All

Riu Merengue Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 59 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.6 out of 5
"I highly recommend installing more ultra violet blue lights by all the dining areas specially by all the food stations to avoid flies" – Goodell
48 out of 70 (69%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Nice touch - coconuts Exposed wires in room Favorite Bartender Thanks .What a relaxing trip tree lined walkways gazebo overlooking bay Dirty light Switch Loved the villas Paridise Island

All Riu Merengue Customer Reviews

1-10 of 59 reviews. Sort by
April 8, 2011
Good Family Deal

This was a great vacation. The service was great. My room was average at best though. The bed was lumpy and the crib they sent for my 18 month old son was old. I loved the pools and the night life. Everyone was very friendly. I would recommend to a friend. We did two excursions: Ocean World and the city tour. Don't do the encounters at Ocean World. They aren't worth it. However, Ocean World was a lot of fun. The price for a day pass was a good deal. Be careful to avoid the lifestyle resort timeshare people. They were HORRIBLE and VERY AGGRESSIVE! almost ruined the trip. The food was great! Many choices and who can't love all the liquor you can drink. My son has a major tan now. It was great to be able to walk from one resort to another freely. Hotel Mambo had the best food. Hotel bachata had the best pool. And Merengue had the best service. Overall my husband, 18 month son and I had a great time and I would love to go again.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Princeton, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2013
Great Value

It's not really a 5-star resort, but as long as you know that and go with the expectation of it being a very good 3-star resort, you'll have have a great time. The grounds and beach are lovely and very well kept. We found the food options and the quality to be good. We only stayed 4 nights. If you will be there for a longer time, like 7 nights, the food might get monotonous. All the the staff are extremely friendly - no attitude. Our room was dated but very clean. I have to admit that the pillows were kind of hard and the sheets a little scratchy. But again, for 4 nights it was OK. This was not about luxury. This was about value. We feel that we got a really nice vacation at a very inexpensive price.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2012
Eh okay

I guess I got what I paid for. The hotel itself is okay. The rooms are not modern, but are fine. TV and radio/alarm were old, and the room itself was nothing luxurious but nice. The beach wasn't big but was clean and enjoyable. The pool area was usually crowded and the pool itself was nice. The food options are very limited. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are always available buffet style. The same food options are available for all three meals, with very little variation. The buffets are not 5 stars, by any means. Vegetarians/vegans take note- very few options. I wound up losing weight on my trip because there was so little for me to eat! Even the afternoon snack bar was gross - french fries, pizza, random meats and hot dogs/hamburgers that did not look appetizing whatsoever. I expected fresh fruit in the Caribbean but not even the fruit was good! As for the two restaurants, there is an Italian option and a Steakhouse. I was only at the hotel for 3 nights and did not dine at either because I did not get a reservation, but I would hope they are better than the main buffet option. The re are several bars, but not even the drinks are fresh! The pina colados are made in slushy machine - I expected them to be fresh, as is my experience in other island resorts. There were a lot of Europeans staying at the hotel, which meant A LOT of smokers - smoking everywhere. If you're a smoker, I imagine that's great for you (although, not in the long run, of course!) but as a non-smoker, it was pretty gross. The service was fine, most people were friendly although the front desk/concierge staff did not ask about my time at their resort while I was checking out, nor did they even say "goodbye" for that matter. It was nice to get away, but of all the places to stay in the Caribbean, I would never go back to the Riu Merengue again.


18 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2014
What an experience

This resort was recommended by a family member. Ihad heard many mixed reviews from other people so, I was hesitant. Riu Merengue is connected with Riu Bachata and you have access to all of the pools Dining experiences (with the exeption of dinner. Merengue guests can not dine in Bachata restaurants and vice versa for dinner). Without a doubt an amazing experience throughout. The dining selections are wonderful and there is enough variety to not get bored. You WILL NOT go hungry. Wine is available for lunch and dinner an at all of the bars (unlike other resorts in the area that serve wine only for dinner). The employees go well above and beyond to make your experience a wonderful one. There are NO salespeople on the beach so you can actually relax(again, unlike other resorts in the area) I have been to a number of the resorts in the area and this resort is now my favorite. When booking in the future, this will be my first option. There are no queen or king beds available which is the only one downside, but very livable. The other downside is you will be walking to go between the resorts if you want to use the other facilities. I think maybe this is a trick they use to make sure you do not get too fat because of all the spectacular food. Bottom line is, great resort and you would do yourself an injustice if you do not visit at least once in your lifetime.

What an experience
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New Jersey/Santiago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 8, 2016
RIU!!! all-inclusive getaway

My husband and I found RIU Merengue as a good quick getaway resort. Beginning with our arrival we are welcomed by the RIU Merengue. hotel staff and they were great, friendly, and welcoming and had a good sense of humor and provided great customer service and answered all of my many questions. The resort was nicely laid out and provided sufficient entertainment each night and as an all-inclusive the option of utilizing the services at their other hotel facilities. At the Merengue I enjoyed the overabundance of Beach loungers that allowed for suntanning on the beach. The rooms were sufficient and provide the regular items of safe, fridge, and TV. The individual properties for 4 rooms each made it a much more initimate housing situation. Some improvements they could make would be to the following: Menus:, I would have preferred a more cultural menu selections (Dominican Meals) rather than the American meals offered. I can eat pizza/burgers at home. A La Carte Rest:The option of reservations for a la carte (speciality) restaurants could be handled by front desk rather than making them at 7am at the Breakfast Restuarant which was the only option available. I didn't go on vacation to rise at 7am to make a reservation for dinner. Welcome: Seminar: It would have been nice to have received a welcome seminar provided by the hotel giving a little background of the hotels grounds, shopping, safety etc. we were 4 days into our vacation before we knew there was a seminar which would have been nice to be a part as we could ensure that we were definitely maximizing our vacation experience. Besides those 3 minor items it was a great relaxing experience and recommend this all-inclusive resort as a quick getaway.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Dominican Riu Merengue Resorts

This grouping of 3 resorts, interconnected with winding tree lined paths, was a true tropical paradise. The view from the gazebo overlooking the bay was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Our entire group was very favorably impressed!

tree lined walkways gazebo overlooking bay
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Nice Resort

Great value! We were quite happy with the room, clean and bug free; beautiful beach, nice pools, great swim up bar. Dining options were a bit limited, but breakfast and lunch on the balcony was lovely and the dinner buffet was good. The resort went from a calm paradise to a bit of a rowdy environment on the weekend, when the locals came,,,however, we discovered there were still plenty of places to seek out and enjoy the beauty we had come to expect.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2016
good purchase

Just visit with my husband after more than ten years, it's has been a surprise improvement, the food is excellent the accommodation excellent and the service. I definitely would come back and recomend


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2016
2nd trip to the Dominican !

This was our annual family trip - 11 family members with 5 children !!! The grounds were beautiful- very natural setting / beach beautiful & well attended to! Check-in was a breeze !! Rooms somewhat small- but who spends time in their room when they are in Paradise !! if traveling from the USA- you'll need an adapter for your electrical appliances ( the front desk has them as well). Drinks are weak- but there actually is a liquor dispenser in each room - so just bring the extra booze with you & add it too your drinks !!! Food at the buffet was exceptional- I mean calamari every night !!!! There was indeed something for everybody- only went to the Italian restaurant once- equally good food. There was a large language barrier- if you only speak English. Many of the entertainers spoke at least 4 different languages- but many of the buffet workers & grounds crew only spoke Spanish. Biggest complaint was the large activity board- did not indicate a location for the activities- so one had to wonder around a bit to find the activities. Also - nightly entertainment started @ 9:30 .


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Vt
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 26, 2017
It's no RIu any more

Power outage.2 days with no water. No service. Bad bad bad


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year