All

Riu Palace Antillas Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 268 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"dining very limited to buffets as we are accustomed to finer dining. music at pool very loud and obnoxious, drinks very small and plain" – muskiejim631
268 out of 317 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach view View from our room View from room great balcony view Resort beach strip Riu Antillas- Aruba Sunset Room with a view! Fabulous pools at Riu Antillas-Aruba The panoramic view from our room. Aruba Sunset The pool view from room View of the resort from the ocean Our view for the week! Beautiful beaches Waiting for us when we arrived. Sunset from our room balcony From the balcony Breathtaking sunset from our balcony View from hotel room balcony From the water Happy Birthday! Clear waters as far you can see Sunset in Aruba AMAZING

All Riu Palace Antillas Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 268 reviews. Sort by
June 1, 2016
Beautiful place!

We had a great time at the Riu Palace Antillas. The staff was great from the moment we walked thru the door! We were greeted with champagne. We were early to check in. The check in staff, Duke, immediately called the cleaning staff to get our room prepared. They gave us our bracelets so we could get some lunch and drinks while waiting for our room. Everything was ready within 30 minutes! The resort was not only beautiful but very clean. The food at the buffets was great as well. There was the perfect amount of variety. The specialty restaurants were a little sparse. There were only 4 and the majority of the food was fish or spicy food. I would have like to see a little more variety there. We did eat at the steak house and it was wonderful. We also enjoyed the shows in the evenings. We never made it to the Disco just because we were so tired at the end of the night. The location of the resort was also perfect. It was right on the beach and within walking distance of some great shops and local restaurants. Overall it was a great experience and we would definitely go back again as well as recommend to friends and family!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Whitefield, NH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2016
Riu Palace Antillas (Adults-Only) Review

The resort was not as bad as I thought that it was going to be, but it did have both good and bad qualities about it. I traveled here 9/8/16 - 9/12/16 with my boyfriend, and we are both in our late 20's and early 30's. I will say that the rooms really do need upgrading. It is not unbearable, but if you are used to luxury than this is not the place for you. The beds in the rooms were very uncomfortable, and the hallways look very drab and dreary. I am also used to there being a hot tub in the adult only resorts, so I think they just need to work on improvements as far as really appealing to that type of crowd. However, the staff was great, and everyone was very friendly. When we arrived, we were greeted with champagne, and they even allowed us to upgrade our room to an Ocean Front View for free. Overall the food was pretty decent. We ate at the Steak restaurant two nights, the buffet one night, and the specialty Japanese Hibachi restaurant on another night, which you had to pay for. At other resorts I have been to, this type of restaurant is typically included, so that was disappointing, but at least the food and service was good.The other restaurant's menu's were not very appealing. The buffet was decent for an all inclusive, and you could always find at least something that you liked, which was a good thing. I saw some comments say that the buffet at the Riu next door was better, and I will have to disagree, because was smaller, and had less options. The steak restaurant was pretty good, minus the fact that you could only choose between the lobster or steak, regardless of if you wanted both, which my boyfriend wasn't too happy about.The saxophone player was awesome, and created a great atmosphere during dinner one of the nights that we went. Surprisingly I was impressed with was the wifi. Very strong signal in the rooms, and even around the pool and beach area. The one thing that the resort desperately needs to work on is the entertainment. There is a bar in the lobby that has television screens, but never show anything aside from pre-made videos about the different Riu resorts. I found that to be really weird that they wouldn't put a sports game on, or even have music at the bar. We found ourselves bored many of the nights due to the lack of interesting entertainment at the resort. They have a "disco" club inside the resort, but most nights it was empty, and they only served certain drinks. On Sunday nights they have a beach party which wasn't too bad, but the entertainment on the other nights was pretty bland. The pool area could also use better entertainment considering it is an "adults only" resort. I felt like you really had to make your own fun here, or maybe it was just more for an older crowd. The resort is close to downtown Aruba, which has various bars and clubs outside of the resort, and it is not too far from the airport. Check in and check out was very easy, and there is always someone on the beach selling water sports activities, which is what we mainly did. The weather was great the entire time. Yes, it is windy and sucks when the sand gets in your eyes, but the breeze does help on those super hot days. The beach is beautiful, and my favorite part about the trip was feeding the little fish in the ocean. Take some bread from the buffet and bring it with you to the beach. Drop it in the water, and a bunch of little fish will come up to you to feed! Overall, the Riu was not terrible, but it definitely was not the best resort that I have been to. I probably would not stay again, just off the fact that nothing really overly impressed me, but it is a good place if you are just trying to book a quick or last minute getaway at a low price, which is why we went. I wouldn't recommend having a honeymoon or wedding here though, it just didn't have enough luxury or WOW Factor to impress me, but it wasn't as terrible as some of the other reviews state.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 25, 2016
Best place for a honeymoon!

We chose this resort for our honeymoon. BEST. DECISION. EVER! After all the stress that comes with planning a wedding, the Riu Antillas was the perfect place to forget all the stress and focus on ourselves! We were greeted at the hotel with some glasses of champagne and a nice bellhop brought our bags up to our room. And what a room it was! A corner spot about halfway up the hotel with a GORGEOUS view of the ocean and pool area. My husband and I had never stayed at an all-inclusive before, but we can definitely see why it's popular. All the food and beverages were taken care of (including a small 24-hour room service menu). We had bottle dispensers IN OUR ROOM as well as a variety of mixers, that could all be replenished at just the touch of a button. The food was great and the staff was excellent. I liked the different activities that were part of the resort (bocce, darts, pool games) as well as the water sports available on the beach (for an extra cost). And you could also take advantage of the restaurants and such at the Riu Palace next door. Overall, Aruba is a wonderful island that we will definitely be visiting again, and we would 100% recommend the Riu Antillas for anyone that's looking for an adults-only getaway.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 25-34

July 6, 2016
FANTASTIC RESORT

We traveled to Aruba and stayed at Riu Palace Antillas for our honeymoon. We could not have been more pleased with the resort itself. We were greeted with champagne and a gentleman immediately took care of our baggage. The staff were exemplary - kind, helpful, happy and more than willing to assist when needed. The 24-hour room service is a big perk! The pool, bathroom, swim-up bars, sidewalks, restaurants were all very well kept. Yes, Aruba is windy but you quickly discover that the wind is needed for the very hot sun. The beach was very well maintained and the water was crystal clear - unlike any other Caribbean beach we had been to. Highly recommend Snuba and having Happy Hour from 5-6 at the Del Pier (neither included in all-inclusive fees but so worth it). We also recommend making reservations at the Flying Bonefish (off the resort) and having dinner with your feet in the ocean at sunset. An experience unlike any other!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2016
Paradise

This resort is absolutely beautiful! My husband, cousin and her husband just got back from a week's vacation at the Riu Palace Antillas. From the moment we arrived at the hotel till the moment we left to head to the airport the service at this hotel is impeccable. Every staff member was extremely nice. The hotel was extremely clean someone was always cleaning something. The food was fantastic especially the specialty restaurants. Quality and quantity was always there. The pool area was clean, plenty of chairs, and drinks always flowing. We never got a chance to be thirsty because the girl was always right there for refills. The beach was one of the best we have been to and we have traveled to many islands. Beautiful blue green water, no seaweed and soft sand. The wind was a little much some days but it cooled you off since it was really hot. Always apply sunscreen throughout the day because the sun is very strong and you don't realize it because of the wind. The hotel is in a great location because we were able to walk the streets to the shops near by. Everything about our vacation except the airport was exceptional. We would highly recommend this hotel!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Clifton, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2016
Poor Hotel

We had a horrible experience at the RIU Palace Antillas! The hotel room was not what we paid for and the hotel lost power and water while we were there! They did not give us a room next door to compensate us for our trouble at the other RIU and they were not accommodating to us in our desperate time of need! We had no showers, we couldn't pack, we slept in the heat, got bitten by bugs, had to carry luggage down 7 flights of stairs in the dark, and the list goes on! I have written a complaint to RIU as well hoping to hear something back from them! I will not visit RIU again given the service we were provided and would like somewhat of a refund from Cheap Caribbean as well. This was my first RIU and first Aruba experience. Aruba is beautiful, but not happy with RIU! Thank you!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: St. Petersburg, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Best of the best

Oct. 29 to Nov 4 2015. Have been to several other all included resorts and this was head and shoulders above all the rest. Room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked perfect. Good bed and good pillows. Pool was perfectly clean everyday. Beach and water, pristine everyday. Could not find one piece of seaweed if your life depended on it. The food was great. Best buffet ever. The side rest.( we ate at two ) were also very good. All the dining areas are air cond. The people almost trip over themselves to make you happy. Best time we ever had at an all-inclusive. Would go back in a New York minute. Highly recommended.

view from room
11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 5, 2015
Aruba vacation

THIS IS A FULL REVIEW THAT YOU CAN TRUST, BELIEVE ME..I read every review I could before booking this trip to Aruba, because that's the first time in a long time that we have stemmed out away from Jamaica. First off, listen when people say its very windy, because it is too windy to lay on the beach and that's what we do. The average wind in Aruba is above 20 mph and is above 25 most times. It blows your drinks off the table, but the worst thing is, it basically sand blasts you all day. They do not wait on you on the beach for drinks (At all) this is very odd to me because every other resort of this standard does. the water is very beautiful and clear. However, keep in mind that the beach is a public beach and you pay more to have adults only, and there are kids on the beach. So it forces you to the pools, which are very nice. The only problem there is they don't even wait on you there either, you are pretty much on your own to get drinks at the bar. (no I'm not Lazy, far from it, but I do like to have a drink brought to me while laying out). The rooms were ok, Definitely get a room that ends in an even number, this side of the hotel has a much better view of the pools and so forth. The resort is 18 floors tall, we stayed on the 16th floor which was absolutely fine, but Ideal would be like 8th to 11th in my mind. you have to get up early to go down and make dinner reservations, and you can only make them two nights at a time, and only at 6:00 0r 9:00. no restaurant stood out, just mediocre food. the Buffet was as good if not better. Breakfast buffet is the bomb, if they don't have it, it doesn't exist. they let you have the snorkel gear to go out on your own and you can keep them out all day, there are plenty of fish to look at around the little rock formation just off your beach. (take some bread from the buffet and break it up in a water bottle and fill it with water to take snorkeling with you, this attracts tons of fish). Nightly shows are pretty lame compared to other resorts I have been to. However, the Island is absolutely by far the safest Island I have ever been to. We rented quad runners and rode all over the entire island, (the highlight of my trip) to rent scooters or dirt bikes you must have a motorcycle license. That's about it, I am going back to Jamaica. We spoiled ourselves with the first resort we ever stayed in. nothing has lived up to it in 6 tries. (SECRETS ST. JAMES) Jamaica..... perfect 10 out of ten in every way, guaranteed great trip. If you made it to the end of this, you learned a lot, it's all absolutely true. Balashi beer is the only beer served at the resort, but the good news is.. it's really good, very similar to Red Stripe or even Budweiser, not bad at all. and they stock your room everyday.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 1, 2015
Riu Antillas

This was the most perfect vacation we have ever had! Would highly recommend Riu Antillas AND Aruba-absolutely perfect weather, breezes, entertainment, food. Would not change a thing. Our room was beautiful and staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing negative to say at all-would go back again and again!

View from our room
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 17, 2016
Don't hesitate to stay here!

We have traveled to several beaches and by far Aruba on the Caribbean side has the BEST beach. There isn't any seaweed, sharks, jellyfish, or waves unless a boat comes. The sand is white and soft. You will never want to leave. The people at the resort and all over the island were so sweet. The Aruba motto is...One Happy Island, once you go you know. That is soooo true! The water was so clear. We fed the fish and snorkeled right off the beach. It is pretty windy so I recommend taking towel clips. I also recommend taking your own insulated cup with a lid to keep the sand out. We used Yeti's. The food was some of the best we have had at an all inclusive. The staff was very helpful and attentive to anything we needed or wanted. I do recommend you request an even room number as high up as you can get. The view is better on the even side. We used a shuttle to and from the airport but I would not recommend that. A taxi is only $25 each way for up to 4 people and you don't have to wait on a bus full. You will need a minimum of 2 to 3 hours to get through customs at the airport when you are leaving. Even all the customs employees were nice! You can also take a taxi downtown, it has lots of neat little local shops. While we were there we did Snorkel and Snuba and we loved it! Very organized and helpful. Alex and Adrian were great! We also did the ATV tour to the Natural pool. This is a must do! Over all I can not say enough good stuff about the resort and the Island itself. We are already planning a trip back and will be staying at the Riu for sure.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Cabot, AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations