All

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 322 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"friendlist staff, great dining options. 'entertainment'/shows were a bit like being on school camp. - a good fun vibe - mix of all ages'." – yessir
345 out of 401 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach view from the balcony Jet Skiing Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool View from our room Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach early morning at Riu View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing Dunn River Falls Entrance Jamicans love life View from my room Bob Marley Tour From Top Floor open air lobby ATV Excursion The view from our Swimup Pool Bar I Love Jamaica... View from room view from the beach entry circle Hotel Lobby

All Riu Ocho Rios Customer Reviews

1-10 of 322 reviews. Sort by
August 19, 2014
White Sand, Blue oceans, Palm trees.

Took a while to get there from the airport. That was expected. Assigned a room upon arrival at 1.30 pm. Took 7 HOURS to get a key to the room. Never did get a satisfactory explanation. As our bags were still in the lobby. . we could change clothes, take medication, shave .. .in a nearby bathroom. . . I think a little work needed here .. . Room big, nice! It is the tropics so expect some mustiness. Probably mostly from the air conditioner? Power went out one night for about 10 minutes. the in room refrigerator didn't work the rest of the trip. Not a big deal, we didn't even call it in. Like the ceiling fan that never did work. We were not in the room much anyway. Food is amazing! biggest buffet i have ever seen. wide variety of food and changed every meal. Make reservations early as they fill fast. MEN MUST HAVE PANTS/SLACKS TO GET INTO THE "RESERVATION RESTAURANTS! A friend was turned away because he was in dress shorts. He couldn't change because he didn't bring pants to Jamaica. Hotel policy, tough luck. Don't know about how the reservation restaurant quality, since we refused them service when they refused our friend service. Staff was good. Besides the check in snafu. Many happy people work there. Ja Mon! good times. Entertainment .. .throughout the day and a show in the evenings. Highly impressed with "Dance Xpressionz" dance team. they put on Mama Mia production one night and the history of Jamaican music another night. A lot of talent that needs larger exposure. Excursions, Dunn River Falls. Had a blast. great experience. Did the downtown shopping excursion. Interesting. Gotta be able to walk away. they can be persistent but i didn't have anyone give me problems. I was worried about over aggressive or pushy.. . didn't happen. Lot of "hey man, come look at this, hey .. come here, i have something. .. " Would i go again? Sure! Had a good time.

White Sand, Blue oceans, Palm trees.
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Graham Washington (state)
Age: 45-54

August 18, 2014
Visited this resort 3 times in one year

Very relaxing vacation, workers there cater to you and make you feel very special.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fort Myers, Fl
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 13, 2014
Deluxe side is a must!

Cons: We stayed on the deluxe side and could not comprehend how people could stay on the regular side (except, of course, if bringing kids made them). Without the deluxe dinner options we would have been stuck eating the same mediocre buffets for all three meals all week. Even in the deluxe restaurants the food was only slightly better (way too salty!!!), but at least provided a better overall experience. The beds (we had two full beds pushed together--idk if this is standard for couples) were very firm and the sheets a bit rough once we got a little sunburn going. We left a rum and coke out in our room over night and the next morning it was teeming with living and dead bugs...gross, but I'm not sure the hotel could really do anything about that. No nightlife--the nightclub was pretty dull on the night we checked it out--and going into town didn't seem safe after talking to people working there. Pros: The pool was excellent (deluxe side at least, idk about the other side). It could have used some more cleaning in the afternoon as everyone's sunscreen started congealing by the steps. On the other hand they closed it after 7pm for chemical treatment, which is good, but limited late night fun. Beach was very clean, chairs were comfortable, and water was warm. Lots of bars all around the resort, but all with differing hours (and I think only one deluxe bar with 'premium' liquors). People seemed to really like the entertainment I guess. Take the resort's party boat to Dunns River Falls. They do enough to give you value even though the Falls are five minutes down the road. Other people at the resort told us the Dunns River Falls trip they did required them to take a bus an hour away from the resort and then come back to the Falls--maybe a few bucks cheaper, but what a waste of time.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Whatever you expect, Don't!!!

From airport to resort, by bus it take one hour half minute to two hours~ Hotel bathroom was not clean, room was not good, Pool was poor, restaurant food was poor, drink was poor...only beach was good!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New york NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 22, 2014
Room for Improvement

The resort was attractive but not exceptional. The electric iron was missing from the room and although it was reported to the maid, it was never replaced. I checked with other family members who also reported that they were not provided with irons. The buffet choices were extensive but sometimes lacked flavor. Three of the specialty restaurants were disappointing because the food was served at room temperature to warm, not hot. Although many of the staff went out of their way to provide exceptional service, others were not enthusiastic. The entertainers were very talented and put on an enjoyable show each night.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jackson, N.J.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Awesome trip!

This place was absolutely amazing! The restaurants are great, staff is all very kind, and the entertainers are awesome! !!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hollywood, FL
Age: 25-34

July 10, 2014
Overall paradise

People were friendly and willing to serve, making our stay awesome. One of the staff even knocked a coconut out of a tree, cut off the top and gave me a straw to enjoy fresh coconut juice. Totally refreshing! Good people, great views, picture perfect beaches...Plenty to do or just R&R, your choice, as the locals would say, "This is Jamaica, no problems!"


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Would love to go back

The property is gorgeous (both inside and out) and the service is impeccable!!! The worst part of the trip was the dining options. The buffet choices were limited and became redundant. I would make reservations for dinner as often as possible.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2014
great hotel

My experince with Rui was great. The food is good, beach is excellence but entertainment could be a little better.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2014
We will be back!

This resort was hands-down the best one I've ever been to. We are a middle-class family with only a couple grand to spend on vacation and we could not have spent it at a better location. The resort was beautiful. The beach was clean and beautiful. There was a great little spot to snorkel, and plenty of beach to enjoy swimming too. The service was excellent, the room was clean, air conditioned and had a great view. The buffets had great selection. The sing pools were beautiful and clean and the architecture of the resort is gorgeous (especially on the adults-only side). We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the menu was delightful, inventive and the ambience was perfect. The gourmet restaurant was wonderful as well. If I had to say anything negative I wasn't overly impressed with the steak restaurant. The steak was great but it was outdoors and it was just too uncomfortably hot to eat a huge steak like they served. All in all, our vacation was amazing and I will be back next year.

We will be back! We will be back!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year