All

Riu Bambu Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 58 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"Oh what fun we had! The Riu Bambu was fantastic. The workers were there for us all along the way. I had a time to remember in all positive ways. Gather your friends or family and get there soon!" – Cressy
52 out of 67 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Lobby

All Riu Bambu Customer Reviews

1-10 of 58 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2015
RIU Bambu

The beach and the ocean were beautiful. The pools were very nice, but they close at 7pm. We would liked to have been able to use the pools after dinner, especially since there were no activities after dinner until the show at 945pm. The food was ok, nothing special. We would liked to have been able to eat at more than one of the specialty restaurants. We arrived on Monday and no reservations were available for any of the restaurants until Thursday. We did the Outback excursion which was nice. Maybe a little too commercialized since they try to get you to buy everything to "support the schools." The room was very clean. The internet in the lobby was not good at all. It worked sometimes and when it did it wasn't very good. Overall, it was a nice vacation. Very relaxing.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2015
Spring Break Deal

Booked the RIU Bambu and were upgraded to the Palace upon arrival. This made for a much better vacation overall. Staff was great. Rooms were so-so not very luxurious but tolerable for a week. Lots to do for adults and spring break kids. Food was ok. Must book individual restaurants for best food experience. Spring break drinks nothing hi end. Beach was beautiful and the included water sports were great. The excursions made the trip. Highly recommend going on those. Overall the value was worth it. The lengthy flight times and connecting flights were not good.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 8, 2015
You get what you pay for

After booking this trip last second trip with my girlfriend, I started reading the reviews and was a little hesitant about the trip. I saw a lot of people complaining and some that had a wonderful experience. Too many people have high expectations for not paying a whole lot (in my opinion). The only horrible part of the trip were the gross room towels. Other than that, everything was decent. I came in expecting a decent resort based off the price paid and that's what I received. Alcohol: Be nice to your bartenders and they will go out of their way to make your drinks better! Room: nothing crazy. bed is fine. Towels are gross, so bring your own. food: decent food. not horrible, not great. Steak house wasn't very good, but we enjoyed the Mexican restaurant. (make all of your reservations early in the morning for the trip. they get booked fast) pool/beach: the beach is wonderful and the pool was nice. Both just really crowded and that's largely due to us going during peak SB season. service: few language barriers on occasion but nothing bad. We asked for the upgraded room and received it for free upon arrival. Overall, we had a wonderful vacation! That was more due to Punta Cana itself being a beautiful destination, less due to the resort. I highly recommend going on excursions to see what the Dominican has to offer. We went on some sort of excursion everyday and by far our favorite was the one that offered para sailing, snorkeling, booze cruise, and a relaxing sandbar experience all in one!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2015
A needed break

To be honest the location of Riu Bambu is wonderful. For when you check in and check out the experience is top notch. I got great service the service was awesome. The staff were friendly and always looking to interactive with us to make it feel like we were among family.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: arlington, va
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 7, 2014
Great adult time!

My husband and I had a great time at Riu Bambu. The beach is beautiful, the staff is very friendly. The food is good but did not like very much the Mexican restaurant it's food needs to be updated. Guests should be welcomed in the reception area with a drink while we check in. It would be awesome if he beach had beds to lay out and tan like at other resorts. Definielty would go back with the family.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2014
Wouldnt return ;(

From the time we arrived the people in DR and at resort are not friendly. They do the least possible to make your stay comfortable. It took over an hour for our bags t be taken to our room and that was after we made 2 phone calls to receptionist. Our room was nice and clean, but many other gussts were complaining about bugs and smell. So I consider us lucky. The pools had soo much bleach/chlorine that you couldnt see your feet through the water. The food was ok, but they let cheeses and meats sit out ALL DAY without being on ice. Three of the 4 of us had diarrhea all werk. And everyone we talked to had same problem. And we did not drink the water! The bartenders treated you like we were a bother. At one point my daughter asked them to blend her nonalcohol drink and they told hrr no! Another day we went to get new towels midway in the day because ours were sand covered and the guy at towel station told me no! I told them "yes and do not tell me no! I can have new towels". He handed them to me with disgust! We are generally not complainers and Have stayed many other places inside and outside the US and I hsve never eritten a bad review. So it is very unfortunate I am now! We will Not return to RIU hotels based on our experience this week! ;(


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
Very nice vacation spot.

The resort grounds were very well maintained. It's a lovely resort and the beach is great with soft white sand. I only ate at the Colonial Buffet Restaurant mostly. I have no complaints about the food there. I would have liked to have had lobster at least once though. The waiters in the Colonial were very friendly. I did eat at the Mama Juana twice for late breakfast. I have no complaints about the food there either The bed in my room was kind of hard, but it didn't bother me any. My room was spotless. Angel at the front desk checked me in when I arrived and also assisted in checking me out when I departed. Angel is very nice and helpful. I did one tour, Outback Safari. The tour guide Ruddy, was very nice, he made the tour very enjoyable and fun and was also very informative. The CheapCaribbean rep, Cesar was nice and helpful. I would come back to Rui again and again!!!!

Very nice vacation spot. Very nice vacation spot.
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, tn
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
greats purchase ever

Every thing was excellent the oeople the resort the food and the out back safari trip was great we love every thig thank you.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Great Honeymoon!

We had so much fun at Riu Bambu! The people were very friendly and the resort is breathtaking. TIPS: Reserve your restaurant reservations as soon as you get there and pile on the SPF or pre tan...the sun down there is brutal (we learned the hard way, haha). And try Mamajuana!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Severn, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 16, 2014
Riu Bambu was great

We just returned from a week at the RIU Bambu in the Dominican Republic, and it was great! The staff was friendly, and prompt with all my requests. I had a deluxe room, and it was very nice, cable TV with plenty of channels, a comfortable King Size Bed, VERY COLD AC, and HOT Shower. The only reason I didn't give the room 5 Palms was it was a smoking room, so it smelled of smoke, and we don't smoke. The food was great all three meals, in every restaurant or buffet we chose. The pools were nice, and the bar staff excellent and friendly. The resort was well landscaped and maintained. The daily entertainment was a bit to much but I just retreated to a quieter side of the pool or beach if I tired of the constant entertainment. June is HOT in the Dominican, so plan on SIesta from 1p-3p to avoid the hottest Sun of the day. I couldn't believe the all inclusive package was that good. It's definately the best bargain in vacationing I've had in many years.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Luling, LA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year