All

Riu Palace Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 182 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"First all inclusive trip and it turned out pretty good. No complaints from me will have to do this every year now." – Darryl
181 out of 214 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from my VIP suite Best birthday ever!!!! Our room Amazing room Riu Palce Bavaro 2013 View from our room room with a view lobby random shot Punta Cana VIP Pool Area Beach Love this place!!! Hotel beach area Food is incredible!!!!! The cave (AWESOME) View from jr suit pool view. Room 4312 beautiful pool Beautiful Beach

All Riu Palace Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 182 reviews. Sort by
February 27, 2012
Nice Place but Disappointed in dining options

Very Nice place, Rooms Nice, Resort Nice, Entertainment-excellent, Pools & beach Nice---- People there were excellent!! Those are some of the most accomodating/friendly people in the Caribbean!! My problem was with the RIU Dining options. Every morning at 8 am they open the reservation line for the 4 sit down restaurants. They have 2 options, you can dine at 7 or you can dine at 9. You can only book 2 days in advance. At 8:30 am the line is starting to get long for booking. We only got to dine at 7pm once at one of the sit down restaurants (which was very nice) !! Dined at 9 pm twice at others (which were nice)...We were told that 1 of the 4 restaurants (Taino-Steakhouse) was closed Wednesday & Thursday due to a Wedding??? If you can deal with buffet dining, this is your place. We were wanting more. I've been to a few (8-10) All Inclusives & this is by far the worst dining option plan. Would gladly go back if they change their dining plan!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Little Rock, AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Beautiful resort!

One of the biggest...cleanest, and prettiest resorts I've been to! Bring your appetite because the buffet is the best I've ever seen! Something for everyone...and the food was always fresh. All the Employees are friendly as well. Great place!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2013
Excellence

There is not much I can say but that I was amazed by this place and that I will go back to the same place ASAP


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: nYc
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Glad I went, but would not go back

The room was incredible, one of the best rooms I've stayed in. Not much for the view of the ocean, but the amenities were wonderful. Very comfortable. Nice and cold inside the room. The mini fridge was included in the package. The resort staff seemed to not really care for us, at all, from the moment we walked through the door. Tips and smiles did not change the attitude. Some people were very friendly, while others acted like our existence was a bother to their day. We heard that other resorts had the same demeanor so it's possibly just the way it is in that area. Dining was limited. They advertise all those restaurants but you can only make reservations from 8-11AM for the following day. The man at the lobby said we could make reservations for the whole week at once, but the woman who was working the booth abruptly told us otherwise. We arrived Saturday afternoon so our first reservation couldn't be until Monday. And we had to come back each day to make the next day's reservation. We were out snorkeling and exploring the island so we only got one dinner reservation our whole trip. The meal at the Italian restaurant was sub-par, it tasted like it came from a can. Do not recommend. The two buffets were nice. Not the quality I've gotten used to at other resorts or cruises, but nice. We had filling meals. The day they passed out surveys, everyone was very nice. My chair was pulled out for me, glasses were filled quickly, smiles everywhere, the food was incredible, beautiful displays. When the surveys were passed out, we all understood why the service had suddenly gotten so much better. The next day, it was business as usual. We've heard good things about Riu as a whole so we were surprised and disappointed. The beach was beautiful, soft sand, warm water. We enjoyed that. The main pool was warm and rarely full. It was very nice. The swim up bar pool was small and detached from the other pool. It felt extra warm and dirty though so we didn't stay in it for long. We got our ride to and from the airport with CheapCaribean's Amstar. They told us about our resort and what we should expect, do and not do. They also gave us many options for excursions and we went on 3 of them. Much fun! Overall, I'm glad I went. It was a good experience. The trip could have been much worse. But I will not be going back.

Glad I went, but would not go back
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nebraska
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2016
Great Getaway- returning soon!

My fiancé and I took a quick, 5 night trip to visit this resort. We were celebrating his 30th and researching the area for wedding planning. We took tours of other surrounding resorts but realized we didn't need to look any further than our "home away from home" at RIU Palace Bavaro. Aside from the hefty cab fares (racketeering style) and a bad back from being away from our own bed, we had the most amazing experience. Both of which are not the resort or cheapcaribbean's fault. We are returning with our closest friends and family to tie the knot on the beach. The excursions were fantastic, the staff was incredible, the grounds were beautiful, the beach was gorgeous, the food- even at the buffet- was great. Our room was cleaned MULTIPLE times a day and restocked with extra water when we asked. I'm in the service industry, so NOT tipping is a terrible move, even while at an all inclusive. You'll find fantastic service regardless, but giving your gratuitities always stretches further with the ones that truly depend on it. I encourage everyone to give their thanks and a dollar or two per meal or round of drinks. It's the right thing to do, world. Just do it!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boise, Idaho
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 31, 2012
The worst all inclusive experience we have had

We are frequent and experienced all inclusive vacationers and have been across the Caribbean numerous times, including Jamaica, Aruba, Dominican Republic, besides this trip, Mexico, St. Thomas, Cayman Islands, Bermuda and 3 Cruises to Caribbean. Our experience at Riu Palace Bavaro was horrible. Before going in to detail, would like to comment on hotel condition. Hotel opened in Dec, 2011 and does have brand new facilities across the resort. Beach, while small, is relatively nice, however lack of chairs and no on-beach drink service was disappointing. Service in the hotel was our biggest disappointment. Staff does not speak any English. Let me repeat, they do not speak or understand English. When going to buffet style dining for lunch or breakfast expect long wait in getting the coffee and drinks. You ask for Orange Juice and Water, they bring you pineapple juice. It was extremely frustrating to start your day this way. Food quality was OK, but definitely not on the 5 star levels as advertised. Cooks do not speak English, we had issue ordering eggs over easy, and the cook was not familiar with the dish and did not speak English. The specialized restaurants were a joke. There were 11 of us and originally had problems booking the dinners due to the # of people. Another ridiculous part about the resort, the only way to book specialized dinners you must be at the Main Dining Hall at 8am in person, so lines would form before 8 so one can book the dinners. Also, for the hotel this size 4 restaurants is a small number, generally for 600 rooms should be 6 to 8 based on our experience. Besides the process of booking, the food was at best mediocre, the only dinner we really likes was in Krystal, the stack house and Italian were average at best. They do not offer premium liquor anywhere on the resort. For 5 star hotels it is an insult. Also, if you do decide to go, bring USD currency, as you cannot get Dollars anywhere on the resort premises. There is an ATM machine, which only dispenses Pesos. The ironic part about this is that in order to purchase in-room Wi-Fi, you need dollars, as the machine excepts only USD, but there is no place to get them. We complained to the front desk, besides the fact that they could barely understand the issue, seemed completely indifferent to our problem. The only recommendation offered was to take a cab to the bank, 15 to 20 minutes away from the hotel and exchange pesos for dollars there. Towels in this hotel appear to be a second currency after Pesos. For a 5 star resort they give you cards which must be exchanged for towels every day and God forbid one of them get lost. I have never seen such a ridiculous towel exchange policy, if one of the towels get lost, you will be charged $50 upon check out. Upon arrival they advertised Ice machines conveniently located across the hotels. In the morning, we like a cold drink, so I would go get the ice, first day it was perfect. Second day the ice machine stopped working. Went to the machine on the second floor, was broken as well, on the third floor, same problem, finally on the 4th floor was able to get ice. Day after, machine on the fourth was broken as well. We contacted the front desk they re-assured us it will be fixed shortly. We spend the remainder of our vacation without ice. Ground keeping would start at 7am. Usually it was relatively quiet, however once or twice a week they spray something on the plants, so around 7am we were woken up by an extremely loud nice right near our balcony. Kids were scared, it was absolutely insane. I ran out to tell the guy to stop, he acknowledged my request, smiled, and continued with his loud machine. I can probably go on about inconsistent cleaning service, toilet not working during the night, nonexistent room service, boring and repetitive night shows, but I think you get the idea that I do not recommend this hotel and will never return there.


48 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NeW Haven, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2012
Nice resort in beautiful place

RIU Palace Bavaro in comparison to "classic" RIU Palace Punta Cana has modern style in everything: rooms, restaurants and halls. This is newly built resort and everything looks new and in good condition. Rooms are little bit far from beach because of existence of buildings for VIP clients. Food in "reserved" restaurants was not good enough but this compensate with great choice of perfect food in buffet restaurant. Room is big and do not have traditional bath, large shower cabin instead. We had couple interruption in cold/hot water supply but it was fixed in couple hours. Watering of grass and flowers was made with some stagnant water and this created unpleasing smell around. I would not say that all above bother us a lot but you may take it in account. All the rest, including weather, was perfect.

Nice resort in beautiful place Nice resort in beautiful place
12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Parsippany, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 23, 2013
Simply the best vacation ever

My wife and I just got back from Punta Cana where we stayed at the gorgeous Riu Palace Bavaro Resort. This place is amazing. It was more than we had hope for.The staff is super friendly and helpful. Anything we needed we got right away. Just make sure you bring plenty of dollar bills to tip. The food was great. Plenty of options for everyone. We mainly ate at the 2 buffet restaurants they had. Just because we love the variety they offered. If you are going to eat at the sit down restaurants make sure you make reservations 2 days in advance. It fills up preety fast. Our room was awesome. It was huge. Cold a/c, 2 Jacuzzis, and a front beach view that took our breath away. The hotel has nightly entertainment on 2 of their main stages. Of couse this is all included. The one thing that impressed u the most had to be the cleanliness of the property. This place is extremely clean. From the lobby to your room and everything in between. It's over the top how much daily cleaning goes there. There are to many great things to say about our trip. You have to go an experience it. You will not be disappointed. Im taking extra shifts at work because we're going back hopefully in 6 months. Happy travels......

Riu Palce Bavaro 2013
12 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2013
DO THIS!!!!! Just left yesterday!!!!

This place was absolutely AMAZING!!!! We knew that we had booked a nice vacation. However, we had no idea that it would be that wonderful. From start to finish it was incredible. We even got an upgrade to VIP. Anything you could think of was yours to eat or drink. Champaign flowed like water....and food and drink were available 24hrs. The pools were beautiful, and the beach and water were breathtaking. The staff was beyond pleasant the entire duration of our trip. We would tip bartenders to keep our drinks flowing daily, and then would tip meals as well. The rooms were very up to date, and stayed very cool. We had a balcony that overlooked VIP pool and the beach. I would definitely recommend this to any person wanting to go to the Dominican!!! I am on this website now to book a trip for March!! I also recommend booking transportation at the same time. It is very convenient. HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY AS MUCH AS WE DID!!!!!

Best birthday ever!!!!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
LOVED OUR VACATION

This is was our third time traveling with cheap caribbean and first time staying at one of the RIU resorts. This was by far the best resort we have ever stayed at. The room was super comfortable, no problems at all, the hotel was beautiful the beach at the resort was gorgeous. The Pool Bar was a super fun experience the bartenders are super friendly and they serve you all day with the best drinks, look for edwin;aka little wayne: he is sooo fun. The food was also amazing, however i liked the Buffet wayyy better than the reservation restaurants, only because i wanted to go in and out to enjoy the night show and the reservation restaurants its kind of a process, appetizer than salad, than main course than desert and all served to you, but if thats what your looking for they are also great. The drinks at the LA FIESTA were the best, didn't even seem like all inclusive drinks. They served shots all night and always gave amazing service This deff. deserves a 5 STAR and we would totally go back!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations