All

Riu Palace Paradise Island Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Paradise Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 524 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"The Atlantis looked like it was worth the extra $$$ but Riu is doing renovations. The trip was great for the family. Just try to plan activities to do outside of the resort." – Smalls3
460 out of 594 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Rusted shower head Rusted tub/shower View from the Hotel Deck View from our room Cockroache in room. Our view from 1021 View from our balcony Beautiful night shot from room Sunrise at Riu Palace Beach me havin the best time of my life on riu palace paradise island View from our balcony My Final Sunrise Riu beach area The hotel from the beach Downtown View from our room View of beach and Atlantis Beach resort from room 701 Ocean View :-) expresso martini view of pool and hotel View from our balcony Our Bahamas Birthday 2013 view from room RIU hotel beach, perfection view of pool/beach from hotel room Sunset from terrace view from our room View from our room The Riu at night time view from our room view from room 820 Riu Palace Paradise Island in the lobby at the RIU, my son posing w/dressed up Riu Beach View from 7th Floor room balcony 8th Floor view of the pool view from restaurant View from our room Sunrise from Room Even on a cloudy day...it was awesome. Beach front at the Riu The view from our room The hotel from the beach Toes in the sand 8th Floor view from our balcony Beach Room with a View Resort from beach Sandy Toes at Rose Island View of beach Cool loungers in the pool View from room Ocean view 14 floor fun in sun Lobby bar Ocean view floor View from our room Beach in front of hotel Our last meal with the amazing Lynden. balcony view Snorkeling with Bahama Divers beach @Riu

All Riu Palace Paradise Island Customer Reviews

1-10 of 524 reviews. Sort by
September 3, 2012
The Riu Palace was better than expected

We traveled Aug. 18th - 23rd to the Bahamas. We stayed at the Riu Palace on recommendation from Cheap Caribbean and we were not disappointed. We booked the airport transfer ahead of time with Majestic which is highly recommended. The Majestic bus was waiting for us as well as friendly staff to help. On the way to the hotel, the bus driver briefed us on the area and gave us some ideas of where to eat and activities while we are on the island. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by staff members who helped get our luggage off the bus and into the hotel. We were advised to take at least $100 in $1's and we did tip the staff along the way. They were not pushy about it at all, but are very, very helpful. The hotel is beautiful and was very clean. The staff was very visible at all times cleaning in the lobby and on the floors. There was only 1 family ahead of us in line at check-in. Check-in and check-out was very easy and quick. The all-inclusive vacation was very beneficial for us. Our room was ready when we arrived. The mini-fridge was fully stocked with pop, water and beer. The staff replenished upon request. Every room has an ocean-view. The view was absolutely beautiful. The food was better than we expected. We ordered room service several times. Limited menu for room service, but it was great for a quick snack if you didn't want the full dining experience. We did not have to wait in line in the morning to reserve for the restaurants. We did eat at the Japanese restaurant and the steakhouse. The food and service was very good at both. We liked the food at the steakhouse better. Our server was very friendly and pleasant. Have the baked alaska for dessert. You can order room service for breakfast, but you did have to fill out the form the night before by 11 pm and hang it on the door. There is a great variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you choose to eat at the buffet. The pool was nice as well as the ocean. The locals do try to sell you banana boat rides, jet ski rides etc. but once you tell them no thanks they do leave you alone. I found that the vendors were a little more aggressive at the straw market in downtown Nassau. Taxis are very easy to get. They basically run in front of the hotel so when you walk out the front door there is a cab waiting. It is very inexpensive to go to Nassau (approx. $12 one way). We did visit The Atlantis which is right next door, but to see the aquarium etc. you do have to pay an entrance fee of $120 per person per day which includes the water slides. There are two desks in the lobby to sign up for excursions. We took the day trip on a powerboat Exuma. The best day of our entire trip. It is a 1 hour and 20 minute ride to a private island. The water was so blue. You can't even imagine how beautiful. The guides were so friendly and helpful. We swam on a private beach, snorkeled (my son saw a lion fish!), had lunch (fed the scraps the the sharks), walked on a sand bar in the middle of nowhere, and the last stop before heading back to the hotel, we did feed the iguanas grapes from a stick. The trip is well worth the money. Perfect trip, very easy, no frills, no fuss. Just relaxed and had fun. Would highly recommend the Riu.


227 of 230 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Akron, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 5, 2012
Beautiful Bahama trip

Well to start off, if your thinking of booking this resort. JUST DO IT!!!!. My wife and I went with our 1 year old son. Arriving at the airport was easy and just a question at the front desk got us going in the right direction to meet the shuttle (who actually existed). It was about a 20-30 min. drive to the RIU. The driver let us in on some of the island's do's and don't. Gave us directions to local attractions and how to catch the ferry to the main land (Nassau). Once we arrived to the RIU (earlier that checkin) we were given a room quite soon. The room was ALOT better than expected. The "partial beach view" we paid for was great!. The7th floor view was amazing. We had a direct view to the crystal clear waters of the paradise island and a view to the overpriced Atlantis resorts. After unpacking we immediatley hit up the buffet which was outstanding. We were not much of pool people, but it looked clean. Upon walking down to the beach (which is the same shared beach with the Atlantis beach) you were in heaven. Chairs were free of charge. The Jet Ski, bannana boat, snorkel vendors were harrassing you once you stepped foot on the beach. If you declinded their service, they would back off. (word around the beach was they would cut your paid time by 5-10 minutes,... BE CAREFUL, watch your own time). The next few days were easy..... Wake up, eat breakfast, beach and drink, eat lunch and drink, beach and drink, wash up get dressed and eat dinner and drink again.... It was a vacation. Not much night entertainment except for the nightly shows, but heading to the Atlantis was how we spent our nights. they have eveything. casinos, bars, discos, food, fish tanks. The food was great at the RIU. The Service was okay. At the buffetts, the service was slow, you had to get your own drinks or ask, which i didnt mind bringing the water to the table. at the dinner restuarants, the service was awesome, we befriended our waiter and assistant, Antony and Belkin at the steakhouse restaurant. Over all the resort was a bit pricey, but we would have spent double at the atlantis resorts and not have food and drinks. All inclusive is the way to go... I would definately book again in the future. If your not sure of something just ask, the "Bahamians" they are very helpful and love tourist. Sure im forgetting alot but very nice place.

View of beach and Atlantis Beach resort from room 701 Beautiful night shot from room
158 of 168 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 25, 2015
Breathtaking beach access

We came to the Riu at Paradise Island in September. Let me first tell you, if you're looking for a quiet time to vacation that's not too crowded, this is the time to go. Small crowds and very limited amount of kids. This resort is all around pretty good. Maybe a 6 out of 10. I've stayed at Riu hotels in other countries that were better than this one. I personally think the biggest problem with this hotel is that it is outdated in many ways. To name a few: Older looking lobby area with a lot of wood furnishings and moldings. Our toilet seat was falling off the toilet Electrical socket covers were falling off Only one pool (with a pool bar that turns your bathingsuit white if you lean against it) Other cons include: There were a few encounters with grumpy staff. I think they are just over worked for the most part. Some staff were even caught using their cell phones "discreetly" No double room queen rooms. Either king, queen, or double rooms with double beds. There are outside vendors trying to sell things on the beach front of the Riu. (Jet ski and parasail rides snorkeling, conch shells, towels) usually if you tell them "no thank you" or "I already have that/ did that" they will leave you alone. Of course it's a new battle every day you go to the beach. Make sure you book their "fine dining" diner rooms FIRST thing in the morning otherwise they book up and you will be stuck at the buffet- which is a great buffet. But the other dining rooms are worth the reservation! On the plus side: There were four bars including a sports bar and pool bar with servers who will mix you up almost anything you can imagine The beach was AMAZING! I would give it an 11 out of 10. Crystal clear blue water. Minimal waves. Silky smooth sand. No sharp rocks or shells. Pure bliss. (Grab a few pieces of bread from the buffet and break it up and toss a few into the water while your about chest depth... Tropical fish will show and eat up the bread!) Do bring if you have it: goggles and a snorkel and an underwater camera! All rooms have a walk out porch. FREEZING cold AC in rooms! Great for that hot and humid Bahamian weather Included with the all inclusive is 24 hour room service. They have a small selection for the room service menu but it's nice if you're hungry late when the buffet is closed. I even requested some toast and warm milk to soothe my fiancées stomach and they brought it right up to us at 2am! Atlantis is a one minute walk from the Riu lobby to their lobby. You have very good access to almost everything Atlantis has to offer except part of the aquarium and the water park which we did buy a 145$ pp day pass for (and was worth it even just once). Atlantis is HUGE! Massive. We went over there almost every day of our 6 day stay and kept discovering new parts we had not seen before. We probably still didn't see everything they have. Take a taxi for 4-5 dollars a person down to the straw market in Nassau. Lots of shops and vendors! And you MUST go to Señor Frog! On our way out of Nassau we took a water taxi back to paradise island. But be prepared to walk to the Riu... Especially if it's hot... It's not exactly close to where they drop you off from the water taxi. Over all we had a great vacation at the Riu. They don't have many all inclusive hotels in paradise island but one thing is for sure, do the all inclusive! Food and drink in the Bahamas is way over priced! I had a scoop of Ben and Jerrys ice cream, 1 scoop for 4.76 cents! That's the price of one pint in the states. Just about everything you buy in the Bahamas is subject to their 7.5% tax (vat) which makes things even more expensive.

The Riu at night time Beach front at the Riu
24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Springfield,MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2012
Hotel Rui Palace Very Good...BUT

This was our first trip to Bahamas. I reach all the Hotels and decided on the RUI Palace on Paradise Island. We arrived on Thursday April 12th. After a hour and half airplane flight, and then a 30 min ride to the hotel we were very tired. After waiting in the long check-in line we are told that the hotel has over booked and we have to stay the night at their other hotel called Paradise Hotel for one night. We were not happy about this at all. We were sent to the Paradise by taxi. When arriving at the Paradise Hotel we met many other people who have been sent to Paradise and they too had booked their trip with Cheap Caribben. Paradise Hotel is a DUMP Hotel. (It needs to be thrown down and rebuilded). We stayed there Thursday night, and checked out at 10:30a. We took a taxi back to the RUI Hotel to get our room. Upon arriving there we are told we have to wait until 2p-3p for our roon. At 11:30a we saw some people we had met at Paradise Hotel. While talking to them and finding that they just got their room we went back to the front desk to ask for our room. This vacation turn out very good, but getting a room at the RUI Hotel has been the hardest thing I have ever experience. We asked at the front desk how do they decide who will have have to go to Paradise Hotel, and we were told it is a random drawing. We found it very interesting that everyone we met at Paradise had booked their trip with Cheap Caribbean. We paid for four nights to stay at RUI Hotel NOT the Paradise Hotel. That was the nightmare of our trip.


77 of 84 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2012
Great value and food and location and service

Just returned form a great week at the Riu Palace-Paradise Island-Bahamas. We had a great time. The hotel was clean and the atmosphere was positive. The staff was very friendly and always willing to accomodate. The one thing that bothered me in general was that even though it is all-inclusive most were looking for tips but I guess that's the nature of the beast. The pool and beach were really nice, clean and inviting. On two of the days we were there it got cold so we could not use the pool. I do realize that's not normal but it would have been nice if they turned up the heat on the pool. The location was great being situated right next to the Atlantis property. We had no problem walking the entire property. Most of the walk is inside so we were able to use the Casino and see the Aquarium (if you go at night it's free). We were just a short drive to downtown Nassau where there is all sorts of shopping and restaurants/bars. Cab ride is best if you go as a group. $4 for the cab or the ferry! The room was very nice but I did have to go back to the front desk to get them to move me to my correct type of room and one that was more appropriate. Only problem was the bath tub where you shower was so narrow that you stand on the sides of the tub! The buffet offerings were surprisingly very good. The selection was large and varied and the cooking was very good. We found that we didn't need to wait online at 8am in the morning to reserve at the special restaurants because they were disappointing. (poor way to have to make a reservation). Overall we were very pleased with the Riu and would go there again.


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Long Island, New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2012
Great Place to Visit

I read thru the reviews before making the purchase & was a little hesitant to purchase based on a couple negative reviews I read, but the deal was honestly too good to pass up. So glad I booked our reservation at the RIU. Was a fantastic deal. The rooms were nice, the food good, and people friendly. The beach was gorgeous. The only thing that was a little weird was the bed & refilling of the mini-bar/water bottles. It was two full sized beds pushed together & they were covered in plastic & a little too firm for my liking, but I prefer a soft/plush bed. For those that like firm beds, you'll like this. We would have wished the beer / soda / water bottles in the fridge would have been refilled, but were only replenished on the first night. The food options were great. We chose to do the buffet each day & there was always something available to eat- breakfast, lunch, snack, & dinner. Or, you had the option of signing up for a "nicer" dinner, but you had to get up & wait in line from 8-9am in the morning. We chose not to wait in line & just did the buffets, which were excellent. Each night there was a different food "theme," and offered TONS of options. Always fresh fruit, fresh veggies, protein, etc. One night they offered a gumbo to DIE for & lobster tail the last night we were there. The beach offered wonderful lounge chairs for lying on, which was nice. The drinks were yummy & fabulous. The staff friendly. GREAT all-inclusive package! Loved our trip & would come back. PS-- It's about a $33 (w/out tip) taxi ride from the airport. Same price the other way. PPS-- Atlantis is right next door. The options were a little too pricy & confusing for us. However, there are tons of folks available to book catamaran's, snorkling, parasailing, jet ski rides, etc.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, KS
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 19, 2013
Overall... pretty good deal for what you get

Overall, our stay was pretty great. It is definately the best bang for your buck. We bought "day" passes to the Atlantis, which were actually good for every day we were there. This allowed us to get into their aquarium (which is an absolute must see!), the water park, and their private beaches. You can also get to the casino without buying a day pass, which we did every night as well. It was great!! We would just play there during the day and walk back to the Riu anytime we wanted food or a drink, which was WAY better than buying at the Atlantis. Food and drink prices there are OUTRAGEOUS. The Riu is literally right next door to the Atlantis, easy walking. As far as the Riu itself, the food was great. The restaurants you have to make reservations at pretty early because they book up. Be prepared to spend about an hour and a half there... there was a little too much time between courses if you ask me, but overall, GREAT seafood. The pool is not very nice. Not much sugar-coating that. The beach is BEAUTIFUL and there is no problem getting a layout chair. However, there are constantly people peddling jet ski rides, jewelry, etc. which gets pretty annoying. I still say though, this was the best way for us to do it. If you have kids then splurge for the Atlantis. It was just me and my husband looking for a few days of laying in the sun, being lazy, eating too much, and drinking pina coladas beachside. So if that's what you are looking for, I definately recommend it!


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2015
This RIU doer NOT compair to other RIU hotels

This RIU hotel on Paradise Island in the Bahamas does NOT even come close to other RIU hotels we have stayed at. ( Cabo, Cancun, Punta Cana, & more). Rooms run down- our room the rug was torn, the chairs dirty, the light switch cover & thermostat coved not secured. (couldn't adjust temperature anyway-didn't work). The food is what you would expect at a "1 star" hotel not a 4 star as advertised. Pretty much the same thing every day with a few different food items thrown in daily. If you DON"T SMOKE - defiantly DON'T GO ! Smoking is allowed almost EVERYWHERE- just a couple of areas where it's not. Again, we seek out RIU hotels because all the other stays have been great- BUT this RIU NEEDS major renovation to say the least ! The one good thing is the majority of the staff at the hotel were friendly & tried to help as much as they could ( or couldn't - out of they're control ). My final information is this RIU was NOT cheaper than the others- pretty much the same price we paid for the "excellent" ones - BUT far LESS the usual standards we have gotten at the other locations.


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: tn.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 12, 2013
Disappointed @ Riu Paradise Island

Over the past 10 years years, I have stayed at various AIs in Cancun, Jamiaca, Aruba, PR. I"ve been on several cruises, so I can speak with some experience/knowledge. The Riu was a disappointment from the start. We arrived shortly after 2 PM and asked to checkin. We were told we had to wait until 3 PM, which is their checkin time. The front desk directed us to partake in the lunch buffet, which we did. We arrived back at the desk at 3:05 PM, requested check-in. We were told that they weren't ready. When I persisted that the policy is 3 PM, we were given a room. The room had two double beds pushed together. Not what we asked for. Called the front desk to request the king. I was told that they didn't guarantee king beds and there were none available that day. If I was willing to wait until the next day, we could move to a king room. Ok,, fine ... one night in a double. We had to packup the next morning, check-out by 12 noon and could re-check in at 3 PM. Great! We were able to still use the pool and restaurant while we were "checked-out." At 3 PM, we promptly re-checked into our king room. The property offers free WIFI, which is intermittent at best. Very unreliable. The entertainment at night, if that's what you call it, is poor. A high school talent show offer more variety and entertainment. The "crew" is not engaging the audience, they draw out a skit that should take 30 mins into 90 painful minutes. There is no coordinated schedule of events each day - no poolside games, no beach games, no bingo, nothing. The food, well the best description I heard, from another guest at the property was "it's cafeteria food," The specialty restaurants at the Riu require reservations. To make a reservation, you must go in person between 8-9 AM and stand in line. In most cases, the restaurants sell out by 815 AM. This is antiquated and BS. Why can't reservations be made from the room phone throughout the day?! There at three elevators in the lobby at this property. During the time we were there, only two were operational. I don't know how long the third elevator was out of commission before we arrived. Needless to say, there was always a wait to go up and down. In many cases, people got tired of waiting and look the emergency exit stairs. This is an old property, which is reflected in the lobby decor. I believe it was originally a Sheraton property about 28+ years ago. The rooms are ok and more up to date than the lobby. The tub / showers are very narrow. Overall, unimpressed with this location and will not recommend it to others.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: PHL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 17, 2013
It ws awesome. As advertised

My trip at the Riu palace paradise went smoothly. I can't believe there were so many rude complaints. Its nothing like people say it is. When we got to the airport everything went smoothly. We just scanned our passports and tickets came out immediately. Hotel was beautiful and nice and cle the people were nice and friendly. The food was so good. If u don't like to try new things then you may not like it but it was delicious to me. The pool was clean and the beach was clean. There was people on the beach trying to sell u things but they leave u alone once u say no. Its a nice relaxing place. This was my first trip and my first time going out the country. I was nervous but cheap Caribbean was on time with everything and i will most definitely be using them again and i recommended a few friends. The bus ride to the hotel was there waiting at the airport to take us to the island and they were there on time to take us home. I am very comfortable with cheap Caribbean. Riu palace is all free. food, drinks, room service and u don't have to tip if u don't want. IT WAS AMAZING!! Can't wait to use cheap Caribbean again:-)

view from our room me havin the best time of my life on riu palace paradise island
17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: beardstown, il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year