All

Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 399 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"It's a beautiful place !! Food not so great !! Your rep there was very helpful !!!" – Dlcabo
433 out of 476 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
atv ride! Private swim out pool. Front Entry to Resort Palace breakfast area view from our balcony Horse rides on the beach Beach in front of hotel Small Marlin catch Jaymes 50th! Our morning latte!! Inside the hotel lobby. Beautiful architecture! From our balcony Our view from our 3rd floor terrace! Amazing views Waves in front if hotel view:pool,beach We loved the infinity swim up bar! The view from the Loung area! View from our room was beautiful! lovers beach! view from our room View from our room View from our Jr. Stuite View from our room:)) Paradise Room View Beautiful view! Our first night at Riu Palace So sad to leave... The Palace at night!!! View from our room #4114 Just a fun collage Our second favoite spot! Beautiful sunsets every evening Our favorite spot! Patio view of El Arco None-activities pool View from our room

All Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 399 reviews. Sort by
November 2, 2012
Awesome Vacation

We were at the Riu Palace from Oct 22 - Oct 27. We stayed at the Riu Santa Fe in 2010 so this review is for anyone looking to decide which Riu to book. Our experiences at both resorts were great. You really can't go wrong. At the Riu Santa Fe, we had a difficult time getting dinner reservations. We didn't have as much of a problem at the Palace. The Santa Fe required that you book the morning of (early morning which was not convenient or enjoyable for vacation). We could book days in advance at the Palace which was a much better process. I thought the buffets were pretty comparable between the two. Food was fine...nothing amazing that we couldn't get enough of, but we never had a problem getting a decent meal. I think the trick is not taking a little of everything in your first shot. Give yourself something new to have at your next meal as opposed to eating the same things every time. There will be a chef set up in the middle of the restaurant w/ a specialty of the evening--one night was shrimp, one night crepes etc. If you are interested, get that item as it won't return for the remainder of the week. The Japanese restaurant at the Palace was not good. My husband and I love Asian cuisine--Japanese, Chinese, Thai, Korean, etc. This was just not good. The sushi was good, but the remainder of the meal was horrible. The broth from the soup literally smelled like dead fish guts. Two people left our table for the remainder of the meal feeling ill. The tempura batter was thick and greasy--not light as it should be. The Mexican restaurant at the Palace was good as was the steakhouse. We didn't eat at Krystal as the menu seemed a bit too high strung for our taste. (I don't need foam or gel on my food). As far as the rooms, yes, the beds were hard, but we were exhausted each night so sleeping was not an issue. The rooms are not super modern...tube tvs vs flat screens....but we didn't go to Mexico to spend time in our room or watch tv so we didn't care. The bathrooms were large. The rooms were large. I enjoyed having enough space to spread out. I think our room was better decorated at the Santa Fe, but either way, you get about the same thing. Also, we never had any issue with theft. Our housekeeping staff did a phenomenal job making up our room. They organized our toiletries for us, wrapped up cords from my hair straightener and curling iron, laid out our shoes in a row....really paid attention to detail. We had a nightly turn down service as well. One night we got chocolates, another night a rose....I forgot to leave a tip as we were in a rush to check out and I was mad at myself as the ladies did a great job. The main difference between the Santa Fe and the Palace is the service. We brought our own pool cups both times. It was nice having larger cups at the Santa Fe so we weren't filling as often as we had to fetch our own drinks. At the Palace, we were constantly being waited on. We almost never had to get a drink for ourselves so we didn't need the larger cups as fresh drinks were always on their way. We did get sick of the sugary drinks. Some were strong and others you'd swear were virgin. if your first one isn't strong enough, just ask for more booze. Eventually, you'll get what you want. The only thing we'd change from a bar perspective is the offering of mixers and standard bar drinks so you could get away from sugary/syrupy cocktails. Overall, we had a fantastic vacation. Everything was phenomenal and we'd definitely go back to both the Palace and the Santa Fe. I think that my overall decision between the 2 would be based on price. When we booked in 2010, the price difference was much more substantial than 2012 so the 2012 booking seemed worth the upgrade. I'd also say that the Santa Fe is more of the party resort depending on your vacation expectations....


62 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Minnesota
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Felt Completely Pampered

From the time we arrived (with a waitress handing us a drink) to the time we left we felt completely taken care of! The staff was fabulous and extremely helpful. Our room was gorgeous and the scenery was amazing. If we wanted anything all we had to do was ask and it was immediately taken care of. The beach is gorgeous but is not safe to swim at. The walk to the other side where you can swim is short so it was convenient for us to get there. If you do not want to walk to the beach then the hotel will arrange for travel to take you to the other end where it is safe to swim. The food was great and we preferred the buffet to the restaurants. The buffet had everything we could possibly want and would accomodate even the pickiest of appetites. This was our first vacation booked through CheapCarribean and I must say we were a little apprehensive. Don't be! We read all of the reviews that CheapCarribean posted and found them to be very helpful and that is ultimately what made our decision to choose Riu Palace in Cabo San Lucas. If you love food and being pampered than go to the Riu Palace!


78 of 86 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mayetta, KS
Age: 35-44

July 9, 2013
Great hotel

I just came back from cabos and I have to say that this place is great. there are some many things that you can do to keep your family and you busy. now Riu Palace from 1 to 10, I give then a solid 8. as soon as I got to the hotel they give us some drinks while we were waiting online to check in. they took a while to bring our bags to the room but when I call reception 2 minutes later my bags were in my room no big deal. now the room was very clean, everything was working and free mini bar with vodka, tequila and whisky and good beer. the pools are nice there is one with music and live entertainment and the other one is quite if you just want to get a tan or read a book. Now the food is good not great but just good. if you guys want to try some real Mexican food go online and there are a lots of local Mexican restaurant that are really, really, really good. I recommend Edith's restaurant which is only 10 minutes from the hotel, A little expensive but the Food and the drinks are great. The employees at the hotel are very friendly and nice, but if you give them a tip they are even NICER. I know its all inclusive but if you hook them up, they will hook you up. specially the bartenders and Room maids. if you guys are looking for a nice hotel for a good price this is the one, I've visited a lot resorts in Mexico and this a good one for it price. Have fun Guys P.S any activities book them with Olympus, they are very nice and profesional


29 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 14, 2014
Best vacation ever

Top notch service from checking in to checking out! We were greeted with a drink while waiting to check in and were waited on all day long every day! The bed was huge. It was two queen sized beds put together. The fridge was stocked daily with beer, water and pop. There was a self serve liquor dispenser in our room also with four differ kinds of liquor. We had a room with a sliding glass door with a patio over looking the pool, very nice. The food was amazing. The drinks at the pool were on the small size and not much alcohol in them. They do have premium liquor behind the bar you just have to ask for it. If you tip the servers good in the beginning of the day they will make sure you always have a full drink. Every employee you walk by makes it a point to greet you or at least say hello. Make sure you bring lots of $1 and $5 bills with you. They like to be tipped for everything. The hotel does not have change in USD. Make sure to get a price on a cab ride downtown first before you get in, and make sure you have the correct change because sometimes they will tell you they don't have change.a cab ride down town should cost about $13. The beach has many different vendors selling stuff near the resort but they are not allowed to come a certain distance from the resort, it is roped off. But you can approach them and barter with them, do not pay what they are asking. There also was a great massage place down on the beach a few resorts down, for $30 you got an hour long massage, it was fantastic. Over all it was a great place, people were very friendly and I felt safe even when walking down at night. I will be returning again some day. This is a must do, you will not be disappointed.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 31, 2013
Beautiful resort, excellent accommodations

2 girlfriends and I stayed here for a girls' getaway. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The pools are spectacular, view is great. Couldn't really swim in the ocean because of rip tides, but didn't really miss it. Our room was nice, though the set-up was strange for 3 people. It was 2 double beds pushed right next to each other, so one of us had to sleep on the crack. It was comfortable other than that and the mini-bar was well-stocked. Nice having free Wi-Fi. The room was quiet, with very little noise from outside the room. We were there primarily for relaxation and we definitely got that. The spa was very nice, though you did have to buy each treatment separately- they didn't offer any package deals. They did have entertainment every night and it was fun, though not too wild and crazy, which was good for us (mid-30s looking for some quiet away from our kids). The food and drinks were excellent- the best I have had at an all-inclusive. The staff was very courteous and attentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, high-quality getaway for a reasonable price.


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44

March 4, 2013
OK Experience

There is a lot to say but i will keep it short. First off make sure you get the shuttle from the airport to the hotel.... takes alot of stress away. We booked a room with an ocean view and we had an ocean view outside on our deck about 2 feet wide facing away from our window. The staff was always very very friendly and i recommend bringing a bunch of 1$ bills to tip because no one makes change and you feel bad not tipping since we have been told they make about $15 a day and work 6 days a week for 12 hour days. Our hotel was all inclusive and for the first day or 2 that was ok but they didnt have very many healthy options at all. They had the non buffet restaurants but you have to book them and we were not told that until everything we were told was already booked up, whcih was 3 days out. The drinks flow freely but they do not have a lot of alcohol in them so make sure to get a shot on the side and jsut poor it in. Also the glasses are very small so bring a larger one and have them make the drinks to fit it. We did a bunch of excursions that were great but i would highly recommend the whale watching. We went in a little speed boat and seriously the 120 tons monsters were jumping completely out of the water like 100 feet from the boat. AWESOME!!! Overall the place was very clean with a helpful staff but when i go back to Cabo i will not be staying all inclusive. I think the extra money to buy your own meals and drinks will make you much happier. Hope this helps


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: scottsdale
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 3, 2016
Good experience

We checked out of RIU Cabo San Lucas Palace the last day they were open. Closing for 3 months for remodel. The resort was wonderful the food was lacking a lot. Been to many RIU Palace Resorts. There seemed to be a lot of left over food from previous meals. Breakfast, there were dishes of food that was on the night before menu. Dinner had left over hamburgers and hot dogs from lunch. Not a good variety. I am blaming it on the fact they were closing and didn't want to have a ton of food left. For the price I paid, I thought I should of had the same food choices as any other time. Pool was great. Rooms we're spotless.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2016
Loved this place

We just returned from the Riu Palace in Cabo on 5-7-16. Everything here was amazing. I will try to break down this review in sections. THE ROOM: We had an ocean view junior suite which had an awesome view. The room has a liquor cabinet with 4 5th bottles in it. We asked them to change the brandy out for whiskey but they said that all the rooms have the same liquor in them. This was ok with us, we mostly drink rum anyway. It has Bacardi rum, smirnoff vodka, a tequila and a brandy. They will only change the liquor when the bottle is empty. Just call the front desk and they bring it right up usually within 10 minutes. We were here 6 nights, 3 of the 6 nights we had towel art on our bed, it was very nice. The room was always very clean. The air worked really well. If you smoke you can smoke on the balcony which has two chairs, a table and an ashtray. Cable TV but only a handful of channels in English. BARS: There is no shortage of drinks here! They have self serve beer on tap in the restaurant where the lunch buffet is at, its between the two pools. One bar at each pool, A bar on the lobby level and a bar on the next level down where the stage is at. I highly recommend the Mojito! RESTAURANTS: We only made it to one of the Ala Carte restaurants. It was the Mexican one next to the pool. The food was outstanding. The other restaurants did not have a menu that appealed to us. We were also told you do not need a reservation for ANY of the ala carte restaurants as the website says. It was just first come first serve. We ate every day at the buffet restaurants. The same one that serves breakfast also serves dinner and there is an outdoor one that serves lunch. This food was top notch. They make omelettes for you at breakfast which I like but they have tons of food. Not just Mexican food either. Whatever kind of diet you eat, you will find something here. They also have a juice bar with green juice and other kinds as well. Mimosa's and bloody Marys available every morning. Oh and after dinner outside the restaurant is a guy making either Spanish, Irish, or Mexican coffee. Get some!! You will not be hungry. POOLS: There are two pools here. The side of the resort our room was on had the pool with all the activities. The other pool by the gym is more quiet if you prefer that. We never had to look for a lounger, there was always empty ones. The pools are salt water pools so you will not come out smelling like chlorine, the water was very soft, and no they are not salty like the ocean lol. They are also not heated but not cold. Perfect for cooling you off. BEACH: The beach was beautiful. There were some people playing in the waves close to shore but when the big waves come in you should move up higher on the beach as we got swept off of our feet by them. It was fun but you just need to pay attention. The sand is also not very soft. Its pretty large grain sand. Hard on bare feet so wear sandals. We walked all the way down the beach almost to the marina. It was nice, and yes there are vendors selling things but just say no and keep walking..or buy something as we did. We got better deals on the beach than shopping anywhere else. We took a taxi to the marina for a sunset cruise which I would recommend. We also zip lined which was awesome. It was 80 to 85 degrees everyday but the ocean breeze made it feel wonderful. It was cooler at night and I would bring pants and a sweater. I brought yoga pants and a zip up hoodie was perfect. We did not dress up ever although some people did, its just not our thing. Also there are no bugs. Do not worry about that, I never saw a single bug only a really cool gecko that would hang on our balcony wall at night.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Loved RIU

My wife and I spent 5 nights at RIU Palace in June 2010. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Constantly being cleaned, polished, and manicured. All staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Although there is no tipping, we left the maid a couple of bucks each morning. In return she made origami animals with towels or left rose petals around sink bowls. We got a kick out of that each day. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. We tried all the specialty restaurants as well as the main dining hall. The restaurants really were "fine dining" experiences. Really fresh fruit, veggies, seafood and high-grade meats. We had an ocean side room. It was clean and quite comfortable. Nice firm bed. Nice balcony. Twin bowl sinks. We could hear surf while laying in bed. Free bottled water, beer, soda in fridge. Alcohol dispensers in the room. The "tube" TV in room should be upgraded to a flat panel. We watched Stanley Cup finals in main lounge which was fun, but the TV there should be larger and not so high up. The health club actually had good equipment. Got in some good workouts to help counterbalance all the food an drink consumption. My only gripe is that the pool water was pretty cool. Would be OK for serious lap swimming but was not comfortable for hanging out in the water. The ocean waves are too rough for swimming in front of RIU. There is a swimmable beach about a ten minute walk west. The sand is coarse and hard to walk on. Do not try it barefoot. We actually walked to downtown Cabo every day. The snorkel trip was a blast.

Loved RIU Loved RIU
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 31, 2012
nice getaway

I traveled to RUI Palace Cabo at the end of March with my husband and two other couples and we had a great time! The views and beaches are amazing even though you can swim because the waves are huge! We took a water taxi to the arch and then were dropped off at pelican beach and walked to lover beach...breathtaking!!! Would deff recommend! The room decor needs updated and the beds are very hard. The food is just ok. The steakhouse was our fav and the lunch buffet in the mexican restaurant (not the main lunch buffet). They do not have many spots for dinner reservations so you have to make them like 2 days in advance and you have to be in line at 6:45 am. Kind of a pain. Breakfast buffet was good but I was not impressed with the fruit selection. The gym at both the Palace and Sante Fe are nothing to brag about and no free weights. My husband and I got a couples message that was very nice and relaxing! The resort is very clean and the staff are all very nice and helpful!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year