All

Riu Guanacaste Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 117 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"The resort was very nice and staff was helpful. There weren't many food choices, most were buffet, and the food was not good at all. Otherwise, we had a great trip." – rchlbug02
124 out of 135 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
A waterfall that our tour guide went out of his way to take us to that was not part of our paid excursion. GREAT EXPERIENCE! The Beach! zip line canopy tour Street party Fun excursions the lobby Endless palapas/chairs at the pool sun set on the black sand beach Looking back at the resort Night view from the Hallway Balcony The beach at the resort out at night white water rafting tour with Tenorio River

All Riu Guanacaste Customer Reviews

1-10 of 117 reviews. Sort by
September 22, 2014
Average

This hotel offered plenty of food options and food was of good quality however the liquor was very cheap and the wine was not drinkable. The bed was very uncomfortable however the room was clean and stocked when we arrived. The activities offered by the resort are of average as well. I'd recommend leaving the resort for at least a day to explore given that it is tucked away on its own private beach. We moved to the RIU Palace halfway through our trip and this was well worth it for more comfort, better quality food and drinks. You pay for what you get at the RIU and for someone on a budget its accommodating


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 19, 2014
Great resort

The resort was very pretty. Lots of activities to do. There was no reason to leave the resort because it has shopping, casino, and disco right out the front door. Walking at night even felt safe. I spent a day at the spa which was absolutely great. The only down fall of this resort is the beds. They are very hard and where not very comfortable to me. I am already planning a trip next year to Costa Rica and will be staying here again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 18, 2014
Beautiful Resort

We had a great stay at the Riu Guanacaste. The service was wonderful and the food was very good. Some of the evening shows were a bit campy, exaggerated and a bit too loud. Lots of wildlife to see around the resort: iguanas, monkeys, birds and butterflies. My only complaint would be the beach. The beach directly in front of the resort was very rocky and a steep climb to the water and back. To the left, in front of the Riu Castle, the beach was more level and free of rocks. To the right, there was a rock formation that allowed little pools to collect that were full of fish and hermit crabs, which was pretty cool. The pool was nice, would have liked it to be a bit cooler, but what can you expect near the equator in August. We had heard raves about the Monkey Bar, but for us it was a big disappointment. The service was great, but the atmosphere was lacking, as were the monkeys.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NoVA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Great family vacation

We recently returned from a week at Riu Guanacaste. We went with two other families. We had a great week. The food was good and the service was great. Everyone was very friendly. We highly recommend the day trip to Bueno Vista which we booked through one of the sales people sitting at the front of the hotel. Recommend asking for more pillows and a pillow top for the bed but other than that the room was great. The nightly shows are ok and tend to run a little long. The beach is particularly beautiful. You can actually see monkeys in the trees when you walk the path from the beach back up to the hotel. Don't waste your time going to the Monkey Bar which is a short walk up the beach from the hotel. We went up there and did not see one monkey. Enjoy! Pura Vida!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: fredericksburg, va
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Wonderful Vacation!

We loved Riu Guanacaste! The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable, the pool and beach were fabulous, except for the bees at the pool. It was a great location in Costa Rica! You could see monkeys at the hotel and down on the beach near the Monky Bar. The Monky Bar was a fun local experience! Our Sunset snorkel cruise was awesome, especially when we saw many dolphin jumping in the ocean. The "Mega Combo" canopy tour was a fun filled day! We had beautiful weather, it only rained a little our very first day!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Madison, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
I love Costa Rica

Overall..I loved Costa Rica, The people, the food, The country was very clean and safe. All of the excursion packages and tours were professional, safe and fun. My only complaints were the rooms were a little small at the Riu Guanacaste, the beds were hard and the only food options after 9:30pm is pop corn, nachos, hamburger and hot dogs in the sports bar. All of which were not that good.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Leandro, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Great trip!

They had local food and more traditional American food as well as food from all over. Great place to go if you have any picky eaters in your group. 2 restaurants required reservations and they're both well worth getting the reservation. Right next to the beach. We even saw a few monkeys not far from the hotel. Nice rooms with a balcony. We left things to dry on the balcony and it would just take 2 or 3 hours. One caution, though don't leave items on the balcony overnight. We left some items overnight and 1 item was gone in the morning. It was probably a monkey that took it since it was bright red. Only thing we didn't like was all the bees attracted to the sweet and alcoholic drinks near the pool. That's only because they're so close to the rain forest.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2014
Nice place but more night options are needed

Let me start by saying Costa Rica is a beautiful country. My boyfriend and I just got back from staying at the Riu Guanacaste. The hotel was just like it looks in the pictures although the rooms are a little dated. I think the hotel would be a lot more fun if it offered more activities at night. The do have a club and casino but for the most part they didn't have a lot to do at night. Since the hotel is in the middle of no where you can't really leave the hotel to find some night fun.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 21, 2014
Great Value; Great Fun!

I stayed at the Riu Guanacaste in 2013 and enjoyed it so much I brought my family back in 2014. The facility is beautifully landscaped and the pool is fabulous. The pool is very large and is broken into several sections. Even when it's crowded you can find space to hang out somewhere. There are fun activities too. I participated in the water aerobics (it's harder than you think!) and my young adult children enjoyed the beer pong. The swim up bar is great...just wish there wasn't so many bees. The facility is kept very clean and the service is excellent. We had a couple of minor issues with our room that were taken care of quickly and courteously including the elimination of a wasp nest on the balcony. My husband and I used the gym, which was decent sized, clean and offered towels and water. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that. The beach is gorgeous and is so long that there can be many people on it and it doesn't feel crowded. You can pull up a chaise lounge right next to the water and still have your own space. Can't get that where I live! There was a wide variety of food offered between the buffet and the specialty restaurants. We (adults) enjoyed it. My 10-year-old didn't want to eat anything besides fruit, muffins and nachos, but that's because he's a bit picky. He loved the serve-yourself nachos bar in the Sports Bar and also enjoyed playing ping pong and billiards. I do wish the Riu would purchase some additional ping pong tables and billiards tables for the sports bar. There is only one of each, plus the air hockey and foosball. They get very crowded with all the people wanting to play and we gave up waiting several times. That was a bit frustrating. There is plenty of space in the sports bar for the additional tables. Take plenty of mosquito repellent as there are lots of those little buggers around.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 27, 2014
Very Nice & Clean!

Kept very clean! Lots to do, excellent beachfront, pleasant staff, lovely atmosphere. Just a great place all around!

Night view from the Hallway Balcony The Beach!
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year