All

Riu Guanacaste Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 114 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"The service and food were exceptional. They also had good nightly entertainment. I would recommend this resort to my friends. Can't wait to go back."
119 out of 130 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Looking back at the resort Endless palapas/chairs at the pool A waterfall that our tour guide went out of his way to take us to that was not part of our paid excursion. GREAT EXPERIENCE! Street party The Beach! The beach at the resort white water rafting tour with Tenorio River out at night zip line canopy tour Fun excursions sun set on the black sand beach Night view from the Hallway Balcony the lobby

All Riu Guanacaste Customer Reviews

1-10 of 114 reviews. Sort by
August 12, 2014
Great family vacation

We recently returned from a week at Riu Guanacaste. We went with two other families. We had a great week. The food was good and the service was great. Everyone was very friendly. We highly recommend the day trip to Bueno Vista which we booked through one of the sales people sitting at the front of the hotel. Recommend asking for more pillows and a pillow top for the bed but other than that the room was great. The nightly shows are ok and tend to run a little long. The beach is particularly beautiful. You can actually see monkeys in the trees when you walk the path from the beach back up to the hotel. Don't waste your time going to the Monkey Bar which is a short walk up the beach from the hotel. We went up there and did not see one monkey. Enjoy! Pura Vida!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: fredericksburg, va
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Wonderful Vacation!

We loved Riu Guanacaste! The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable, the pool and beach were fabulous, except for the bees at the pool. It was a great location in Costa Rica! You could see monkeys at the hotel and down on the beach near the Monky Bar. The Monky Bar was a fun local experience! Our Sunset snorkel cruise was awesome, especially when we saw many dolphin jumping in the ocean. The "Mega Combo" canopy tour was a fun filled day! We had beautiful weather, it only rained a little our very first day!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Madison, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
I love Costa Rica

Overall..I loved Costa Rica, The people, the food, The country was very clean and safe. All of the excursion packages and tours were professional, safe and fun. My only complaints were the rooms were a little small at the Riu Guanacaste, the beds were hard and the only food options after 9:30pm is pop corn, nachos, hamburger and hot dogs in the sports bar. All of which were not that good.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Leandro, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Great trip!

They had local food and more traditional American food as well as food from all over. Great place to go if you have any picky eaters in your group. 2 restaurants required reservations and they're both well worth getting the reservation. Right next to the beach. We even saw a few monkeys not far from the hotel. Nice rooms with a balcony. We left things to dry on the balcony and it would just take 2 or 3 hours. One caution, though don't leave items on the balcony overnight. We left some items overnight and 1 item was gone in the morning. It was probably a monkey that took it since it was bright red. Only thing we didn't like was all the bees attracted to the sweet and alcoholic drinks near the pool. That's only because they're so close to the rain forest.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Nice place but more night options are needed

Let me start by saying Costa Rica is a beautiful country. My boyfriend and I just got back from staying at the Riu Guanacaste. The hotel was just like it looks in the pictures although the rooms are a little dated. I think the hotel would be a lot more fun if it offered more activities at night. The do have a club and casino but for the most part they didn't have a lot to do at night. Since the hotel is in the middle of no where you can't really leave the hotel to find some night fun.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 21, 2014
Great Value; Great Fun!

I stayed at the Riu Guanacaste in 2013 and enjoyed it so much I brought my family back in 2014. The facility is beautifully landscaped and the pool is fabulous. The pool is very large and is broken into several sections. Even when it's crowded you can find space to hang out somewhere. There are fun activities too. I participated in the water aerobics (it's harder than you think!) and my young adult children enjoyed the beer pong. The swim up bar is great...just wish there wasn't so many bees. The facility is kept very clean and the service is excellent. We had a couple of minor issues with our room that were taken care of quickly and courteously including the elimination of a wasp nest on the balcony. My husband and I used the gym, which was decent sized, clean and offered towels and water. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that. The beach is gorgeous and is so long that there can be many people on it and it doesn't feel crowded. You can pull up a chaise lounge right next to the water and still have your own space. Can't get that where I live! There was a wide variety of food offered between the buffet and the specialty restaurants. We (adults) enjoyed it. My 10-year-old didn't want to eat anything besides fruit, muffins and nachos, but that's because he's a bit picky. He loved the serve-yourself nachos bar in the Sports Bar and also enjoyed playing ping pong and billiards. I do wish the Riu would purchase some additional ping pong tables and billiards tables for the sports bar. There is only one of each, plus the air hockey and foosball. They get very crowded with all the people wanting to play and we gave up waiting several times. That was a bit frustrating. There is plenty of space in the sports bar for the additional tables. Take plenty of mosquito repellent as there are lots of those little buggers around.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 27, 2014
Very Nice & Clean!

Kept very clean! Lots to do, excellent beachfront, pleasant staff, lovely atmosphere. Just a great place all around!

Night view from the Hallway Balcony The Beach!
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
we enjoy it...

we whent to riu Guanacaste the week of 5-24-14 to5-31-14 the resort is very nice no problem of finding empty chairs at the beach or in the pool Beach nice with black sand and clear water with lots of fish to play with "bring some bread to the water and in less then a minute you will have tones of then by you fun fun.."food very nicely presented we tried ALL of the restaurants we weren't impressed with the offered selections you better of with the main buffet.Room very spacious and clean but you always have like a humidity smell mybe because of the location since I had read the reviews I decided to bring a yankee candle with me the small ones and I light it when I was in the room that took care of the problem,beds were nice and confortable,we had a king size bed.We found the service very nice all over the resort except some people at the front desk have a bad day more often that they have good days,and it was nothing to do with language because we speak both..we went in with a big smile on our faces we treat people very nicely at least we expected just a welcome smile NOP.... well we didn't experience any problems be prepared for the locals that come on the weekend the resort is a lot calmer without them but they have the same right to go on vacation as you do so have a few drinks and go with the flow...we recommend the resort and we whan't have a problem picking this resort again


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 31, 2014
Best Vacation Ever!!!

This was by far the nicest resort we have been to. The resort is beautiful tucked away in the jungle and right on the beach! Even saw monkey's right by the resort. Everything from the food, the service, and the entertainment exceeded our expectations. The staff is so incredibly friendly and they all work very hard! We will be going back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Westminster, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2014
Awesome vacation

My husband and I came to Costa Rica because of the positive reviews from cheap Caribbean. We love the resort. It was very clean and inviting. The weather was extremely hot. But that's why you pick a place on the beach right? The staff was very nice. Neither my husband or I speak English and we never had an issue communicating during our stay. They except all American money which was very helpful. We went on three diffent excursions. The first was the combo that included zip lining, waterslide, lunch, horseback riding, waterfall and mud bath with hot springs. We enjoyed every minute of it. We did take the plunge and purchase the trip from the guys on the guys on the beach. We bought ours from a guy named Daniel. Our tour guide was ironically named Ronald McDonald. Besides the name he was awesome! I would highly recommend him. We were sceptical about who we would be going with. We ended up going with one other younger couple which was great. We didn't have to wait in line and we able to enjoy the experience. If you purchases your trip from the hotel you will take a nice luxery bus but you will also have a lot of people in your group. The can trip to the excursion was very bumpy just fyi. We also went on a guided jet ski tour from the recommendation from someone at the pool. This was an awsome expericence. My husband and I shared a jet ski. The took us all over the ocean. They took us by coca beach, a crystal clear beach that we were able to get off the jet skis and swim around, we saw a sea turtle floating in the ocean, and saw a whale or dolphin. I would highly recommend this. The scenery is priceless. Then we went on a atv guided tour. The was good also. You get very dirty from the dirt flying around but they take you to another clear beach to swim around in. Pretty cool. There were almost no bugs around. Some negatives were the food got old after a while. But if you like buffets like my husband does you will love the food. We were fortunate enough to try all the reatureants. We never had an issue getting in. You need reservations at the steak and gourmet resturant. But the Asian and Italian you can just walk in. The food was okay but was a good change from the buffet. The beds were not very comfortable but bearable. The air didn't work for the first day but once you say something to the front desk it will be Turned on. This seemed to be a recurrent issue as other people at the pool said they had the same issue. There were lots of bees around the swim up bar area. The bees never bothered us though but were annoying. We went to a couple night shows and crazy show was by far our favorite. It was very funny and entertaining. Overall this was a great resort. We don't have much to compare it to as this was our first vacation. Out of the country but we had the time of our lives not only at the resort but Costa Rica in general and hope to visit in the future.

Awesome vacation
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year