All

Riu Palace Las Americas Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 510 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.7 out of 5
"We enjoyed ourselves at the Riu Palace, they are renovating some of the floors. You can tell the difference between the floors that have been done. The staff was great. Food was good also." – Wonder1
559 out of 593 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
October 2013 View at the pool Breakfast view from our room Teo of the entertainment staff See you next year! incredible pool Beautiful pool at RIU Palace Las Americas Cancun Ocean View View from our room kicking it on the beach view at lunch. pool area Girls Trip!! our favorite bartender View from the Riu lobby Sunset at riu beach Abu View from 8th floor balcony View when you first walk outside View from lobby View from our room View from patio one morning Hotel bar View from RM 614 The beach From pool on GoPro Riu Palace lobby Ocean front balcony Riu Palace Las Americas 50 and looking good Balcony View Our first look at our balcony view View from our room Beach at resort CANCUN IS PARADISE! view from room caribbean ocean view The view from our room View from 329 View from pool View from 4th floor oceanfront Pool view from our room Room after day at pool Pool! Room view View from the steak house. Pool bar view from our room the infinity pool with ocean in background fishing trip

All Riu Palace Las Americas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 510 reviews. Sort by
December 30, 2012

We had a fantastic trip! The staff at the riu was enthusiastic, available, energetic and kind; they all seemed to care about making us comfortable and happy on our vacation. There was a beautiful white sand beach for relaxing. There were planned games in the pool, ping pong, a lunch barbeque to be eaten pool side. The food was surprisingly delicious at both the general buffet and the theme restaurants. We were comfortable in our room which was huge, clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Olympus Tours was our liaison in Cancun representing Cheapcarribean, and they did an incredible job making sure everything was perfect. They were timely picking us up from the airport, knowledgable about the area and emphasized that if we had any problem at all we should go to them to get it sorted out. We are two young professionals and this was the perfect way to get away.


78 of 80 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2013
very disappointed

My mom and I arrived to the hotel Riu Palace Las Americas on Saturday, Aug 3. to meet with a group of friends for a 4 days vacation trip. We were quite impressed when we got to the front of such a beautiful building. Unfortunately this great impression didn't last long. After we got to our (first) room #629, we unpacked all our clothing and got ready for a great weekend, we went down to the pool to enjoy the facilities. I must say the service staff was excellent. Our problem begin that same first night when we got back to our room to get dressed for our first dinner out. While getting ready we noticed that we had a very important leak, located directly above the night stand, by my mom's bed. As we stand there, we also noticed that the water was coming out from the smoke detector, and the water was dropping directly over the wall lamp as well as on the alarm clock( which can not be unplugged from the electrical outlet). We called the front desk right away to report it. Within minutes 2 staff members came to our room. They explained that there had been a problem with the tub in the room directly above ours, and it had been fixed. The leak never stop while the staff was in the room. Room service came in and cleaned up the mess as nothing ever happened. We were OK, until the staff left our room and the leak started back again. At this point I went down stairs to ask for help at the front counter and explain our concern and to my surprise I was told that the leak was fixed! as my mom started wiping things off at the room again. Here it is when my disappointment begins at the front desk. I requested to please allow me to move to another room, my biggest concern was the fact the water was dropping over electrical items, and was told AGAIN, that the problem was fixed! I explained clearly my concern and was offered to move to room #829. At this point is around 11PM and here we are with my mom, one of my friends and I, since help wasn't offered, moving to our new room. Tired at this point we got to the eighth floor(highest floor) and we noticed that the temperature was much higher in this floor than any other. It was very hot. Once we walked into our new room we found that it was even hotter . At this point, being so late at night, we decided not to stay in this new room, which we considered it wasn't any more comfortable than our first one. At this point we decided to give up and hope for the best. Our second night comes, and as we walked into our room to get dressed, we found, the leak was back, and we had water all over our belongings as well as all over the floor, night stand, lamp...We called again front desk to report this and they told us they will send someone right away. We waited for over 90 minutes and NO ONE EVER SHOWED UP. We decided then, to clean up ourselves using the bathroom towels, which we used almost all of them. Expecting room service next day we figured the towels will be all replaced and they will notice themselves that the leak never stopped.Next morning we took an all day tour.On my way out I stopped and talked to the front desk staff member about the leak, and the call that was never addressed. The response was "WE SENT THE PLUMBER TO THE ROOM 630"...while we were at room 629!. We had to leave to our tour. Which we had an amazing time. When we got back,12 hours later, we came to find out that we didn't get room service and didn't have towels left since we had to use them to clean the mess the night before,AND THE LEAK WAS BACK,AGAIN!. At this point I didn't even know what else to do. Unfortunately every time I had to report the room situation I spoke with the same person Mr Pavel , at front desk, who never showed any interest at all in solving our situation. At this point, disgusted, upset and frustrated, I decided to discuss our situation with our friends to collect ideas on how address this matter. At this time, on my friends, manager of a recognized business, went to the front desk,before I had a chance to, and asked to speak with the manager and reported the situation himself. Mr Padilla,hotel manager, agreed with how unacceptable this situation was and apologized to my friend for the experience WE WERE GOING THROUGH. I say this,because I was requested to going to the front counter...which I did, to hear, from Mr Pavel, that the manager was aware of my situation, also that he had meet my friend and that I could move to a new room. OUR THIRD ONE IN THREE DAYS. I was not able to speak with Mr Padilla myself, I guess it was understood by the hotel staff that the situation was fixed. Upon leaving the hotel I left a hand written note about my experience address to the hotel manager,Mr Padilla, and I haven't heard anything back yet. I don't know how to proceed from here but I know I'm going to report my unpleasant experience to Riu Hotel Corp. as well as I feel I should make aware other potential customer through cheapcaribbean.com (which I will still recommend this web site to book for hotels) Conclusion: I had a moving experience that cost me a significant amount of money, 3 times in three nights. The expenses of an all inclusive hotel are high. So were my expectations. This was my fifth experience in an all inclusive resort. BY FAR THE WORST. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THE RIU LAS AMERICAS HOTEL TO ANYONE.


180 of 209 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: jacksonville, florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 8, 2013
Fantastic Experience

Before I get into it, put simply, the Rio Imperial Palace was fantastic. My girlfriend and I are low-maintenance travelers, so my experience should be geared towards folks like us. Specifically, I don't do "excursions," I don't deal with upsells; I'm there to lay on the beach, drink a bunch, relax a whole bunch and have a whole lot of fun. With that said, here's how I saw the Riu Imperial Palace: - Service was exceptional and friendly. All staff that we ran into spoke English very well. I never once got the impression that someone was just paying me lip service, they seemed to enjoy their work. - The hotel looked incredible. Had a nice old-school look, but most everything was modern, and immaculate. - The beach was the best I'd seen. Water was crystal clear, and the rocks were at a minimum (rocky beaches seeming to be a problem in some areas in Cancun). - The pools were nice, the one hot tub was always a little crowded as was the one of two pools with a pool bar. - Poolside and beach-side service was really quick and friendly. If one is not careful, one could end up exceptionally drunk, as they bring drinks fast and frequently. -The room was very nice in appearance. No smell, or any major issues. BUT, we ordered a king, and ended up with what my girlfriend and I called the "quadruple," two double beds pushed together. Not horrible, but a little... strange. Beds seemed a little on the hard side, and I like a hard bed. These seemed a little harder than what I like. The fridge was stocked everyday with beer and soft drinks, and there was a liquor dispenser in the room. - Ocean view room with a balcony had a spectacular view. - Room service (food-wise) was a little limited, but quick and tasty. Great for if we missed a meal, or just too wiped to get downstairs for food. - Food was hit or miss. The Mexican a la carte, Italian a la carte and buffet were all very good. The steak house was fairly bad. Nothing was unpalatable, and at lunch, they had a grill out with some of the best paella (one day), that I've ever had. - The night time was pretty quiet, so if you're into big entertainment or something, you may be disappointed. - This is not an adults only resort, but we never found the kids to be intrusive. - Finally, no one at the Riu was trying to sell us anything (other than a very polite girl trying to sell us spa time occasionally). The whole experience was pure relaxation, near perfect. The room comfort was a little lower than others, but that was really the only problem, we could identify. Amazing trip, will most certainly go back some time.

Fantastic Experience
46 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Omaha, NE
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2016
Highly Recommend

This will be a thorough review of everything about the resort from the beach to the hotel to the area. This is not first time in Cancun, and not first time at a Riu resort in Mexico. We stayed at Riu Caribe in past, but never the Palace Las Americas Check in/check in staff: courteous and attentive staff. Offered tropical drink when arrived. front desk check in staff were pleasant. Made you feel welcome. Room wasn't ready as we arrived early morning which is typical at any hotel. Front desk got us our wrist bands, gave us a good explanation of where everything was located and when food service took place. Concierge held luggage for us while we went out into the resort and started vacation. After several hours we came back and room was ready before the expected time. Concierge took luggage to room. Room: We had one of the inner corner rooms, which had wraparound balcony. Room was 5 stars. EVERYTHING was clean. Bathroom was spotless, spacious and attention to detail was evident. Room had plenty of space with a gorgeous view. Frig was stocked with waters, sodas, and beer. Their was also a liquor dispenser with Smirnoff, cuervo and several other liquors on tap. The bed--It wasn't too soft and it wasn't too hard. Bed comfort at resorts is always dependent on the type of person so I won't weigh in on if it was comfortable or not. It wasn't horrible, so please don't get that impression. I slept fine and so did my wife. Maid Service: Maid did thorough job of cleaning everyday. Never had to beg or ask for more towels. Plenty provided. This can be an issue at other resorts that people often complain about, in our case here, never a problem. Frig was always restocked, again I have stayed at other resorts where once you drink it forget about getting more of it. Maid service was really good and attentive at the Palace. Resort Service: There is definitely a difference between this resort and the many others I have stayed at, including other Riu's. Every staff member was attentive and provided top notch service. Beaches were raked daily. Beach drink service was quick and often. In an hours time we would be asked at least 5 times if we needed anything by the beach server. They hustled. The waiters and waitresses in the dining and restaurants were just as courteous and attentive. Bartenders were the best. You never felt like you were being blown off, whether you were tipping or not tipping, drinking alcohol or non alcohol, the service at the bars was great. Bartenders were friendly. Waiters and waitresses were friendly. The people at this resort work incredibly hard and have a smile on their face and a friendly hello as they do it. The service at the Place from top to bottom was absolutely on point. Beach: The beach here is better than anywhere else. First, this resort sits at the bend/turn of the Cancun coastline. This has several advantages, the first being limited to no seaweed! The only time you will get seaweed is if there are strong storms with strong currents. And if the Palace is getting a little of seaweed during these times, then the other resorts around it are getting massive amounts. On a clear normal day you will see zero seaweed. But walk the coastline to the left or right and all of the other resorts have lots of seaweed in the water and on the beach, even on calm days. Never saw staff at the surrounding hotels (non-Riu's) raking seaweed while we were out on our daily walks during the morning and evening. On those stormy days when we did have seaweed at the Riu Palace, staff was out raking and clearing. The beach is absolutely stunning. The second advantage to the location is the calmness of the water. There are two coral reefs/large rocks extending out into the ocean, with swimming taking place in the large rockless portion between the two. If you can't picture it, google a photo of Riu Palace Las Americas and you will see. The rocks, which don't interfere with swimming, break up any ocean waves and current and make for a nice relaxing ocean. Seating on the beach: Plenty of beach chairs. There are several areas to sit and finding a chair was never an issue. Food/Restaurants: We did not eat at any of the specialty restaurants so all of the food/restaurant review is based on the buffet which served breakfast, lunch and dinner. Selection, freshness and taste were great for all of the food the entire week. Tons of different options for each meal. Food was very delicious. This will make a difference on your vacation. If you get stuck at a resort with subpar food it can/will affect how much you enjoy your stay. The dining staff/chefs deserve the best of compliments. One of the most enjoyable parts of the meals was several times throughout the week they would set up tables between the pool and the beach area and do an outdoor service for lunch. Fresh fruits and vegetables with several different types of meats and authentic dishes. Very delicious! And they would have a specialty alcoholic drink each day with it. Pools: 2 pools, one with a swim up bar, one without. There is a pool bar in between the two pools as well. Both pools infinity pools. The swim up bar pool is where activities like volleyball and basketball and ping pong tournaments take place. Music is jamming. It's an upbeat atmosphere. The other pool without swim up bar is the more relaxing pool. Beautiful statues etc...Bottom line is both pools are clean, clean clean and clean! There are plenty of chairs to go around, although the cabanas get reserved very early, so if you want one you have to get down there early. I believe there are 8 cabanas altogether. The wait staff at the pool was excellent as well. Both swim up bar bartender and the waiters/waitresses who provide poolside service. Always offering to get you something and making sure you are okay. Bars/lounges: There is swim up bar, 2 outdoor bars, and a nice lounge. Many people would come to the lounge in the evening for 'before or after dinner drinks' and there would be a piano player creating nice atmosphere. Service here was quick and good. Drinks were good. You can order top shelf all day long and have a relaxing drink in a good comfortable atmosphere. Jacuzzi/hot tubs: There is an outdoor Jacuzzi tucked away next to the calm pool and there is one on the deck of the solarium. Both were clean. The waiter/waitress will come to the Jacuzzi by the pool and offer service. Hotel/décor/theme: Classical Roman décor as can be seen in photos. The key is the hotel is well maintained and the pictures represent the true condition of the hotel décor's condition. I am sure there are spots where maintenance must be performed, and this was evident as you see people doing maintenance work daily, such as painting outdoors walls and daily preventive maintenance. Area: The hotel is situated perfectly in a nice part of the hotel zone. There is a sidewalk along with a walking/running path that runs parallel to the sidewalk for the entire stretch. There are several malls close by (some very high end), a walmart type store that sells everything from $5 Cuervo and cheap liquor, quality clothing/souvenirs, and food at a great price that is that is brand new and one block down the street, various restaurants, senor frogs, hard rock etc...within 3-5 block walk, the flea market is less than 10 minute walk and so much more. This place is centrally located to a lot of great restaurants and shops and we have never had an issue walking around daytime or nighttime. This is great spot for getting out and about. I would definitely buy liquor and souvenirs at the newer shopping store mentioned above, as it is a fraction of the cost of what you will pay at the airport duty free location. Absolute under $10/bottle cuervo $5 /bottle and many other liquors. Overall: This hotel is definitely a 5-star hotel, especially for an all inclusive in the Caribbean. It is by far the best hotel we have been to from any franchise. It will soon be closing for 3 months to undergo some renovations, while maintaining the classical design and décor, and will reopen as an adults only resort. This hotel was everything my wife and I thought it would be since we saw it 10 years ago. It lived up to the expectations and the employees are to commended for how well they do their jobs!


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Wyomissing, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2015
Fantastic Resort for all ages!

My newlywed wife and I booked our stay at Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun thru Cheap Caribbean and we couldn't have been happier. The service that we got at the resort from the front desk staff, to the servers, bartenders, and the staff that coordinated the activities were nothing but fantastic all week long. We spent most of our time at the "activities pool" which had the swim up bar and usually included more of the adult crowd although kids and teens were allowed to also be in this area. The staff would play music starting at about 10 am and had activities that guests could get involved in if they so chose pretty much all day. These activities included ping pong, volleyball (pool and beach), water aerobics, dancing lessons, basketball hoops, etc. In the evenings we would have dinner at one of the reservation required restaurants (if we could book them) and tried all but one of them. The only restaurant that we didn't enjoy was the Italian restaurant, but all the others including the buffets were very good. The servers were great at all the restaurants and would get you anything that you wanted if they could, and really made for enjoyable dinners. After dinner the activity staff would put on an hour show in the theatre that had a different kind of show each night ranging from karaoke, to dancers, singers, and even a Vegas show which were are pretty entertaining. We stayed in a junior suite and the rooms were very clean and had plenty of room for the two of us. We loved the bigger bathrooms with the nice shower, and it also had a good size balcony if you wanted to go outside and sit and enjoy the weather. Our suite came with a mini fridge stocked everyday with soda, water,and beer as well as self serve liquor bottles if you so desired (all included). We loved our stay in Cancun and have already talked to friends about planning a trip to Riu Palace again in the near future. I would recommend that guests use the shuttle service provided by Cheap Caribbean rather than rely on the taxis because the drivers were so helpful to us getting to and from the airport and saved us a lot of headaches. But I would gladly stay at Riu Palace again and would love to take my friends on our next trip!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2016
Fourth Stay marred by gastric poisoning.

This was our fourth consecutive annual visit to Riu Palace. We always love the location, the classic style of the building and the excellent staff who are all attentive and friendly. However, we both spent four of our eight days confined to our room with stomach problems. We had not eaten or drank anything outside the hotel. Curiously, we met a party of six who all had exactly the same problem and when we took the return shuttle to the airport, we met another couple with the same affliction. We will return next year but hope that the Palace has conducted a thorough review of their food preparation protocols and buffet food cold temperature maintenance and also reviewed the source of the water served in the restaurants and at the bars. The problem definitely originated in the hotel and lab work on our return to the States confirmed it was bacterial in origin and not an influenza type issue. Never had this problem in previous years and hope that next year's trip will not be ruined like this one was. Still love the place....but


31 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Florida U.S.A.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Excellent stay!!!!!!

Just returned from the Riu palace Las Americans yesterday and had an absolutely wonderful stay there!!!! I chose it because of the customer rating and am so happy I did--It was probably the nicest and most elegant looking hotel on the entire beach. The service was top notch, food was amazing, drinks plentiful and different than the same ol' same old. The infinity pools were very nice and there were always enough chairs to find one (new experience for me lol) While there we participated in 2 excursions, the first was the snorkeling catarmaran to Isle Mujeres which was a lot of fun--however if you go on this excursion do not go to the shops that the catarmaran company recommends, they are a rip off and they own them. I found that the cheapest souvenirs and liquor was in cancun in the shops across the street from the hotel. We tried the skyrider excursion as well--however we never actually made it out there due to it being too windy or the boat was broken (which means we lost our money because it was non-refundable). The Olympus tour company was very helpful and courteous. The only complaints about the stay that we had was that there was not a lot of bathrooms on the grounds to use and the hallways did have a faint musty odor (it was not present in the room at all though). These did not ruin our stay at all though!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!! :)

Excellent stay!!!!!! Excellent stay!!!!!!
22 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2011
Riu Palace a good place to vacation

Spent 5 nights at the resort. The resort's food and beverage policies were incomparably outstanding. Two misfires in 6 days were at the attempt of the Italian Restaurant to serve a Rodizio style Brazilian meal....The meats were not good and the restaurant manager was obviously in a bad mood or overworked. The same restaurant for lunch served an outstanding Italian meal complete with good wine and excellent sevice. The hotel staff was courteous and attentive. Room comfort was average as the bed was a lot harder that either me or my date were used to. The view was beautiful as were the shows in the evening. An additional plus is that the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping mall and other restaurants and night clubs, this was an unexpected bonus. Would highly recommend the place!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Woodstock, GA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 26, 2012
Nice, but not Great

Overall, we had a pleasant experience at the Riu Palace. However, the food was very lacking. There were several small restaurants to choose from, but most required a reservation, and only served at pre-set times. The menu was mostly pre-set as well, and not very good (in our opinion). The service was always good though! The staff was very accommodating and friendly! The pools were nice, but the pool in front is shaded by the shadow of the hotel most of the day, and it can be hard to find lounge chairs by the main "party" pool, unless you are out there first thing! Also, the pools close each day at 7pm for maintenance...that rules out night swimming, which is something we typically enjoy at other resorts. We did enjoy ourselves, but I am not so sure we would go back. There are just too many other places we've stayed that rank higher.

Nice, but not Great
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 13, 2012
NIce Place

My wife and I are in our mid 30's were taking a short trip for our anniversary, and we are truly happy about choosing this resort. The food was much better than other resorts we paid the same price for in the past. There were always tons of choices at all 3 meals at the main buffet but didn't seem to vary much from day to day. The room service menu was small but the food that we did order from there was good. The drinks were plentiful and only had to ask to upgrade to top shelf at no charge. The room we had was nice and clean but could use some attention to minor maintenance issues. The building and grounds were beautiful, although the beach was somewhat small. The crowd was not loud and seemed to average about 40 years old but still has a younger element to it. Great location, within walking distance to the major club area, and taxis were readily available at all times. We definitely will consider choosing this resort again for another trip.

NIce Place NIce Place
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year