All

Riu Naiboa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 73 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
3.2
3.3 out of 5
"I was not satisfied with the food selections. The staff members had difficulty understanding English, especially during breakfast." – HEADEDPLACES
49 out of 85 (58%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sangria The Beach The Pool Area Pool Trees on the beach

All Riu Naiboa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 73 reviews. Sort by
March 17, 2011
Riu Naiboa Dominican Republic Punta Cana

This was our first trip booked thru Cheap Caribbean.com . We are very pleased with the help and attention from the company.Our hotel was great, the service excellent,very help full and understanding.Our restaurant had a good variety of food choice and was very good. The only problem we had was that our room was located right on top of the bar where they had the evening entertainment, they should find one of the buildings to the side,like the pool bar or the nightclub to do their shows ..a little to noisy.But otherwise , we had a wonderful time and we would defenetly go back to Riu Naiboa The tour operator Turinter was very good and dependable.They picked us up from the airport and brought us back, we also booked a tour to Saona Island thru them and they were very punctual and in control. Saona Island, do I need to say more....AWESOME !! This was a great vacation,wish we were still there !!


37 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gulf Shores AL
Age: 45-54

February 15, 2011
A great stay at the Riu!

I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Riu Naiboa. I had a great time. This is the third time that I have stayed here, and I have always had a great time. Yes, this is the lower end hotel in the Riu complex, but the food is good, the people are great, and the beach is fantastic. There are a lot of bad reviews for this place, but don't let it scare you off. Some people will complain no matter what, and they are usually the ones who write reviews. They are supposedly demolishing this hotel in the upcoming months, so get a good deal while you can! They have already started construction on the "Grand Palace". And for anything you might be looking for, see Victor at Captain Cooks seafood restaurant. He is the man.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2013
GREAT FIRST VACATION TO D.R.

FIRST OFF I WANT TO START BY SAYING THAT EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS ON THE RIU GROUNDS SUCH AS ACCESS TO THE NIGHT CLUB, CASINO AND SHOPS. THIS WAS A GREAT FIRST EXPERIENCE TO THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC (PUNTA CANAS). PEOPLE WERE GREAT AS SOON AS YOU GET THERE, THEY GREET YOU WITH A FRUIT PUNCH COCKTAIL AND PRETTY FAST CHECK-IN. THE WEBSITE ONLY GAVE US THE OPTION TO BOOK A DOUBLE ROOM WITH TWO BEDS AND WHEN I GOT THERE I ASKED FOR A SINGLE BED ROOM AND THE MAN HELPING TOLD ME THEY WERE PRETTY BOOKED AS IT WAS BUT HE GAVE US WHAT WE WANTED (WHICH WE REALLY APPRECIATED). THE NIGHTLY SHOWS WERE GREAT. (ANIMATION IS AWSOME)FOOD WAS GOOD. WIDE VARIETY(NO COMPLAINTS THERE) WE ALSO DID SOME ACTIVITIES THAT WERE ALSO FANTASTIC. OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT..THANK YOU FOR A GREAT VACATION.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: GERMANTOWN, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2015
NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE

Despite the negative reviews regarding odor and service we booked the RIU Naiboa and had no issues. The rooms were satisfactory, clean and well managed. The food was OK in the buffet and better at the reserved dinner. The hotel is located next to the mangrove which may have been the odor issue but none was noted. In fact our best "birding" was a walk around the mangrove and included the native parrot. The one issue I will note is no coffee until the buffet opens (around 6:30 am) and only 2 bars in which only one opened around 10 am. There were some noisy guests during the wee hours on a couple of nights but I used to be that way when I was young. All in all I was happy with the trip and for the price could not have asked for anything more.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Round Lake, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 1, 2012
great value

The resort has just been updated and the furnishings are the same as the new hotel the BARAVO PALACE, except the tv is OLD. But that's ok so are mine. The fitness center is really old and needs to be CLOSED. As far as using the other resorts on the RIU grounds, forget about it. They offer 2 dining options, which you have to get up at 7:00 am to reserve, forget about that too. They have a Italian restaurant which is the same food as the buffet, (the buffet has amazing food) great variety and plentiful and always yummy. The Steakhouse which you have to get up at 7:00 am to make reservations, forget about it. you can never get reservations at the steakhouse because they only take a few people from OUR resort. Total and complete waste of time. We accidentily went at the wrong time, a mistake on our part. We weren"t treated very nice. the resort should just go as a BUFFET ONLY Option, which like I said before would be just fine. Then there wouldn't be any confusion or frustration, Who needs that on vacation. Short walk to the beach down the very cute Carribean street, nice little shops to look and shop. The beach has a snack bar right on the BEAUTIFUL BEACH, once again food is amazing. Adult and regular beverages available all the time. If your looking for good wine or top shelf liquor, this is not the resort for you. The STAFF is always helpful and kind, can't do enough for you and are always pleasant. The entertainment staff is so funny and the keep things going all day and night. THE BEACH WELL, what can I say SO BEAUTIFUL, nice chairs, and just excellent. WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN, YEP next year or sooner, can't wait. Great value for the money, If you want to just relax and enjoy the beach this is the place.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2016
Will not return

Was so very disappointed in this resort and our experience. The staff was rude and not helpful. The guests were even ruder. I have never experienced this in a Caribbean Resort before. My husband and I will never stay at another RIU resort nor will we return to the Dominican Republic. For starters, we sat at the airport for over 45 minutes while the transfer company waited on more passengers. There were three of us in the van. Then when we reached the hotel, we tried to book our return to airport and they told us that our flight was not listed and we did not have transportation back on 8/17. It took 2 days to figure out that the transfer company, Amstar was at fault. One person was particularly rude and refused to assist us because we did not want any excursions. I have never dealt with such rudeness on vacation. The walk to the beach was over 500 yards. You passed shops in which people came out and asked you to purchase their goods. The drinks were watered down. If you drank beer ok but any other alcoholic drink was watered down. The food was ok. I liked the fish and local cuisine served however, do not brush your teeth with the tap water. If you ask at the front desk they will give you a huge bottle of water however, we only found this out by watching other people ask. They do not give it to you. The rooms and bathrooms are nice, however, they don't clean with any disinfectant so the bathroom smelled and sometimes the fresh towels smelled a bit funky. Entertainment at this hotel was awful. It was for children not adults. A Clown and bingo were the highlight of the evenings. Needless to say we spent evenings out for a while then back to room. I was so highly disappointed with this trip. I do not know if I will ever get my husband to travel to Caribbean again.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 10, 2012
Just OK

I bought this trip before reading reviews on this hotel (mostly bad ones) and chose it mainly because I know RIU hotels and didn't think it could be that bad. Overall wasn't terrible, the hotel grounds are nice and well maintained, the pool is large and clean. Our first disappointment was our room which featured only double beds, no queen no king!!! I'm almost 7 months pregnant and was impossible to share a double bed with my husband!! as the day went on, we discover the phone mic didn't work and you couldn't hear the person on the other side of the line, the A/C didn't work, the remote didn't work, the safe box was closed, the next day we realized the hair dryer didn't work (this added unnecessary stress and wasted time trying to get things changed/ fixed). We were able to relax on the beach which is beautiful and didn't mind at all the very short walk, we also had a couples massage at the spa and did a city tour to Santo Domingo. Food is average, nothing fancy but clean and with decent variety. Fruit juices and fresh fruit and pastries in the morning was the best!!! Also it is not available 24 hrs, from 5pm to 6.30pm you can't find anything to eat! and afterhours they have a snack bar that serves reheated leftovers from dinner!!!! You can choose to dine at a la carte restaurant but they are in the other RIUs and we never went, also you must do your reservation very early to catch a spot ~ 7-8 a m. The entertainment was also average, we stay to watch the shows on 2 occassions. Overall we did love the beach!!!! but I've been plenty of times to Cancun and you can get a much better ALL INCLUSIVE experience there for the same money, plus the beach is equally amazing and the service tons times better!!! So, next time Cancun/Riviera Maya it is!!!!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2016
Best bang for the buck

I have booked three trips with cheapCaribbean.com and without a doubt this one gave me the most for my money . The staff was extremely friendly . The food was good and there was plenty of it . The merchants that were in the street as you walk to the beach were not too pushy (unlike when I went to Jamaica they were all over you ) The landscaping at the hotel is simply gorgeous . Rooms are very clean and kept very clean . Most of the staff spoke English and it helped that I spoke some simple Spanish . However if English is all you speak you will be fine . The only bad part of the trip was I had to come back to the Cold of North East Ohio winter . ( but I did come back with a Tan ) this may be the first place I return to . So book now . And spend your week like I did full of Senior Rita's and margaritas

Pool Trees on the beach
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Youngstown OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 1, 2013
Riu Naiboa Resort is the worst

First, when we arrived, we were so happy. Later,everything was change. The room is too small and the remote control for the TV didn't work. The room services keep cleaning the rooms until 4pm. They didn't have kids club and Kids activies like what they wrote. They didn't have any programs for children ages 4-12. No Children pool, they are having one pool can be for adults and children. They said that there are 3 resturants. It is not true only 2 resturant and the one which they called Snack Bar is only beverages ( No any snack at all ). The food is totally different when you compare with the other resort. The jacuzzi, Sauna and Spa are out of the resort. All guests in other resort can access Rui Naiboa, but the guests in Riu Naiboa can't do that. I didn't recommend this resort for anyone. The best resort is Riu Place Bavaro OR Riu Palace Punta Cana.


17 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34

March 25, 2016
Great Vacation

My husband and I gave our 5 children a 4 night 5 day trip to Punta Cana for Christmas. Each brought their significant other with them. Since we were purchasing 12 people's trips, we had a budget we needed to try to adhere to. We chose the Niaboa due to the pricing and the recommendation of the agent we worked with. As we got closer to the trip, we began seeing a lot of negative reviews and became very concerned that our family vacation would not turn out well. To say the least, we had a fantastic time!!! I am going to try to address the negative reviews: There were negative reviews about the food and the lack of restaurants. If you are looking for 5 star (and down there the stars indicate the amount of bars and restaurants) then this is not the place for you. BUT... the food in the dining room was very good!!!!! The selections were very good and the food was very good. The variety is also good! There is a Steakhouse/Italian restaurant on site that you make reservations to. It is only the one restaurant with the two themes. You will need to be downstairs no later than 7am to sign up as the reservations do go fast. The two times that we had made reservations was the Steakhouse night and the food was great! There is a snack bar and bar down at the ocean that is open until 4pm that offers a variety of lunch foods! We ate lunch there and enjoyed it! There was some write ups about the lack of availability on the non-motorized sports that were included with the resort. We did not experience that and we were there during college spring breaks! You sign up for the time you want (best to do it a day before) and we got the equipment we wanted. I absolutely do not understand the negative write ups about the staff. Unless you are just a very unhappy person that must find something to complain about, the staff was awesome!!!! From the time we were welcomed upon arriving to the time we left, they were so friendly and wanting to assist you in any way they could. They would get to know you and call you by name. Each night there were activities from bingo to live music to a show that the staff members did an excellent job entertaining us and in every way possible including the guests in the activities! I saw some complaints about the cleanliness of the resort and the rooms. The rooms were great and clean. The housekeeping staff very friendly and would bring you whatever else you asked for that was not already in the room. The rooms on the non-pool side did face the swamp area and did have the swamp odor if you opened your balcony door. A couple of the kids were on that side and after the first day of having the smell they said it was fine because they didn't open the balcony doors. We were not in the rooms a whole lot! I have no idea how anyone could possibly think it was a long walk to the beach! It was right out the back gate of the resort and a block down the street. Yes, there are shops along the way and the shop attendants do try to show you their merchandise but they were friendly and nice. This is their only source of income so of course they would like you to buy stuff but if you just said no they thanked you and left you alone. You do have access to the other Riu resorts and they let out onto the street to the beach. A couple of our kids went to the Riu that had the gym and spa and thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple of them walked through the casino and said it was very small and like casinos in Atlantic City and Vegas. We had a fabulous vacation! The resort was great and the staff were great! As you read the negative reviews please keep in mind what I addressed. Have a wonderful vacation!!!!!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations