All

Riu Palace Mexico Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 76 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"This is a great resort, my only problem during our stay was the air conditioning in our rooms, for a couple of nights it seems we were sleeping in a sauna..." – Tbailey
83 out of 90 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
best service ever! Cocktail presentation in courtyard before dinner. taken at Crystals RIU Palace beach wedding Walk to the beautiful beach our room 2nd floor Neat place! Beautiful, sandy beach. My grilled lobster from Riu Palace Buffet Welcome to Dining!

All Riu Palace Mexico Customer Reviews

1-10 of 76 reviews. Sort by
November 12, 2014
Great getaway

If you want the long version, scroll down past the pro's/con's and i will describe as much as i can do to you…Now for the short version: Pro's …. 1) Friendly staff, cheapcaribbean staff (Louisa and Mario) very helpful. 2) You won't like all the food but you will find plentiful things you like - it's generally very good, 3) drinks are great, 4) the hotel is beautiful and well taken care of, 5) beautiful beaches, pool bar is fun, other pools are either relaxing or exciting (there are different pools for whatever you are looking for), beach is the most beautiful beach i have ever seen, 6) very safe, 7) mostly adults, 8) comfortable room….All in all I feel I got more than what I paid for - totally happy with my 7 day vacation. Con's…..Room setup may be difficult for families - it's all open concept including the bathroom area (however there is a drape to close the room off). 2) The room may have been a little damp but it didn't ruin my stay whatsoever, it's the tropics….to be expected. 3.) SMOKERS - ALOT of people smoke there (we found this to be the case in Cabo too so I guess this is typical in tropic resorts). Everywhere we sat at the pool, it felt like there was someone by us lighting up a cigarette. Lots of Europeans who are not used to the smoking regulations in the US will sit right next to you and blow smoke in your face. This was the most negative aspect of our trip - rude smokers. I guess it's hard to fault the resort but it was very aggravating to say the least. My advice, just be smart about where you sit and which way the wind is blowing. If smoking doesn't bother you, then totally ignore what you just read. Other than that, I really don't have anymore negative things to say. This place was awesome! Excursion Tip: Go to Xel-Ha!…it's an all day trip but there's so much to do: snorkeling everywhere, scuba diving (Snuba), cliff diving, lazy river, exotic species, amazing natural beach with tidal pools, freshwater caves you can go into, biking, hiking, relaxing on private cabana beaches…just an amazing and beautiful all-natural water park…oh and it's ALL-INCLUSIVE for the day! Long Version……………………………. My partner and I (ages 27 and 31) just returned from our week vacation at the Riu Palace Mexico. I spent a very long time reading through reviews from the Riu Mexico and Riu Riviera Maya. Both get great reviews, but what made us decide Riu Palace Mexico was the fact that it was recently renovated, giving it a "new" feel, and the better reviews the Riu Mexico received regarding food (because that's important when you go away, right?). I'll tackle this review in separate categories, mixing in some fact and personal opinion about the resort: Dining options/Food - Riu Palace Mexico does a great job of having something for everyone, especially at the buffets. At the buffets, you may get tired of some of the food they have but they usually do have something new available every day. Yes, you do need to reserve dinner the morning of, each day, for the restaurants…starting at 8am. The process is very easy, you just walk down to the theatre and there is a representative right there with the list of restaurants waiting for your request. There are 2 seatings - 1 at 6:30pm and another at either 8:30pm or 8:45pm depending on the restaurant. I highly recommend the steak place - Guacamole. The steak is seasoned and cooked very well and to your personal liking, and the lobster tail we had was magnificent. The shot they served you that compliments your desert is out of this world! Next, the fusion restaurant, Krystal, was pretty good too. I highly recommend the lobster risotto and the shiitake steak! The mango cannoli is delicious as well. We were hesitant to eat at Krystal because we weren't crazy about the Krystal restaurant at the Riu Palace in Cabo, but this one was a lot better. Next, we ate at the Italian restaurant the last night we were there. I'd give it a 3.5/5…it wasn't bad, just nothing really impressive. We did not go to the mexican restaurant so I can not comment on that one. I will have to say though that in all the restaurants, the staff does an impeccable job of waiting on you and making you feel like you are their only customer. Very friendly as well. We tipped very generously because of how hard working and friendly they were. Beaches - Wow, most beautiful water I have ever seen! You can snorkel the moment you step your toes into the ocean. There's always beautiful tropical fish swimming past and around you. The beach is a soft, beautiful white sand. Plenty of chairs, shade and sun for everyone. If your looking for a vacation with a perfect beach, this is it for you. No locals bugging you for shady deals or anything. Oh and if you get tired of the buffet for lunch, they do a beach bbq every day with hamburgers, hot dogs, bbq chicken, sausage and peppers, fruits and veggies. And everything is fresh right off the grill - they pretty much cook to order right on the beach! Pools - We were very hesitant at first when we saw how the pool area was arranged. It's not your typical all-inclusive grand-style pool. There's separate pools for different activities. There's a bar pool, a water volleyball pool, a large lap/leisure pool and even a kiddie pool. Also, there are 3 infinity pools that are about 1 foot deep each if you want to just sit and read or put your feet in and enjoy the view of the beach in front of you. We almost chose the Riu Riviera Maya because they looked like they had the better, more tropical pool, but we ended up not having a problem with the arrangement. Besides, you can walk around to any other Riu and use their pool for the day….just make sure you bring the Riu Mexico towel with you and bring it back! They do not exchange towels between Riu resorts!! Anyway, the swim up bar is large and the bartenders are generally very friendly. They will make drinks stronger or weaker, just ask! There's 2 hot tubs the are associated with the spa that you can use whenever you like…however they are not that hot. Room - We loved the feel of the room. I admit the purple is a bit much but if that makes you have a bad time on your vacation then I don't know what to tell you. Beds are comfortable (It was NOT 2 beds pushed together, it was 1 king bed….and YES I AM SURE!). Make sure you request through cheapcaribbean that you would like a single king bed and not 2 beds pushed together. Also, the basic room through cheapcaribbean is an outside facing room…it does not face the interior courtyard, just an FYI. If you would like to face the interior of the resort, it's an additional cost/night. We faced the resort to our South, the Riu Yucatan. If you are on the other side facing the north, you face one of the Windham Resorts - just an FYI, they have a "disco-tec" until about 1am - I heard a few people from that side of the hotel complaining about it. So if you don't like noise, the South end of the hotel is quieter. The room layout is very open. I can see how this may be difficult for families. The shower and tub are open to the rest of the room. Although, there is a drape you can pull to close the room off. The toilet room is quite small, so if you are on the large side…you may have a difficult time. The rain head shower and marble floor is great…loved the spacious shower! Entertainment - no idea why some people are complaining about this aspect. They do an awesome job entertaining all day and evening. The theatre/stage ends around 11pm but the drinks are still flowing well past that. We were exhausted every night so we just went to bed by 11 - we played hard all day and evening! Grounds - The place is impeccable. Always being cleaned, landscaped, and manicured. Nothing was dirty or not taken care of. The staff works extremely hard there in everything they do. Palm trees everywhere, beautiful plants and flowers. Lots of wildlife too. You will enjoy using your camera to take beautiful pictures of the property. Gym - Not too great, just the basics…but you're on vacation! Spa - Crazy overpriced…we didn't take advantage of our spa credit. Just way too much money for a massage in Mexico. Sorry :( …The Riviera Breeze did a nice job massaging and healing my body anyway. All in all, great place - you won't be disappointed. I guess it's a good sign that on our 7th day we weren't sick of anything yet! If you have a hard time making a decision on where to stay (that's how I was), you will be very happy with your decision if you decide to stay here!


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2011
Very Nice Resort

We just came back from Riu Palace Mexico. Very nice it really makes you feel like you are staying in a Palace. The service was excellent and so was the food. They will do anything to make sure you have a ggod time. I think the only thing lacking was nightlife things seemed to close early at this resort they need a bar that stays open late after all you are on vacation! It was close to town for shopping which was nice we could walk there. Overall I would highly recommend it.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54

September 14, 2015
Vacation 2015

This was our anniversary vacation we have been coming to this resort for the past 5 years for our anniversary and it had been great but this year it was really bad . We arrived Aug 28 usually they have our room ready with a fruit basket and rose peddles on our bed we always stay on the right side of hotel but this year they put us on left side at the very end of the hotel we got to our room and it was dirty and there was a half bottle of Pepsi left in the mini fridge we ask to be moved to another room and they said they were book and if we were sure that maybe one of us had not drank the Pepsi the room was hot we called back to the front desk ask for someone to come check ac they could not fix it so they moved us rooms. On the 2 room the mini fridge didn't work the shower head was broke it would not stay up so we called and they said they would move us in the morning . So on to our 3 room in this room my husband washed his hand and the sink was clogged we call to the front they came fix it but about 5 minutes later the room by the sink and shower was flooded the sink was leaking from the back wall by then I'm so faustred I was ready to come home. They came got that fix but we have wasted about 3 days of our vacation moving rooms. The next day we go have breakfast when we came back to the room there's a lot of ants coming in from the balcony they said they would send someone to spray but it never happen the manager there came up to us at dinner time and ask how everything was going so I informed her of all our problems and all she could say was she was sorry and walk away . I did notice there's a lot of new employees and there's about 5 that have been there since we have been coming I ask if they had sold the property they said no it's under new management so I guess that's why it has gone down so sad cause it was a really nice resort I guess next year we need to find a different resort I will not recommend this to anyone if you do stay there stay on the right hand side rooms are way better on that side left side is really ghetto!!! For the money we spend here we could have gone to moon palace and had great service


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2011
Riu Palace Mexico Review

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this resort. All Inclusive is the way to go. The staff was very accomadating in switching our room so that we could have a better view. The beach is absolutly beautiful with is turquoise waters. The resort staff was EXCELLENT. The staff was always smiling and always said hi. They absolute adored my husband and I. They were friendlier than the resort guest. lol. The rooms were spacious and was equiped with a sunken sitting area, king size bed and bar. The bar and refrigerator was stocked daily with sodas, water and adult beverages. Because the resort is all inclusive you also were able to order room service whenever you like. In our room we had a king size bed. It was huge but uncomfortable. I believe my husband and I were just spoiled from the bed at the Gran Melia in Puerto Rico. This resort offered plenty of food at its buffet style dinners. Some people chose the buffet and some chose to make dinner reservations at either of the 4 other restaurants. We enjoyed our stay at Riu Palace Mexico. This resort is located by other RIU properites. When you stay here you get to visit the other resorts if you like and enjoy their amenties at no extra cost. But the other resorts can't come to the this resort because its prestige. Also near by is a popular attraction called 5th Avenue. Which has PLENTY of shops, enteratinement, bars, restaurants, ferry and bus terminal. Absolutly a must see. It also has US dollars ATM and hotels. VIbrant night life. I loved it and the shrimp is the BEST!. I hope you get to enjoy this resort or its many other resorts next door.

Riu Palace Mexico Review Riu Palace Mexico Review
15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 15, 2011
riu palace mexico/excursions/trip to mexico

Beautiful grounds and gorgeous beach. The service was very good. Everyone was very friendly and extremely attentive. The room, grounds and the resort in general was kept impeccably clean. The restaraunts were very well run. They took temperatures of foods to ensure safety and freshness, presentation of the food was very appealing and done well. Great vacation and would go back to this resort again. The Olympus tours who ran all the excurtions we took were very organized and well run. The food and drinks were included. The guides were personable and informative as well as entertaining. The flights were overall acceptable..a few glitches but overall we got where we were going when we were supposed to get there so all was good. Mexico is a beautiful country and we enjoyed this vacation thoroughly. It was nice to have everything included and not have to worry about added expenses. This made the vacation relaxing and enjoyable for sure. We did have one day where it rained just a little..so hoping for our $100 off on our next cheap caribbean vacation!!! Very Good Company!!!! Nice job Cheap Caribbean!!! You get an A++++++ from our group of four!!

riu palace mexico/excursions/trip to mexico taken at Crystals
13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tupper Lake, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2011
Riu stands for excellence

We stayed for 3 nights/4days. This is our second stay at a Riu Resort. Our first stay was in Jamaica, Montego Bay and we loved it. We decided to stay at the Riu Palace Hotel in Mexico. We stayed in Playacar, which is a gated community. We had no plans to leave the resort but was pleased to see that security was in order. The food was excellent and there was always something open to meet our hunger needs. We had no problems making reservations at the restaurant and always got the time and location we wanted. However, the main dining room was delicious. We have found that the Riu has amazing soups. Our room was fabulous. It was clean and lovely. Our king bed was huge and the 4 bottle bar is fun with a full refrigerator...all part of the package. The Spa was excellent and was willing to meet my every request. The combination massage was great and the staff was so friendly. The pool area was nice. There are sunny and non-sunny spots to give everyone a break from the beautiful sun. The Riu has been a wonderful experience every time we stayed. This is the only hotel chain we will stay at while in the Caribbean and beyond. You will not be disappointed with the rooms, spa, food and pool area.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2012
Another great Riu vacation

This was the fifth Riu I have stayed at and it did not disappoint. The staff was very attentive and did an excellent job making us feel welcome and seeing to our needs. The complex is flawlessly maintained, the food was all very fresh and wonderfully prepared. The management is constantly visible, talking with guests and overseeing the operation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2016
Amazing Vacation

This is a fabulous resort. Clean, comfortable rooms. Amazing food. Beautiful beach. Attentive and friendly staff. I am not sure what more one could ask for. We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this resort to anyone. A couple notes: - This resort is geared toward families and mature adults. Very few drunk college kids about the place. We appreciated that a great deal. But, if you are looking for the Cancun beach party experience, this is not the place for you. - We the exception of the Presidential Suites, there are only two types of rooms - those that the face the courtyard and those the face the other way (toward a walkway or toward the Wyndham resort. We faced the Wyndham and preferred that because the music in the courtyard are was quite loud at night. I personally think the cheaper rooms are better in this resort than the more expensive one. - RIU has a bunch of resort all in this area. We visited four of them to check them out. RIU Palace Mexico - Amazing. Ultra-modern décor. On the beach. Great service. RIU Palace Riviera Maya - Also lovely, but more traditional design. Also on the beach. RIU Yucatan - Kind of second class. Very crowded. Small rooms. RIU Tequila - Other side of the road from the beach. Lovely lobby, but rooms are spread out and look shabby. Pool area doesn't compare to the other resorts. No service at chairs in the pool. Pay up for one of the Palace location.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lake Elmo, Minnsota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 7, 2013
Great Resort but Room Needs More

The Facts: 1. We went to Playa Del Carmen from Thursday 31-Jan-2013 (arrived around 12 PM local time at hotel) to Tuesday 04-Feb-2013 (left hotel at 11 AM local time) 2. There were 2 people in our party: me and my girlfriend. We are both adults in our 30's/40's. 3. We stayed at Riu Palace Mexico in a Junior Suite 4. We used pre-arranged transportation to and from Cancun airport The Good Opinions: 1. Service at the hotel was tremendous. EVERY person we met was helpful, cheerful, friendly and professional. 2. The beach and the proximity to the beach was perfect. The resort had plenty of chairs out at the beach. We could walk from our room, down the main grounds and onto the beach. 3. The food quality was superb and the food choices were excellent. We were never hungry. The food was always prepared correctly. I had more sushi than a hungry bear catching salmon swimming up river. 4. The room size was adequate and always very clean. 5. The bars were great and had a fair selection of drinks. The bartenders worked extremely hard but were always pleasant! The Not So Good Opinions: 1. The room, while very clean always felt a bit "damp". Even with the air conditioner on, the room had a humid and slightly, musty smell. It wasn't horrible but it was definitely noticeable. That same smell did not exist in the main part of the hotel or restaurants. 2. The privacy in the room was questionable. The main bathtub was in the open in the room. This was okay for me and my girlfriend but I couldn't see this working if I had been traveling with friends or family like siblings, kids or parents.

Great Resort but Room Needs More
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2011
riu mexico

everything was great , only thing I would like to change would be the distance to the beach and a walkway down to the beach would be nice as those who were handicapped were unable to see the great beach that was available for the rest of us


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fairfield CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year