All

Riu Bambu Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 40 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"My experience was really good. People were very friendly and hard working. Rooms were nice and clean. Food needs little more attention little more spicy." – Ruibamboo
36 out of 46 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Riu Bambu Customer Reviews

1-10 of 40 reviews. Sort by
April 2, 2014
Avereage Overall

If you are looking for a decent place to stay, Bambu will do. I have been told by other travelers who strictly stay at Riu (in Cancun and Bahamas I believe) that this was the worst they have been to. I think for the price, I would have paid the extra $300-$400 and stayed at the Riu Palace. I'm told the service was much better there, and their pools were definitely nicer. I was there for a wedding, and decided to stay with the wedding party at the Bambu. Some of the guests had to be moved to different rooms due to bug problems. My room just didn't feel clean. The shower drain was uncovered and just seemed dirty. The towels smelled and the shampoo they provided was TERRIBLE. The BEST thing about Bambu was that there was a 24hr sports bar that the other resorts did not have. I also LOVED the fact the their beaches had Palm trees so that people could be in shade if they so chose. The down side, they did not have servers come down to the beach. Everytime I wanted a drink I had to go to the bar, not a deal breaker. I personally will not be staying at the Bambu again, however I would consider the Palace. Also, if you decide to do any all inclusive resort, I suggest brining a large travel mug with you or plan on purchasing one at their shops for a hefty price. The drink cups the resort used couldn't have been larger than 6oz, and after the amount of ice they added, I could down a drink in about 10 minutes of sipping.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 7, 2014
Beautiful Beaches, Terrible Food

I have stayed at other RIU Resorts in Cancun and Jamaica, and compared to those this one was not as nice as the others. The good things were the beaches! They were beautiful and you could walk them all day and not run out of beach to walk. We upgraded to the deluxe room and it was fairly inexpensive and well worth it the room was beautiful and had just been redone with a nice balcony to sit on. The biggest complaint I had about the resort was the food, like I mentioned above I have stayed at other RIUs and the food was good, however, the food at this one did not deliver. The onsite restaurants such as the steakhouse were average at best. The Mexican restaurant served chicken tacos and the chicken meat had bones in it. The only redeeming thing about the food was the omelets they would make to order for breakfast and the man who was making them was always friendly. The nightly entertainment was not as high quality as it had been at the previous RIU's i had stayed at as well. I am sad to write such a bad review but compared to the other RIU's I have been too this is the only one I was absolutely not go back to.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 6, 2014
We'll be back!!!!!

WE LOVED STAYING AT THE RIU BAMBU!!! AMAZING!!!! We were there for 10 days and loved every second of it. Mariana our housekeeper was beyond wonderful. Rooms were lovely, clean, spotless. Comfy beds. They do not have facecloths so bring one for each of you....no biggie. The staff is friendly, helpful, and most are so much fun.....some are a riot...those in the entertainment section for dancing, noon fun times, night time shows, bingo, games, zumba, salsa, ....etc, etc. I laughed till I cried with some of them (and I don't even drink). My husband thought it was the best in the Caribbean yet and we've been everywhere. We plan to make it a yearly holiday over our anniversary which it was this year. There were four other Riu's within walking distance and we checked them all out, some are Adults only, some are very, very ritzy.......BUT WE LOVED BAMBU the best!!!! Thank you so much for everything. Brought way too many clothes. You seriously just need a few bathing suits, a cover, flip flops. I wore one sun dress and one pair of shorts with blouse for dinner, Husband brought 5 pairs of shorts and wore one, and one pair of slacks. He lived in swim shorts, t shirt, and flip flops. I don't think I even put on make up. We had massages on the beach.....unbelievable. We have decided to take a conversational Spanish course before we go next year just to be more courteous to them. Thank you all so much!!!!! You are fantastic,


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hermon, ME
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 31, 2013
RIU Bambu Xmas 1013

Overall the RIU Bambu is a great choice for vacation. There were a few times we thought the service was lacking at the bars and the dining room but hey you are on vacation and everything seemed to work itself out. The pool and beach are awesome.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 13, 2013
Positiv family

Overall very nice stay.Services can be much better(take long time for simple order,and not friendly some times) if you speak Spanis is much easy and faster service for you.Food is good and a lot different things.We have good time there it was same good servers,bartenders and clinging lady.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Alexandria,VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 11, 2013
Riu Bamboo

We really enjoyed our stay at the Riu Bamboo. Hospitality, food, pools, beaches and excursions were awesome.....I totally recommend this place.

Riu Bamboo
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Middletown, New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE

After reading some not great reviews about Riu Bambu I can now say from experience (just came back 4 days ago) that I 100% disagree with all the negative reviews! I went with 20 family/friends including my two kids 4 & 1 and we all had the best time! The people who work at the resort were the most friendly & great with anything that we needed. The food was buffet food so what do you expect? The drinks were great! Our mini bars were restocked every two days & there was food 24/7. My only small complaint is that I wish their live shows was more of "their" culture & not the American culture. We wanted to see them dance Merengue, Salsa & Bachata. Other than that we absolutely loved it & will definitely go back!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Roselle, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2013
Needs some attention

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Bambu from May 20th-25th 2013 (room 1009). We were originally looking for a place with a nice pool and a nice location to the beach. This hotel had both of those, however there are some things to be aware of before you stay here. With regard to our room, the rooms are set up in little villas across the resort. Our building was the 2nd to the last one away from the beach and was a 10 minute walk to the beach and pool. It wasn’t a big deal, but just something to be aware of. Our room air conditioner struggled to get the room cool. I had it set at the lowest setting with the ceiling fan, and it never really got cool. We had sugar ants in our room and had to call maintenance. For anyone who was traveled in the Caribbean before, you know that they are a common occurrence in hotels. Our room was what I would call, by resort standards, basic. The shower was very small, almost like a European shower. The king size bed amounted to nothing more than 2 beds pushed together. The room was stocked with a minibar and had an ample safe. The rooms are not electronically keyed, and require a metal key on a big plastic tag. It’s reminiscent of borrowing the bathroom key between 2nd and 3rd periods in school. There was ONE electrical outlet in our room...yes...ONE ! Everything else was hard wired so limited chances to charge phones,camera, etc.. This resort is flanked on both sides by sister Riu resorts, which you have some privileges at. Unfortunately, some of the features advertised with this resort are not actually in the resort. They are in the neighboring resorts. This would include the spa, gym, and nightclub. The nightclub was two resorts over and approximately a half a mile walk. Hard to convince a wife in heels that it was worth it. The food was plentiful and the presentation was very good. The specialized restaurants however, were not as they were to be expected. For example the hibachi restaurant consisted of nothing more then another buffet with some Japanese foods. We have been to other resorts where everyone is seated around the chef and the cooking is done right in front of you. It was not the case here. Out of the steakhouse, Mexican, Japanese, and Italian, the Italian was best because at least they allowed you to order an entrée. Every other restaurant was simply a buffet. For those of you that like an atmosphere, there was no music or atmosphere to be had in these specialized restaurants. The evening entertainment was good, but somewhat predictable. As far as the alcohol, the selections were limited. It appears that the alcohol content is reduced even in the sealed bottles shipped to the local resorts. I watched our bartender open the sealed bottle and pour approximately 8 ounces of liquor in our drink. You could hardly taste it. There was not much variety of liquor, no coconut rum anywhere (how do you go to a Caribbean island and they don’t have coconut rum?) And the only whiskey they had was Johnny Walker red. That also doubles to fuel your lawnmower. The resort was very clean and the workers there clearly worked very hard. Everyone was very polite and most spoke better-than-expected English. The pool and beach area are the highlights of this resort. There is plenty of chairs, no matter how crowded the resort got in the pool bar was excellent. Another great feature of the resort was the sports bar. There was always a game on and food for snacks. Overall, the resort was nice, but we have stayed in much nicer ones in Dominican Republic for about the same money. The room amenities were basic.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 3, 2013
one of many best purchases ever made

Excellent location for some R & R. Plenty of history if u welling to travel to the capital. No problem with communications . Assortment of foot to chose from. Personnel from the resort are helpful at any time, with a smile on the face.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Traacy. California U.S.A.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 28, 2013
Can Get Better

First of call Olympus tour did not leave any information at the first desk for orientation. Food was bland (nothing much for vegetarian) Mexican restaurant was bad! we end up eating at main hall. Staff were friendly desk clerk did not accommodate our request for having room together with my family, but when my family jointed the other desk clerk adccommodated them so that we had room fairly closely to each other. Enterainment was bad sound system need updating and smoking condition was bad especially at night when you trying to watch the programme. Overall beach was very nice. Do not waste money on going to tours!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 45-54