All

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 330 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"My only complaint was that we had bad weather 3/4 of the days we were there!" – Jtravels55
353 out of 410 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing Swimup Pool Bar Jamicans love life Hotel Lobby entry circle Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach View from our room The view from our From Top Floor view from the balcony early morning at Riu I Love Jamaica... view from the beach Bob Marley Tour Jet Skiing open air lobby Beach View from room View from my room ATV Excursion Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool Dunn River Falls Entrance

All Riu Ocho Rios Customer Reviews

1-10 of 330 reviews. Sort by
September 10, 2014
Not happy with Riu palace in Ocho rios

Let me start off on how this was our second year coming here and it will be our last. As a couple we came to stay at the RIU hoping for some quality time together and we got nothing but aggravation. Check in is at 3pm we didn't get a room until 4 and that's cause we were harassing the guy because all he kept saying was it will be ready soon. Well after waiting hours prior to check in it was hot and all we wanted was to change into our suits and go to the beach. Well after we got our room we decided to use the bathroom well it clogged and clogged lots of time. We called about 3-4 times the front desk for maintaince and they always took2 hours to unclog it. We went to the beach and it was so dirty. Seaweed everywhere and cups and straws left on ground. Ants in sand. We saw crabs and were afraid we would get bit. They tell you not to bring food to your room and people did. I saw a mouse on our floor and thank god he couldn't get in the rooms cause the bottom is sealed. The family next to us told us they had roaches. We didn't have them. We stayed last year and we didn't have any problems everything was perfect. This year was so upsetting. The buffet had no salad they had all the fixings but no salad. I don't get it. Soda was flat except plantation and Italian room to eat. I picked up a plate and had to put it down cause of the roach who quickly ran off the bottom of the plate. Was so gross. Very upset about our second stay. Won't come back.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 9, 2014
Romantic Getaway

Very friendly staff, they go to great lengths to fulfill your needs, one only needs to ask. We enjoyed a beautiful birthday presentation, let them know at the front desk and you will be surprised at what happens. Even though it rained for brief periods it did not detract from the enjoyment. The entertainment at night is a must see. This is the way to relax, dump the clock. Is there a flaw? yes, guest parking for your rental car is minimal.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Short but Sweet

I was their for 5 days. The weather was not that great but we made the best of it. Jamaica is beautiful. The resort staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. The food was great. I am definitely going back.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Mount Vernon, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Nice trip

The resort was nice. The restaurant st. Ann was good, their buffet had tons of variety. The room was very nice and clean. My husband loved the firm mattress. Staying in the pool and beach is fun but gets boring after some time. I would highly suggest going outside to do some activities. The activities were the best part of our trip: Dunn River falls, horse back riding, bamboo beach club, river tubing and the Bob Marley tour. It rained everyday due to the rainy season but it didn't spoil the fun for us (visited Aug 2014 ).


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 1, 2014
I enjoy myself .this was my second here

love this resort second time here .in I brought friends this time ,they enjoy there selfs to .only problem we had was resavactions for dinner.we were only able to get in the steak house .we arrive on wed in made resavactions on Thursday . in only able to get into the steakhouse .they have to work on scheluding .


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: usa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Summer fun at the Riu!!!

This was our 2nd visit to this all inclusive hotel and it was just as gorgeous as we remembered it. We brought our children (11 & 14) this time and they happily informed us that this was the nicest hotel they had ever visited. Of course, we think the fact that they could get unlimited "slushy" type drinks from the bars had a lot to do with their decision. The rooms were well appointed and spacious enough for our family of four. Our only disappointment was that every day they would run out of popular menu items in the buffet restaurants that were not replenished. One day they even ran out of clean pool towels 2 hours before closing. If they rectify these minor issues it could be a world-class property.

Summer fun at the Riu!!! Summer fun at the Riu!!!
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 45-54

August 26, 2014
Great times at the Riu

The service at the Riu Ocho Rios was outstanding! We had a delayed flight and missed connection, then a 2.5 hour bus ride to the hotel, and we were tired and grumpy. The moment we met Richard at the front desk, we felt so relaxed and at ease (Richard is by far the best Front Desk employee I have ever encountered). The only issue we had was that the Restaurants were booked and we ate at the Buffet every night. We did try the Bamboo Blu restaurant right next door to the hotel on the beach one night and it was excellent. All in all, it's a good hotel with great service.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Great Place

We just got back from a week stay at the Riu Ocho Rios. Our first family trip to the Caribbean. Our Amstar rep was waiting at airport and directed us to our shuttle, no problems. An Amstar rep was at the lobby a few hours per day so any questions could be directed to her, but we had no issues. Overall the resort was great. I'm a picky eater and I found plenty of tasty foods on the buffets. The AC worked great in room, easy check in and check out, restaurants reservations were made easily - only stood in line for 10 minutes and made reservations for our entire stay. Sir John was the gourmet restaurant. Delicious meal-a little too fancy for my 12 year old, but again adults would love it. Mammee Bay Steakhouse dinner was my favorite. Steak and mixed combination were delicious! Service was always top notch. I have to say it seemed the male staff were a bit nicer than the females, but nobody was rude. Not one staff person hinted at a tip! We however did tip a few dollars at al a carte restaurants because service was great. Outside the resort, tips were requested, but not one time on property did anybody expect them from us. My husband loved the Asian restaurant, set up buffet style, but nice because you got to try all sorts of new items instead of just ordering one entrée. It was good. Spicy Seafood soup was fabulous, but be prepared, very spicy! Jerk chicken hut was always delish...chicken, sausage, cabbage, rice and beans. Steel drums were nice to hear in the evening in the lobby and near the restaurants. One day they even played them on the beach. Did water aerobics in the pool, great fun. Pool wasn't too crowded because it's so large. Never had trouble finding sun loungers at pool or beach. If you went down late, maybe you walked a minute or two or had to move one to where you wanted it, but you always found one. Fresh towels available at towel hut daily. Nice touch. Drinks weren't too strong, but would rather have many through the day and actually enjoy the taste and not get drunk then have a few super strong ones and be tired and plastered early on. I think they were just right. Wine at bars was ok, nothing special, but we are wine drinkers so maybe we are pickier. Better in the al a carte restaurants, so no worries. Plenty for kids...my 12 year old only child only complained once about being bored, that quickly went away when he started playing volleyball with a group of kids in the pool. He did that several times and had a blast. Take a shovel and bucket along since the beach store never seemed to have any. Then just leave it for another child who might not have brought one (like ours :-). Then you don't have to pack it to bring home. Pedal boats, kayaks, beach volleyball, tennis courts. All available and fun to help break up the day. The beach: it was by far the most beautiful beach ever. Crystal clear blue water, warm temps. Just breathtaking. Only a few cons here: Water pressure in shower was pretty bad. Wi-Fi only available in lobby for 90 minutes per device per day. I couldn't have cared less about Wi-Fi, but some might want more access in room. One day the water was shut off in our room for about an hour, no worries though we went to pool and it was back on when we returned. So all in all....I can't say enough good things about the place. Those couple cons would never let my vacation be spoiled. Just go and enjoy it! You won't regret it!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
White Sand, Blue oceans, Palm trees.

Took a while to get there from the airport. That was expected. Assigned a room upon arrival at 1.30 pm. Took 7 HOURS to get a key to the room. Never did get a satisfactory explanation. As our bags were still in the lobby. . we could change clothes, take medication, shave .. .in a nearby bathroom. . . I think a little work needed here .. . Room big, nice! It is the tropics so expect some mustiness. Probably mostly from the air conditioner? Power went out one night for about 10 minutes. the in room refrigerator didn't work the rest of the trip. Not a big deal, we didn't even call it in. Like the ceiling fan that never did work. We were not in the room much anyway. Food is amazing! biggest buffet i have ever seen. wide variety of food and changed every meal. Make reservations early as they fill fast. MEN MUST HAVE PANTS/SLACKS TO GET INTO THE "RESERVATION RESTAURANTS! A friend was turned away because he was in dress shorts. He couldn't change because he didn't bring pants to Jamaica. Hotel policy, tough luck. Don't know about how the reservation restaurant quality, since we refused them service when they refused our friend service. Staff was good. Besides the check in snafu. Many happy people work there. Ja Mon! good times. Entertainment .. .throughout the day and a show in the evenings. Highly impressed with "Dance Xpressionz" dance team. they put on Mama Mia production one night and the history of Jamaican music another night. A lot of talent that needs larger exposure. Excursions, Dunn River Falls. Had a blast. great experience. Did the downtown shopping excursion. Interesting. Gotta be able to walk away. they can be persistent but i didn't have anyone give me problems. I was worried about over aggressive or pushy.. . didn't happen. Lot of "hey man, come look at this, hey .. come here, i have something. .. " Would i go again? Sure! Had a good time.

White Sand, Blue oceans, Palm trees.
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Graham Washington (state)
Age: 45-54

August 18, 2014
Visited this resort 3 times in one year

Very relaxing vacation, workers there cater to you and make you feel very special.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fort Myers, Fl
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year