want to do. Kiwis should be aware as well, that the snorkling to be had around this resort and on the way to Isla Mujueres is VERY average compared to what we get in the South Pacific. Not saying you shouldn't do it, just don't expect or pay too much. If you are paying for it, ask them if you will be snorkling ON a reef. Otherwise you will not be and you may not see much variety. Lastly for the Kiwis, be smart if booking flights through the USA. It can take significantly longer for you to clear customs than the yanks, so you'll want to make sure you have good connection times. We flew United, and I'd recommend them, especially since you can get AirNZ points with them! Lastly, cheapcaribbean. These guys are so great. When you book from NZ, you can't submit your credit card for payment, but I emailed them and THEY phoned ME in NZ to sort it out. Awesome service. I have absolutely no complaints, and I was not able to fault the process one bit. I would have NO HESITATION at all using you guys again and have already recommended you to everyone I know. For Kiwis looking at this resort on this site and wondering if it is a good deal... it is. Look, with the number of people processed through this place and staying at this resort, there are bound to be a few bad experiences - but based on my experience and what I saw, the star system on this site is pretty bang on. Love it!


33 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Hawkes Bay, NZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 3, 2013
My New Found Love!!!

This review is based on my recent stay for 5 days, 4 nights during Memorial Day weekend 2013. It was a total of 5 African American girls from New York between 22-24 years old that traveled (just to give some background). This hotel is hands down one of the best Cancun, Mexico has to offer. It is new so everything is very much so update. It gives off a very regal but welcoming feel. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. They also do have cheap liquor dispensers which is sure to get you turnt up!!! The buffet was good but could have been better compared to other islands I have been to. I did not eat at all the restaurants (to many lol) but the Mexican one had pretty good food. The Italian restaurant was not that great, but you do not need a reservation. The sports bar that is 24hrs did not have very good food at all unless you are that drunk and hungry. I did not go on any tour but the hotel does offer those options. The pool and beach is where I stayed at with my group the most. The swim up bar was beyond fun. The hotel is not in the heart of downtown Mexico but its nothing the bus or cab ride wont handle. The cab drivers will try to swindle you so I would only pay around 100-150 pesos tops. That's 10-15 USD. To me even that is expensive. The bus is only $1 USD. If you go to this hotel you will enjoy every bit of your vacation for its close enough to the clubs and parties but far enough to have a relaxing vacation. Honestly staying here was the perfect balance for someone who is old enough to know they wanna relax but young enough to still want to let loose at night. Enjoy your trip and I strongly suggest the Riu Palace Peninsula!!!


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Queens, New York
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2012
Great Resort

Just got back and would highly recommend the resort. Best all inclusive.. Amazing place great service. Food was very-very good "except" the Italian restaurant.... Rooms are incredibly nice and all have views... Beach is nice but a little small.... But enjoy having full drink service. Even has minor room service.... Will be back......

Great Resort Great Resort
24 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2012
Great Hotel!

Check in was fast and easy, and they give you a drink as they tell you about the hotel. Expect to be treated like a royal here, as they will wait on you hand and foot. The hotel has 5 restaurants including the buffet. Dinner service in the restaurants is slower then at the buffet, so if you are looking for a quick in and out, go to the buffet. The rooms are amazing, with a balcony that has a great view, a jacuzzi tub, and spacious room being the "cheapest" room. Our room was on the third floor, but the view was still out of this world. The room comes with a mini fridge that is stocked with beer, water and soda. You can drink these without any extra cost. The room also has 4 different kinds of liquor, that they will refill and keep stocked, also at no extra cost. There is a small art studio, where you can paint and draw, or have a picture drawn for you. The staff is always smiling and happy. The beaches are not as big as at some other hotels, and the sand is situated on top of very large rocks, but it's still amazing. The great thing about staying at the Riu Palace, is that you can go into any of the other Riu hotels to eat, drink and use the pools too. You will not be disappointed if you choose Riu Palace!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Manchester, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2013
Too short

We took our 19 yr old daughter and her BF as a "good job" reward for their hard work this past year @ college & working. Only wish it was longer than 5 days. Everything was great and worked out to a tee, with one exception. Nobody's fault but our own, from Cancun through Dallas on Spirit, to Chicago. Customs bag recheck was a nightmare, almost missed our flight home. Recommend everyone look closely at connection times, or only take carry on bag if possible, to avoid the stress. (But then u are limited to those "liquid" souvineers) Kudos to all @ Riu Palace Awsome place, people, food, drinks, entertainment. Thank you Cheap Carribean and Olympus Tours for providing every possible option for us to choose.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 17, 2013
Great Vacation, Great Value

Vacationed early Jan 2013. Hotel and facilities are wondeful. The ocean view from the 15'th floor was wonderful. Service and staff were great. They could not have done more to assist us when ever we needed it. Food was very good with a wide variety in buffet - Las Olas. Speciality restaurants were good also. Room was very comfortable and refrig was stocked every day. With the drapes, balconey glass dorr open you could see and hear the ocean from sofa, bed, and tub. Room service worked well also. Pool area was laid out well with pleny of open sun area or shaded areas based on your preference. Entertainment was above average and the Hotel ran 2 late night time ventures to local clubs for parting. Just pick the shuttle up at lobby. Only area that needs improvement is the beach. Rocks on one side to get to ocean and most of shallow beach area had some rocks on bottom. Not much seaweed. Top notch staff, great facility = wonderful vacation. Finally, Olympus Travel provided excellent service on airport transfer and 2 day trips.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Eastern Penna.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 11, 2013
Riu Palace Peninsula

Food The only bad restaurant is the Italian. They need at least one more restaurant since they can get booked at least a day or two in advance when busy. Don't want to drive business away. Beaches is very rocky, but people were out in the Carribean Sea snorkling. Alcohol unlimited quantity in the room and out of room. Rooms safe, comfortable beds, coffee pot, and drinks Pools at least 4. Chaise chairs unlimited no need to run down at crack of dawn. Activities water aerobics, yoga, stretching, step, Volleyball The big theatre had nightly entertainment mexican bands, audience participation, etc. Sun was the best! take sunscreen. Relaxing Friendliness from other guests and employees


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2013
Excellent

This Hotel is awesome, from the moment we got there we loved it. The check in process did took a little bit longer than we expected, but after that every single dime we spent was worth it. The hotel is very nice and looks very luxurious just like the pictures everything is the same. The rooms are great and very comfortable. Their pools and the beach are not over crowded. There is enough chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The entertainment is fabulous, we loved playing water volleyball and water polo. We had a great time and would definetely return next year, but this time the whole family. Their customer service was beyond my expectations, from the moment we arrived they treat you like royalty. Everyone is very polite and helpful always smiling. I never saw a person in a bad mood. It was awesome!! The only thing I wish it would change is the parties and the entertainment that ends at 11 pm I think that is too early but it is understandable its so everyone else who doesn't like to party can enjoy the night. Very clean hotel and their customer service was awesome!!!! I almost forgot about the food, they had for all taste buds. From sea food to scrambled eggs. Very delicious!! The only thind was that you had to reserve 2 days in advance to have dinner a la carte and sometimes they did not have a slot. But in reality there was no need to eat anywhere else their buffet had everything! No complains everything was awesome!

Room view Ocean
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Eagle Pass, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations