All

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 320 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"We liked this resort--lovely beach, good food, great staff." – SpokaneGuy
342 out of 398 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from the balcony early morning at Riu Beach view from the beach Swimup Pool Bar Jamicans love life open air lobby The view from our entry circle View from room Jet Skiing View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool I Love Jamaica... From Top Floor View from my room Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach Hotel Lobby Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios ATV Excursion View from our room Dunn River Falls Entrance Bob Marley Tour

All Riu Ocho Rios Customer Reviews

1-10 of 320 reviews. Sort by
August 13, 2014
Deluxe side is a must!

Cons: We stayed on the deluxe side and could not comprehend how people could stay on the regular side (except, of course, if bringing kids made them). Without the deluxe dinner options we would have been stuck eating the same mediocre buffets for all three meals all week. Even in the deluxe restaurants the food was only slightly better (way too salty!!!), but at least provided a better overall experience. The beds (we had two full beds pushed together--idk if this is standard for couples) were very firm and the sheets a bit rough once we got a little sunburn going. We left a rum and coke out in our room over night and the next morning it was teeming with living and dead bugs...gross, but I'm not sure the hotel could really do anything about that. No nightlife--the nightclub was pretty dull on the night we checked it out--and going into town didn't seem safe after talking to people working there. Pros: The pool was excellent (deluxe side at least, idk about the other side). It could have used some more cleaning in the afternoon as everyone's sunscreen started congealing by the steps. On the other hand they closed it after 7pm for chemical treatment, which is good, but limited late night fun. Beach was very clean, chairs were comfortable, and water was warm. Lots of bars all around the resort, but all with differing hours (and I think only one deluxe bar with 'premium' liquors). People seemed to really like the entertainment I guess. Take the resort's party boat to Dunns River Falls. They do enough to give you value even though the Falls are five minutes down the road. Other people at the resort told us the Dunns River Falls trip they did required them to take a bus an hour away from the resort and then come back to the Falls--maybe a few bucks cheaper, but what a waste of time.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Whatever you expect, Don't!!!

From airport to resort, by bus it take one hour half minute to two hours~ Hotel bathroom was not clean, room was not good, Pool was poor, restaurant food was poor, drink was poor...only beach was good!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New york NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 22, 2014
Room for Improvement

The resort was attractive but not exceptional. The electric iron was missing from the room and although it was reported to the maid, it was never replaced. I checked with other family members who also reported that they were not provided with irons. The buffet choices were extensive but sometimes lacked flavor. Three of the specialty restaurants were disappointing because the food was served at room temperature to warm, not hot. Although many of the staff went out of their way to provide exceptional service, others were not enthusiastic. The entertainers were very talented and put on an enjoyable show each night.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jackson, N.J.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Awesome trip!

This place was absolutely amazing! The restaurants are great, staff is all very kind, and the entertainers are awesome! !!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hollywood, FL
Age: 25-34

July 10, 2014
Overall paradise

People were friendly and willing to serve, making our stay awesome. One of the staff even knocked a coconut out of a tree, cut off the top and gave me a straw to enjoy fresh coconut juice. Totally refreshing! Good people, great views, picture perfect beaches...Plenty to do or just R&R, your choice, as the locals would say, "This is Jamaica, no problems!"


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Would love to go back

The property is gorgeous (both inside and out) and the service is impeccable!!! The worst part of the trip was the dining options. The buffet choices were limited and became redundant. I would make reservations for dinner as often as possible.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2014
great hotel

My experince with Rui was great. The food is good, beach is excellence but entertainment could be a little better.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2014
We will be back!

This resort was hands-down the best one I've ever been to. We are a middle-class family with only a couple grand to spend on vacation and we could not have spent it at a better location. The resort was beautiful. The beach was clean and beautiful. There was a great little spot to snorkel, and plenty of beach to enjoy swimming too. The service was excellent, the room was clean, air conditioned and had a great view. The buffets had great selection. The sing pools were beautiful and clean and the architecture of the resort is gorgeous (especially on the adults-only side). We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the menu was delightful, inventive and the ambience was perfect. The gourmet restaurant was wonderful as well. If I had to say anything negative I wasn't overly impressed with the steak restaurant. The steak was great but it was outdoors and it was just too uncomfortably hot to eat a huge steak like they served. All in all, our vacation was amazing and I will be back next year.

We will be back! We will be back!
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2014
Riu Ocho Rios was outstanding

The Riu Ocho Rios service was prompt and polite. The hotel was clean inside and out and the staff was constantly cleaning and asking if you needed anything. The pool and the beach were clean and we felt safe. Scube Caribe will take care of you and I recommend the catamaran to Dunns. We loved the food and the buffet was our favorite. The entertainment staff was great and really put in alot of effort. Overall, the staff was fun and polite. The hotel was perfect. Cheapcaribbean made it easy, no problems. We will go again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Madison WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2014
Nice beach and pools.

Beach was great and so where both pools. The room was very clean and had great water pressure. Food was below average. The buffet was pretty good, lots of options. But the restaurants, the ones that you need a reservation for where a big disappointment. Especially the Japanese place.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbus ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year