All

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 338 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"We liked this resort--lovely beach, good food, great staff." – SpokaneGuy
360 out of 418 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
early morning at Riu Dunn River Falls Entrance Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios View from our room view from the balcony Jet Skiing entry circle From Top Floor ATV Excursion View from my room Beach Hotel Lobby view from the beach I Love Jamaica... Jamicans love life Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach Bob Marley Tour View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool The view from our open air lobby Swimup Pool Bar View from room Beach at the RIU, Ocho Rios Pool at the RIU, Ocho Rios

All Riu Ocho Rios Customer Reviews

1-10 of 338 reviews. Sort by
April 10, 2015
Wonderful vacation at a great resort!

I had the most relaxing and refreshing stay at the RIU in Ocho Rios! The staff were extremely professional and worked hard to ensure all needs were met and guests were enjoying themselves. The resort was clean and comfortable with a stunning beach, plenty of bars, and beautiful pool area. The activities like the water aerobics class with Richard were a blast. The food was average, but the rest of the experience more than made up for that. I will definitely be staying at this resort again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wilmington, DE
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2015
Perfect Vacation - Great Resort & Amazing Beach

Traveled with friends (total of 3 girls) 5 nights / 6 days The resort was fabulous! We stayed on the deluxe side (adults only) which included 24 hour wifi in room (connection was 'ok') and exclusive rights to all the a la carte restaurants and private beach and pool area. The room was very clean and the shower had excellent pressure. The only negative was the bed situation. We are 3 girls, mid-20s, and our room had 2 full beds, pushed together to make one big bed. We alternated night of sleeping diagonally across the crack. It was terrible, but also wasn't ideal. The food was pretty good, nothing exceptionally amazing, but well done for an all inclusive. We enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and the steak house the most. The jerk chicken hut on the beach was by far our favorite! The beach is OUT OF THIS WORLD, pools also nice and the bartenders are amazing at the pool bar. There was an excellent choice of drinks at all bars, especially the martinis! We had a fantastic time and will definitely book a Riu again!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 29, 2015
The RIO, Ocho Rios

We really enjoyed vacationing at the RIU at Ocho Rios. The staff were accommodating and helpful considering our arrival/departure was off schedule. The room was comfortable and clean but we did not get the beach view as promised..our view was still nice with palm trees surrounding the resort. The food was delicious with a variety of authentic Jamaican food, American and Italian food and we could've ate all day from morning to night with the available hours. Entertainment right on the resort so we didn't have to leave the site if we didn't want to. The pool and bar were great but should've stayed open later. The staff at the spa were nice and our excursion lady was informational telling us about the surrounding area. We were upset we did not have time to visit Kingston. We look forward to going back and staying longer.

Pool at the RIU, Ocho Rios Beach at the RIU, Ocho Rios
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 28, 2014
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

We often visit Riu Hotels and Resorts, this time we tried Ocho Rios and were disappointed on the service we were accustomed to expect at a Riu resort. Next stop will be Riu Santa Fe in Los Cabos Mexico. Hope this experience would be better.


0 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tobyhanna, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2014
A lot of minuses, just one plus

A lot of minuses, just one plus. The pool and the beach were dirty. The food was not tasty. The people are not friendly. The room was clean.


0 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44

October 7, 2014
fantastic

This trip was wonderful, my stay at the Riu Ocho Rios was extraordinary.... there's nothing I could complain about. the staff, food and drinks were good a little more than I expected. My junior suite was comfortable and clean. I plan to visit the montego bay property as well as Panama.....


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: brooklyn ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 1, 2014
Amazing

My trip to Jamaica was amazing.. I enjoyed staying at the RIU.. it was close to all of the excursions.... Some staff members did not look happy to be there and was not accomodating but sicne I was on vacation it wasn't a big deal.. There were other great staff members like Twugae at front desk and Andre at the bar...My room was very close to everything.. I stayed in th adult side. When I return I will be requesting my same room. I can't wait to go back... The beach was great... The food wasn't great but I didn't expect that. there are more pros than cons staying here and I would return to this same place Riu Ocho Rios. It was the relaxing and FUN vacation I needed...


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 26, 2014
Friendliest people

Nice place to visit. You totally feel that the people/workers want you to enjoy yourself. Wish other visitors realize that tipping is not encouraged. The whole point of staying at all inclusive is not have to worry about carrying money around to tip. It is nice to say that even though some people were tipping the workers treated everyone well, made sure that you had a drink or food and having a good time. The pool side and live entertainment was great. they included everyone with out badgering those that wanted to be left alone.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rochester hills , MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2014
Not happy with Riu palace in Ocho rios

Let me start off on how this was our second year coming here and it will be our last. As a couple we came to stay at the RIU hoping for some quality time together and we got nothing but aggravation. Check in is at 3pm we didn't get a room until 4 and that's cause we were harassing the guy because all he kept saying was it will be ready soon. Well after waiting hours prior to check in it was hot and all we wanted was to change into our suits and go to the beach. Well after we got our room we decided to use the bathroom well it clogged and clogged lots of time. We called about 3-4 times the front desk for maintaince and they always took2 hours to unclog it. We went to the beach and it was so dirty. Seaweed everywhere and cups and straws left on ground. Ants in sand. We saw crabs and were afraid we would get bit. They tell you not to bring food to your room and people did. I saw a mouse on our floor and thank god he couldn't get in the rooms cause the bottom is sealed. The family next to us told us they had roaches. We didn't have them. We stayed last year and we didn't have any problems everything was perfect. This year was so upsetting. The buffet had no salad they had all the fixings but no salad. I don't get it. Soda was flat except plantation and Italian room to eat. I picked up a plate and had to put it down cause of the roach who quickly ran off the bottom of the plate. Was so gross. Very upset about our second stay. Won't come back.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 9, 2014
Romantic Getaway

Very friendly staff, they go to great lengths to fulfill your needs, one only needs to ask. We enjoyed a beautiful birthday presentation, let them know at the front desk and you will be surprised at what happens. Even though it rained for brief periods it did not detract from the enjoyment. The entertainment at night is a must see. This is the way to relax, dump the clock. Is there a flaw? yes, guest parking for your rental car is minimal.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year