All

Riu Negril Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 283 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"Okay for a last minute get away. Not so certain that I will go back to Jamaica. The natives are NOT friendly (pickpockets in Negril)." – Negrilly
263 out of 328 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Jamaica paradise one of the pools sunset in Jamaica Riu Negril - Beach Riu Resort..on the beach on the way home! Grab the lobster I ate Lennox, you da man! Thanks! View from the beach. Ricks Cafe Sunset resort sunset On the beach Jerk Chicken Master Hotel Beach Riu Negril - Sunset Beach! Rick's Cafe w/ new friends Have to get up early to get this spot on the beach. Can't wait o hey back One of the excursions sunset at Rick's Cafe...so pretty! Early Morning pool side SheriAndKen Bloody Bay beach a nice view of the bar/pool area Love it here what a life!! Yea'Mon! Jamaica Hotel from Water Beach at hotel Before Dinner! The View of our chairs on the beach =) Happiness!

All Riu Negril Customer Reviews

1-10 of 283 reviews. Sort by
January 9, 2013
kiddie land

First of all it's a nice hotel and the service was good. The value was fair, although had I known that this place was focused on kids I would have never gone there. People go on vacation to relax and converse with other adults not listen to a bunch of screaming kids splashing water in your drinks and spilling there drinks in the pool and just leave them there floating. Second showing kids programs at night time like beauty and the beast and the lion king is a joke. They have 3 bars running in the evening and 2 of them are right next to the stage where this so called entertainment is going on and the 3rd is in the lobby. So wheither or not you have kids you have to suffer through these shows if you want to hang out at the bars. Disco plays same music every night. Durning the day they dont play music at the pool bar or any of the other bars. Food wasn't too bad, I've had better and worse at other all inclusives. No 24hr room service, or 24hr bars they open at 10:00 am and close at 12:00 am. So if you want a bloody marry in the morning your out of luck. My wife and I are in our mid 40's so we're by no means old. It's just that our kids are adults so the last thing we want to deal with after spending thousands on a week long trip are other peoples kids. Bottom line if you have kids then this is the place for you. But if you don't then don't waste your time here.


96 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 26, 2012
Wonderful vacation

We traveled to the Riu at the beginning of February 2012 to get married. We had never used Cheap Caribbean but found an outstanding deal we couldn't pass up. We were a little concerned about the shuttle from the airport to the hotel; we went with the $18.00 one instead of the $200 upgrade. This was the best choice. The vans used were very comfortable and did not look anything like the picture online. Everything was self explanatory at the airport on where to go and check in. The resort was super as well; the staff was over-the-top nice. It wasn't the best beach but the pool had a swim up bar so who needs the Sea? Would definitely use them again!


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Delafield, WI
Age: 25-34

July 31, 2011
NEVER AGAIN

Our experience at the Riu ClubHotel Negril can be summed up in one word...DISAPPOINTING. Where to begin? The dining options are limited and lacking. There are no casual dining options for dinner, and the reservation restaurants serve salad and dessert buffet style. The servers in the Steak House and Brazilian restaurants were not polite, but the service and food at Sir Andrew was good. Also, there are periods of time throughout the day when there are no available dining options. The customer service was quite inconsistent. The entertainment was corny and amateurish. Towels were scarce. The resort seemed rather old and in desperate need of updates. For instance, dining reservations are only accepted at a temporary table set up in the lobby from 8-3 daily no earlier than two days in advance. Who wants to spend their vacation waiting in line for a semi-rude person to write a reservation in a tattered notebook? The room had no clock and an old TV. Light switches and cabinet doors weren't working properly, and the AC was not adjustable. We did not come to this resort expecting 5 star facilities and service; however, our experience at the Riu Negril was far below our expectations.


37 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2016
Total let down

I did a lot of research before booking Riu Negril. The reviews were mixed but most places are. I noticed that there were more positive reviews so we booked. Upon arrival, we were immediately disappointed with our decision. The place doesn't look like the pictures. The lobby area was pretty. And so we're the restaurants and bar areas. Their photographer is really skilled because the images made these areas look grand and they weren't. The rooms were the most disappointing of all. And I know - "I'm on vacation. We don't spend much time in the room ." We we're on our honeymoon and we did spend some time in our room... When we booked we requested an ocean view room with a king size bed because they advertise they have them but can't garentee them. So I expected a queen bed if we couldn't get a king. When we got to our room we had 2 full size beds made up separately. So when I rolled over to my husband not only was there a crack but a wall of sheets between us. The toilet was moldy. The light in the shower didn't work. The glass tops on the furniture were.broken or missing. The repaired floor tiles were a completely different color. We went to the front desk to speak with a manager to see what they could do for us and Jamie told us, " you're not shackled here you can leave if you aren't happy." I was floored that someone in the hospitality business would say something like that! We spoke to another lady (I can't remember her name) and she "upgraded" us to a different room and explained they don't have ocean view rooms with king beds. So why do they advertise it? Our upgraded room was ground floor with a king bed but the toilet was still dirty and the glass tops were still missing or broken. We do not like ground floor and said no thank you. I went to speak to her again and she treated us as if we were second class citizens because we booked through a "third party" and not directly through the hotel. Then she got up and walked away and never returned so we spent the night in the first room and we're ready to leave and go home the next day. That morning we discovered we were "upgraded" again to, you guessed it, an ocean view room with a king size bed, clean toilet, and intact glass tops on the furniture! I know, right? I thought they didn't exist! In my opinion the room was still sub par. My biggest complaint here is white! My thought- I'm in the Caribbean things should be bright and colorful right? Nope! The outside of the building whas white stucco with a white roof. Tha hall walls were white. In the room the walls were white the bed was white the floor was white the curtains were white. It looked like a hospital room not Jamaica. The only pool we went to was the pool bar. We went 3 times. It was DISGUSTING! Hair floating,leaves all over,a layer of suncreen oil floating on the top. I felt so dirty coming out of the pool. It was nasty. I can't speak to the other pools since we didn't go to them. The food was just ok. We tried every restaurant except the Italian. It was nothing special. By the end of our week, we were completely sick of the breakfast buffet. Things we liked: The beach was amazing and beautiful. Since it's in the ba the water was calm and clear. We went snorkeling twice (kind of free- you leave a deposit but get it all back when you bring the eqipment back). There is a ton of beautiful sea life right in the swimming area! The beach bar and bartenders. They were amazing. They remember you and have your drink ready when you get there! The entertainment staff are involved and encourage you to join in the different activities happening around the resort. They were fun but not pushy. The jerk hut was amazing! I recommend you eat it every day for lunch! The sunset! Just wow! Things they don't tell you: There are 2 Rius in Negril so be careful which one you look at and which one you book. They advertise king beds but don't have many to offer. They advertise a sauna and hot tub but they don't have them. They advertise it has been fully renovated but it hasn't.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2011
RIU ClubHotel Negril, Jamaica

Awesome time! Great resort, staff, and location! The entertainment staff at the RIU ClubHotel Negril is one of the best! This was our second time to visit this resort (our 5th time in Jamaica) and would go again ASAP! Loved it!


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2015
Trust The Bad Reviews

Pros and Cons of Riu Negril Pros - Very nice beach - Rooms are clean - Breakfast was fabulous - Plenty of seats on beach Cons - Service is weak at best and not very friendly. - Entertainment not very entertaining (exception of Steel Drum Band) - Pool was disgusting. Slimy film on pool bar seats and at the bottom. - Restaurants at dinner were very hit miss. One course would be great while other courses horrendous - Alcohol is water. Impossible to even get a slight buzz off of the hard beverages. - Ordered a room with 1 queen bed, got a room with two twins pushed together. - Small out of date box TV set that work on and off. - Areas smelled of raw sewerage. We were told that they are working on pipes but other guests said its been like that for a long time. - One of our group needed a wheel chair. Charged a fairly high amount to rent one which seems absurd considering the price we paid to stay. Please make a note to yourself this resort is NOT on 7 mile beach. My suggestion is that (if you prefer to stay at a Riu) stay at the Riu in Montego Bay. Riu Negril is the same price as Riu Montego Bay but not nearly as impressive. Riu Negril should be priced significantly lower. Overall I give it * * out of * * * * * and probably wouldn't return.


26 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 9, 2016
Just average

Stayed a week at the Riu Negril. We have stayed at several other all inclusives in Mexico and Jamaica and this resort was just average. Positives: Room is large very clean and comfortable, updated with beautiful tiled modern bathroom Buffets are well stocked with very large variety of food as well as a jerked chicken barbecue everyday for lunch. Drinks are plentiful with a huge variety of alcohol choices. The rooms have an alcohol dispenser in each room with mixers. The staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful. Any issues we had were taken care of quickly. The sunsets are beautiful. The night time entertainment was very good. There is no nightclub. The entertainment staff are a lot of fun to be around. The resort is very clean. Negatives: The Beach...the sand is nice and there are a lot of chairs and sunny/shady areas. The problem is in the water, the bottom is grassy and mucky. With just a little wave the water is murky not like the clear blue Caribbean water we love. The grounds are just ok, no real landscaping of beautiful flowers that make the eye happy. Balcony rooms face out onto a courtyard where you can look at other peoples balconies....you won't be spending a lot of time out there. The local hucksters walk up and down the beach trying to sell you whatever they can. They are polite but I don't want my quiet beach time interspersed with calls for "smokes, smokes" The restaurants are great but I don't want to have to go to the reservation desk everyday waiting in line for dinner reservations for the next day. They have seatings at 6:30 and 8:30 only and when we walked by those restaurants there were always empty tables. If you want to snorkel at the resort, it is not good. Only small area at end of beach, it is a busy bay with a lot of boats and with all the grass and muck you don't have great areas to snorkel. The hotel is 90 minutes from the airport by transport....long ride The swim up pool needed the lights fixed, the lights were hanging on their electric cords at the bottom of the pool or on the ledges. You also had to walk a long way from the pool to go to the bathroom which makes me think...pool, drinking, long way to bathroom ?????? There are no elevators and the rooms are a long way from the restaurants/bars so if you have any mobility issues make sure you get ground floor rooms closer to the lobby.

Just average
16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lowville, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 9, 2012
Great fun!

We'll put it bluntly; this is a great resort. The staff from top to bottom made our needs their top priority during our entire visit. The grounds were kept clean and enjoyable throughout. The area itself is great because both sides of their beach is clear of buildings and full of trees, unlike 7-mile beach further into town, which is resort next to resort next to resort. So you feel more away from the noise of local society then you really are. The food was average resort food, nothing special. The rooms were comfortable but lacked modern amenities such as HD TV or a living area, and garden view was not any different from it's cheaper selection. All in all, we would stay there again. We enjoyed being outside of town as well as the service we were provided every step of the way at this beautiful / memorable resort.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Texas, USA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 13, 2013
Caring about tourists #1

This Riu became so special to us as I have never been to a resort with so many people , that the staff still made everyone feel special and important! Every wish was taken care of as best as possible. The rooms were clean, two large swimming pools that switched activities each day. The beach was clean and beautiful with local vendors . In three weeks we did not experience total repetition! When they had things available such as coconuts on the beach they were there. Lobster dinner in the buffet! Every week was not the same! Mexican fiesta one day around the pool. There was a beach party every week! Can't complain about that repetition. Transportation from the resort always available but local transportation at one quarter of the price if you chose. Entertainment team works very hard through out the day and evening. Some shows were great , some well the usual fluff but only because of being a little spoild from many different trips. Best of all we had hot water in the shower every day and our toilets always flushed and consistent hydro! Not bad for an island. Keep up the good work!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baden Ontario Canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
Great Resort! Don't Pay Attention to Bad Reviews!

First - the drive from/to the airport is about 1.5 hours. Our driver was Curvin at Amstar, and he is a riot. He knew history of the island, he is very funny and he even stopped at a bar on the side of the road so we could buy a drink halfway through the ride. It was a scenic ride and the weather was beautiful, so no complaints there. Second - the resort is beautiful. My husband and I booked this trip for our Honeymoon/1st Anniversary. We booked it based on overall value and recommendation per Cheap Caribbean. After reading all of the negative reviews, I had very little expectations. The staff was excellent, the food was great, the beach was beautiful and the drinks were tasty. My suggestion to all travelers is to tip a few $ here and there to show your appreciation. The staff is SO grateful and they take good care of their patrons, so they deserve it. We met people from all over, and not one person complained about their stay. I have 2 major qualms, however. They could use an upgrade with beds. It was like sleeping on concrete. Also, the "vendors" on the beach are annoying and relentless. I could not relax on the beach without being asked if I wanted to buy drugs every 5 minutes. They don't care if you have kids in tow, they WILL approach you. Especially if you are in the water or within 20 feet of it. Security walks the perimeter of the beach though, so I was never worried about being harmed. Third - I recommend booking excursions through one of the travel agents that sit in front of the lobby. When you book a shuttle with your trip, you will receive an appointment reminder to meet with your agent the day after your arrival to book any excursions. You are by no means obligated to do any of them, but we felt there is more guarantee when you book through an agent. We chose zip lining & river tubing one day and catamaran to Rick's Cafe another day. The zip lining was AWESOME. Bring bug spray and hiking shoes, because you'll do a lot of climbing and walking. Water shoes or sneakers are mandatory for the river tubing. There is a guide strapped to your tube and he does all the hard work so you can sit back and enjoy the scenery. There's a rope jump at the end. The catamaran was to include snacks/food, there was a basket of Twinkies and cinnamon bun cakes. After drinking for a few hours at Margaritaville (where the catamaran anchors), and then drinking while on the catamaran and at Rick's Cafe, Twinkies do not satisfy appetite. I would really complain about this, but the snorkeling and good time made the trip worth it. The water is SO crystal clear and warm and we saw a ton of fish. Overall, don't be too high maintenance when you're on vacation. If you want butler service, go to Sandals. Jamaicans are so laid back, you can't help but feel the good vibes from them and just relax. Now go book your stay!

Great Resort! Don't Pay Attention to Bad Reviews! Great Resort! Don't Pay Attention to Bad Reviews!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hendersonville, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year