All

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 366 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"We went last week and the staff was amazing and very helpful. We will be going back in the near future." – cachi302
382 out of 446 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Dunn River Falls Entrance From Top Floor Jamicans love life Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios Jet Skiing View from room I Love Jamaica... Hotel Lobby Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool View from my room Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing The view from our View from our room view from the beach ATV Excursion One view from our room early morning at Riu view from the balcony Beach entry circle Pool at the RIU, Ocho Rios Bob Marley Tour Beach at the RIU, Ocho Rios Swimup Pool Bar open air lobby

All Riu Ocho Rios Customer Reviews

1-10 of 366 reviews. Sort by
March 13, 2012
Wonderful Resort - Stayed March 2012

I would like to give a really resourceful and in depth review because I found that reading through the reviews before I went was SO helpful. So here it goes... Airport & Transfers -The airport in Montego Bay is about 1:20 minutes from the hotel. We booked airport transfer through Jamaican Tours (JTL) and just be warned it will take about 2 hours. As much as we enjoyed the commentary and ride through Jamaica - the "pit stop" was unnecessary and we just wanted to get there (it makes a couple stops along the way to drop people off). And they only gave us one time to leave the hotel on the way back home and that was 8:30am even thought our flight was late afternoon. So we were really bummed about that. Resort & Checking In -The resort is absolutely gorgeous. I loved the open floor plan of the lobby and lounge areas. We couldn't have been more pleased with the grounds and cleanliness. The girl at the front desk was absolutely delightful and so enthusiastic. Definitely ask for a room upgrade, they gave it to us - no questions asked. Our Room -We got upgraded to a suite and it was very lovely, overlooking the side of the resort (almost beachfront). We found that our entire floor smelled very musty and moldy though. We thought maybe it was just the floor but it was also in our room. We decided that since it was the whole floor it wouldn't do much good to complain - especially in such a damp, humid environment. The rooms and furniture were very nice though (with dark wood and ceramic tile). The bed was a bit hard but to be expected when traveling. The Food/Entertainment -This was our first all inclusive (even though we are still seasoned travelers) and we were surprised that the food was pretty good. You always hear that all inclusives leave nothing to be desired but it was fine and moderate in comparison to higher end restaurants you'd have to pay for. We did make reservations the first night we got there and only got two (Sir John and Mandalay Asian food). The first was really nice and the food was great but the Asian restaurant was nothing special and just another buffet (but the change of scenery and taste was nice). We also really enjoyed the Beach BBQ they had set up everyday outside for lunch. The entertainment was good. You can tell they recruit some really great dancers and entertainers and then some so-so ones. The people who were really entertaining kept the shows interesting and fun to watch. Since we are a "younger" couple - it was nice to have something to do every night, rather than just sitting around at the bar so I'm glad they had this entertainment. We enjoyed the Beach Bonfire Party and Steel Drum shows the best! Excursions -We did 3 main excursions that we booked while we were there... The Ziplinging/Tubing and shopping through JTL Tours and then the Boat Tour/Snorkeling/Dunns River Fall Tour through the Scuba Hut right on the beach through the resort. For the ziplining/tubing trip - they said it would only be a few hours but be forewarned, between travel to and from and the entire excursion itself - it ended up being six hours long. It was fun but definitely a bit long. It was good for a rainy day though. Be sure to bring some cash for tipping/convenient store and an extra pair of clothes for ziplining. For the shopping tour - do yourself a favor and pay the $10/pp through JTL for transport but DO NOT stay at the Taj Mahal shopping plaza they drop you off at. It was in no way cultural in terms of being authentic Jamaican. Go outside of the "compound". To the left about a 1/4 mile down is the Village shopping area and Margaritaville and to the right about a 1/2 mile down is the market and authentic Jamaican stores. A much better experience all around! They give you plenty of time too! For the Boat Tour with snorkeling and to Dunns River Falls - it was fun and the tour guides definitely do a great job of keeping it lively and fun. The waterfall climb was not quite what we expected (its definitely more of a tourist trap and you have to make a line with the whole group holding hands and they stop you along the way for pictures and videos). I would much rather have had a more adventurous tour of climbing up by ourselves (since we're both active people). The snorkeling was nice but the water was a bit murky that day from storming so nothing too exciting. It was a nice trip for a few hours in the morning though. Would definitely recommend this one versus a lot of the others since it was the most inexpensive though. Conclusion For our first trip to Jamaica at an all inclusive (and after talking to friends who've been to Negril and Montego Bay) - we definitely feel that we made the best choice by staying at the Riu in Ochos Rios. We had a lot of fun and the staff was wonderful. I will say it is a great place for people of all ages too - kids, young couples, singles, large groups and older folks. We made friends with everyone!! Wish we could have stayed longer. I wouldn't recommend going any less than 6 days!! Take Note: If you go on the excursions or off the resort - be sure to bring DOLLAR BILLS for tips. There are so many guides to tip and rather than just handing out a bigger bill to one of them, I felt more comfortable giving some to each person. They DO EXPECT to be tipped however. In the resort, not one employee ever made mention of tips though (which was nice, although we did still tip here and there for hours of hard work).

Hotel Lobby Dunn River Falls Entrance
227 of 232 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 25, 2013
Great Experience!

I took my Mom to Riu Ocho Rios for her 60th Birthday and had an amazing time. The resort itself was a lot of fun - high energy, everyone congregated in the 'show' area in the evening (to the point where it was difficult to get a seat!), and the performers tried very hard to entertain everyone throughout the day and during the evening performances. The rooms itself were mediocre - they were clean, and well maintained; however, the beds were pretty hard and it was obvious the rooms hadn't been updated in awhile. But, of course being on vacation in Jamaica, you aren't going to spend much time in your room anyway! The food was average... I've stayed in several all-inclusive resorts before and the buffets were on par with other resorts I've stayed at. On the other hand, I would say the specialty restaurants were below average compared to other all-inclusive resorts. There were 3 specialty restaurants included with the standard package: Steakhouse (decent), Asian (pretty good) and gourmet (below average). Interestingly the Steakhouse still had a salad buffet (vs. full table service) and the Asian restaurant was completely self-serve (buffet style). Helpful Tips: 1). Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants the day you arrive for all future days you will be there. They book up quickly and it may take a day or two to get into the popular ones. 2). Book excursions the day you arrive as well (if not in advance of arriving). We did the Cool Runnings Catamaran/Snorkeling/Dunn's Waterfall climb and that was excellent. We also did the River Tubing/Zip Line tour which was fun as well. 3). If you do want seats for the evening show, which starts around 9 PM, I would recommend getting there closer to 8 PM to pick seats. Fortunately, all the bars surround the show area, so you can still get drinks even if you are waiting. Overall, a good experience, but probably not 'upscale' enough for someone who is used to staying at high-end hotels. But it is a fun, family-friendly atmosphere that people will enjoy.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2013
Good Resort - Great Fun

Just returned from a girl's trip to Jamaica - our stay at Riu Ocho Rios was good but not great. There were a few things that stopped just short of excellence yet it was tolerable - especially for the value and location of the resort. The Resort: The place is beautiful! Right on a beautiful strip of beach, the open air lobby and seating areas are great and the pools are excellent. We stayed in an Ocean view Junior Suite which was lovely - we could see both the mountains and the ocean from our balcony. The resort is clean and although as some have written before, you could from time to time sense a musty smell, it was almost to be expected because of the climate in the area. I rarely smelled it in my room. Overall, I loved the look and feel of the resort and it's location. My Room: I did enjoy the junior suite - my sister and I were sharing and I never felt crowded. Hot water is dependent on the time of day you take a shower. They advertise free wi-fi in the junior suites but it was slow and inconsistent at best. But who's in Jamaica to surf the net? We worked through it. One of our issues during our stay is that we asked consistently for more wash cloths and out of 6 days, may have received them once or twice. We were limited to only two wash cloths each day. Sometimes, after being on the beach, we would come back to the room to shower and change for the next part of our day and the wash cloths were missing. We then found out they send them out for cleaning and sometimes do not get them back until after 4 p.m. We had towels, but not wash cloths. This is an issue we worked around yet it shouldn't be a guest issue - the resort should have enough wash cloths on hand to replace them each time the room is made up. They obviously have enough towels because those were consistently switched out. When we would ask room attendant about it, they were very hesistant to commit to give us additional wash cloths or bringing them by a certain time. Again, although a minor inconvenience, this is a process and inventory issue of which guests shouldn't have to even be aware exists - it should be fixed. Service & Food: The service and food were inconsistent. The service, not just in the restaurants but throughout the resort, varied - some people were very accomodating and served in excellence and some treated you as if you were an inconvenience. The food was good at times and others things were burned or overcooked. The Riu would take this resort to the next level if everyone were on the same page with the type of service provided and how the food was prepared. Pool Bars: We frequented the pool and bar on the suite side of the resort and we always had a BALL!!! The pool was not crowded and the bartenders made it a blast. Loved it! I am not a big drinker so I was fine with the strength of my drinks at all of the bars but if you want more liquor, just ask - they will add to it. Entertainment: The entertainment staff worked hard to entertain but the shows fell short. It was much more fun when they were interacting with the guest during the pre-shows, etc. The hit of the week for me was the Steel Drum band - EXCELLENT. Other than that, the shows were just okay. Love the entertainment staff but the shows - not so much. We did plenty of stuff away from the resort as well - went to a local beach party, to a Jamaican dance hall, to Margaritaville, on a few tours, shopping in town, zip lining, etc. So we made our own fun wherever we went :) I would stay here again but since this was my first trip directly to Jamaica (have been a couple of times on a cruise but that doesn't compare) - I would likely check out a few other resorts so that I could have a comparison. Overall for the price and location - it's worth checking out the Riu Ocho Rios.

open air lobby view from the beach
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 4, 2012
Wonderful vacation!!

We stayed at the RIU April 18-25 2012 and had a spectacular time. The staff was helpful and polite. The service in the bars and dining room was also very good. The beach was clean and there were always beach chairs to be found in the sun or shade. The pool was also beautiful and we frequented the pool bar. The chairs by the pool were a bit more limited, but we always managed to find a spot. We got upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was a very nice rooom, but did have a musty smell present and as other reviewers have noted, the beds are hard and the pillows are small and flat. The food at the buffet was ok and we always found something we could eat and certaintly never went hungry. The Jerk Chicken shack for lunch was great. We ate it for lunch every day. The omlette station was a great choice for breakfast. There were also many local fresh fruits available and I enjoyed trying many fruits that I have never had before. We took the catamaran ride to the falls and it was spectacular. We took the sailboat ride there, climbed the falls then snorkled for a hour or so. We saw some great fish, a sea snake, and moray eels! We would definitely go back!!!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bethel, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2012
Great place with downfalls

We stayed at the RIU Ocho Rios, which is considered one of the nicest in Jamaica, even better than the RIU in Montego Bay. That's why we went to Ocho Rios. It was 1-1/2 hrs from the airport, which wasn't so bad because the driver talks a lot and you stop at a bar, of course. Most of the good activities are in Ocho Rios not Montego Bay anyway. First time at a RIU resort, probably the last. Let me start with the beach. It is one of the nicest I've ever been to. Very well kept and clean. I couldn't believe there are no waves here, the water is smooth as silk. The beach was perfect and huge. Jamaica is not the place to snorkel if you want to see plenty of colorful fish and corals. It was drab. The pools are beautiful too but a couple of days it was very cloudy. I reserved an ocean-front (not view) but got a pool & ocean view on the 5th floor. That would have been fine except our balcony had a concrete wall, not a railing, so when you sat down you saw a wall. Also the room smelled musty. We were able to change rooms the next day to an ocean front with a railing but that room smelled musty/moldy too. I even sprayed Lysol over everything and it didn't help. We dealt with it. When I read 24 hour service I assumed it was 24-hour room service. Wrong. They have NO room service at all. OK, but at least put a coffee maker in the room, there wasn't one. For me that was an inconvenience. The mini-bar is stocked only every other day. They give you 2 small & 2 big bottles of water. If you want more you'd swear you were asking for blood. There was also 6 bottles of beer, diet & regular coke and orange soda. There was an alcohol dispenser also with rum, gin vodka. They advertise local and premium alcoholic beverages but they only have local, and the Red Stripe Beer (which was good) is only on tap, no cans or bottles except in your room. The food was not as good as other all-inclusive resorts I've been to. Not much of a selection from day to day. 2 restaurant are only for the people who have suites. They advertise that other guests can go there if they pay extra. That was not the case, we could not eat there, period. The gourmet restaurant is for people who eat unusual things like whole octopus etc. Not for me. The steak house was probably the best we had and that wasn't outstanding. I'm not a very picky eater but that basically left the buffets for every meal. If I don't go to another buffet for 5 years it will be too soon. The Jerk chicken on the beach was juicy and delicious one day and dried out the next. At least I didn't gain any weight on this trip. The staff was outstanding. They'd do anything for you. Some bartenders were great and others were not so. Some drinks were so strong I couldn't drink it and others I wondered if there was any alcohol in it at all. The entertainment at night was just so-so. And if you think you're going to a real casino, think again. The casino was probably 20'x25' with maybe 20 slot machines, most of which didn't work. We were told there was a "big" casino in town, so one night we hired someone to take us there. Big mistake. This one was maybe 20'x60' with no one but locals. The guard at the front door used a metal detector on everyone who entered looking for guns. The should have been our first clue. Most of those slot machine didn't work either. We called our driver after maybe 10 minutes and luckily he was still there picking up 100 pcs of KFC for someone at our resort. While we were waiting in his van it was scary with several locals looking in and trying to talk to us. Then we saw the pickup truck with the police in the back with automatic machine guns. Time to go home! Only go on supervised tours, not out on your own. We took the catamaran boat with snorkeling and to Dunns River Falls. That was exciting, but you need to be in some decent shape to do it. I'm 52, in decent shape and had no real problem. Not for older over 60 or younger than 14. A lot of climbing on rocks with the water flowing over you. Don't worry if you're afraid of heights, you only look in front of you so you don't slip. If your not used to climbing a lot of stairs you will feel it in your legs the next day. they say it's 960' high but I doubt it. One disappointing thing about the falls is that it's not all natural. You can see where concrete was poured in almost all of the areas in the falls. But that's OK we still had fun. We also went on the 4x4's tour. Boring and expensive ($85) for what we did. We never went over 15 mph. In Cancun and Dominican Republic we went all balls out. Not here, even after asking to go faster. I'm not saying it was a bad vacation at all. We all enjoyed our selves. We will probably go back to Jamaica and stay in Negril, but probably not at a RIU resort. Other chains we've stayed at were a notch above RIU and I guess I'm just spoiled but it's those little thing that count like bottled water available everywhere, 24-hr room service, coffee maker in room, more restaurants, canned or bottle beer. (I hate tap beer) All in all the RIU Ocho Rios is very nice and probably worth what you pay for, but they need some updating to do. No key cards, real keys for your door and you have to ask for a lock for your safe. TV's are old, no flat panels here. As for toiletries they provide bar soap and that's it. Oh well, like I said we still had a good time and a nice vacation. One thing I will be sure to do is ask about "all of those little things".


33 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Orland Park, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 24, 2012
Once and done

Let me start by saying that Jamaica is beautiful and the beaches and the people there are awesome. However, the Club Riu Ocho Rios-not so much. The resort was nice and the staff was wonderful (not including the front desk)-always helpful and happy-especially Horace. The day we got there we had to ask three times for pillow cases. I guess we should be happy that we could get lukewarm showers that day because the rest of our stay we had NO hot water! We spent part of every day of our vacation at the front desk trying to get an honest answer about when or if we would ever have hot water. The second day we were there the hot water went off completely while I was in the shower and they told us that it would be on in half an hour. An hour and a half later, there was still no hot water and I rinsed the shampoo out of my hair with cold water in the sink but we had already missed our dinner reservation! We tried to be nice about it but by the fourth night we were ticked off. By the fifth night we were beyond ticked off! At this point the supposed manager wouldn't even acknowledge us and when the person we were talking to went and asked him to talk to us, we heard him say "get someone else, I'm not dealing with them again". Like it was more of an inconvenience to him than it was to us. That night alone we spent four hours at that desk (at least at this point, for the first time the person we were talking with said "I'm sorry") until my husband got angry and told the that they WILL find a room for us to take a shower! They said they were booked and could not give us a place to shower which really made my husband angry, now he started to get loud and they somehow found a room for us to shower. But, why do you have to get loud? Why couldn't they just do the right thing to start with?And their I don't care attitude makes it worse. We weren't the only ones without hot water. Every time we were at the desk about the water there were always other guests there complaining about the same problem. Needless to say, we will NOT be returning there and we will NOT recommend this resort.


42 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Spring Grove, Pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2012
It's hard to mess up, but it can be done. . .

Easy access to the beach and pools. Even though it rained 6 of the 10 days there, the weather was warm and enjoyable (Jan 26-Feb 5). Still plenty of sunshine between showers. Weather cannot be controlled, but amenities could have been better: Experienced issues (inconveniences) with our room - had NO hot water for 3 of the days there, and had ant infestation in the bathroom for 4 days. It took multiple calls, visits and discussions with the staff before the ant issue was finally resolved. Who would have thunk that spraying for the ants required some follow-up to make sure the problem was resolved. Finally got a call to see if problem was resolved, 2 days after the 4th and final spraying. (Each spraying made the room reek with the smell of pesticide.) The attitudes by the customer service representatives with these issues were less than stellar. Also told room would have a king sized bed - got 2 twins pushed together, made separately as opposed to combining them as a king. Had to make an appointment to use the hot tub/jacuzzi (only one at facility - in the spa), then when did was only told then that the hot tub could not be used because there was no hot water in the building - where had I heard that before? The entertainment staff was very accessible and friendly. They appeared to be enjoying themselves and spread their enthusiasm. The food was good overall - some issues at one of the on-site restaurants, but the others and buffets provided good variety and dining. A little disappointed with the selection of fruit but may have been due to seasonality. Overall, pleased with dining options. The overall experience was enjoyable - warm weather, swimming in the ocean, found some pleasant snorkeling areas nearby. The resort's water sport offerings were in poor condition (kayaks take on water making them very hard to paddle and should be replaced), and the "pay for" snorkeling excursion was not convenient and not worth the expense. It was no better than the snorkeling found just outside the swimming area at the resort beach. Felt the resort was overpriced based on the amenities and the service response to the issues listed. With a little effort to correct (or at least act like they understood and cared) the issues, this would have been and could be an excellent experience. Would go back to Jamaica - just not this resort unless pricing matched the overall experience. There were issues, but they did not ruin our fun.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Des Moines, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 8, 2012
RIU Ocho RIos OK

So the Riu Ocho Rios was nice, beautiful hotel, too large though for my liking. Rooms were clean, and the food was eh. We encountered a problem when we got into our first room, asked for a change and the head honcho was not very nice on the phone and didn't want to come see our problem like she couldnt be bothered. They took us to another room that was a horrible smell like mold and we said no way and had to settle for a room on the original floor we were on. Food was plentiful but like I said, it was just OK. As the week wore on the clientel got pretty cheesy! It was an overall good value for what we paid. Most of the staff was very nice, the place was very clean, the food was ok, the drinks were good. Dont miss the Dunns River Falls trip and the Ziplining....had a lot of fun


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2012
Awesome Trip!!!

Had a GREAT time at the RIU Ocho Rios Dec 12-20, 2012. Had a blast,will recommend to others and hopefully go back ourselves very soon! The airport experience was fine--no issues; our luggage all arrived and we were out the door in just a few minutes to our shuttle....though prepared for a long ride (nearly 2 hours) to the resort we weren't prepared for waiting in a shuttle for 45 minutes+ until it filled. We choose a Jr. Suite to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids-worked well....based on my conversation with the Cheap Caribbean rep when booking we were anticipating a King bed for us and a sofa bed for the kids but we ended up with 2 full sized beds pushed together and a little love seat. I mentioned it to the front desk when they called after our first full day to see if everything was okay and they offered for us to move but by then we had settled in and figured if this was the worst issue we can certainly make it work--our kids are young so sharing the space was fine. We aren't complainers and saw the bigger picture--right out our balcony--perhaps the best view of the ocean! The room was clean--or as clean as you can maintain that close to the beach-always had clean towels and what we needed. We kept reading reviews of people who wrote the rooms are 'musty' and/or in some cases dirty. This was not the case...musty perhaps but it IS the tropics with high humidity--their may have been a slight odor but it wasn't unbearable or gross...it just was. There were no bugs other than ants and if you kept the sweet drinks/food out of the room they were not an issue. The buffet food was okay--after 8 days you are ready for something different but after all it's buffet and it was to be expected. Make sure you begin making your reservations at the specialty restaurants the day you arrive--they will let you book 3 days in advance....we arrived on a Wed. evening and tried to book first thing Thursday but the first available opening was Sunday. The restaurants were good, I think the Asian being the best for sure. Sir Richard was good. We also tried the Steak House--took an hour and 10 minutes for our food to arrive.....a little disappointing not sure if that is normal but it appeared others-though not everyone-received their food about 20 minute prior to us. All in all, not a big deal--it's not as though we really had any other place to be. =) Kids Club was nice for the kids, (my girls age 6 &8) though I was told by one Cheap Caribbean rep that kids club went until 9 or 10 in the evening---actually it's 9-5--not that big of a deal and if I had researched further or called the RIU myself I would have known-- missed a couple shows bc the kids were tired so if you bring kids just know any shows and adult evening activities are with the kids unless you bring Grandma or a nanny =)----after all we went with our kids as a family vacation so we adapted and made the best of it! The entertainment staff was stellar!!!! All aspects, all shows, all everything! They walk around and greet you all day, have a fun and high energy 'show' or game each afternoon by the pool, organize beach volley ball, etc. dance lessons on the beach, beach aerobics, and then put on an awesome show for you in the evening. You feel as though you are friends and have known them...awesome group of people-can't say enough positive about them..they are a wonderful and very talented group of people who made our trip VERY memorable and simply AWESOME! -- Lots to do off the resort: Dolphin Cove, Dunns Fall and so much more! Snorkeling is good right off the beach--you can even swim right to the reef on one area. Lots to do on and off the resort! Had blast will certainly return--perhaps next winter. You won't be disappointed!!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2012
You would have to pay me to go again....

Disclaimer: I travel a lot for business and less for pleasure, don’t need a lot but some bare minimums are imperative… so here we go. The HONEST go… The ROOMS are below average – a bit dated and well the linens could be better quality along with the sheets and towels they provide in the room. They had conditioner that was pretty good, usually hotels fail on quality of conditioner.. who cares? Well women care and women with curly hair care for sure. The size of the rooms is just fine, besides the beach is right outside… Their bedroom doors are heavy and well you will constantly hear the loud bang of slamming doors. The doors sound like gun shots. Not quite sure why the hotel doesn’t add door slower’s so they don’t slam. The rooms are average. Not terrible, nothing special. The FOOD… well they keep you full that is for sure. Breakfast, lunch and dinner served practically back to back… however I loved this extra cultural touch, they have a Jerk Chicken hut on the beach. Brilliant! You don’t have to leave the comfort of your beach chair nor the sun for lunch, just stand in line and bring back to your sandy corner. Eat and tan without missing a ray. Besides, it’s not worth leaving your beach chair for the buffet line. The food (except for the Jerk Chicken on the beach) was terrible. I have to say it… it was bad!!!! Low quality, flies flying around the food, no taste, no spice… nothing. And every single day for the most part they offer the same foods. Desert can be yummy, only the local banana made deserts. The restaurants? Well there are four on premises: Japanese, Gourmet, Steak and Asian. We went to the Japanese excited… the server brought us our appetizer which looked like it has been sitting in a corner for 5 days before it was served to us. It was the first time in my life I had been served food and I was afraid to eat it. It look as if it was food poisoning waiting to happen. We passed on it… then waited for the first plate, well… time was ticking and the buffet line was going to close so we got up and left, at least at the buffet line you can get some lettuce, carrots and tomatoes to make a salad. The restaurants were terrible! Just go to the buffet line (it’s horrible, but it’s the best they offer) The BEACH – is stunning! If you are looking for sun and water…. Well you are going to get it! It has to be one of the best beaches I have been to; beautiful, clean and teal. You dream about those blue, teal, white sand beach… well this is it! The ENTERTAINMENT – they have a crew of 20 young people working literally day and night… they work from 9 am to midnight, organizing and getting people excited on different beach parties, and games… to performing the nightly entertainment of the show “Africa.” They are a fun crew and have a great attitude and sense of humor. The DRINKS –it’s all-inclusive so if you are expecting Absolut vodka… ha-ha don’t make me laugh. Cheap liquor, but they do have a lot of Red Stripe on tap if you are a fan. Lot’s of smoothies and juices, but I must warn you they are watered down version of Kool-Aid juices. The smoothies are good! The SERVICE – was great!!!! The staff had a great attitude, helpful. We asked for a room upgrade and they gave it to us at no extra charge… Always had a smile and were very friendly. When entering the buffet restaurants they greeted you with hand sanitizer to ensure cleanliness. (I like that)


27 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year