All

Riu Palace Jamaica Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 132 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"Everything we where told when booking was true. Riu Palace is a beautiful resort. Small and personal. Staff was incredible and would go back over and over." – Happy365
135 out of 147 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
On the Beach!! Airport Sunset on the beach swim up bar Standard Room Bob Marley in the sun.... king bed, garden suite View of hotel from pool area View from Aqua Bar Jr. Suite This is the look of the water! Amazing honeymoon! Sunset in the pool View of one pool and beach Our room! view from outdoor seating buffet area Food at the buffet was great!

All Riu Palace Jamaica Customer Reviews

1-10 of 132 reviews. Sort by
February 21, 2014
What you see is what you get!

First time coming to Jamaica. My husband and I stayed at the resort for some much needed rest. The pictures you see online do not lie. The hotel is immaculate. The staff is constantly staying on top of keeping things clean. Even the bars by the beach had no sand on the ground ever! The staff is incredibly attentive and friendly. We travel to all the islands and always like to stay in hotels that can guarantee good hygiene, service, and comfort. We definitely got this there. Food was great. With plenty to choose from. Rooms are spacious and modern. Showers are great with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Might matter to some. Definitely recommend staying here. Especially for couples or a laid back vacation.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Queens new york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2013
Best vacation ever!!

This Rui Palace resort was amazing. Wow!! New, clean, modern. The staff were friendly, professional, very willing to go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. Few minor glitches in the room, that were fixed in a timely manner. Jacuzzi tub is awesome. Soak and watch tv at same time Free wifi was great. Beach is nice, small but be warned the water gets deep very quickly. Dangerous if you can't swim. They do have pool noodles where you get the towels that were great to float in the ocean. Pools are great. Restaurant's all top notch, even buffet food was tasty. Great selection and and varieties of food. Loved the porridge and smoothies at breakfast. Salads and onion rings at lunch. You can have a very quiet relaxing vacation or participate in the Palace Palace activities. (Bocchi ball, horseshoes, ping pong, pool vollyball, aerobics). You can also walk 2 min next door to particpate in all the water sports, beach vollyball, more areobics Overall one of the best vacations I have ever been on. Woukd definitely go back again!!!


55 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orlando and Toronto
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2016
Amazinggggggg!!

First time in Jamaica and first time at a Riu hotel. The driver from the airport took my boyfriend and I to the Riu Montego Bay and I looked around it was a bit crowded and noisy ( which isn't a con ) but it didn't look like the pictures online when I spoke to a nice lady at the front desk she quickly realized I was in the wrong hotel and had a driver taken me right next door to the Riu Palace Adult only resort. It was BEAUTIFUL service was beyond perfect and the room which was the regular not fancy standard room and I'm glad I booked it because it was still amazing. Huge bed and super comfy and the beach was cleaned and the pools were always clean and beautiful. My boyfriend and I are a young couple (23&25 years old) yet we made so many friends with older couples ( they were olderrrrrr yet young at heart) we partied at Pacha night club ( hotel next to us) I must say the staff made this stay amazing for us . THANK YOU TO AUDLEY WHO SERVED US EVERY NIGHT WITH A BEAUTIFUL DECORATED TABLE ( without having to ask him) and trevata and Lisa and Fabian and JOJO and Ortethia all these hard working staff who went above and beyond . CONS: nothing. Don't make reservations at the restaurants you don't need to . The buffet is amazing with so much variety food was a 10! The only restaurant I enjoyed was the steak house because I ate a amazing lobster tail but I wasn't full and ended up going next door to the buffet with my friend AUDLEY. ATTENTION MAKE SURE YOU CARRY SINGLES AND TIP THESE HARD WORKING PEOPLE !!!! I travel all the time to all inclusive resorts and I make sure I tip it's well worth it. So sad to see people not give at least a few singles to someone who have been going back and forth making you drinks. Another shout out to the CHEFS who do an amazing job. Thank You RIU palace


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24

January 30, 2014
Nice all inclusive

This resort is done in modern decor. The room was large with a king size bed, couch, desk, dresser and closet. The layout could be a plus or minus; the sink, jetted tub and shower are all visible from the rest of the room. There is a flat screen tv and temperature controls. The balcony was nice size with chairs and a table. Could be quite romantic with a partner, might not like it as much on a girls trip. There are two beautiful pools and a fantastic beach. My only complaint would be that there were no "no smoking" areas and being allergic to smoke I had to continually move; out of our stay only one day was so crowded that finding another seat was difficult. There is a bar on each side of the beach. One stays open 24/7 and offers typical bar food such as nachos, hot dogs, fries, ranch wraps. The other includes the swim up bar. The spa had massages available on the beach which we did and enjoyed. The price was comparable to what we would have paid at home for a one hour massage. All other spa services are next door at the sister resort. The water sports are also a short walk next door. There is a building with staff to sign you up for the activities and get equipment. We kayaked one day and went on the paid snorkeling excursion another. The staff were very helpful and nice for both. There are also staff members rotating around the beach and pool that bring the drinks to you. The food options are a buffet, the specialty restaurants, and the 24/7 bar. The buffet was large, but we found the food to be mostly bland. There are two things you need to know about the specialty restaurants. First, not all 4 are open every night, a fact we did not find out until the last night there. So if you are there a limited number of nights and really want to eat at the specialty restaurants you will need to make getting it set up a priority. Second, you can only make reservations between 8 and 4 and only for the same day. We arrived between 8 and 8:30 to find a line of 10 people or so and to be told that the restaurants were totally booked. When I questioned how that was possible when the resort was obviously not fully booked and we were not going to get to eat at a single specialty in a 5 night stay the staff member informed me that she "couldn't make everyone happy". Not the response I'm looking for on a vacation of this type and cost. On the last day we happened to get a reservation for the steak grill because someone canceled. We were however dismayed to find that during the dinner approximately a third of the seats were never occupied. If you are set on a restaurant and have been unable to get a reservation you might show up at the seating time and be able to get a spot of a no show. The food in the steak and grill was better than the buffet. I had the steak and lobster choice. It would not be a must do if I returned though. Overall we enjoyed the resort and would consider going back to it again.

View of hotel from pool area View of one pool and beach
27 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 16, 2014
First time will go back

Considering it only opened a month earlier was pretty good experience and being that this is a adults only resort only a few flaws. 1 No real premium liquor (scotch) only 1 late night bar no on site casino 2 They have 4 fine restaurants but only 2 are open daily and you have to get inline by 7 am CAN NOT CALL DOWN "GET UP STAND-UP" lol to schedule dinner. If lucky you can get a 6:30 seating if not 9:30 only 2 seating times but, must say the steak house was impressive. BUFFET breakfast- lunch- dinner AWESOME!!!!!! (they will make what every you ask of them) BAR far left near beach great bar food and Chef Arden will make you a authentic Caribbean meal (10 STARS or PALMS)


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NEW, JERSEY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15

This trip and resort were amazing. The weather, considering it was their "hot" season, was actually perfect. We were very happy to have chosen the Palace as it is adults only, because although it is slightly smaller than the family resort (Riu Montego Bay) next door, it is more quiet, they serve top shelf liquor, and you get pool/beach-side food and beverage service, where the neighboring resort does not. And what's more, you get access to the family resort next door if you so desire. The restaurants were actually better than I expected; one thing you want to make sure to do right when you get there is make reservations throughout your stay at these restaurants if you want, as they get booked quickly. The buffet was amazing; different types of style food throughout the week, and a ton of things to choose from. I am a pescatarian, so I only eat fish, and they had plenty of things for me to choose from. Service at the buffet, the restaurants, and poolside were more than accommodating. They also have different themed nights for dress and entertainment. The menu for room service is pretty mediocre, but if you are looking for a simple snack, it is more than adequate. And the timing to get the room service was not as long as I anticipated either. The staff of the resort are very pleasant, friendly, helpful people that will try and help you as much as possible. The aerobics guy, Kish, and Dr. Fun-Fun were hilarious and kept the guests active and laughing. I will say this, although you are not supposed to tip, we brought about $50 in singles, and depending on how often the bartenders changed, we would tip them daily. They treat you better and remember your name and drinks of choice. Although I don't think it's really necessary, they are working very hard to please you so we went ahead and tipped the staff. Toward the end of our stay, which was a lengthy vacation, we got invited to what was a manager's raffle party, in the Aqua bar (their 24-hour bar). We had the invitation slid underneath our room door. We filled out the raffle information, and turned it in and it was placed in the raffle jar prior to announcing winners. The people of the resort introduced the managers of each section of the place (food, dining, front desk, etc). They had a multitude of prizes; couple's dinner on the beach, a bottle of champagne, etc. My husband and I actually won the grand prize, which was one of their largest suites for the rest of our stay! I have pictures of the balcony attached. One is of the jacuzzi on the ocean view balcony, and the other is the view of the ocean from the balcony. This room was awesome, and made our experience and stay at this resort even more worth while. The only down-side, which was not a big deal to me at all, but bothered my husband a little bit, was that the resort is right in the jet-stream from the airport. As I see it, there was already music playing and enough going on throughout the day that it wasn't really a draw back. But the good thing about this is that your ride from the airport to the Riu Palace Resort is very short since it is so close by. And inside your room is very very quiet. Our suite was right above the Aqua Bar, and if you stepped outside on the balcony it was very loud, but going inside it was almost silent. Unfortunately, the garden view facing the outside of the resort on one side has a lot of construction going on, the view is a complete dirt plain with dump trucks and machines. Luckily, you don't spend much time in your room, and it isn't noisy from inside. We had a room facing this way the first half of our trip until we won the suite prize and upgraded. All in all this place is worth the money. If I have the opportunity to go back to Montego Bay I would most likely be staying here again!

Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15 Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2015
had a great time

Everything was great i really enjoyed myself ! ! ! There was only one problem that needs to be fixed at the hotel. you have to make a reservation for the restaurants and all of them was booked for Thursday, Friday and Saturday and the one that was available only had 8pm and not enough seats for six people and by the time we checked in on Thursday Everything was booked and you cant make a reservation before you get there you have to do it upon arrival.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 16, 2015
Worth it!

I stayed at Riu Place Jamaica 10/27-11/04/2015. It was amazing well appointed. Great staff. well maintained hotel. PROS: Attentive, fun staff. Modern updated rooms. Small resort, that didn't overwhelming. Easy access to shopping and close to the airport. Two pool options, one a bit more lively than the other. 24 hour bar. 24 hour room service. Full size bottles in the minibar, (not that we used then). CONS: No on site spa- had to go to the sister resort next door. No nightclub, it too was at the sister resort, I would think the adults only resort would have a dance club. Food- it was good, but not great. Meals are a big part of a vacation, at least for me. I found that I was happy with the meals about 75% of the time. The room service menu is limited to a couple of salads and sandwiches, not impressive at all. But overall I met some great people and had a great trip. The resort was fantastic and would stay here again in an instant.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gilroy, Ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2014
Incredible

So far, the best all inclusive Caribbean resort we have been to. Excellent service, food, pools and beach front. Beach was private. There was always a chair available by the beach or pool. The servers were very accommodating and attentive. The entire hotel was clean and comfortable. It was evident that much care is given to maintaining the property. The food was excellent, especially the restaurants in the evening. I highly recommend the steak house and Italian restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffets were better than average and fresh fruit and salad always available. For nighttime entertainment, the Riu next door is available. It is a short walk along the beach. I do not recommend going to the "Hip Strip." There really is nothing there except a few stores that sell the same items (made in China or India). The sellers follow you down the street begging for business. If you want Jamaican rum, it is just as inexpensive in the airport. The only business on the Hip Strip that may be fun for you is Magaritaville. The drinks are good and there is a water slide down into the water. Do not pay the $40 that the travel rep (Amstar) arranges for transportation to the Hip Strip. The hotel has trips to Margaritaville in the evenings. I went with my 20 year old daughter for a mother-daughter trip. We were comfortable, but the majority of the guests were retirement aged couples. There are 2 things that I would change within the hotel. I would change is that the resort become a no-tipping resort. It was very stressful and I had a feeling of guilt every time a server helped us. I felt that we needed to tip all the time. The resort is on the pricey side and I did not consider the cost of tipping when booking. Be aware of this and plan accordingly. Also, I would not allow smoking by the pools. We needed to move to other areas quite often in order to avoid the smoke exposure and nasty smell. This problem is not unique to this resort. Overall, we had an excellent time and would go back to a Riu resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2014
fun fun fun in the sun sun sun 9/28/14-10/2/14

First off, my wife and I are experienced all inclusive travelers, having gone to mexico, Jamaica, and the Dominican republic, and we are certainly not the hoity toity types, but this Riu was fantastic. From check in to check out, we had not one problem, the room was spacious and modern, albeit a little too white in color, the shower was fantastic as well as the well stocked mini bar. We had originally gotten a garden view room, but we informed the front desk staff that this was our fourth stay at a Riu, and we were quickly upgraded to a courtyard view, which was much better. The entire staff, from the wait staff in the restaurants, the awesome bartenders at all of the bars, and the maids and front desk folk, were all extremely helpful and genuinely glad that we were there. The buffet was good everyday, albeit a bit repetitive, but still always tasty, get a fresh burger from the grill at lunch, yummmmmmmy! The beach is a bit smaller than most, but the water is absolutely wave free, making it very enjoyable for those which are not good swimmers. Outside of that, it's Jamaica, and in my honest opinion, the best place to spend your vacation. And one more quick tidbit, if you do not like long trips from the airport to your resort, then this is the place for you, being only about ten minutes from the airport. Hope this helps and enjoy Jamaica mohn!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year