All

Riu Palace Jamaica Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 163 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"Everything we where told when booking was true. Riu Palace is a beautiful resort. Small and personal. Staff was incredible and would go back over and over." – Happy365
174 out of 189 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Anniversary bed Sunset on the beach view from outdoor seating buffet area Airport On the Beach!! Dunn's River Falls Tisania and Brian at the front desk Food at the buffet was great! Night Life View of one pool and beach View of hotel from pool area This is the look of the water! Jr. Suite View from Aqua Bar king bed, garden suite Hanover Pool & Pool Bar View from our room Swim up bar Amazing honeymoon! Sunset in the pool Bob Marley in the sun.... Our room! The center pool from the beach. Standard Room swim up bar

All Riu Palace Jamaica Customer Reviews

1-10 of 163 reviews. Sort by
April 25, 2017
A Great Celebration

What a great experience. I'm going to have trouble putting all of my thoughts into one review, and I'll bet $100 nobody reads the whole thing, but I'll start with getting the basics out of the way. I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend, parents, and aunt and uncle. I chose this resort because it's close to Sangster Int'l Airport in Montego Bay, and it really offers a lot in it's all-inclusive plan. Staying at the Riu Palace (their top-level resort here) also gives you almost full access to their adjacent properties, the Riu Reggae (mid-level) and the Riu Montego Bay (base-level). Riu Palace and Riu Reggae are adults only, while Riu Montego Bay allows kids. I say "almost full access" because you can use all amenities, buffets, beaches, pools, spas, etc. at the other resorts, but you cannot dine at their à la carte restaurants. That's not a big deal, as Riu Palace has it's own. RESORT The resort itself is beautiful. It's got a very modern theme to it, with a lot of matte white, orange, and purple colors and abstract sculptures. If you like more old school, wood designs, the Riu Montego Bay definitely had more of that (at least in the lobby and restaurants). There's a pretty large man-made beach along with three pools, two pool bars, five restaurants, and two bars. I'll get into the dining and drinking later on in my review. The Aqua bar is where the night activities and shows took place, but Vogue also has a stage and had live music most, if not all, nights. I'll get into that more in the Dining / Drinking section, but I will say that if you want bigger shows, both Riu Reggae and Riu Montego Bay have big stages and you have access to those shows. Next door at Riu Reggae, they have watersports that are included. I did small catamaran sailing (I want one now), paddleboarding (tried and failed), and pedalboat. They're fun and allow you to see the beauty of the island from a ways out in the water. ROOM My girlfriend and I got a garden room and were more than happy. Our room was west-facing, so every evening when we would come in from the beach / pool to get ready for dinner, the room would be beautifully bright with orange sunset light. I'm really glad that we got a room like that, and I'd actually consider asking for a west-facing room if we went again. The room is typical of what I've seen in lots of other Jamaica resorts, where it's almost completely open as one room except for the shower and a small room for the toilet. The bathtub is large with jets and right next to the bed, which seems to be a pretty common layout amongst tropical resorts. The room carries the same modern design as the rest of the resort, with matte white furniture and purple / orange accents. It's a loud modern that may not appeal to everyone, but personally I want to redecorate my apartment after seeing it. The room has a keypad safe, a minibar that gets restocked daily, and an alcohol dispenser on the wall. As it is all-inclusive, there are no extra charges for any of that. I asked to double check and make sure. The rooms also all have balconies with two chairs, a small table, and a bathing suit / towel drying bar. STAFF Staff here are friendly, and as I would at any tropical resort I recommend tipping. I know that it says tips are included, but it's nice and you'll probably get better treatment if you leave a few dollars here and there. Doesn't have to be every time you get a drink, but after paying what you're paying to stay here, a few more dollars can't hurt. There's an entertainment team here that will host events and games throughout the day and night (their hours are 9AM to 11PM every day), and they'll come talk and hang out with you as well. They're all nice, and although I know they're working for the money as we all do, when they talk to you they actually pay attention and care about the conversation. That being said, I'm sure they hear the same stories and jokes 100 times a week from tourists, and I would get tired of it fast, but they don't show any sign of being sick of it. Some standouts that I remember were: Melony at the lunch / dinner buffet, Dr. Fun Fun, Barbie, JoJo, and Kyash from the entertainment team, and Omaine, our favorite bartender at the Hanover pool swim-up bar. DINING For restaurants, there are four à la carte and one buffet. They are the steakhouse, Zen (Japanese / Asian), Krystal (Fusion?), L'Acquedotto (Italian), and the buffet which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. L'Acquedotto works in a unique way to the other restaurants, where they have a mini-buffet of appetizers that you take before your main course, which is brought to you like the other restaurants. Most of the restaurants start by serving you a platter to share. For example, at Zen it's a sushi plate, at the steakhouse it's scallops, octopus, and calamari, etc. That's followed by an appetizer, entree, and dessert. I wasn't overly impressed with the steakhouse, but it wasn't bad by any means. I very much enjoyed the duck at Krystal, and that may very well be my second favorite meal. I'd have to say that my favorite restaurant was L'Acquedotto, but my favorite overall dish was the Shitaake Crusted Filet from Zen. The buffet is clean and boasts quite a large selection. For every meal, you will definitely find some things you like and you'll see most of the foods you expect, with some unexpected treats thrown in. For lunch, it's usually some Jamaican specialties like curried goat and Jamaican patties. The breakfast and lunch menus change slightly every day while keeping the staples, and the dinner buffet has themed nights I believe three nights a week. DRINKING For bars, they have a 24 hour open air bar alongside the beach called the Aqua Chillout Bar, a lobby bar (Vogue), and two swim-up pool bars (Hanover and Lime). The Aqua bar is where the night activities and shows took place, but Vogue also has a stage and had live music most, if not all, nights. The shows at Aqua are a bit more low-key and are run by the resort's entertainment team, usually hosting events such as a retro music night, all-white dress night, etc. Aqua also has a 24-hour snack buffet and a pool table. Also, as I mentioned earlier, you have a minibar and an alcohol dispenser in your room that are both restocked frequently. OVERALL EXPERIENCE My overall experience was fantastic. Out of all the resorts I've been to in Jamaica, I think if I wanted to return to one it would be here. That being said, it would be with the knowledge that I took in on this trip. These are my opinions, but here's what I'd do differently. I'd go to the big shows at the other resorts as opposed to the smaller ones at Palace. The resorts are directly next to each other and you can walk to them via the beach or the road in front. I'd probably forego wandering around off resort. We heard about a shopping complex across the street and decided to check it out - it was probably the worst experience of the trip for me. As soon as you step off resort, you're like a piggy bank being swarmed by people trying to offer you things for sale, taxi rides, shop discounts, and on and on and on. Save yourself the trouble. Every store is always 50% off everything, every store always has 5 shirts for $20, and every store is always full of knockoff junk. If you want something, just go to the gift shop in the hotel lobby. Prices aren't that bad. My last piece of advice would be to treat every day like your last day on the resort. It's so cliche and everyone probably says it, but the last three days or so I would be so excited as the sun rose and a new day dawned, and so down as the sun set and I realized that another day was over. You don't get to stay here forever, just keep reminding yourself of that. To wrap it all up, I'd say that if I COULD stay here forever, I might just do it.

The center pool from the beach. Hanover Pool & Pool Bar
26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 21, 2014
What you see is what you get!

First time coming to Jamaica. My husband and I stayed at the resort for some much needed rest. The pictures you see online do not lie. The hotel is immaculate. The staff is constantly staying on top of keeping things clean. Even the bars by the beach had no sand on the ground ever! The staff is incredibly attentive and friendly. We travel to all the islands and always like to stay in hotels that can guarantee good hygiene, service, and comfort. We definitely got this there. Food was great. With plenty to choose from. Rooms are spacious and modern. Showers are great with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Might matter to some. Definitely recommend staying here. Especially for couples or a laid back vacation.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Queens new york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2013
Best vacation ever!!

This Rui Palace resort was amazing. Wow!! New, clean, modern. The staff were friendly, professional, very willing to go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. Few minor glitches in the room, that were fixed in a timely manner. Jacuzzi tub is awesome. Soak and watch tv at same time Free wifi was great. Beach is nice, small but be warned the water gets deep very quickly. Dangerous if you can't swim. They do have pool noodles where you get the towels that were great to float in the ocean. Pools are great. Restaurant's all top notch, even buffet food was tasty. Great selection and and varieties of food. Loved the porridge and smoothies at breakfast. Salads and onion rings at lunch. You can have a very quiet relaxing vacation or participate in the Palace Palace activities. (Bocchi ball, horseshoes, ping pong, pool vollyball, aerobics). You can also walk 2 min next door to particpate in all the water sports, beach vollyball, more areobics Overall one of the best vacations I have ever been on. Woukd definitely go back again!!!


55 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orlando and Toronto
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2017
Excellent time at Riu Palace!!

My husband and I just returned from our 3 night babymoon at Riu Palace, and had an incredible time! We are having our first baby in April, and wanted a relaxing, romantic, and ADULTS ONLY trip. Amstar was easy to find at the airport, and quickly whisked us to the hotel. It is the 2nd stop from the airport so u arrive there in about 10 minutes. Don't forget to tip these guys, it's not included. Check in was just a few moments, and although our room was not ready yet, they took our bags and invited us to have lunch at the LARGE buffet while we waited. The friendly staff took care of our every need, and greeted us very warmly. They really get to know the guests, and are genuinely kind, and attentive. Make sure you have the Jerk Chicken when you arrive! The chef is very nice and a great cook! Be adventurous and try the local cuisine... Don't just come here for pizza it's not what they are known for, but they do have boring American food too, which is good for picky eaters. After lunch we were taken to the room which was beautiful, and spotless. The mini fridge is stocked with water, and sodas, and their is a liquor dispenser in the room too which is all included. They took special care to give us a very quiet room so I could get rest. Room service is also included 24 hours, as well as extra towels, or blankets etc.. That service is also incredibly fast. I noticed that the maid staff seems to be cleaning around the clock, either the rooms, or the hallways. This hotel is VERY CLEAN. Also very good powerful AC in the room. The beach is very clean, which soft white sand. There are PLENTY of beach chairs, and clean towels for the guests. Also ample shade or sun whichever you prefer. There are also 3 gorgeous, and clean pools with two swim up bars, if that's more your speed. We did a little of each. Also the friendly wait staff is constantly patrolling the grounds delivering whatever drinks you need, I was impressed with how fast the service was. Tipping is included, but when you do tip the service is even better. They do appreciate it! There is a daily schedule of activities which are open to anyone to join in such as fitness, or games, but they are not invasive or annoying if you're looking to just relax and not be bothered like we were. They also have areas to play pool, ping pong, and other small games which we enjoyed. Next door at reggae (a short walk) you can rent paddle boats, kayaks, wind surf, or paddle board all included in your stay no extra cost. The palace definitely was a more mature crowd, which we LOVED, but Reggae resort also has activities and seems to be a little bit more of a party atmosphere if that's what you seek. Riu Montego Bay is the other neighboring resort, where families go. Very big and crowded, but worth adventuring over there if you feel like it esp in the evening. Dinner you have the choice of either buffet (massive and excellent,) or 4 other specialty restaurants. Everything was great but we really enjoyed the buffet. It was on-par with Caesars palace in Vegas! All in all the stay was excellent, the staff really makes an effort to be friendly, and make sure you have an excellent time, and the experience was just what we were looking for. Exceeded my expectations in every way! Thank you so much Riu Palace, we will definitely be recommending you to everyone.

Excellent time at Riu Palace!!
31 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 15, 2015
had a great time

Everything was great i really enjoyed myself ! ! ! There was only one problem that needs to be fixed at the hotel. you have to make a reservation for the restaurants and all of them was booked for Thursday, Friday and Saturday and the one that was available only had 8pm and not enough seats for six people and by the time we checked in on Thursday Everything was booked and you cant make a reservation before you get there you have to do it upon arrival.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 13, 2016
Amazinggggggg!!

First time in Jamaica and first time at a Riu hotel. The driver from the airport took my boyfriend and I to the Riu Montego Bay and I looked around it was a bit crowded and noisy ( which isn't a con ) but it didn't look like the pictures online when I spoke to a nice lady at the front desk she quickly realized I was in the wrong hotel and had a driver taken me right next door to the Riu Palace Adult only resort. It was BEAUTIFUL service was beyond perfect and the room which was the regular not fancy standard room and I'm glad I booked it because it was still amazing. Huge bed and super comfy and the beach was cleaned and the pools were always clean and beautiful. My boyfriend and I are a young couple (23&25 years old) yet we made so many friends with older couples ( they were olderrrrrr yet young at heart) we partied at Pacha night club ( hotel next to us) I must say the staff made this stay amazing for us . THANK YOU TO AUDLEY WHO SERVED US EVERY NIGHT WITH A BEAUTIFUL DECORATED TABLE ( without having to ask him) and trevata and Lisa and Fabian and JOJO and Ortethia all these hard working staff who went above and beyond . CONS: nothing. Don't make reservations at the restaurants you don't need to . The buffet is amazing with so much variety food was a 10! The only restaurant I enjoyed was the steak house because I ate a amazing lobster tail but I wasn't full and ended up going next door to the buffet with my friend AUDLEY. ATTENTION MAKE SURE YOU CARRY SINGLES AND TIP THESE HARD WORKING PEOPLE !!!! I travel all the time to all inclusive resorts and I make sure I tip it's well worth it. So sad to see people not give at least a few singles to someone who have been going back and forth making you drinks. Another shout out to the CHEFS who do an amazing job. Thank You RIU palace


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24

January 31, 2017
Wonderful!

Beautiful location, about 15 minutes bus ride from the airport. The resort never felt over-crowded, and the food, service, staff, access to 3 pools, and the beach was stress-free and great! I would definitely return. The beach is easy access to swimming in the bay, which is fairly warm water. The pools are pretty large and 2 of the 3 have swim up bars. The all-inclusive option is great because you can choose from 4 dining options: the buffet, sushi, italian, or steak house. The rooms were immaculate and have a balcony, with coffee maker and coffee included for the mornings. The photos of the resort on the website are a very accurate representation.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2016
Did not meet expectations

I was told by 2 other couples this was a good resort. Upon arriving, they gave us a room far one sided next to a new resort being built. Not even seconds the workers doing construction were hollering at my wife. We ask for a new room. We had to wait over 2 hrs for a new room. We had to take our own bags to our room, no big deal just seem a bit rude. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Shower is big. Bed comfortable. Tv many channels. Balcony was nice not much of a view (Better than seeing construction going on). Ac was cold no issues, fridge always stocked. Now for food and drinks, drinks are watered down, or iced down. Barely any top shelf. Food, the first day we tried making reservations and the steakhouse was booked for the whole week! Disappointing. Buffet, breakfast can't mess that up amazing. Lunch was alright, dinner was disappointing. Don't get me started on the "24hr" bar with a snack bar, horrible, stale food ,kitchen closed. Room service food horrible. The staff could be friendlier, 1 out of 3 would be really polite and nice. We had the same waiter for breakfast and lunch he was the greatest. We did manage to get dinner at the Italian restaurant, waitress was so rude! No eye contact and didn't want to be there. It was hard to get a waitress on the beach almost never to be seen. We checked out the sister resort next door not much better. Beach was great, pools are great. Overall, we had more fun outside the resort. It was the staff that could of made it more enjoyable, use to other resorts being so attentive and working for their tips.

Sunset on the beach
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2015
Worth it!

I stayed at Riu Place Jamaica 10/27-11/04/2015. It was amazing well appointed. Great staff. well maintained hotel. PROS: Attentive, fun staff. Modern updated rooms. Small resort, that didn't overwhelming. Easy access to shopping and close to the airport. Two pool options, one a bit more lively than the other. 24 hour bar. 24 hour room service. Full size bottles in the minibar, (not that we used then). CONS: No on site spa- had to go to the sister resort next door. No nightclub, it too was at the sister resort, I would think the adults only resort would have a dance club. Food- it was good, but not great. Meals are a big part of a vacation, at least for me. I found that I was happy with the meals about 75% of the time. The room service menu is limited to a couple of salads and sandwiches, not impressive at all. But overall I met some great people and had a great trip. The resort was fantastic and would stay here again in an instant.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gilroy, Ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15

This trip and resort were amazing. The weather, considering it was their "hot" season, was actually perfect. We were very happy to have chosen the Palace as it is adults only, because although it is slightly smaller than the family resort (Riu Montego Bay) next door, it is more quiet, they serve top shelf liquor, and you get pool/beach-side food and beverage service, where the neighboring resort does not. And what's more, you get access to the family resort next door if you so desire. The restaurants were actually better than I expected; one thing you want to make sure to do right when you get there is make reservations throughout your stay at these restaurants if you want, as they get booked quickly. The buffet was amazing; different types of style food throughout the week, and a ton of things to choose from. I am a pescatarian, so I only eat fish, and they had plenty of things for me to choose from. Service at the buffet, the restaurants, and poolside were more than accommodating. They also have different themed nights for dress and entertainment. The menu for room service is pretty mediocre, but if you are looking for a simple snack, it is more than adequate. And the timing to get the room service was not as long as I anticipated either. The staff of the resort are very pleasant, friendly, helpful people that will try and help you as much as possible. The aerobics guy, Kish, and Dr. Fun-Fun were hilarious and kept the guests active and laughing. I will say this, although you are not supposed to tip, we brought about $50 in singles, and depending on how often the bartenders changed, we would tip them daily. They treat you better and remember your name and drinks of choice. Although I don't think it's really necessary, they are working very hard to please you so we went ahead and tipped the staff. Toward the end of our stay, which was a lengthy vacation, we got invited to what was a manager's raffle party, in the Aqua bar (their 24-hour bar). We had the invitation slid underneath our room door. We filled out the raffle information, and turned it in and it was placed in the raffle jar prior to announcing winners. The people of the resort introduced the managers of each section of the place (food, dining, front desk, etc). They had a multitude of prizes; couple's dinner on the beach, a bottle of champagne, etc. My husband and I actually won the grand prize, which was one of their largest suites for the rest of our stay! I have pictures of the balcony attached. One is of the jacuzzi on the ocean view balcony, and the other is the view of the ocean from the balcony. This room was awesome, and made our experience and stay at this resort even more worth while. The only down-side, which was not a big deal to me at all, but bothered my husband a little bit, was that the resort is right in the jet-stream from the airport. As I see it, there was already music playing and enough going on throughout the day that it wasn't really a draw back. But the good thing about this is that your ride from the airport to the Riu Palace Resort is very short since it is so close by. And inside your room is very very quiet. Our suite was right above the Aqua Bar, and if you stepped outside on the balcony it was very loud, but going inside it was almost silent. Unfortunately, the garden view facing the outside of the resort on one side has a lot of construction going on, the view is a complete dirt plain with dump trucks and machines. Luckily, you don't spend much time in your room, and it isn't noisy from inside. We had a room facing this way the first half of our trip until we won the suite prize and upgraded. All in all this place is worth the money. If I have the opportunity to go back to Montego Bay I would most likely be staying here again!

Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15 Riu Palace Montego Bay 7/25/15-8/1/15
14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year