All

Riu Palace Antillas Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 234 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Our Aruba vacation at the Riu Palace Antilla (Adults only) was excellent, the only thing I wish I didn't have to wake up so early to reserve a palapa near the water." – Lule
228 out of 272 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The pool View from our room View of the resort from the ocean Beautiful beaches Our view for the week! From the balcony Sunset from our room balcony The panoramic view from our room. Room with a view! view from room Sunset in Aruba AMAZING Resort beach strip Aruba Sunset Clear waters as far you can see Beach view Waiting for us when we arrived. View from room Happy Birthday! great balcony view From the water

All Riu Palace Antillas Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 234 reviews. Sort by
January 21, 2015
Pros and Cons

Pros: Location- 25 mins from the airport and 15 minutes into town ($11 cab to get to shopping and restaurants) Pool and beach- clean and beautiful. Chairs can be difficult to find if you like to sleep in on vacation. However, RIU has at least 2 staff members in white shirts getting chairs for people all the time. We never had any problems as the staff found us chairs within 10 mins and we typically arrived around 11 AM. Rooms (We stayed in 1716) Remodeled, new bathrooms, good water pressure, tile floors, flat screen TV, AC was on all week, and even # rooms have island and ocean view. Food- Dinner buffet was GREAT! Pasta station, carving station, huge salad bar, soups, cheese and fruit, chocolate fountain and many specialty stations that change every day. Lunch buffet on the beach was also pretty good. We don't eat heavy lunches, but the turkey burgers were perfect for us. Tipping- Unlike other islands, we never felt pressured to tip and only did so when we were getting great service. This was nice as it was the first time we felt like this was the norm and tips were not expected. Cons: Dinner Reservations- This process is a pain, but as long as you don't care what time you eat and what day you eat where, they can usually accommodate you. The two dinner times at 6:30 and 9. That's it. Specialty restaurants- Now for the ironic part. Everyone waits in line for what they assume will be a better meal than the buffet....but it's not. We ate at the steakhouse and the Japanese restaurant (next door) and left unsatisfied both times. We ended up cancelling our reservation for the gourmet restaurant and eating at the buffet again. I think if Riu were to improve these restaurants they could greatly improve their guests experience. Drinks- Bars make good cocktails, but they are weaker than what you would get back home. I was drinking 6 martinis a night which is not something I could ever do back in the states. Room Service- No problem with the food, but they are literally maybe 6 items on the menu. This seemed a bit underwhelming given the amount of food at each of the buffets. Overall, I would return to this resort. Just as a point of comparison, we have stayed at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Montego Bay 3 times and I think the rooms and restaurants are far superior at IGRH. In contrast, we also stayed at the Valenin Imperial in Riveria Maya and I would say the Riu Palace Antillas has them beat in food, beach, and rooms.


70 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Riu Antilla needs makeover and upgrade

This place was the old Westin that Riu Palace bought. They need to remodel the whole hotel. The carpets were still stained, rooms dirty and construction still going on. It was an OK experience but would definately stay somewhere different next time.


96 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: florida
Age: 25-34

August 10, 2015
Rui disappointing

Although the location and the facilities were of a high quality, the overall experience was not. The food was very disappointing and since this was an all-inclusive package that was a big part of it. There was not a lot of variety. There were 4 themed restaurants in the evening, but you had to make reservations in the morning between 8 and 11 and could only reserve one day ahead. I found staff to be inflexible and was told be things could not change because of "policy" . The adult section of the beach was very small, nothing was served there and the pools closed at 7:00, which seemed ridiculous for an adults only resort. The Rui Palace Antilles has a world of potential, but it was not reached.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Best of the best

Oct. 29 to Nov 4 2015. Have been to several other all included resorts and this was head and shoulders above all the rest. Room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked perfect. Good bed and good pillows. Pool was perfectly clean everyday. Beach and water, pristine everyday. Could not find one piece of seaweed if your life depended on it. The food was great. Best buffet ever. The side rest.( we ate at two ) were also very good. All the dining areas are air cond. The people almost trip over themselves to make you happy. Best time we ever had at an all-inclusive. Would go back in a New York minute. Highly recommended.

view from room
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 29, 2017
January Get-a-way

Visited the Riu Antillas in Aruba for my husbands 40th Birthday. I wanted an all inclusive so we wouldnt have to fuss about food, drinks or activities. Pros: The resort is located on Palm beach near shopping and the high rise hotels. The surrounding beach is beautiful, clean with white sands and turquoise water and plenty of free activities. The pool is pretty big and plenty of chairs and umbrellas for a large crowd. They have daily entertainment and great servers who constantly keep you well liquored up. They have 3 bars located near the beach, a swim up bar and a pool bar if you are not satisfied with the servers or not into laying out in the sun. They have many dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Go to one of the themed restaurants or hit the main buffet. 24 hour snack bar and room service which I will address so keep reading. The hotel grounds are clean and modern. A few shopping places inside, a spa and a gym. The gym does have free weights, machines, treadmills, ellpiticals and a bike. They have a water station and keep small towls available for use. The best part of this resort is the SERVICE and the employees!! They are the sweetest and most genuine people. We stayed a week and got to know everyone pretty well. I got to know everyone on a personal level and realize they all love their jobs and wokring for Riu. That means Riu takes good care of their employees. On to the bad .. Cons: The food was ok. To dine at one of theire themed restaurants you have to wait in line by 630 pm to either be sat at that dinning time or to be on the waiting list for the 9 pm seating. No option to reserve. Why is that an issue, if you go off the resort to an excursions often times you are not back and ready by then. The main buffet is good and host many themes. They keep the food freshly stocked and service is great. Breakfast was only served as a buffet and offered until 11 am. If you sleep in or go to the gym, skipping breakfast will be ur only option. They have a few breakfast to your room options but not much more than fruit, hard boiled eggs and some pastries. The 24 room service was a joke. They had litterally a few options to pick from. So, if I am day drinking, night drinking then wanting room service that means I want greasy, snacky food. Pizza, fries, wings, burgers. Nope. Just a chicken salad, a few wraps round out the options. Ok, they have a 24 snack station right. Well if nachos are your thing then you will enjoy it because other than a fruit and a few quesadillas that are never restocked enough that is it. A few bags of chips, some sandwiches, fruit would be good but no. The bars are easy to access but if you get anything other than shots then you need to drink 4 drinks to equal one. The rooms are poor to average. The room had a funny smell and the bathrooms weren't in the best shape. My cleaning service was horrible. Took our blanket on our bed the first night then we had to request another one. They didnt wipe down the tub, toilet or floors. They didnt stock our refrigerator with waters or drinks. I spent little or no time in our room and it was certainly manageable. Overall this was a great trip and would stay here again knowing how to handle the cons.

View of the resort from the ocean The pool
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Colunbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 29, 2015
moderate purchase

Several things bothered me about this hotel. 1. tub appeared to be dirty actually scratch marks of some type that appeared as blackish marks 2. Adult pool by the swim up bar always cloudy and had debris would not go in due to the cloudy appearance . 3. Our room 1432 had a banging noise that woke us from a sleep and at first scared us thinking someone at the door or something wrong with something mechanical. I was told at front desk it was a valve in the air conditioning, this was annoying no more off to sleep and then the banging noise!!!!! 4. Couple times no bath mat or hand towels had to ask. the back of the sink had what appeared to be spit spots from brushing your teeth. These were present upon our arrival to a "clean" room. 5. Due to the above pool situations we went next door to the Riu Palace where I had stayed last year and was extremely happy. Would not recommend the adults only.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2015
Great value

Real nice place their was a lot of construction going on remolding of the hotel new bars a lot of noise but when all done this place will be the one to go to. just didn't know the wind was that bad on the beach got pelted with the sand when that wind kicks up


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: N.J.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 5, 2015
We'll be back!

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the RIU Palace Antilles, Adults only resort. What a perfect choice. The first moment we waked into the resort, we were welcomed by a smiling and courteous staff with a drink in hand! (I even mentioned that i wish i had a drink and turned around to find the drink being handed to me.)The resort was perfect, the staff was perfect and all the new friends we made were perfect too! I am glad I worked with our cheap carribbean.com representative, Ira, who always points me in the right direction. This resort has two parts. The original is the family RIU and next to it is the Adults only. (used to be a Westin) They are completing some renovations on top floors now, but that was no problem for us. We were on the 10th floor and overlooked the pool and ocean. It was a beautiful view. As soon as you walk into your room, there is a mini bar stocked with adult beverages so you can have a cocktail after your long day of traveling. The pool bar was my favorite place to "lounge". The bartenders were fantastic! They are one of the reasons we will return to that resort! They work long shifts and are always smiling and funny. They never let your cup run dry! The buffet was where we ate most of our meals. It too was fantastic. So many different foods to choose, we would have to stay a month just to try everything. Again, the staff was so nice. I loved the casino, the shows, and the disco . We went on one little excursion, (Jolly pirate 3 hour cruise. Snorkeling and rope swinging with open bar, Very fun!) A lot of the younger honeymooners went on the ATV excursion and loved it. What we really loved about Aruba compared to other places is we did not sweat. It was not humid and my husband loved that. You will have very strong winds on the beach but i got used to them after a day. The only thing we did not like was making reservations at the restaurants for dinner. They only take so many reservations at each place. You have to go down to the lobby early to get them for future days. You will not be able to get one for the second day you are there so plan on eating in the buffet. Which in my opinion was much better than any of the restaurants anyway. Plus we could not get in till 9:00 which was a bit too late and did not want to miss the shows. We also liked that in Aruba it is safe to leave the resort and go shopping, dining etc on the local economy. There is a main strip in front of the hotels that has a lot to offer, piano bar, local dining and shopping. Just turn left out of the resort and walk a few blocks. I wish we would have booked a few more days in paradise. Next time we think 7 days on the ground would be perfect. Give at least 3 hours at the airport. Long lines for customs etc. Can't wait to get back to "ONE HAPPY ISLAND!"


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chantilly Virginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 2, 2016
Great Time

We enjoyed our stay at Riu Antilles. The hotel was a bit noisy as you could hear the rooms next door and the people in the hallways. The rooms were nice size, comfortable, and clean. The food was not that great compared to other resorts we have stayed at. The dinner times had to be reserved and were hard to get and then the restaurant would be half empty when we were dining. The beach was wonderful. It was easy to get an attendant to bring us a chair. Sand was wonderful and water felt great. Was quite windy so bring towel beach chair clips. Only complaint was we didn't know there was no waiter service on the beach. This should have been advertised. I think it is an Aruba thing and not just Riu, but I would have chosen a different island for that one reason. It wasn't a far walk to the bar and restrooms thankfully but just a personal preference to have waiter service. The bartenders were timely with their service even though the bar was always full of people. Drinks were okay but not as premium as we had anticipated. Kenneth and Jerry were very attentive in the lobby bar. We enjoyed seeing them each night. Did not enjoy having to stand in line to get towels for the beach and then stand in line to return them. Excursions were easy to book. Much cheaper (half price) to book from beach versus through the hotel lobby desk. Airport easy to navigate. Love U.S. Customs being done on that side of the return trip so it's less stressful when arriving home.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 11, 2015
One of my favorite vacations yet

I travel quite a bit as I go to a tropical location once or twice a year. From Cancun, Dominica Republic, Riviera Maya, Jamaica and I finally made it to Aruba as so many have recommended. I never stayed at a Riu but it more than met my expectations when I stayed at Riu Antillas in Aruba. From the minute we walked into the resort the staff was so friendly and helpful. The beaches were gorgeous and even when we didn't get reservations the first 2 days for the restaurants, the buffet was one of the best I've eaten in. I just got home and I can definitely say I'd return to Riu Antillas for a vacations again.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jackson, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year