All

Riu Palace Pacifico Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 90 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.6 out of 5
"Riu in Cabo had better food, better overall sevice, and overall better feeling." – Santego
93 out of 101 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Nuts! I'm to young to drink. Pool and Beach Welcome to the RIU! Front Lobby the beaches at the RIU! First time in the ocean! room view

All Riu Palace Pacifico Customer Reviews

1-10 of 90 reviews. Sort by
February 25, 2013
perfect getaway

My husband and I went for our 20th anniversary - hadn't been on a trip just the 2 of us in a very long time, so we really researched and wanted our trip to be perfect. Our travel was not, but our time at Riu Palace Pacifico was exceptional. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and literally are spotless and constantly being cleaned and maintained. Our room was the same, though as with other beach locations, there is a slight musty smell. The service that you get from staff in the restaurants, pool and beach areas is extremely attentive and always given graciously. We were impressed that the waiters never lingered or gave any indication of expecting a tip, but were always so friendly and helpful. We did tip several times out of appreciation, especially the waiter in the main restaurant who looked for us each day and remembered our names after our first meeting. The staff you interact with the most (waiters, front desk, reservations) speak excellent English, so there are few communication barriers on the grounds, although we know some Spanish and tried to use it when we could. The staff was also very willing to help us learn more, and they had daily Spanish lessons by the pool! The chairs were plentiful on the beach and at the pool, but if you wanted just that spot around the pool, you needed to be an early riser. We never went down before 8:30 and always had a place we were happy and comfortable with. They had many activities you could participate in during the day, from stretching, to water aerobics, bocce, volleyball and more. Our only disappointment activity wise, was they were very cautious and would not allow us to use the kayaks due to considering the waves too strong - my husband had experience but that didn't matter, so we didn't get to kayak at all though we tried several days. Each night at the hotel was a different theme and there were often activities to go along with that, for example one of the nightly shows was a Las Vegas theme, and they had blackjack and roulette set up in the lobby areas with staff there to lead. THe best one was the Michael Jackson show, catch that if you go! The activities staff was extremely energetic and fun and seemed to be there all day every day, like from 9:30am to 11:30 pm as they were often involved in the shows. Food was very good in the buffet - had super variety for all meals, many more choices than you could ever hope to eat. We ate duck, lamb, salmon, grilled tuna, sushi, shrimp and much more. For families there were many choices too - always 4-5 pasta dishes, 4+ types of pizza, sandwiches, etc. - lots of fruit and salad bar options as well. It is also worth making reservations in the specialty restaurants and that is something you should do as soon as you are checked in - they take reservations between 8-3 daily up to 4 days in advance. When we arrived, there was nothing available our first 2 nights, but we could make reservations for the nights following. It really was not a problem as the service and food at the main restaurant was also so good. We loved the Mexican restaurant and the Fusion restaurant, the steak house was also tasty but the cuts of meat are a bit different (i.e., ribeye had good flavor but was thin, although quite large). We did not have enough nights left to visit the Japanese restaurant but also heard that was good. At the restaurants, you typically are served some appetizers that are standard (e.g., a seafood platter at the steakhouse) but then also choose an appetizer, entree, and dessert from a fixed menu of about 4 choices . We were so impressed with Reimundo, the maitre'd at the steakhouse who made my husband his own hot sauce concoction when he asked for one that was "mas caliente" - hotter! When you are at the hotel you are protected from salesman and people that offer you discounts on excursions to get you to go through a timeshare presentation. Avoid them in the markets and at the airport - we made that mistake, but like I said no worries at the hotel. The airline mixed up our flights and our luggage was delayed a day, so the staff in the restaurant and front desk helped us decide where to go and got us a taxi to go to the local Walmart! That was an experience! Another waiter from the beach, Octavio helped us figure out how to take the bus ourselves, complete with transfers, from the hotel to downtown Puerto Vallarta where there are shops, a small "flea market" and boardwalk by the ocean - that saved us big $$ over a taxi or tour and was fun getting to travel with the locals. Overall, this was an all-inclusive extraordinaire and my husband and I highly recommend it!

perfect getaway
25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2012
All you can eat and drink...need I say more?

The resort is amazing - from the extravagant decor to the bars throughout. Our suite was beautiful with an awesome view, it was constantly being cleaned and restocked, our own hard alcohol bar (not that we really used it, with drinks constantly flowing), and all the normal amenities. The food at the buffet was delicious, several restaurants with different types of food (the steakhouse was our favorite, then the Japanese), and the 24 hour snack bar had plenty of options. The pool was fantastic (swim-up bars are now my favorite) and the beach is really clean and beautiful, with boogie boards and kayaks free to use. All of the staff is really friendly, helpful, and really go out of their way to make your experience enjoyable. You can book as many activities as you want, adventure into town, or stay at the resort your entire trip - whatever you like, you'll get the vacation you want!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego area, CA
Age: 25-34

November 10, 2014
Best Trip Ever (8-time All-Inclusive travelers)

My husband and I went to the RIU Palace for our 10 year anniversary. This is our 7th all-inclusive resort we have been to over the last 18 years. We have been to the RIU Santa Fe in Cabo San Lucas for my husband's 40th birthday with friends. The RIU Palace was the nicest, most accommodating resort by far! From the time of check-in where we were greeted with a cocktail to getting to our room and having chocolate dipped strawberries, desserts and champagne for our anniversary....our first impression was wonderful! The week just got better. We ate at the steak house, had steak and lobster, the Mexican restaurant, had so much delicious food there we were stuffed, the buffets were on point at every meal. The breakfasts were great. Eggs, omelettes all made to order, homemade donuts. The lunches had a wide variety of foods. NO ONE should go hungry here! They do expect you to be DRY and have cover-ups on in order to go in and get food. There is also a restaurant that you can get snacks including nachos and pizza after lunch is over and until dinner starts. Then of course, there is always the sports bar with burgers, hot dogs, nachos and fresh fruit 24 hours! One of the nice things about the RIU is the mini fridge in your room full of water, soda and beer as well as various liquor dispensers. We had a situation in Cancun where we came back to the resort late at night and we were not able to find bottled water ANYWHERE! Not even the front desk would help! At the RIU you always have LARGE bottles of water and if you need more, it's one phone call to the front desk and they will come up with whatever you need! One day we asked for water and they not only brought us the water but the guy had a crate full of soda and beer as well! Now on to the pools and beach....we have been to many resorts in MEXICO and usually you are not able to swim in front because of rocks and current. At the RIU Palace you are totally able to swim right in front of the resort. They also have fins and boogie boards for free! There are a ton of lounge chairs. We never once had a problem at any time of the day grabbing a few. You can move them wherever. Oftentimes one of the guys working the beach will move them for you. There is drink service at the pool and the beach. We, of course, would tip every few rounds and seemed to get a lot better service than others around. One time we were coming out of the ocean from a swim and the waiter was bringing us beers and water! So on point! It made the vacation so much more enjoyable. We almost didn't want to leave the resort! Within 24 hours of our return home, I had rounded up about a dozen of my family members and we are going back for the holidays in 2015 with all of our kids as well! This was an extremely kid-friendly place as well. I would recommend this to ANYONE/EVERYONE I know or talk to about all-inclusive vacations! As well as using Cheap Caribbean! I have used them 4 times now and have not been disappointed or had ONE problem! I'm sure that our anniversary desserts and champagne was as a direct result of our booking with CC as I had spoke with them and told them I did not want to be bothered with any time share people. We weren't even talked to about that!

the beaches at the RIU! Welcome to the RIU!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Corona, California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 18, 2016
Highly Recommend Riu Palace Pacifico!

After reading the reviews on different websites, I have come to the opinion that people are just to nit-picky! I have been to several all-inclusives and this is by far my favorite because it is all-around a great place to stay. First of all, it is beautiful! The lobby is just breath-taking, and the marble floors everywhere are beautiful. The beach and the view are beautiful! The pool is really nice and the swim-up bar is one of the best I have been at because there is lots of room to sit. The drinks may be a little watered down, but you are in paradise so who is complaining. On these on-line websites, the biggest complaint you always read about is the food, and to me the food was top notch for an all-inclusive hotel. We had some picky eaters with us and they could always find something to eat. The omelets and the chocolate chip pancakes in the morning were a hit. We were open to trying all different types of food, and if we didn't like something, we tried something else. The Ceviche was delicious. We tried all of the reservation restaurants except the Japanese, and they were all wonderful and had great choices. One of our outings was to go deep see fishing, and we caught a Blue Marlin. We brought some of it back to our hotel, and the chef at La Penninsula was great about cooking it up for us the next day. He cooked it up for us 3 different ways to try, and it was DELICIOUS! Many in our group thought it was the best fish they had ever eaten, and we sure would not have been able to cook it like he did. He was so accomodating and we greatly appreciated it. The room service was also a great touch for a late night snack or if you didn't feel like going out. All of the staff were wonderful and worked to meet our needs. I thought the staff at the hotel spoke good English and were always wiling to help us out. The shows the entertainment crew put on were very good as well. One of our favorite days was probably the day we hung out at the pool and beach. The beach is very nice as there is not a lot of rocks. We did pay $10 a person to have a captain take us out on the catermeran and that was so worth it! It was probably a 40 minute ride, and it was very relaxing! We did book some excursions through the reps at the hotel, and they were so good to work with. We did book an excursion with Vallarta Adventures to Las Caletas Beach Hideway and it was so worth it! overall the RIU Palace Pacifico is such a great value for your money. I would go back in a heart beat!

Highly Recommend Riu Palace Pacifico! Highly Recommend Riu Palace Pacifico!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nebraska
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2010
best relaxing vacation EVER

From the minute the Cheap Carribean Gentleman greeted us at the airport to the minute we were deposited back there one week later, we were totally in heaven. The Riu Palace Pacifico is a magnificent building and there has been superb care taken to every bit of detail...from the decor to the services. The staff are welcoming and friendly and that starts at the front desk when you check in, continues in the dining rooms, the hallways, the pool, the beach....every one is smiling and all say hallo and want to know if they can help. The food is great, the selection is excellent and the presentation is lovely. All in all, a palace worthy of its name.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: calgary, canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Best Hotel for the Price

My wife and I chose this for our honeymoon destination. Upon arrival we were greeted by professional staff and wonderful drinks. We notified them in advanced that it was our honeymoon. Although they weren't able to upgrade our rooms because of full occupancy, they made sure to check our rooms twice a day and refill our mini refrigerator once daily. The second night of our stay we received chocolate covered strawberries and assorted fruit courtesy the kitchen. Overall, the staff was extraordinary. We were waited on hand and foot. The food was delectable. Every meal was a luxurious feast. I would recommend this hotel to any couple wanting to get away for awhile.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lincoln, IL
Age: 19-24

July 30, 2010
SUPER !!!!!!!

Beautiful -- There is a reason It is Called a Palace. Staff is most gracious when you need whatever, scenery is fantastic,beach is lovely,super clean in all regards. Tour of kitchen facilities was a real delight and a real highlight, everone remarked how great it was to see behind the scenes how all food is prepared and the cleanliness was really impressive. Went back to Pacfico twice more - thats how impressed we were !!!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago,IL
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Riu Pacifico Palace

This fall, we will stay at Pacifico for the third time. Our first stay was just 6 weeks after it opened. The staff is very attentive, professional, caring and desirous of assuring that you have a wonderful, memorable vacation. The food at Krystal is better than many restaurants here in the US. We enjoy being pampered. The staff remembers us each time we return (if they don't remember us, they do an excellent job of making us feel like they do). Darcy, Alfredo, Monika and the list goes on and on are wonderful!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2016
greatest time ever

This vacation was just perfect!!! The hotel, pool, and beach was so clean and everyone was so friendly. The serve was fabulous too. I just want to go back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54

November 13, 2011
RIU Palace Pacifico

Just returned from a fantastic week at the RIU Palace Pacifico. Nothing short of outstanding. Were there over Haloween and thanks to "The Pope" and "Sister Mary M" for a hilarious evening! Anyone who rates this property less than perfect should stay home.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year