All

Riu Guanacaste Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 122 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"The resort was very nice and staff was helpful. There weren't many food choices, most were buffet, and the food was not good at all. Otherwise, we had a great trip." – rchlbug02
130 out of 141 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Street party The beach at the resort A waterfall that our tour guide went out of his way to take us to that was not part of our paid excursion. GREAT EXPERIENCE! the lobby out at night zip line canopy tour The Beach! Night view from the Hallway Balcony sun set on the black sand beach Looking back at the resort white water rafting tour with Tenorio River Fun excursions Endless palapas/chairs at the pool

All Riu Guanacaste Customer Reviews

1-10 of 122 reviews. Sort by
February 13, 2013
Great purchase for a reasonable price

I had never been to Costa Rica and was a bit skeptical about going but after reading several reviews on trip adviser I decided to give it a chance. I had a blast and do not regret going and as a matter of fact am planning to return some time in the future. I went during February and the weather was nice with great sun for tanning and a constant breeze from the ocean. We stayed at the old Riu Guanacaste and it was fabulous. The new Riu sits right next to the old one but some vacationers from the new one told me it was not all that great, so I was really happy and lucky to have chosen correctly. The old Riu had better events and pool atmosphere. There was always something so you won't get bored and the pool is huge and pretty much a constant party or relaxation depending where you sit. The beach was a bit disappointing only because the tide at the time was pretty rapid and it caused a lot of sand to be in the water so it was not as clear. However, I went scuba diving through the hotel and it was amazing. They took us out about 15 mins out and the water was pretty clear and sea life was awesome (e.g. huge sting ray, blow fish, eel, snakes, and plenty of schools of fish). The food was great because you had plenty of options. Plus I am not a picky eater to I welcomed any type of food with open arms. We didn't do to many excursions but I heard the National Park and Waterfall tours were amazing. Hope this helps the next person on their Costa Rica Trip.


122 of 125 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 30, 2011
Riu in Costa Rica

Costa Rica was wonderful. The food at RIU was good (not a big deal to eat at the restaurants on the resort that require reservations) and go for the all-inclusive option. There are great restaurant outside of the resort space as well such as in the Cocoa Beach shopping area. My husband, daughter and me, had an excellent lunch at Papagayo Seafood Restaurant in Cocoa Beach for US$60 and it was worth every penny – get the red snapper, with garlic sauce on the side and ginger sauce on the side – my mouth is still watering. They did not typically prepare fried plantains (not sure why) but we asked and they made it for us. US dollars are acceptable everywhere and you should have some singles for tipping a few here and a few there. There are more cost effective tour deals on the beach rather than in the hotel lobby. You must try the one to the volcano, with the mud bath, hot springs, etc., fabulous. Look for Sergio who is generally on the beach by the RIU. Forgot to mention, the hotel has a fitness center and spa which I did not have the opportunity to visit but I hear it's wonderful. If you are going to go horse back riding, do not use the one at the back of the hotel. The horses are thin and weak and trip quite a bit. I spoke with another family who went horse back riding via the hotel and they had real stallions apparently. The Costa Rican sun is very sneaky because it feels so good. You have no idea that you've been sunburned until after it happens. Everyone, regardless of skin type must use sunscreen or sun block from day one (not the second or the third day). Trust me on this one; it doesn't matter if you haven't burned in the past. The women (tourists from far away as well as visitors from the surrounding areas) like to but on something a bit sexier in on evenings so take along a few simple, sexy evening dresses/nicer shorts with nice tops, etc., not to fussy but effective. My six-year old daughter had a great time, met other kids at the pool, etc., and she did everything with us. We're not into babysitting during vacation but its there if you need it. A few more points: • If you like ocean view rooms, then pay for it • Take a few rolls (bread) from the restaurant during breakfast each morning for feeding the fish on the beach. It will be like standing in an aquarium. The fish are plentiful and harmless • The exit tax is US$26 for each person • If you’re connecting on your return flight and you have to claim and recheck luggage, please note that if you have duty free liquor, it must be properly padded and boxed to avoid breakage. You may be forced to check it in as regular luggage/ may not be allowed to include same as carry on. I hope the above information is useful. Cheers, pebbles


78 of 80 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 25, 2012
Lovely site, lovely people

I chose this hotel because it is so close to sea level, and I didn't want to climb a lot of stairs at the end of the day with a beach bag. The layout of this Riu is very nice. It is a big place but doesn't require long walks from one's room to the various amenities, the pool, or the beach, like some places. And it is not built on a mountain-side like many of the places on the Papagayo Gulf, so there are few stairs. The buildings and grounds are very nicely maintained. If you like flora and fauna, this place has them. Plenty of iguanas and other lizards to see. We were there when sea turtles came in to lay their eggs which several guests watched. At dawn and dusk on the North side of the property one could see howler monkeys in the trees. There were also plenty of birds to watch from condors to hummingbirds. Our group used the dive shop for several dives and snorkeling. The dive staff were very helpful. All of the staff were as helpful as they could be and very gracious. I went to the desk almost daily with some odd or random question and they were always able to answer it. Even the LARS (in-house transport company) people provided wonderful information and suggestions for our trip to Coco Beach. I enjoyed the food at the main buffet and visited all of the specialty restaurants. My particular favorite was Toucan the gourmet restaurant. The food there was well prepared but it was the restaurant's unique layout and seating and elegant food presentation that made it my favorite. Thursday night's Carnival street festival was lots of fun. It takes place in front of the hotel and Casino. it was very lively and more entertaining than most of the nightly music and stage shows. Be sure to wear your flip-flops on the black sand beach you can't run across it fast enough in bare feet. And bring bug spray - the no-seeums sneak up on you! If you like to stay by the pool, do devote some time at the beach to gaze out on the Gulf. Papagayo is the largest Gulf in Central America and the Riu provides a spectacular view. It is something to remember. Pictures do not do it justice.


26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2010
Great Resort

This was a great resort with beautiful landscaping, pools and beach. The rooms are brand new and in great condition, very cool with nice CLEAN bathrooms! The only down fall is the food options are limited and there is no room service or 24 hour snack bar.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver, Co
Age: 25-34

December 2, 2011
We made a great choice with this resort

Overall I think we made a great choice in booking at the Riu Guanacaste. It was located close to the airport and easily accessible to every entertainment and adventure option imagineable in Costa Rica. The location allowed us to be able to explore many areas of the country, while still being able to return every day to the beautiful beach and not worry about what's for dinner. The all-inclusive option was a "safe" one for us as we did not feel like planning every meal or figuring out where to eat every day at another place. It's the first time I've booked an AI vacation, and I'd say I was fairly pleased with it overall. I thought the food was fantastic, although a lot of the restaurants were very Americanized, which I guess is what a family would want on a vacation to a foreign country. My girlfriend and I were looking for more local and exotic options. There were some but the choices were limited. Booking dinner reservations for the more popular restaurants was difficult, so I would recommend getting down there at 9am if you want a table. The drinks were all local beer, cheap local liquor, and rather disappointing. They all tasted watered-down. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but there's no way I could order a mimosa with breakfast if I wanted one, for example. There is one type of beer and it's mediocre at best, a generic red wine and white wine, and plenty of cheap liquor to choose from. Just be prepared to drink what they have because you can't order a Red Bull or anything you might be used to. The beach at this place was amazing. There is about a mile stretch of open white sand beach at the resort which you can use for a plethora of activities - running, horseback riding, sun bathing, snorkeling, you name it. Some water sports like kayaks, snorkels, and paddle boats are part of the AI package - take advantage of this stuff! At low tide you can explore tide pools in the rocks on the beach and find hundreds of creatures you cannot see in the US! The service at this resort was exceptional. From the front desk staff to wait staff to bartenders to maids, everyone was extremely helpful and polite. I cannot speak enough to the level of service provided to us here. Unfortunately there were a few bartenders who, if you didn't tip them, would basically ignore you. This made the experience slightly annoying as we assumed tip was included as well. Don't get me wrong, it was never difficult to get a drink! The rooms were always impeccably clean, and the rest of the resort, it seemed, was always being cleaned. I would eat off the floors anywhere in this place. The pool was amazing - swim up bar, hot tub, multiple levels, water sports, they have it all. Could not have asked for any more. I would recommend this resort to anyone I know, and I have. I actually have friends staying there next month, just booked it when we got back based on my recommendation. Just be prepared to drink and eat what you would expect out of an all-inclusive resort. I'd give this place a 4.5/5 on any scale. Many many benefits and little to no downside. For the price, you cannot beat the Riu Guanacaste and Costa Rica as a country!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach`
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2011
Great getaway

We just returned from the Rui in Costa Rica and we had a great time. Without a doubt this was the cleanest resort we ever stayed at in the Carribean. Our room while a little on the smaller side was maintained daily while we enjoyed the day at the pool or at the beach. When we asked for an extra pillow, 2 extra pillows appeared later that day .Even the mens room at the pool bar was very clean. There was always someone making sure that the facilities were spotless. The only negative was we had to ask for our mini bar to be restocked when they forgot. But again, one phone call and it was done. Service was top notch. The bar tenders and wait staff were friendly and prompt even if they did not speak much English. While tipping is not required, I was so pleased with the service that I was happy to leave a few dollars every now and then which was much appreciated. The side trips to see the country were rather expensive, especially the ones offered by the companies in the hotel lobby. We found a local guide that we met on the beach who took us and another couple on the best side trip we ever experienced in the Carribean. Look for Victor when you go to the beach. All in all it was a great trip.

Great getaway Great getaway
35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2010
Extremely Satisfied

My husband and I got the chance to experience what paradise is really like. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome cocktail. The service was wonderful, anything you might have needed the staff was always more than accommodating! The resort was clean and inviting. After reading some of the reviews, I was skeptic about the beds, and food. I’m not sure what the fuss was all about, but my husband and I loved the food. For buffet style, it was tasty and fresh! They offered something new everyday. Our room overlooked the rain forest and was quiet and peaceful. We had the best sleep the both of us have ever had. Our rooms were cleaned daily, sheets changed, towels etc. Every other day our mini fridge was stocked. The entertainment was AWESOME!! The entertainment crew was always so happy, fun, up beat, and definitely put on a show with whatever they did. The pool bartenders were excellent and made the best drinks and quick too! The beach staff was also very accommodating in whatever activity you choose. We took the boat to Cocoa, went snorkeling, took a guided Jet Ski adventure, where we were able to see a sea turtle, dolphins (which came right up to our jet ski) and beautiful scenery. It did rain on a daily basis, but that is just that...you are in the rain forest. If you do not like or enjoy rain, you will not like this resort. I have taken several trips to Mexico, Jamaica and would get tired of the sun beating down on you all day; it’s nice to cool off to a little shower. This place was truly a romantic, fun filled, relaxing resort. We will most definitely visit another RIU resort in the very near future. For the price this resort is a 10!!


38 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2012
Fantastic Vacation! HIGHLY recommend!

First off, this review is written by someone who travels to the caribbean every months either via cruise ships or all inclusive resorts. This place has it all! This is our 3rd all inclusive vacation and our first time to stay at a Riu and we absolutely loved it! The staff was amazing, the drinks were always made as specified, the food was excellent and we felt this resort had the best buffet we've ever seen for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! The steak restaurant was amazing however the other 2 specialty restaurants were decent...but we always ended up at the main buffet restaurant afterwards because there was always something yummy we didn't want to miss out on. The only thing "bad" I could say is that this facility does not have wine in bottles and no champagne in the minifridge; the wine is like wine from a box and you have a choice of "Blanco/white" or "Tinto/Red" so if you are a big wine drinker, you might want to bring you own. On top of the resort being amazing, Costa Rica is an amazing place to visit in itself and there are so many options of excursions to do off the resort that you can't get bored! The pricing for all these excursions is also very reasonable and the tour guides really like to cater to taking you to "local" shops if you want. We felt very safe here and off the resort and have nothing but positive things to say! This place is a must visit!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 28, 2012
Great vacation!!

We recently returned from a week at the Riu Guanacaste and we had a great vacation! This was our best experience at an all inclusive resort. We enjoyed the fact that the Riu was relatively isolated from the hustle and bustle of places like Cancun, but still close enough to attractions which gave us the true flavor of Costa Rica. Our only real concern about the Riu was the service in the specialty restaurants. The Steak House was fantastic, but the Oriental and Italian restaurants lacked the personal attention we would have liked. In those two restaurants, most or all of the meal was buffet style and no one really gave us any directions on how to proceed when we entered. In fact, in the Italian restaurant, we were asked to leave for the next seating before we had time to enjoy our dessert and coffee. However, we didn't let those experiences dampen our enthsiasm for the Riu and the regular buffet made up for the shortcomings of the specialty restaurants with a great selection of food and tremendous service. The rooms were very clean and the service people were very helpful and pleasant. The pool area was outstanding and the swim up bar was incredible. We would recommend this resort to anyone and encourage them to take the Palo Verde boat excursion during their stay.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Muskegon, MI
Age: Over 65

November 26, 2012
Good Value

The resort was very attractive. The ceilings had frescoes and the pools were very well maintained with an excellent layout. The beach was a little disappointing because the water was not the iconic blue water found on the other side of Costa Rica. There were also sand ticks in the sand. Our bed was super hard but we had a lovely, spacious room. The food was just ok. I was expecting more in the quality of food from RIU and was disappointed. The resort is also secluded from most of the tourist attractions. When we took an excursion, we ended up spending several hours in the van each day.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year