All

Riu Bambu Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 53 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"Not a bad deal overall. We had great weather. Only complaint would be the smokers. If your a non-smoker it can be irritating." – MotownMike1960
47 out of 62 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lobby Beach

All Riu Bambu Customer Reviews

1-10 of 53 reviews. Sort by
August 6, 2014
Wouldnt return ;(

From the time we arrived the people in DR and at resort are not friendly. They do the least possible to make your stay comfortable. It took over an hour for our bags t be taken to our room and that was after we made 2 phone calls to receptionist. Our room was nice and clean, but many other gussts were complaining about bugs and smell. So I consider us lucky. The pools had soo much bleach/chlorine that you couldnt see your feet through the water. The food was ok, but they let cheeses and meats sit out ALL DAY without being on ice. Three of the 4 of us had diarrhea all werk. And everyone we talked to had same problem. And we did not drink the water! The bartenders treated you like we were a bother. At one point my daughter asked them to blend her nonalcohol drink and they told hrr no! Another day we went to get new towels midway in the day because ours were sand covered and the guy at towel station told me no! I told them "yes and do not tell me no! I can have new towels". He handed them to me with disgust! We are generally not complainers and Have stayed many other places inside and outside the US and I hsve never eritten a bad review. So it is very unfortunate I am now! We will Not return to RIU hotels based on our experience this week! ;(


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
Very nice vacation spot.

The resort grounds were very well maintained. It's a lovely resort and the beach is great with soft white sand. I only ate at the Colonial Buffet Restaurant mostly. I have no complaints about the food there. I would have liked to have had lobster at least once though. The waiters in the Colonial were very friendly. I did eat at the Mama Juana twice for late breakfast. I have no complaints about the food there either The bed in my room was kind of hard, but it didn't bother me any. My room was spotless. Angel at the front desk checked me in when I arrived and also assisted in checking me out when I departed. Angel is very nice and helpful. I did one tour, Outback Safari. The tour guide Ruddy, was very nice, he made the tour very enjoyable and fun and was also very informative. The CheapCaribbean rep, Cesar was nice and helpful. I would come back to Rui again and again!!!!

Very nice vacation spot. Very nice vacation spot.
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, tn
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
greats purchase ever

Every thing was excellent the oeople the resort the food and the out back safari trip was great we love every thig thank you.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Great Honeymoon!

We had so much fun at Riu Bambu! The people were very friendly and the resort is breathtaking. TIPS: Reserve your restaurant reservations as soon as you get there and pile on the SPF or pre tan...the sun down there is brutal (we learned the hard way, haha). And try Mamajuana!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Severn, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 16, 2014
Riu Bambu was great

We just returned from a week at the RIU Bambu in the Dominican Republic, and it was great! The staff was friendly, and prompt with all my requests. I had a deluxe room, and it was very nice, cable TV with plenty of channels, a comfortable King Size Bed, VERY COLD AC, and HOT Shower. The only reason I didn't give the room 5 Palms was it was a smoking room, so it smelled of smoke, and we don't smoke. The food was great all three meals, in every restaurant or buffet we chose. The pools were nice, and the bar staff excellent and friendly. The resort was well landscaped and maintained. The daily entertainment was a bit to much but I just retreated to a quieter side of the pool or beach if I tired of the constant entertainment. June is HOT in the Dominican, so plan on SIesta from 1p-3p to avoid the hottest Sun of the day. I couldn't believe the all inclusive package was that good. It's definately the best bargain in vacationing I've had in many years.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Luling, LA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
Riu Bambu - Wonderful!

Beautiful resort, friendly staff, delicious food. Nightly entertainment performed by magnificent dancing team. Fun excursions. Emerald waters just beyond the palm trees...Paradise!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54

June 11, 2014
Dining was OK, room was not

We paid extra for a deluxe room, but over all the furniture in the room were old and not clean . The towels smelled and I had to wipe the floor myself. The beach was lovely the pools were good. Your best bit for meals is the main dining room, the specialty restaurants were just OK ! Over all the rooms were more like 2 star hotels.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 28, 2014

Riu Bambou Resort was the best. All the staff was very courteous, food was excellent, rooms were very clean and the whole experience was great. Would definitely stay at any of the Riu Resorts.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2014
Wow!

Oh what fun we had! The Riu Bambu was fantastic. The workers were there for us all along the way. I had a time to remember in all positive ways. Gather your friends or family and get there soon!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2014
Not on my list to go back to

Room was substandard. I like basics like a bathroom fan, coffee maker in the room, a guide for the TV and walls that are thick enough to at least muffle some of the sounds in the adjoining rooms, halls and above floors. Doors closing throughout the building should not sound like firecrackers. I don't consider a king size bed being two beds on rollers pushed together in front of a king sized headboard. The plus was when the TV control fell in the crack, it was easy to roll the beds apart to get it off the floor. Since the resort is so spread out, some form of trollies or trams would be nice for anyone who has any troubles with walking or breathing. I never saw any security [maybe their patrolling could be incorporated with giving rides to anyone that needed it]. I think a presence of security would have at least minimized if not alleviated the 'unruly' ' groups that made it an unpleasant stay for others especially late at night. . Some of them were made to leave the resort but I don't think it would have gotten to get to that point if there had been security around. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Weather was great. Beach was very nice and had plenty of chaises. I didn't like having to walk nearly ten minutes to get there, though. Drinks weren't as accessible on the beach as other places we've been [either by waiters or bars]. We've vacationed with Cheap Caribbean for years and have rarely been disappointed. We're still happy with Cheap Caribbean service and most products, but not this one.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year